Reviews of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa 5 stars

Next to Endurance Village, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

#49 of 363 hotels in Dubai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1455 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym is basic - but at the end of the day you don`t go there to work out, but to enjoy the scenery, the pool and the relaxing atmosphere

    The staff was excellent, one of the nicest, most attentive team I`ve ever seen in a hotel, especially the waiters and the staff in the restaurants.

  • 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Al Hadheerah dinner was pricey when their Entertainment was just so-so.

    The place is excellent if you want to have a great taste of Arabia! Everything about the place is superb especially the helpful staff.

  • 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we required a good nights sleep for a very early start the next day only to be kept awake by load music and fireworks Not what we really expected for the cost of our room

    For us the location was important

  • 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not really in the desert! So much has been built around it that there's no feeling of isolation. It's also definitely not a 5 star resort but rather a 4 star one. The buffet evening meal (e.g. latin night) is to be avoided as although the food is good, the entertainment is poor - instead stick to the à la carte restaurants (Masala, the Indian is very good) and the rooftop bar.

    The rooms are very spacious and the facilities aren't overloaded, meaning the pool never feels full or the restaurants overloaded. There are activities included in the price which are not stellar but a nice distraction, such as fat biking on the sand.

  • 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The room was only ready at 3:40 pm, we waited for 40 mins to get our key. 2. The camel riding management was totally poor. They guy asked us to fill in the form, but he didn't really arrange riding accordingly. We saw many families complained to him face to face, and we also asked him several times when was our turn. What most irritated us was when our family finally got the ride, he said to other waiting customers: "Chinese keeps talking talking!!" It was so rude that he said so! We did asked him, but the problem was he wasn't able to manage well, and we were not the only family complaining to him directly. To be honest, during our last visiting in Oct, I could feel the camel riding management was poor, but since there wasn't so many people, it's tolerable. I believe there's big room to improve it. 3. The other really bad thing was one of our room was charged with 325AED of min bar, but in reality we took nothing from the mini bar!! We had 2 rooms, and that room was with fewer snacks, drink etc... We highlighted and they canceled the fee in the end, but it was really bad that we were asked to pay something we never consumed!

    This was my second time visited Bab Al Shams. The facility and the environment are good. The deco of the room, and the bed are comfortable. It was a good retreat from daily Dubai busy life. Most of the staff are very helpful as well (but still some issues that I describe in "things I didn't like").

  • 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Forget the food at Bab Al Shams - really average (if not bad) and would expect much quality from a top resort like that

    Everything perfect but the food ...

  • 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room checkin took ages, door wouldn't open. Keys didnt work. The team were nice but they couldnt solve it quickly enough. No vegetarian food apart from 2 dishes at the dinner buffet. When asked for some Vegetarian Tacos, got some Indian Dish. Totally bizarre. We were the only ones in the restaurant and it was too cold for my pregnant wife. So I asked to make it cooler and all I got was its centralized I cannot do anything.

    breakfast. the only good thing!

  • 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be better overall: Low value for money. Some issue with the booking of the desert ride, bad communication on timing issue.

    The complex is beautiful, nicely decorated, great Swimming pool also for toddler, excellent sunset rooftop bar with friendly staff.

  • 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is very dirty and wasn't clean when I checked in. The towels used needs to be changed as they are very old and not enough towels in the room so you need to request more. The breakfast is not that good.

    It is a very quiet place which makes it the perfect weekend getaway for relaxing. The Indian restaurant is really good.

  • 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner in the desert... the food is great and abudant... but i expected the location to be a bit more cool and really in the desert, and it is mostly tables facing the show area, and you hardly see the desert. Compared to the other areas of the hotel it is a bit more basic, but still great. the transfer prices are high, i used a taxi from dubai and it is half price

    amazing experience, one of the highlights of my trip. just stayed for one day because i was on a stop over in dubai, but totally worth it. the definition of an oasis. the hotel is beautiful, and at sunset and night it becomes truly magical with the lanterns and lights. the pools are great, the food also. Staff is great.

  • 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The common area is so small, too many sunbathing chairs, it feels like a cheap hotel in Phuket. Why can't the hotel make the common area bigger? the Al Hadreerah restaurant is so pack, it doesn't feel exclusive anymore.

    I like the idea of staying away in the desert, I like the Indian restaurant with the live music.

  • 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can have some more vegetarian options at lunch time .

    Bed was very comfortable and the ambience of the room was also nice . The resort was also very good with good facilities. Balcony with the room was also very good.

  • 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a Genius member ; we were not late check out though the room was taken by housekeeping team only after 2 hours of the check out time.

    Dinner at Hadheerah was worth ...Pool facilities are cool for all ages.

  • 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 pool is temperature controlled. Bathtub in rooms is rough (brick like) material and makes you wonder if its properly cleaned. Not many free activities to do, you have to pay for everything, other hotels in Dubai offer many choices for activities and entertainment for hotel guests.

    Super large bed, the falcon show, the desert biking, nice breakfast

  • 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The falconry display could be a little more developed . Please when you ask for photographic ID at check-in you stipulate in you paperwork that it must be a Passport .

    The food and pool facilities were excellent . The setting was superb and the room was very comfortable and unique!

  • 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could be early checking-in cuz on the way to the hotel is a bit far and gym is small than i expected!

    swimming pool was awsome!! and all staff are reall kind and give a great hospitality

  • 17 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the toilate not on standard of five stars hotels with a wonderful outside I expected the rooms will be more fincy and beautiful

    The food and the outside view is wanderful

  • 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the check in time was earlier so you get to have a 24 hour stay! There's so much to see and do but because of its expense we could only afford one night!

    It's a beautiful quiet and peaceful resort, the staff are very attentive, and we had a lovely restful stay. The food was spot on, best fish and chips I've had in the UAE 🇦🇪 so far at the pool restaurant and the mocktails were 👌🏼!

  • 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gymnasium. Poor choice of upgrades. We would have upgraded to a ground floor room but it came with 4 days of activities. Two we wouldn't have participated in and the other two were included in our package anyway!!

    Amazing room and the pillows were like sleeping on a cloud! Great restaurants. Brilliant pool area with exceptional staff.

  • 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent customer service.....excellent attention to detail in all aspects of the resort, as well as anticipation of our needs. Beautiful location hidden in the desert but easily accessible to the city. A relaxing retreat. Fantastic show at Al Hadheerah. Fabulous singer at the sunset bar Al Sarab. Also great destination for the famous Dubai Friday brunches. Congratulations all at Bab Al Shams....

  • 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not allowed to take our own personal photos on site and as it was a weekend we were told we could not use the site without management approval. The security guard followed us and demanded us to stop and go to reception to speak with the manager. It was quite an embarrassing experience and the duty manager was reluctant to help at first. I've never had this problem at resort and especially when I'm paying such a large amount to stay as a guest. I feel this should be my right as a paying guest to be able to take my own personal photos which are not for any commercial use. Because of this I will not recommend this resort to anyone. Thank.

    The service staff for room service and at the restaurants were very kind and exceeded our expectations. Great service and amazing food.

  • 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants by reservation, and not always available. We very much looked forward to the Indian restaurant, and could not get in even once during our visit.

    Exotic location. I expected however the sky to be darker. Apparently still pretty close to Dubai. Great breakfast. Thomas and the archery was great, simple but a highlight. My wife thought we were crazy not to stay at the beach--now she gets it.

  • 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your price rate/night which is not accurate. ...The price was not including hotel taxes...so had to add 400 dhs on the bill. As a welcoming...I have seen better Please show your prices everything included! !!!! I'm not a walking credit card and hates being treated that way. ... On top of it the toilet flush was not working... 2000 dhs/night and the room has a problem. . Not a good value I'm afraid.

    Nice gateway for chilling.

  • 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff by the pool could use some additional training, but apart from that, pretty much everything went butter-smooth. The room was spacious, but for a Jr Suite, it was definitely on the smaller side of rooms I have experienced elsewhere.

    Excellent time and experience. The kids had a blast, bfast was fantastic, beds were comfortable, room service was incredible. 9/10 for this hotel/resort.

  • 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quiet and very comfortable! The Buffet at Al Forsan Restaurant was excellent! All staff very very friendly! Horse riding trip in the desert was amazing! We will come back!!

  • 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too many sun beds round the pool. To attract more custom they do a day rate at weekends which makes the pool area extremely busy. Loses its exclusivity.

    Different. Great location.

  • 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few things like the duvet cover being dirty on our first night and then the dine-in menu was nowhere to be found and we called to ask for one but it never showed up... we enjoyed meals in the different restaurants but some of the items on the breakfast buffet were stale and tasted like they had been on that same buffet table for a few days, particularly the croissants and the cucumbers.

    The staff were very friendly and accomodating, the location very relaxing and the bed very comfy!

  • 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food - just didn't meet the expectations. If you're going to have a mid-price feature Italian restaurant, get some Italians to cook the pizzas. Seemed like someone emailed them a recipe for some standard dishes but in a different language from the chefs' and with no real indication of how they should work.

    The design and layout of the resort was splendid, a new surprise around every corner.

  • 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is perfect around 80 kilometers from dubai airport away. a wonderful retreat in the desert with all extras you expect from a 5-star resort. staff is 100% attentive and gives you the feeling of being welcome - extraordinary. only for those who prefer a more untouched environment and who expect more desert experience like high sand dunes, they will find it more inland and south of the UAE

  • 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was way over priced. It was a family hotel with heaps of kids and family. All the photos made it out to be a couple style hotel. Also there is nothing to do at this hotel. Thought we could relax around the pool but it was just full of kids screaming and playing. Not that we have a problem with kids, it's just hard to relax when there is so much noise. Also the camel rid goes for 2min in a circle and then its over. Then they try and sell you photos of you on a camel. very underwhelming hotel.

  • 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced for what you get. The rooms are quite dated and small by Dubai standards. The king terrace room was interesting, set in a cave-type environment but again, was small and old. The royal suite was more like a very junior suite. Resort is probably due for a revamp.

    Th resort itself was quite nice as were the pools. The staff were wonderful. Hugely overpriced, so even though facilities were quite good, the rooms are not worth the money

  • 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door key did not work so we could not enjoy seeing sun set since it took time to fix the problem.

    The facilities like restaurants, transport from hotel to restaurant, room failities, friendly staff

  • 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The ambiance is lovely- it's very different from other hotels with special lamps, courtyards, gardens, and seating areas throughout the grounds. This was our second stay and has become our favourite weekend getaway spot as it is so relaxing and enjoyable. The service is excellent, the pool is perfect, the rooms (even the least expensive) feel luxurious, and it's only a 45min drive from our home in Dubai.

  • 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still not clear whether we were given room we asked and paid for (in terms of square area). Room did not feel like 47Sq.M. Big problem is that when booking we tried to call the hotel but staff's English was not up to describing the various rooms available in size, views overlooking etc.

    Falcon experience unforgettable and walk in the desert and camels etc fantastic. "Arabian Night" wonderful experience and all outdoor facilities GREAT (pools etc). We did not have time to use gym and spa. Lovely roof terrace for sunset views!!

  • 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 102 which had a beautiful, huge terrace with a view of the desert. The service was probably the best part; we ordered room service for both nights and the staff served it in the public areas very efficiently.

  • 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for sensation, however the organization of going to the venue from hotel and back, was a mess. The bus driver was rude, he wouldn't pick up anyone even if we had hotel wrist band, sensation security and the hotel did not organize pick and drop locations well. A lot of people were walking aimlessly trying to get back to the hotel. We had to follow the bus on foot for 10 mins before he let us in.

    The hotel itself as a resort, is beautiful and the staff in hotel are nice

  • 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grilled prawns and chicken was served cold at the rooftop, however when addressed, food was quickly heated - perhaps in a microwave. Our guesses were that probably the food had been ready to be served a little too long, before the waitor picked it up. However, staff were extremely polite and service minded

    Warm and welcoming staff immediately made us feel like home. Lots of privacy. Love the "hidden" areas around the hotel and the general coziness of the place, is somehow superior to villas or bungalows in other similar but much more expensive resorts. Already booked our next stay at the fabulous Bab al Shams

  • 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet food in Al Forsan was not very warm. Limited selection of by the glass wine. Gift shop was too focused on Dubai. We would have liked opportunity to buy Bab al Shams logo souvenirs

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Setting is fantastic

  • 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our wedding anniversary and all the staff went the extra mile to make it special. The breakfast selection was amazing! All the staff were super friendly. I highly recommend the spa - very relaxing. I hope to go back in the future! We loved every minute.

  • 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants are all expensive, so factor is additional coats for dinner!

    Amazing stay at Bab Al Shams - the pool set up is brilliant, the breakfast is amazing and the spa is lovely too!

  • 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. It was my husbands 60th Birthday and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff we encountered during our stay were most polite.

  • 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at the Italian restaurant is not stellar.

    Pool area is very nice, as well as desert surroundings. Our daughter really enjoyed the kids club and riding the pony and camel.

