Reviews of Maison D'or

Amerikalei 113, Antwerp Center, 2000 Antwerp, Belgium

#4 of 62 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 37

  • November 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower tap didn't work properly. They had already fixed it before, unfortunately it was not done properly.

    Very confortable bed, super clean, friendly staff.

  • October 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The street is noisy The room was extremely warm There is no shower only a bath and it difficult to take a shower without making a mess (carpet on the floor) No door at he bathroom = no privacy

    It's clean and cozy

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel, close to great bars, restaurants and shops in the Zuid district. The service at the hotell was excellent and I warmly recommend the delicious breakfast!

  • September 29, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint is that the corridors and stairways are badly lit

    friendly staff, lovely rooms and a great breakfast. Location is good and very easy to access from Motorway but away from Antwerp centre. I will stay here again.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I realise it is probably a strange thing to say, but the toilet was too high (and I am not a short person...)

    Very beautiful room, I loved the way the bathroom was split into 3 parts. The bed was extremely comfortable.

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was a beautiful room with very friendly staff and the process of checking in and out was completely seamless. I didn't love Antwerp but would go back just to stay there. :)

  • September 4, 2016

    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine. Room had bath but no shower, but the bath was very nice.

    Nice styling, large bed, friendly atmosphere and staff, great breakfast, arranged gluten free bread, location.

  • August 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous old building which has been renovated to a high standard. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Staff extremely friendly and helpful... thank you Gareth and Veronique.

  • July 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great and I would wholeheartedly recommend all. Since this property is in old house with stairs, rooms on anything above first floor may be difficult for those needing elevator or having large luggage.

    Veronique, the proprietor, is very warm and welcoming, chatted with us like old friends. The property is in an ideal location, quiet, overlooking street and within 5 minutes walk to many bars, restaurants and about 10-12 minutes to the old center. Maison D'or served a great breakfast and Veronique had excellent suggestions for meals outside. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. I especially loved the fresh lilies and peonies in the hall and bedrooms.

  • June 24, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on business trip. The only thing I was missing was a small table/desk in my room where I could work with my PC. The other room which my college got, had such desk.

    Very nice small hotel, very pleasant and service minden, good breakfast, large rooms, god beds etc..

  • June 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None except I would say there is No need to change the soap every day 😁

    No fuss Left to yourself Accept not everyone's cup of tea but layout of room nice Bath in room which I didn't mind but good to know but it's clear in the photos so shouldn't come as a surprise Good location, especially if you like to wander and explore

  • June 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of steep stairs to upper floors.

    Very comfortable bed. Great location close to several good bars & restaurants. Walking distance from the old town. Recommend Mampoko for breakfast, further along the street.

  • May 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Checking out was a pain because property owner is not there 24-7 and had credit card machine issues the weekend we were there. i still ended up being charged twice the amount i was supposed to and am in the process of solving it with Booking.

    Design and location of the hotel - really cozy and walking distance to a lot of things in the city. Designed like an apartment so you're able to have your own space

  • April 22, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little chilly at night, and not much nearby in way of groceries or restaurants.

    Veronique was a lovely host, the room was big, and the furnishings nice.

  • April 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet was in the room behind a partition. There are no facilities, this is more like a b&b than a hotel

    The room was comfortable and nicely decorated but bath and toilet are in the room (not a separate bathroom).

  • March 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit inconvenient that the bathtub is in the middle of the room and no shower available as an alternative. Not a big deal thou.

    The lady in charge of the hotel, Veronique, is exceptional. Super helpful and pleasant. The room is spacious, clean and comfy. The location is great. The hotel has a huge "living room" where you can sit, relax, have a coffee

  • February 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great stay in Maison D'or. The room was perfect, great bath and the beds were big and comfortable. The owner is very friendly. The hotel has a central location, it is not far walking into the center. We would stay here again.

  • February 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an absolutely lovely time staying at Maison d'Or. We wanted to have a little regenerative getaway from busy life with two small children and were very successful. It was our first break from sleepless nights in 16 months. The owner welcomed us with her warm hospitable spirit, despite us arriving earlier than planned(we managed to drop the kids off earlier at grandma's). The room was just perfect and I enjoyed a hot relaxing bath and a nice long lie in which I haven't been able to do in over a year. Super comfortable bed. modern and fashionable interior were a perfect fit for fashion central Antwerp. I wanted something luxe and stylish and not generic hotel without character..Maison d'Or definitely fit all the checkmarks.

  • January 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good central location with excellent public transport links. The hotel was excellent and we felt very welcome. We will be staying there again very soon. Very personalised breakfast was great, the free room upgrade was a treat too. 10/10.

  • November 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked it all!!

    We were very warmly welcomed by Veronique, who knew we had a tough day behind us. We were even upgraded and spent the most relaxing night

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location a little far off, a few of the facilities in the room were not really practical (no nightstand)

    very welcoming host, lovely house and stylish room

  • September 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely staff who go the extra mile. The hotel is beautiful, the pictures do not give it justice and the location is perfect. Most importantly we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. We will definitely be coming back

  • August 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location on tree-lined boulevard in trendy 't Zuid, walk to numerous cafes & restaurants. Historic building, clean, crisp design interior & furnishings. Bed is very comfortable! Parking spot in front of the door! Owner Veronique is a friendly and attentive host.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    SHOWER was not OK.

    Actually nice and good.

  • December 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was excellent

  • October 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is relatively expensive.

    The Room is well designed.

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a bit away from the center....20 minutes walking

    very nice rooms, original artistic interieur

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room prices (but Antwerp in general) are tough

    Love for detail, homemade breakfast, lovely host, relaxed atmosphere

  • June 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent friendly staff. Comfortable hotel in easy walking distance to city centre.

  • June 12, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very interesting architecture and ambience. Perfect location for those not wanting to stay near cathedral or Old Town Antwerp

  • June 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the design was amazing and the owner very kind an helpful

  • April 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very beautiful and quiet room. The owner was very helpful.

  • February 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find a parking spot

    Great location and a beautiful room!

  • February 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    /

    A clean and great place to stay which is close to the city center (20min walk).

  • December 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairwell is a bit narrow, and the bottom stair was easy to miss

    The decor, the amenities, the location and the staff

  • October 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Open bath, open toilet in bedroom; lack of privacy. No staff even in early evening. Decor a bit strange.

    Location close to restaurants and bars

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not make a coffe in the room

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Maison D'or Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: