Reviews of Altes Tor

Oberstrasse 17, 56341 Filsen, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Filsen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 8

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was just such a lovely little "homey" place to stay. The owners and their daughter made us feel very welcome. Such hard workers and yet, from our side, everything ran smoothly and nice. FIlsen itself is only tiny but the larger town of Boppard and Rhine River cruises are just a quick hop across the river on the ferry. This was the place where, after out hectic stays in Munich and Hamburg, we truly began to feel we were actually on holiday.

  • October 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an "olde world" hotel the owners are a lovely elderly couple who made us very welcome, their daughter Anya is such a hard working lady and a very good cook.

  • July 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I usually sleep on hard pillows, but I guess that this is a very subjective comment. Otherwise, nothing to comment negatively

    Very friendly staff/owners who took great care that the customers are feeling good.

  • February 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No TV, no WiFi

    Great home made food for dinner. Less than 1 minute from the RheinSteig.

  • October 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was a bit dated needs some work especially the garden area

    Hotel staff were very helpful and breakfast was amazing catered for everybody

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dark wheat beer.

    Traditional unhurried hospitality in a small German village, close to the Rhine. Off the beaten track yet only a short ride ferry ride from tourist hotspot of Boppard. Excellent, simple and well cooked evening meal and local wines. Characterful village and hotel.

  • August 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Being disabled, I found the fairly long and steep staircase rather difficult. fortunately I only had to climb it once. I was disappointed that there was no television in my room.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and I was able to have it earlier than usual because of a long journey in front of me. Everyone was very helpful

  • September 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very compact bathroom.

    Helpful service. English spoken. Spacious room. Convenient for Rheinsteig trail.

Showing 1 - 8

Guests also reviewed these properties: