Reviews provided by

Total  8.6
Based on 51 reviews

The Royal Hotel 4 stars

Kenneth

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
July 6, 2014

Staff were extremely friendly,professional and polite. The location as expected was exceptional. The room was very comfortable but a little aged. Hotel grounds were well kept and an absolute pleasure to relax in on a warm summer day. A fine wine cellar and good food with "Cake o'clock" and High Tea obviously a show winner with both locals and tourists alike. We are looking forward to our next visit already


Rooms would benefit from having a modern iron and ironing board available in the room. Fine dining was a little marred by a poor lamb dish that I had to send back, however the replacement was excellent.

8.3
Stephane

LONDON, United Kingdom
July 4, 2014

Nothing in particular, thankfully a good restaurant (Hambrough restaurant) was in walking distance.


coming back to room in the evening not cleaned (had to ask for towels then cleaning of the room during dinner) dated room

3.8
Stanley

ryde, United Kingdom
June 10, 2014

the complaints were dealt with in a calm manner . we loved our stay at the Royal and will definately be back again.


my partners ommellete was runny in the middle. her steak was gristly and tough.

9.6
Gary

Widford, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
June 10, 2014

The location was beautiful - The Riviera Terrace does indeed live up to its name - OK and thank you for arranging the Red Arrows fly past for my wife's birthday. Just a beautiful peaceful location, great food, great staff - all wonderful!!


What didn't we like ??? - Leaving the Royal! Hopefully see you again soon!

7.9
John

Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
May 14, 2014

Fine location by the sea and the harbour. Well furnished rooms. Historic old building with beautiful staircase. Go for room with sea view and balcony. Friendly staff.


Dinner did not have enough fish on the menu. Poor service in restaurant at dinner.

7.5
Mary

sholden. deal, United Kingdom
May 9, 2014

The ambience and the friendliness and quiet attention of the staff.


Tortuouse roads and steep hills!!!

9.2
Claire

Newport, Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
April 23, 2014

The Royal were exceptional, the staff were very accommodating and the facilities were excellent. I could not fault the food it was just excellent and I would certainly recommend anybody to go to the Royal.

10
Andrew

Hampton, United Kingdom
April 22, 2014

Staff were exemplary , food exquisite. Loved it so much we booked an extra night!


Wifi not really good but nice not to be governed by it

10
Kenneth

London, United Kingdom
April 22, 2014

Very fast journey from London with a no fuss ferry service plenty to see and do if you wish with a beautiful location when you arrive. Ventnor has been tastefully brought up to date while keeping the best of the old and The Royal in my opinion could not be better.

10
Geoff

Flint, United Kingdom
April 17, 2014

Period old world charm. Elegant dining room and bar


The bedroom could do with being modernised

7.9

Copyright © 1996–2014 Booking.com. All rights reserved.