Reviews of South Pearl Apart Hotel 3 stars

Kavaci, 8130 Sozopol, Bulgaria

#74 of 106 vacation rentals in Sozopol

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 267 hotel reviews

7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • September 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't sleep because of the mosquitoes. The fitness didn't work even though the web site said other wise. The food wasn't very fresh and qualitative. The restaurant didn't work without previous online reservation.

    The location was excellent. The room was comfortable. The staff was very polite.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Food, cleaning. No TV signal...

    The location, the panorama, the decorations, some of the employees attitude, great for family! Even the wedding on Sunday evening was great, discreet, not disturbing us! The aparthotel ideea, with kitchen for small salads prepared by ourselves.

  • September 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was horrible to start with, a panel of the ceiling was missing, as well as a part of the wall where cables were easily accessible. There were three narrow wardrobes, one of which turned out to be accommodating the water heater. We did end up bitten by at least 5 generations mosquitoes since there were no insect screens on any of the windows which is, needless to say, cruel when vacationing with 2 children. To top it all, there was a wasp nest which had made a home on the balcony glass shield. Considering the above, it came as no surprise to us that the bathroom window (not tinted glass of course) was with a direct view of the parking lot.. there were no shower curtains around the bathtub.. We did get a TV receiver on the forth day of our stay after numerous requests, wishful the children can enjoy at least a decent cartoon while recovering from the mosquito bites which we limited with sprays and creams. Must have been our lucky day since it was then we received the third towel and the extra sheet we initially asked for right after checking in. In regards to the dining options and food quality (both the half board and the a la carte menu items), it was simply basic, not inedible, yet just.. basic. Overall, highly priced considering the conditions and personnel efficiency. Would not recommend this - hostel in bad condition - experience to anyone!

    Perfectly located a couple of minutes walk from a beautiful beach and the exceptionally pleasant to visit beach bar Verano.

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor quality of food for breakfast. Cheap-looking and dirty restaurant. Poor technical condition. No appliances and no dining table in the studio, meaning you get a double room for the price of the studio. A waste of a beautiful piece of land.

    Location

  • August 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It needs a better management, the staff is trying to cope with problems but seemed to be alone. Many things in the hotel need repair, like lamps, sockets. The lift was out of order quit often which was a problem when you have luggage and live on the 5th floor.

    The location is really good. 2 minutes away from the Sea. Rooms are comfortable, beds are good. Breakfast plenty of choice.

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a hotel in an excellent location, steps from the beach. It is intelligently designed and furnished and relatively well maintained. An exception is the gym which is totally abandoned. There is no beach area associated with the hotel and guests have to pay hefty fees for umbrellas and beach beds every day. The breakfast is disorganised, always lacking necessary utensils, cups or food items. The coffee machine is turned off strictly at 10 am as if to punish late risers. The booking.com site did not allow a change of the reservation dates within the free cancellation/change period with no good explanation. A one-way deposit was charged at the time of booking, although that was not made sufficiently clear in the booking process and the reservation was with free cancellation period. I wondered what would have happened with that money had I cancelled.

  • July 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Excellent location, good restaurant, vlean and quiet, a lot of interesting places nearby, between 5 and 25 km. Old center Sozopol, Dyuni beach, Ropotamo river, Beglik Tash and the exceptional and easy trip to the estuary of Ropotamo river and beach (amaizing place), Primorsko and Perla beach, so a lot of exceptional places for everybody. Extraordinary place, one of the best, maybe the best, on Bulgarian seaside. Thank you.

  • July 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The studios weren't very clean, there was mold in the bathroom. The rooms were moist and smelled bad. The linen wasn't that clean. There was no fridge in one of the studios and when we asked for one they brought it early in the morning, entering the room without permission. The parking lot was extremely small and uncomfortable. The hot water comes from boiler which is not enough for two people. They gave us only one key card per room but you need one more for the electricity (and the boiler) to be working while you are not in the room. Sometimes the key cards couldn't unlock the door. The food in the restaurant was awful. There was hair in the food constantly. The arrangement for breakfast was very uncomfortable and the choice of food was poor. The staff was rude and inadequate. They tried to charge us for one more parking day and there was fee for everything.

    Location, it's very close to the beach.

  • July 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The food was the lowest quality ever!!! We preordered dinners which were looking like and tasting like student's canteen food, and with only two variants to choose from.

    The location of the hotel. It's very close to the beach - just across the street.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff doesn't know English but they tried to do their best in understanding us. The food served at breakfast is cheap and you'd better not expect a 3* quality. We've also bought the dinner via booking.com(9euros/person) and we did NOT like it. They served a Bulgarian menu, with only 2 available meals. We wanted a money refund, or at least choose only one dish within the price range. Well ... none of these were possible. Also, the food was even worse than breakfast, and served cold. You can eat better on the beach. Do not buy in advance the menus presented.

    Great pool and bar. Great location. The beach is very close to the hotel(you will have to cross the street and walk for aprox. 3mins). The hotel has clean rooms. The staff is friendly.

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like mold. Walls were damaged. The shower didnt work properly. Bathroom door couldnt close. The included brekafast was disaster. Half of the dishes were empty. There only water, no juice.

    Receptionist was great, very helpful. Same goes for the handy man, who helped me open my door. The pool bar guy was very helpful as well.

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very rude receptionist not a bit helpful at all. The apartment that we booked is capable of accommodating up to 4 guests and we were given just one door card. The lock of the apartment door was broken and won't be able to open with the door card, we asked for a spare door key and the receptionist refused to give that to us. The toilet inside the room basically is a see-through design, whoever outside can see everything happening inside the shower/toilet. It's awkward enough even for a family. We were complaining about this and asked for a curtain, the receptionist just simply said will fix this for us, but nothing happened even till the day we checked out. There's only one air-conditioner in the apartment (in the living room), not inside the bedroom, not even a fan, basically sleepy in the bedroom through a hot summer without AC as if sleepy in a sauna room. The fitness facilities can be ignored, basically none of the gym equipment works. Spa always closed when I was there.

    The swimming pool area was nice. Breakfast was simple but efficient and the staff member in the restaurant was very polite and helpful, she speaks perfect English. The housekeeping lady doesn't speak a word of English, but she has been very helpful and tried helping me with open the apartment door with that stupid door card.

  • May 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had some leakage in the hot water heater and shower faucet that may have been early season challenges after the winter. I reported the problems and the staff took care of things very adequately.

    the location is great across the street from the beach and a short drive to Sozopol. Staff was helpful.

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wish the room to be more clean. No lights in front of the hotel and parking!

    the location is great, breakfast was very tasty. the staff very kind,beautiful beach. we will visit again for sure!!

  • August 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Of the 5 nights i stayed there, my room as cleaned once. Wifi signal was erratic

    Just a few yards from a stunning beach. Pool clean and warm if that is more your thing. Food available in the restaurant was of a good quality.

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small things in the room, not working, locks on doors had previously been broken.

    Location cannot be beat - across the street from the beach for daytime activities and 10 minute drive to Sozopol Olde Towne for stroling and wonderful dining.

  • August 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low quality of the materials Low usability: sockets in wrong places, a/c is the living room and not in the bedroom, no shower curtain, not easy parking access

  • August 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    During our stay were not negative things.

    Great location , quiet and clean hotel room, very good selfcatering facilities, Swedish buffet breakfast. Very friendly staff. Free internet access and parking. Nice to excellent sea view rooms! Excellent location & holliday! Thank you!

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free parking means park in the back of the hotel, dirt road and not really a parking lot. To park in front on the hotel you have to pay. I think the place is done nice, but the stuff has to improve on cleaning and maintaining the place.

    Great location, nice furnished studios and swimming pool. Steps from beautiful beaches and just 3-4 kilometers from old city Sozopol.

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is may second year in this hotel and this time I came for longer, with a car. My first review was way more positive but after spending 5 days at the hotel I would want to point out the following to the management and potential visitors: The main receptionist is pretty annoying person who hates his job in his guts. Whenever you ask him a question he would wait for 30 seconds before he answers. He would not great you, he would not look into your eyes. He will pretend you are not at the desk. Rest of the staff were nice. The free parking is a disgrace. Forget it if you are with a sports car. The hotel has a very nice parking which they charge money for. It appears that parking is their primary business. Gym is even worse than what it was last year. This thing is never cleaned. There is one new device(boxing punchbag) and some of the broken ones are now gone. Punchbag was blocked most of my stay because someone stacked chairs in front of it. When someone cooks in their studio all the rooms get to have the smell - horrible. Breakfast is substandard. There were ants in one of the dishes for 3 days. Finally someone told the staff so they can remove it.

    There is a punching bag in the gym. Pool is very nice. Rooms were clean and most of the staff were trying to be helpful although not always successful.

  • July 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Absolutely perfect location, one of the best beach in Bulgaria, absolutely great, natural, good restaurants. Very good and clean room. Easy way to Sozopol, there is a shuttle from 100 m from the hotel (near Miramar hotel). Only 2 levs / person. There are also taxies at the same price. If you don't want to use your car. Good parking - if you book a parking place, payed. If not, a little difficult during the day, not each day.Good excursions around the location (Agalina cape, Arkutino natural reserve, Dyuni beach, Ropotamo, Maslen cape, Beglik Tash, old Sozopol, Ravadinovo).

  • July 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some times random people entered the room. For 7 days stay they never changed the sheets even when we asked them to... Food in the restaurant is not fresh... twice we ordered meat that smelled really bad.

    It close by really nice beach. Pool is nice. Staff is nice. Rooms are ok.

  • July 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff seemed very unhelpful and the food served from their restaurant was very poor. Ordered a mohito cocktail, they had run out of mint and it tasted like toilet cleaner. Bathroom sink also blocked. You have to pay 8 lv a day parking even if you are staying there.

  • June 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the free parking isn't very nice, the good parking is actually paid no matter if you are a guest of the hotel

    Rooms - spacious, bed comfort was good

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice place. I`m back

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So many Moskitos in the room. Couldn't sleep at night as the room was fool with them. Also, bathroom shower head was broken.

  • July 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water ! Bed was firm .

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely not clean weak internet slow employees small swimming pool

    Big rooms.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV wasn't working + the electricity in the living room. We had to wait till next day to be fixed, which gladly happened.

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance from town meant taxis

    everything

  • September 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 24 nights

    the personnel is very kind and the location is good.

  • September 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad internet

    Very good hotel

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for parking

    Located near beaches

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi is horrible...Hôtel staff is not very kind

    Swimming pool and location near to the Beach

  • August 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell from the kitchen floor

  • July 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid parking and restaurant food.

    Great location and good rooms.

  • May 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that the facilities were not fully open.

    Location, room comfort, staff

  • May 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stuff v. ok and the rooms are excelent

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • October 22, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The head rceptionist was totally unhelpful! Left us 2 breakfasts 1 in doggy bags! No swimming pool, no restaurant! They offered to have a meal sent over from Burgas!!!! When we complained their stock answer was, You didnt ask if the swimming pool was in use, or the gym or the sauna, we did ask for a special table on our joint birthdays night they didnt tell us the restaurant was closed!!!!! We didnt want a refund! We wanted an apology! We were the only 3 guests in the hotel, booking .com did not do their job properly! Someone should have told us the hotel was shut down for the winter! So you did ask I have told ! Be wary of booking.com and very wary of booking into the South Pearl Apartments!!!!!

    The location!

  • August 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi is not working in the rooms, so if you need to use it, the lobby is the only place where you can do it.

    The location was amazing, the hotel room was clean, the staff was very helpful and the pool was excellent. We had a great time!

  • August 28, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a fine line between dirty and clean - never quite sure on which side this hotel was. Bathroom in a terrible state. Strange smell in the room, wifi not working, parking is narrow and crowded.

    Close to the beach, quiet.

  • August 28, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent. We had a wonderful surprise as we booked the executive studio an we were upgraded to one bedroom apartament. This was our second year at this hotel and definitely will come back again.

  • August 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    1. Air cond is loud (more than 50db) and it blow hot air to the room without conditioner 2. Apartment size (family suit) is not 72 meters at all it is 40 meters. So this is fraud. 3. There is no air conditioner in bedroom. 4. Leak on the walls with mold (everywhere in the hotel) and in my apartment too. 5. Room is clear but a lot of dust on the top of furniture. 6. I found someones hair on the flour in bathroom. 7. Bathroom is very little. 8. Table spoons was dirty. 9. There is no antimosquit doors 10. On the terrace and kitchen only 2 chairs - this is family room for 4 guests! 11. Refrigerator for family is too small (2-3 bottle of water max) and not cold inside. 12. My son find opened porno chnnel on tv 13 gym is poor and dirty

    1. The best beach in bulgary with clear sand and water and without starwing croud of tourists. (I was in sozopol, nesebar, sveti vlas, sunny beach, ravda etc. This is the best). 2. Nice restaurant 3. Little but good pool 4. friendly stuff

  • August 21, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel dirty, staff indifference ,sauna was not working, the space of massage miserableThey dont change bed sheets ,curtains does not exist

    swimming pool is excelent

  • August 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym had like 6 things in it 2 of which not working properly.

    The staff were very nice and helpful all the time. Location is pretty good - very close to the beach but not on the beach itself. They've got a nice pool which is open even at night time. The bed was really a big one and the room was spacious.

  • August 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking is a nightmare (there are not enough places for all guests. You have to go out of the car to press the button to exit the parking. The WiFi was not available in our room. The cleaning staff was not really dedicated to their job. Some things were broken or dirty in our room upon checking in (Like the shower and the bed linen). It is a good hotel, but I do not think i will visit it again, since there are better alternatives for the same price.

    Location is very quiet and opposite to Kavaci+Smokinya beach. The hotel is generally good but it looks as if it has been abandoned by its owners.

  • August 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    В апартамента с две спални трябва да се сложат задължително климатици в спалните. Персоналът в кухнята на ресторанта е недостатъчен. Паркингът е малък и неудобен.

    Хубаво място. Страхотен плаж. Спокойно. Апартаментът беше просторен със страхотна гледка.

  • August 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    the parking lot was too small so not all of the guests, including us, could park their cars there. The kitchenette did not have even elementary equipment, there was no water boiler, no frying pan, etc. The kitchen corner was next to bedroom and its lights went on an off with movement sensors, so when somebody went to toilet through it in the night, the lights would be on for quite a while without a possibility to turn it off. TV was not working half of the time. The cleaning lady either did not come at all, or visited us during the afternoon siesta.

    It was located near the sea and had nice swimming pools

  • August 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small parking place, nearly impossible to charge your gadgets, small fredge, remote control tv not working. Food- expensive and bad.

    Very close to the beach

  • July 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    I love this part of Sozopol area! However the hotel is the last place to stay. Room - I received not cleaned room with guest Inside!!!! I thought that was a joke! Wifi in rooms above 1st floor- forget about it! Restaurant- i not recommend! Not fresh, and You have to wait veeeeery long time for dish. Poor quality for high price. Additionally Restaurant garden with super parking view instead of sea. Breakfast - nothing special. Better option is to eat something in apartment or in the nice beach bar with sea view. Swiming pool - is nice only on the photo. It is placed next to the parking, so You are able to take a sunbath and touch Somebody's car in the same moment. Staff - one or two people with average english skills. If You have to explain something e.g. Your invoice, payment- You can forget about it - worry yourself! Generally they are really nice and smiling when everything is ok. When you have a comments, complaints they are not able to do anything. Manager is never reachable!

    Location is ok - calm & silent surrounding, hotel in front of the sea.... however.... beatwen the hotel and the sea is busy road, wheras in the hotel description and on the photos you are not able to notice it - Classic example how to cheat potential client! 5 points for photographer' s skills.

  • July 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking - to get out of your car in order to inform the Reception to lift up the ramp to access the very small parking only to find out that it was impossible to park without blocking at least 3-4 other cars from exiting. Breakfast quality was rather poor.

    The location, the quality of the free WiFi and the size and the furniture of the apartments.

  • July 27, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi very very very bad Many guest had to use stairs and lobby. Not suitable

    Location to beach

  • May 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was alright

    The location is very close to the beach. It is very quiet.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: