Reviews of Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein

Neuschwansteinstraße 17, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Germany

#6 of 8 hotels in Hohenschwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1211 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little trouble with the keys when opening doors but everything else was wonderful!

    The bed was comfortable, we also liked having our own comforters. I liked that it seemed to have two separate areas within the room. Perfect location! The breakfast was good too.

  • 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, they have a great businesses

    The location +++++++++. Could not be better. The staff were wonderful and helped ut with tickets to neuschwanstein castle

  • 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town closes EARLY. Hotel restaurant closed at 5pm.

    Location closest to castle. Drive up passed all those who are walking up for castle tour. Magical place to stay for view. Wake up and walk around castle before tourists arrive. Great brats. Warm fresh baked bread in the morning. Mulled wine and hot powdered like donuts out front.

  • 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of the shower. no phone in the room for emergencies. food and drink accommodations closing so early.

    the closeness to the castle. the huge breakfast. the secluded surroundings.

  • 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and simple. We both slept well. If you have any question, this is the only hotel at the castle. Otherwise you must walk up a one mile path and I do mean up. Or if you have tickets you can take a horse and buggy ride up and down.please get your tickets ahead. We waited two hours for a tour.

  • 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishing in the room is poor. I stayed at a twin-bed room. The room is very small that I can hardly put in my luggage. There is no chair in the room. I can only sit on the bed. The wardrobe can't open n no way to use it. This wardrobe occupies the room space without use!

    Location, near the castle

  • 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location! Can not believe it. The restaurant is also very good for the price! Although shared bathroom, there is a wash table in side our room. Bathroom is also clean.

  • 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi. The bathroom is big, but the shower space is quite small. The heaters in the bathroom and toilet were not turned on, so the bathroom and toilet were cold.

    The staff are nice. The room and the public toilet and bathroom is clean.Very near to the castle! The room is big.

  • 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love that we could drive up to the hotel and the hotel is right under the castle! It is only 5 mins walk from the hotel to the castle. The room is in decent size and clean. Staffs are very friendly. Breakfast could be better. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet Completely locked up from 5pm so you only have your bedroom Still have to go all the way back down the hill to get entrance tickets Doing roadworks even at night so noisy with machinery

    Cannot get closer to the castle and it saves you the long walk up the hill 10% on entrance tickets Easy to get to castle and walks before and after the crowds

  • 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing happening after 6. You need to make your way to the nearest village, so make sure you have a car. Rooms and bathrooms could do with a revamp, very dated

    The breakfast was lovely, and the location was excellent. Couldn't get any closer to the castle than this

  • 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is in busy restaurant during the day, but staff were still polite and helpful. Driving up the access road during the day was challenging (so many walkers)

    great location, surprisingly quiet at night, staff communicated well in English, and were very honest

  • 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely good location. Just right below the castle and can drive to hotel. Room is clean and neat. The restaurant at first floor is okay but close too early.

  • 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really wanted to like this place, but was severely let down and quite surprised by all the positive reviews. 1st, the restaurant. Incredibly disappointing food that came out within minutes of ordering (so, ALL prepared in advance and just microwaved) and sadly cold. THIS IS NOT GERMAN FOOD! A very sad excuse for it. Server seemed like she would rather pull her toenails off than serve us. 2nd, the facilities are not good. The hostel/dorm room bathroom thing is ridiculous. One bathroom for men. Two showers. Almost always busy - so hopefully you don't mind going down to the restaurant in your sleeping clothes to use the facilities...3rd, location is AWESOME for seeing the castle - at that point, there is nothing else, literally nothing, to do up there. Fussen is 90 walk along busy roads. 4th, the room was so outdated and sad looking with the gross sink standing right in the middle with the lights that didn't work :(. Ugh, if you want a hotel-like stay, this is NOT the place. A great price, reminiscent of a hostel, and probably more suited for that.

    Truly under the castle, which is breathtaking. Pretty reasonable beer prices along with a nice biergarten.

  • 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quaint little hotel right next to the castle. Really nice scenic walking around the back of the castle. ** A couple of things to note - tickets for the tours are at the bottom of the hill so get them before you check in at the top. Also, the restaurant at this location closes at about 6pm- if you are going to check in later you must contact them to let them know. You can eat at the bottom of the long hill but you will need to take your car. It's a bit of a hike and horses only run til about 5:30. All stores, tickets and restaurants are at the bottom of the hill.

  • 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location, very close to the castle. So easy to walk up to and down from the castle - it is located where the horse drawn carriage stops. A little hard to get to until you realise you have to drive up the "pedestrian" only road - added to the excitement. Parking on site a plus. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    After 18:00 there is no one around. We arrived around 19:00 we were instructed to get out room key from a safety box with a passcode. There was no one around to ask for directions, to help in the check in for nothing. It seemed to be a ghost hotel. To get the car from town to park it in the hotel, we had problems with the police because they did not what to let us pass, manly because we had nothing from the hotel demostrating that we were guest there. No internet connection, no room service, not even something to get a drink or some food near by.

  • 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is definitely the best , I went there with my mother she is 66 years old and she has OA knee so I booked this hotel because it's very near the castle and we can drive our car up there ,free parking is the plus too Staff was very nice to us

  • 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room to be a bit cluttered with low hanging lights in the way. Also as we have found in Germany you only get one very soft feather pillow each. Not good if you have sinus troubles.

