Reviews provided by

Total  6.9
Based on 1118 reviews

Royal Hotel 3 stars

Anthony

London, United Kingdom
July 11, 2014

Swimming pool. On suite room spacious but sea view extra hard to justify, had to lean out of window! Staff attentive and friendly under difficult circumstances.


Parking was a problem. The standard of room maintenance poor. It was faded elegance. Should have stayed there 30 years ago. Nesting seagulls very noisy. Breakfast toaster very slow.

6.7
Clare

Derby, United Kingdom
July 11, 2014

Comfy beds, nice and close to everything.


First morning, breakfast wasnt great and bit disorganised, however second morning was much better.

7.9
Bridie

saltburn by the sea, United Kingdom
July 11, 2014

The lounge on the night time had a nice atmosphere


The way to the room was dirty and unkempt, our room was near the house keeping office and all we could hear was them talking along side with the painters. Our toilet broke so we told reception on our way out we returned 4 hours after and this still wasn't fixed. The facilities downstairs need a re-vamp look nothing like the pictures at all.

5
John

Coventry, United Kingdom
July 10, 2014

Nothing ever ev


Never ever use that hotel again

5
Lauren

worksop, United Kingdom
July 9, 2014

Breakfast was good


Room not worth money Poor disappointing No hot tub (reason I booked hotel) Windows didn't open right

5.8
Marcelle

Cleveland, United Kingdom
July 8, 2014

The quirky little things that made this wonderful old hotel so appealing, I can certainly imagine in the 18 and 19 hundreds this hotel being very elegant and posh which probably brought the gentry and royals to this wonderful seaside resort, I have since read about this hotel and the history is unique built in 1930


nothing really, its old and a bit tatty In places but that's what makes it real

8.3
Susan

Berkshire, United Kingdom
July 8, 2014

nice location.Some of the staff were really helpful and friendly.


Service in restaurant on Sunday morning was awful ,Not enough staff on duty,cold plates,tables needing to be cleared,generally not a good experience.

6.3
June

Stockton -on-tees, United Kingdom
July 7, 2014

Breakfast was good 4 the money. Staff on morning very freindly compared to reception & bar staff.


Room we had was very warm no air circulating floor & doors uneven and very worrying. Staff not helpful or freindly im sad 2 say .

6.3
Sarah

hornsea, United Kingdom
July 6, 2014

We stayed ere for one night and we are glad thats all it was ..the beds were rock hard ..our room must off been near kitchens we were woke at 5.30 am by the sound of trolleys been pushed a round and people talking loud and doors been banged wasnt happy


The room we had was small ..iylt was very clean but small to ehat we looked at on the pictures..there was no entertainment because there was a school prom on which was never stated when we booked ..there was no organisation no one new were to go for drinks or were to sit ...The breakfast well lets say all i had was toast and egg as the test was horrible ..the coffee was cold they only had tinned oranges as the fruite option ...was very unhappy with it :(

5.4
Joanna

hereford, United Kingdom
July 3, 2014

Staff super friendly. Hotel well situated. Room a good size. Only noise was from the seagulls which was good .Fresh milk avalible from the bar for tea and coffee.


You have to pay to use the pool and towels we picked this hotel for the spa and so never used it. The breakfast was ok but ask for a pot of tea other wise it comes in a thermos. Dinner not worth the money. Room not cleaned properly on our 3 night stay. Room tired and in need of decorating. Not enough towels in room on arrival. Parking has to be paid for but if you leave NCP car park within 24 hours you pay again.Parking on road free 6 till 9. Pain to move car at 9 or put money in meter.You pay for your room on arrival. Would not stay here again.

7.1

Copyright © 1996–2014 Booking.com. All rights reserved.