  • 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You really feel it's all about making money. Rooms are dark , no 'charm', food quality medium, except breakfast which is delicious with lots of choice, fresh juices, etc., sports, swimming pool, archery , falconry very good, this helps to 'digest' the rest. Would not come back.

  • 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities when checked out - not a suitable place to change and shower other than the pool changing room. Would have been helpful to have access to a room in the hotel out of the heat and with changing rooms, towels and space for suitcase etc.

    Location, quiet and peaceful surroundings

  • 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    inside the resort you could not easily tell that you are in the desert; don't know if this is a pro or contra comment; but I would prefer to feel/see the presence of the desert all the time; it's what I went there for;

    Stuff, food and service were very good, helpful and nice; There is a literal endless biking rout near the hotel(I used it for jogging); it's very nice;

  • 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the service at the pool !! At any resort in the world the drinking water bottles are offers for free when you use and eat the pool I have been charged a none reasonable amount of money for the same bottles of water that give for free at the room !!

    The quietness of the resort and location are perfect to relaxing away from the city

  • 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot go into the desert alone - even just a walk outside the area of the hotel is prohibited

    Its nicely isolated from all the stress and noise from Dubai and surroundings

  • 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices . Lizards. Booking.com didn't said it's gonna be in the second floor The pool isn't deep

    Breakfast. Bed . Staff. Environment. Weather

  • 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many children, parents left them to be unruly, poor lifeguard was having to babysit! Very busy at the pool Only one attendant at pool bar Rooftop terrace live music was too loud

    Style of the hotel Staff were all very attentive and helpful Facilities

  • 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is amazing , lovely food , staff were amazing too , extremely helpful and polite . Views are stunning . Would highly recommend , I took my daughter for a birthday surprise and she was in awe at the surroundings too.

  • 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place didn't look very smart ! The breakfast room is a bit dated! There is lots of plastic tents around the place and other plastic toys making the place a bit chavy! Very expensive for the quality you get! However the staff was 5 stars!!

    We liked the roof top bar, the comfort of the room.

  • 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All is very good.

    The hotel is in the desert, all facilities are very nice. We took the camel and the 4x4 drive in the desert, this is a must. The show and the food at the restaurant is just Great! Nigora is the best dancer I have seen, GREAT!!!

  • 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! Very slick. Old style Arabian chic. Interesting, romantic, exciting. A very special place. Staff were all amazing. The location fabulous. The room was fantastic. Full of old world Arabian character but with ultra modern amenities. Loved the camel rides at sunset. Amazing breakfast, especially the rainbow bread and blue lagoon shots! Very 'everyone' friendly! Child friendly, couples friendly, family friendly. A very restful, relaxing place that had that exclusive feel. A real gem. Will definitely go back.

  • 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    housekeeping the cleanless of the room its not too dirty but its not a 5 star housekeeping

    the pool they had was great and the verity of restaurants and every restaurant had its own unique style and atmosphere

  • 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price- a little on the high side. Choices of Buffett breakfast and dinner limited. Venue of Buffett restaurant very dangerous with lots of steps to negotiate in the seating area! Check in time very late.

    Rooftop restaurant very nice and romantic. Customer service very good. Lovely Traditional Arabic interiors to hotel with modern touches. Lovely pool, shame about the views. Good location, decent desert resort.

  • 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so bad, I had a feeling that I am not in a 5 star hotel. I felt like they were expecting somthing everytime I ask for a service. It was my birthday and my waife birthday and I have sent them an email stating that, anyway, last time for me.

    Location.

  • 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not Applicable

    The extremely friendly and lovely staff made our stay at the resort blissful. Every other aspect of the Hotel starting from the reception, room, pool, Al Sarab lounge, etc. was outstanding. We will definitely visit again, hopefully for my Birthday :)

  • 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is fix, can't move to different angle. The hairdryer is fix in the room, not in the washroom, which made it little bit noisy especially when kids is sleeping. We asked house keeping if there's extra hairdryer but the answer was no. It's not a big deal but would be better if they could make some small change.

    We were upgraded to a room with the balcony in the 1st floor, the decoration of the room room and the huge twin beds made us very so relax. The pool and the roof restaurant with live show are so enjoyable! We'd like to visit again!

  • 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need for a larger non slip area by the pools and a mind the step sign, Currently there is a chrome rim.

    The ambience of the whole resort. Welcoming, friendly and professional.

  • 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    £15 for 2 bottles of water in the Dune restaurant is pretty excessive even for Dubai!

