Reviews provided by

De Vere Venues Wokefield Park 3 stars

Brian

2 hadrians way, Rugby, Warkshire, United Kingdom
September 19, 2014

Facilities are fine. Good internet.


Poor service from the staff, Bar area very grubby. Room lighting was very poor, could not work in the room due to this. Breakfast area was dirty.

2.9
Liz

Neath, United Kingdom
September 18, 2014

Beautiful venue but guest rooms are tired


Hot room, keys don't work half the time, volume of audible noise from other rooms and check in was so slow it was painful as were the repeated trips from opposite end of hotel to get new keys

5
Wasim

Oxford, United Kingdom
September 16, 2014

The building Mansion house Room was ok


- No mini fridge - No water in room - Not even a pen in the room - Bar not open at until 12pm so unable to get glass of juice in the morning. - Bar ran out of cigarettes so had to travel to the next village searching for a shop. - No staff in the spa (was told they had gone home) this was at 1pm - Aircon not working in the room - No aircon in wedding hall which we was attending at the venue

4.6
Tyrone

Bromham, Nr Chippenham, United Kingdom
September 1, 2014

The location was close to where we wanted to be and the hotel was in a nice setting.


Either the postcode given was incorrect or the hotel needs it's own so satnav doesn't direct you a mile further away. The complex is large and sprawling, so while you are driving to find reception clear directions are important. They were not. Having unloaded the car of our luggage, we went to Reception only to find there are 2 Receptions and we had to load the car again and find Reception 2. (We were in a line of 3 people who all did the same thing. Overhearing that one chaps room was still not ready at 5:30pm!). I paid upfront with my credit card, and was told this attracted a further fee of £2:50. This I later found out is mentioned only in the T&C's at the bottom, so the statement by Booking .com that the quoted price is what you pay needs revision. The de Vere name conjures up a touch of luxury, but sadly the place is looking tired, ( as it's main function appears to be a dormitory for BMW training), and the room was no better equipped than say a Premier Inn. The most useful facility was an iron and board. However the appliance had a large condemned sticker on it. The hotel boasts it's green credentials but is still using GLS bulbs, not all of which were working, and neither was the TV remote (surely basic housekeeping items?!). If you are going to be put into a room with disabled facilities, it would be nice to be told beforehand. Previous reviewer is spot on with his comment on this. The sloppy management is highlighted in darkness by the view into the back office. A shambles on display. This hotel seems to have reviews divided by those who go for the sports and love it, and those who wanted a decent hotel at a v.f.m. price. If you are in the latter category I suggest you look at other options.

4.2
Harry

London, United Kingdom
August 31, 2014

everything


bed was to hard

9.6
Erica

St Ives, Cambs, United Kingdom
August 29, 2014

Price as it was at a discounted rate


Receptionist was very poor - clearly didn't want to be there Poor decor could easily have been improved, made it look unclean

5.4
Amy

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
August 27, 2014

They had a large wedding so then didn't consider the rest of there guests. There put us in a seperate building out the way with no staff around! Lift was out of order. We wanted a drink in the evening had to walk over to the other building and as they had a wedding in the day we walked into the bar it was completely empty and they were closing everything down and didn't want to serve us and it was 8.30 they told us we could use there other bar but we would have to drive! The location is incorrect for reading town centre we had to pay 20 pound each way to and from the town centre! Yer there is a swimming pool but we didn't get to see this because we were put in a room well out of the way of the main complex so why on earth would you go swimming when you have to walk ages round a golf course to get to it! It may look like a bargain to what they offer but an extra 40 pound for taxis and no facillites and not wanting to accommodate for the rest of there guests when there's a wedding on doesn't seem so good after all

4.6
Eddie

Oxford, United Kingdom
August 26, 2014

Location was great with some stunning views. And pool is nice.


We arrived at the mansion house looking for check in but was very rudely told we were in the wrong place and had to go to the executive centre with no directions. the food at the restaurant at dinner time was canteen style to be polite, nothing was explained to us pricing, drinks ect Waitress also dropped food all down me with no apology and was not cleaned up so, I was left sat with food all around me. Breakfast was ok but again staff were not really helpful n told just to grab a seat where was clean (which wasn't many) place could be a great with abit of tlc and staff training !!

6.7
Andy

barry, United Kingdom
August 26, 2014

The staff are excellent very helpful and informative. Working long hours I was able to rest and have a good nights sleep


The price could be a little cheaper

7.5
David

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
August 26, 2014

The bed was comfortable


The room was freezing and the bathroom old and stained, the room had been painted recently but very badly- paint splashed on lamp shade and door. I rang reception to book a taxi but had to try approx 8 times with constant ringing to get a reply. The reception desk was not manned very often. For room only £85 was extortionate for somewhere no better than a premier inn. Definitely would not return or recommend.

4.6

Copyright © 1996–2014 Booking.com. All rights reserved.