Reviews provided by

Total  5.4
Based on 32 reviews

The Black Horse Inn 0 stars

Mark

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
November 18, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, a good location and good beer. I would (and will) definitely go back.

9.6
David

Birmingham, United Kingdom
October 19, 2013

Friendly staff good food


Cold

6.3
Chris

Southampton, United Kingdom
September 24, 2013

The pub itself had been refurbished with a good range of beers. The food was OK and the single member of staff seemed to have to do everything but was nevertheless friendly and helpful


It was a completely different story upstairs. Considering the level and state of the facilities we felt that at £90 our double room was overpriced by at least 50% compared with other accommodation in the town. We had to go down to the floor below to use the single toilet and shower provided for all 5 rooms. The maintenance was poor to non-existent: the toilet seat was about to fall off and the sealant in the shower was mouldy. The decor was tatty and the bedroom furniture was well past its sell by date: a bedside light fell to pieces when we tried to adjust it. The hot water in the bedroom was just a trickle – over 10 minutes to get it to run warm and the plug leaked so much it was impossible to fill the sink. No soap was provided and when we asked for some we were eventually given a partially used bar. We would not recommend staying at the Black Horse to anyone.

5.4
Anthony

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
September 18, 2013

Good service and an excellent Breakfast.


Bathroom facilities leave a lot to be desired. ie: NO TOILET PAPER and a very ancient Lavatory system. All of these need refurbishing.

7.9
Vincent

bath, United Kingdom
September 17, 2013

Sharing toilet facilities with 5 other rooms. Yellow stained basin in room. Room was dirty and tatty. Breakfast.

3.8
Felix

Hamburg, Germany
September 11, 2013

The one guy on staff was very friendly


Dirty, moldy, ancient matress, cobwebs, spiders, unhygenic, expensive, horrible breakfast, horrible rooms, communal toilet/washroom, ugly.

3.8
Jacquie

London, United Kingdom
September 6, 2013

Very reasonably priced· I was in Lewes for a wedding, so just needed a base to change and sleep in and it was ok for that purpose. I wouldn't stay there for a holiday break. We changed our booking from the Crown because of the dreadful reviews about the managers and their reputation for not honouring bookings, so it was reassuring to know our rooms would be and were available on arrival


Room and shared bathroom were ok, but the way through from the bar to the bedrooms (via the kitchen) was shabby and gave the impression of being dirty and smelly. With a bit of work this could be improved , which would create a much better first impression.

5.8
Lisa

Grays Essex, United Kingdom
August 28, 2013

friendly helpful staff


room not worth the money, only worth half of what we paid,that would have been a fairer price for the level of accomodation the black horse are offering.wouldn't recommend the black horse as value for money is very poor.

5
Helen

Richmond, United Kingdom
August 1, 2013

location


having to go down a flight of stairs and queue for bathroom and toilet. blocked and cracked sink in bedroom. grubby furnishings no muesli for breakfast poor coffee

6.3
Brian

Peterborough, United Kingdom
July 27, 2013

Ideal for my needs, friendly and welcoming staff.


Parking was not ideal, no pub car park, not much street parking available, used the public car park nearby.

6.7

Copyright © 1996–2014 Booking.com. All rights reserved.