    EVERYTHING!!! The location, scenery, decor, staff, food - absolutely everything!

  • 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at breakfast can be improved. No wonder they had almost no customers at dinner time.

    Bell capitan Zubeer is a very sweet man from Indian. Hotel has this staff is a big plus.

  • 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's just the choice of restaurants and pool bar menu can be updated.

    We went for a weekend getaway, and the staff were fantastic, as they arranged a beautiful bday set up for my husband. We got an early check-in and we had the chance to use the facilities as soon as we got there which was around 10 am. the staff at Al Forsanrestaurant did a beautiful set up and cake for my hubbys bday they just made it extra special. thx all

  • 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very nicely located - in the middle of the desert :) Far away from the noise of the city. We could really just relax and enjoy food, drinks and sun.

  • 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They remove all the cushions after 6 pm so that you have no place to go other than their restaurants which is quit expensive

    The complimentary camel and falcon timing for photos

  • 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we requested a late check out and were given only one hour..most of the hotels give you until 3 pm

    the pool was amazing...the rooms are cosy and the whole experience was worth it

  • 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only and slight improvement would be to the lunch and dinner buffet which could have a better selection.

    The beautiful decor of the hotel itself fits in seamlessly with its environment and surroundings. The pool is spectacular and the desert dinner with entertainment is a must!

  • 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Such an experience to stay in a wee oasis fortress in the middle of the desert. Watching the sunset was really special. The rooms were stunning. The staff made sure the in laws celebrated their wedding anniversary in true style. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and very good at being attentive, but not obvious or intrusive. Food was good at both the Indian restaurant and the breakfast buffet. Room was spacious and comfortable, with character. Bed was MASSIVE!

  • 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything went better than expected. We drove but if Resort provided transportation to and from Dubai would be a plus.

    Everything. Staff was very efficient and helpful. Resort is very unusual and wonderful to experience-one of the best highlights of our trip.

  • 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there was much that could've been better. However, the Indian restaurant we dined at over-served us. We were asked quite too frequently what we needed. Literally, a waiter would walk by us every 2 minutes asking if we needed something or wanted more food. This wasn't good since our conversations would be interrupted. Other than this, everything was great.

    An exotic destination for a weekend getaway, Bab Al Shams was a perfect place for our family. The staff were very friendly and helped us as much as they could so that we could enjoy our stay. In addition, the pool was just amazing, a very unique experience to swim in the middle of a desert. The bar has an amazing happy hour deal, which we utilized, and the food was just amazing. It was a pity that we couldn't do the Arabic dinner because it was a little too hot and humid, but overall our stay was perfect.

  • 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant are a bit overpriced. Far away from the city.

    Everything was great starting from the welcoming to the end. If you plan to stay here then make no other plans, a lot of activities and perfect for weekend getaway and relaxation.

  • 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    prices ...ok not about the room price I understand that resort is 5 star and I understand the room prices too.. till here it's ok .. but restaurants prices is little bit high .. actually i prefer to feel free in spending my money in that special place "at all I had enjoyed " but after i see my bills I will think twice .. I think the services prices including restaurants are high !! another thing we need a supermarket !! and 24 hour programs and activities "I will spend my money on this its ok :D " but it's difficult to me to sleep early .. the only thing that i can do at night watching tv or moving around the oasis alone .. no bars or restaurants after 1 am.. why !!

    The best place to have relaxing in the middle of amazing oasis .. nice place with nice food and activities .. large and artistic swimming pool ..there is also a nice arabian cafe there to watch one of the best sunset view in the region .. "Hadeera" is a very special activity to join full arabian night with billy dance and cool music program with nice food and nice company :)

  • 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was big but we found the quality and taste to be disappointing.

    This is a well designed property, highly recommend for a taste of the desert done comfortably and beautifully. A morning walk around the grounds was peaceful and filled with the sounds of the desert and the sunset views from the terraces are stunning. It blends right into the surroundings and the rooms are inviting and incredibly comfortable. The pools are lovely and the staff is very accommodating.

  • 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing I can complain about

    the pool has something on offer for every age, staff is very competent and friendly, they go the extra mile, the entertainment options are great for families with kids

  • 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Terrace Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The special Arabian dinner is totally worth for the buffet which is amazing since it's like a market but the show is definitely not worth it. In general it's way too expensive for what it is.

    The style of the hotel fits perfectly with the desert. The pool area is amazing. The room is nice and comfortable.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: