Reviews of Hochschwarzwald-Hof 2 stars

Dresselbacher Str. 9, 79859 Schluchsee, Germany

#12 of 15 hotels in Schluchsee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant was not particularly "fine". Quantity but not quality. It wasn't a problem as we found a couple of very good quality restaurants nearby. Otherwise we were very happy with this charming hotel.

    The hosts were super friendly & helpful so we felt very welcome & at home. The rooms were comfortable, clean & spacious. There was a good variety of food for breakfast for a great start to the day. It was close to the town centre & not far from the station & lake.

  • 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was a pain, unorganized and slow. The staff seemed badly organized. Overall there wasn't much friendliness and we felt kind of out of place and not welcome sometimes. What was really bad, was that the cleaning staff just tried to come into both of our rooms shortly after 8am to clean our rooms. We were still asleep and got woken by the noise. On our departure day we were leaving our rooms to go and have breakfast and were greeted by the cleaning lady with the following words: "When are you leaving?". No good morning, no hello, and once we had answered that we should by out by 11am (the check-out deadline stated in the booking documents) she told us off for staying in so long. She gave us the feeling we should be out already now. :-(

    The bed was fine and we were lucky with one room, which was actually quite large and also featured a sofa.

  • 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just superb people and excellent food Location brilliant

  • 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Ski Pass
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattress was not comfortable :(

    Restaurant, staff, food ... in general everything.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 12 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little to no English spoken. Older management had to summon one of the younger guys in the kitchen to check us in.

    Good proximity to town center and lake. Used as a base for sight seeing throughout the Black Forest. Breakfast was okay, dinner pretty good.

  • 26 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location (most hotels are on the main road). Very charming hotel. Excellent service, despite limited ability to communicate (we didn't speak much German and most didn't speak much English).

  • 19 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From where, in this hotel, is there a view of the lake?

    Simple, comfortable room. Very friendly, helpful staff. Plentiful food, needed to ask for a small portion!

  • 20 February 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    We had understood that with 4 nights we would would be getting ski passes for 4 days aswell, but the last day they told us at the skiing station our passes weren't valid anymore. This was quite a bummer given it takes a lot of time to get ready and set with all the equipment and go to the skiing station. We still don't know how it was actually supposed to work, they didn't tell us anything at the hotel when we mentioned it. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay.

    I had by mistake booked a different hotel which didn't accept children, from which we were rudely told to go away because we were a problem to them.. What a delight to go from that to "hochschwarzwald hof " where the owners were more than friendly and constantly provided us with toys, coloring books and material for our 2 year old. Rooms were basic and clean, the whole feeling of the hotel was traditional and simple. Breakfast had nice options and their restaurant had very tasty and good value for money meals (many choices for children's meals as well). In the center of the village, walking distance to train station, cafés, shops, super market and pharmacy.

  • 21 January 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the beds had only a kind of woven metallic support for the mattress. On this support a wooden board in the middle. Not comfortable at all. Never seen anything like this !

    very clean, kind reception excellent breakfast excellent dinner. Nice hotel with lots of woodwork style New Forest.

  • 24 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine

    Nice location, nice stuff

  • 5 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ski pass included Service from recepción staff

  • 4 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    one of the staff members was rude.

    hochschwartzwald cards made the price very attractive. good breakfast.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: