Reviews provided by

Total  7.9
Based on 235 reviews

City Gate 3 stars

John

Eindhoven, Netherlands
April 22, 2014

Central location, friendly staff, good pub


Walls very thin, so quite noisy

6.3
James

Balsall Common, United Kingdom
April 18, 2014

The hotel rooms are situated above a good pub with nice real ales and good food. This was the selling point for us personally.


The hotel has 2 wifi options when you go to log on. Use the pub wifi NOT the hotel guest wifi - the latter didn't work.

9.6
Shirley

Powys S.Wales, United Kingdom
April 15, 2014

The staff were great


The hotel could do with a in depth clean. Bathroom not clean enough,carpets not good,decor needs bit of T L C .Bedlinen clean.

7.5
Lucy

Plymouth, United Kingdom
April 8, 2014

The staff were very good and the location superb.


Room 8 had a horrendous smell in it. We mentioned it and the staff did all they could but it was terrible. I think that we should have not been charged for the room, although they did give up the food we ordered on the house. The other thing is that we had to pay at check in before we saw the room which I don't think is very good.

7.5
Katherine

gloucester, United Kingdom
April 1, 2014

lovely city Exeter, lovely hotel cant wait to go back.

10
Katalin

London, United Kingdom
March 18, 2014

The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was quite good, the room was clean.


The mattresses were a bit lumpy and the bathroom needs repair (loose tap, counter cracked)

7.9
Natalie

Southampton, United Kingdom
March 13, 2014

Easy to find and close to the (central) station. The outside smoking area was lovely and I would imagine that it would be lovely during summer, although well equipped for winter or rain.


The room decor was looking a bit tired and could do with a tidy up. I also felt a bit at risk as there was no overnight staff, just a duty contact number.

7.1
Maria

Brentwood, United Kingdom
March 6, 2014

Breakfast was excellent :)


the noise outside my room in the middle of the night (someone had been locked out of his room). I had to ring the emergency number to get someone to come and deal with it - however it was dealt with straight away.

7.1
Andrew

Tetbury, United Kingdom
February 21, 2014

The hotel is well situated and has a nice bar area (the pub).


Carpets and painting on walls and corridors all a bit faded as are some of the things in the rooms. Beds comfy and clean though. Water in shower wasn't very hot one morning.

6.7
Sally

CREDITON, United Kingdom
February 17, 2014

the size of the room was good , the bar was lovely and the closness to town was good


the hard bed , the toilet seat (its a bit battered) the stairs !!

6.7

Copyright © 1996–2014 Booking.com. All rights reserved.