Choose your preferred language. We speak English and 41 other languages.
951 Ukiah Street, Mendocino, CA 95460, United States of America – Show map
Excellent location – rated 9.4/10! (score from 106 reviews)
Rated by guests after their stay at Nicholson House Inn.
No booking fees • Save money! Best price guarantee — enter dates to see these prices!
9 properties in Mendocino
Including hotels, apartments, villas and more.
106 verified reviews
They speak your language!
Nicholson House Inn's staff speaks: Spanish, English
Booking is safe
When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Golf Course (within 2 miles), Fishing, Canoeing, Hiking, Cycling, Diving
WiFi is available in all areas and is free of charge.
Free public parking is available on site (reservation is not needed).
Non-smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Heating, Hypoallergenic room available, All Spaces Non-Smoking (public and private), Designated Smoking Area
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
6:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Cancellation and prepayment policies vary according to room type. Please enter the dates of your stay and check what conditions apply to your preferred room.
Children and Extra Beds
All children are welcome.
Any additional children or adults stay free of charge when using existing beds.
Extra beds are not available.
Cribs are not available.
There is no capacity for extra beds in the room.
Pets are allowed on request. Charges may apply.
Cards accepted at this property
Hover over the cards for more info.
Guests are required to show a photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that all Special Requests are subject to availability and additional charges may apply.
Based on 106 reviews
Value for money
Show reviews from:
Located across from Big River Beach, this Mendocino county inn features a free gourmet breakfast daily. Free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom is offered in all rooms.
Score from 139 reviews Good
Just a 10-minute walk from the Mendocino Art Center and shopping and dining in downtown Mendocino, this quaint hotel features rooms with fireplaces. Free Wi-Fi is included.
Score from 215 reviews Good
Offering rooms with free Wi-Fi, Surf Motel and Gardens is in Fort Bragg. BBQ facilities and a BBQ pit are provided on site. The motel offers a free shuttle service to destinations in the local area.
Score from 130 reviews Very good
Featuring an 18-hole miniature golf course and arcade, this Fort Bragg hotel is 1 mile from Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens. It serves daily pastries and coffee. All rooms include free Wi-Fi.
Score from 265 reviews Excellent
The staff were not very friendly. Pets kept in the breakfast room. Very tired and dated, and could have been cleaner.
Location Accommodating me as I came in late Breakfast
Couldn't get wifi to work No soap or shampoo until I asked
Being on the second floor of a rather steep stairway (we are a mature couple)
Charming place, priced attractively in a terrific location. We'll be back and we'll recommend to others!
The Admiral Suite was spacious and had a balcony with a view of the bay. The king-sized bed & bedding were very comfortable. We enjoyed the walking distance to the village where there were plenty of options for drinks and dining. We would stay here again.
The close distance to Cafe Beaujolais.
All the rest
Breakfast was very good with a variety of fresh fruit and freshly baked scones.
Keeper of the house spent whole time at the computer while we ate breakfast.
We had a one bedroom with a small kitchen. The unit was very clean and the bedding was wonderful. Attention was paid to by the owner to make sure the guest had premium bedding, towels and much needed wifi. Nice breakfast with homemade scones. We would definitely go back.
we staid on the first floor near door to access all rooms. A bit noisy , though I had asked for first floor.Large stain on rug in living room so we didn't walk on the rug with bare feet.l
They. Did not have us registered for 2 nights thru Dennis, but we had to change rooms after the first night first night in a b&b wasn't thrilled, would stay in hotel next time
We liked the bed and bath. The breakfast was okay but definitely continental. The area was nice . The people staying there were friendly. No tv in the room.
They do not help with bags up the 17 steps to your room. Parking is questionable but we were lucky to get it across the street. The room is small but it could use another comfortable chair. No great view. Not a very friendly atmosphere at breakfast.
Location breakfast the decor
Wifi was poor there is no tv in room
Everything! It was just what we wanted in all respects. We stayed in the Admirals Suite. Fully furnished with a private deck. Very comfortable. A true Continental Breakfast with the other guests, who were pleasant company.
Can't thinly of a thing we didn't like.
Location, comfortable bed
No TV in room Late. Breakfast-- from 8:30 -- made it useless for travellers who need early start (we forewent breakfast there and ate in town. A suggestion -- step down to bathroom should be clearly marked.
Location,Quaint,informative staff,good breakfast.
To close quarters.
Brent, the innkeeper, was great. He prepared a nice breakfast each morning and the place was very well kept.
King suite has a large deck with an ocean view. Comfortable bed. Friendly manager. Continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs, meats and cheeses, as well as breads and cereals, fruit and yogurt.
Must be able to climb stairs to second floor to get to the room.
The location, the breakfast was good, the house was nice, quiet neighborhood.
The Wi-Fi was not very good in our room.
Great location. Very comfortable bed. Cute house. Nice morning breakfast offered. Be sure to eat the scones!!
the bed was amazing, the couch was comfy, it was nice for a family with children, good location
Owner could have been a bit friendlier, odd breakfast with him just banging on keyboard at computer with back to us and not talking, was awaken by him yelling shut your face to his dog who was crying, also the towels were gross, smelled musty and soiled
Brent went to extra effort to make my husband gluten free scones that were delish. Linda in Virginia
We checked in late and the staff had our key waiting for us with a note with directions to room. The room itself was very nice, enjoyed it very much
We enjoyed our one night visit. The bed was delightfully comfortable as was the other furniture. Some of the furniture in the suite was cobbled together and not expensive antiques but overall it was quite satisfying. We were upgraded to two-room suite, so we felt we got very good value. The continental breakfast was varied and plentiful, and conversation with fellow guests delightful. Next door is the Cafe Beaujolais, where we had a wonderful meal.
Location is good and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was fine but nothing special.
I will try to be as fair as possible here by sticking to the facts… When my friend and I arrived at the B&B we were given the key to the room and told ‘Use the key in the top lock only’, which we did. Turns out the bottom deadbolt had a thin strip of cellophane tape across it on the inside of the door which we didn’t think much about. In the morning I wasn’t thinking about it, and attempted to open the bottom deadbolt to step out onto the deck. Oops, by turning it I accidentally locked us inside the room. Ok, no big deal, there was a window next to the door, also facing the deck, so I tried to open the window and it turns out it was screwed shut and painted over, so no exit there. We were locked in. My friend went to the second story bedroom window and was able to get the attention of Brent, the property manager. When she explained what we had done, he said ‘Why did you use the bottom lock? I told you not to’. While we agree that he had, there is still no excuse for not having repaired the broken lock, especially with the only other reasonable exit (the window) being non-usable Brent then proceeded to try to get us out with no success. I suggested calling the owner which he then did. The owner came over and also chastised us for using the bottom lock. Unbelievable!! He and Brent used a ladder to gain access to the second floor window and came inside, and after about an hour managed to break open the broken lock and open the door. But not one word of apology from him. Brent did say he was sorry about the incident but it would have been nice to hear it from the owner. After we got home, I emailed the owner and told him that if I were in his shoes, I would have offered us a refund for our night’s stay. No response whatsoever. What really bothers me is that had there been a fire, we would have been trapped and would have had to break glass to get out. When we asked the owner why the window was ‘screwed shut’ he said he did that because it leaked.
The rooms were small and quaint. The location was perfect. The breakfast was great especially the scones! Brent was more than helpful to us in giving directions and where the best places to eat in Mendocino.
Rooms just a little small.
Victorian style Californian Breakfast
You can get these deals for free by subscribing to our newsletters. You can even choose your favorite destinations to receive personalized deals.
Get started now by entering your email address. We'll instantly send you a link to our Deal Finder!