Reviews provided by

Total  9
Based on 30 reviews

Stapleford Park Luxury Hotel and Spa 4 stars

Andrew

Apethorpe, United Kingdom
April 14, 2014

A really good Country House hotel. Excellent variety of things to do. Staff were helpful, warm and friendly. We would go back. The Spa was also excellent.


No bread rolls, or any kind of bread available for continental breakfast. Quality of dinner was not as good as we would have expected.

10
Sharon

Bruntingthorpe, United Kingdom
April 14, 2014

The location is stunning, the property itself is gorgeous, the staff were lovely. We only stayed for 1 night but it was a fantastic experience.


Can be expensive, but if you have the money worth it

9.2
David

Cambridge, United Kingdom
January 11, 2014

Staff Luxury accommodation


Expensive restaurant but the food and service don't match the price.

7.9
Albert

Belper, United Kingdom
December 16, 2013

The friendly staff and service and they even provided a birthday card for my wife and decorated the dessert with "Happy birthday".


Very little but we never like the "optional" service charge. This virtually becomes part of the price, and we prefer to tip for service as appropriate, rather than have it levied. Even if it is shared between the staff, it is probable that they receive 20% less because the hotel will pay VAT on it's takings, whereas the staff will not be VAT registered and if received direct will , even though taxable to income tax, receive it VAT free

9.6
Helen

London, United Kingdom
December 16, 2013

Friendliness of staff Beautiful grounds and house

10
Richard

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
December 9, 2013

Superb atmosphere and great surroundings

10
Adam

Beenham, United Kingdom
November 8, 2013

Staff were all excellent. Bed was comfortable.


Standard room rates are ridiculously high, but got my room last minute for around £100. Hotel location is miles from anything, even a petrol station is about 6 miles away. Pool/Spa is OK, but nothing exceptional, which it should be for the standard room rates. Steam/sauna rooms are tiny and sauna was not working. No showers outside steam/sauna which I have never come across before and consider unhygienic. Dinner choice was limited, very high prices, tiny portions, but very good quality. Couldn't get either a phone or WIFI signal in most of the hotel. No draft drinks available, only bottled. Tiny TV in room. Room connected to another with paper thin door, so could hear the TV as if it was in my room until late. No tea or coffee making facilities in room, which is unheard of….especially for somewhere calling itself luxury.

6.7
Michael

ST ALBANS, United Kingdom
November 1, 2013

Lovely room with a huge bed. Eggs Benedict. The wine.The real fire. The view of the lake. Comfortable bar where we could read. The pool. The gardens. The ratio of staff to guests. Awareness of staff.


Would have liked to known the dress code a little better (my husband booked so it might be his fault...). Would like to know that the hotel has eco-friendly and fair-trade policies.

9.2
Christopher

Worksop, United Kingdom
October 30, 2013

The hotel, it's facilities, it's setting. The spa package was exactly what we wanted.


At these prices details matter and there were a number of details that could be improved. Could not find the pool or connect to the wifi. Poor service at lunch. Poor signage from Melton.

10
Jo

Droitwich, United Kingdom
October 10, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and well designed, the staff are very friendly and helpful, great gym and spa facilities and the food was lovely too, would definitely return.


Slightly pricey but worth it.

9.6

Copyright © 1996–2014 Booking.com. All rights reserved.