    Great location friendly staff. Very accommodating when we rang to say we would be arriving late. The location is directly under the castle an is great for a night time walk to the castle without the tourists. We only stayed one night and we were happy with the room, location, staff and breakfast. Make sure you complete you check in before going down to get you entry tickets as you get a discount.

  • 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    small tip, i am a heavy tea drinker, since everything in the hotel is closed by 18.00 hours, perhaps it would be a good idea to place a vending machine (like with the cold drinks) for coffee and tea in the evening

    very friendly staff, who work incredibly hard! great location, although for evenings rather isolated since the hotel is closed at 18.00 hours.

  • 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is that driving up there isn't easy when the steep hill is full of tourists walking up to the castle ( clutch in the car didn't like it at all)

    Great location as you are basically just below the castle.

  • 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was generally clean, towels didn't smell great and furniture and carpets were stained and tired. No safe. In hindsight I think it would have been better to stay down in Hohenschwangau rather than up by the castle as the restaurant closes at 6pm and there's more to do down in the town so had to walk up and down the long hill quite a lot, rather than just once to see the castle.

    Room was a little small but had a shower and WC which was a bonus as was expecting shared facilities.

  • 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a bit more renevotian for room and furniture. They should inform that the access road is closed for traffic, but the guests have access with their car.

    Location, nice and helpful personal, arhitecture.

  • 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a kettle in the room so us typical Brits can make a tea or a coffee.

    We arrived a little early for check in but went in anyway to see if we could may be get in earlier. The first waiter we came to was very friendly and I was impressed by how much English he spoke. It became apparent as the weekend went on how well all of the staff spoke English. The hotel was typically Bavarian and the room was very spacious! We opted for a room with a bathroom. We ate in the restaurant 2 of the nights we stopped, the food was fresh cooked and tasted really good! We of course drank the German beer unique to this area, guided by the waiter on which ones to try. Breakfast was a buffet style with breads, meats and cereals. Was a truly memorable stay, would very much stay again.

  • 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't except hotel standard for stylish rooms and continental breakfast but the convenience paid off everything

    Next to the castle! Friendly staff with helping on luggages on stairs despite the room is located above the restaurant, sharing toilet & shower were clean and tidy. You even get 10% off for castle admission and go straight up to castle for tickets. Exclusive parking saved us 20 mins walking up to the castle which was amazing.

  • 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Right next to the schloss and you can go all the way to the hotel with your car if you stay here. We had members in our group who cannot walk due to health reasons and it was perfect for them to walk to the schloss from the hotel.

  • 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realize the cab ride would be cheaper than the bus shuttle from Fussen to town below hotel. We then took the horse carriage up and paid more than the cab ride would have been.

    Had a spectacular room with turret windows and canopy bed. Excellent value that included a nice breakfast. Felt like we were treated royally next to the castle. Advise: Take a cab up to the room with your luggage from the bus station in Fussen if you do not have a car. Only $15 cab ride well worth it.

  • 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a thing:)

    The staff was super friendly (and almost all of them was Hungarian, like us :) ). The location was the best in the town, the food was delicious. The Castle was a little walk away, everything was perfect!

  • 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated decor in our rooms no ensuite. Arrival stressful in terms of having to drive slowly through thousands of people ascending / descending the castle in order to reach the hotel. Having said that, we chose it for its proximity to the castle and not for its facilities- we knew what to expect so we were not dissapointed.

    Good breakfast. Very quiet at night. Location to castle could not be beaten. Very clean. Parking plentiful. After the crowds go you 'own' the castle!!

  • 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, really, I loved it! But if they could send a bus to pick up the guests and their "heavy luggage", it would be better…

    I like the breakfast, it was really good to relax at the beginning of the morning! :)

  • 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Recognizing the fact this is a very old hotel it still could deal with some updating.

    Superior location right below the Castle made for a short walk up to the castle. The view was incredible from all sides of the hotel. Parking at the hotel was included making it a huge plus.

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee available as everything is completely shut at 6pm . A vending machine is available for fizzy and beer . This needs to be addressed as it doesn't open again until 8am the next day .

    Brilliant location , decent restaurant , room comfortable.

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaky Shower enclosure. Floor was soaked in water after a shower.

    Like others have said, everything is a bit dated, but an incredible value. We arrived late but had no problem getting our keys (with prior arrangement). You can NOT beat the location, any closer to the castle and you would be staying inside of it. In the morning breakfast was a nice; typical European style with salamis, bread, etc. Shared bathrooms were clean. Would stay here again in a heartbeat....Plus girls in Dirndls... so who can complain?!! It was not my first time in the area..Please remember that after 6pm (1800) the entire town is deserted in the tourist areas so plan your dinner accordingly. Overall a great place, especially for a 'romantic surprise' for a significant other. Sad I will probably never be in the area again.

  • 28 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the restaurant was open a bit later. But we knew that it closed early and had brought food and wine. And it was actually nice having the outdoor area all for ourselves.

    If you are going to visit the Neuschwanstein Castle you can't find a better location. It's just a short walk. And it was lovely walking to the castle when everybody else (except for the other guests at the hotel) had left.

  • 23 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No actual reception so as you check in you are in everyone's way. No staff on duty after 6pm which felt very strange. Although we were able to access the hotel via the private road, it was full of tourists and horse drawn carts making the route very difficult on motorcycles.

    Very close to the castle and a discount to visit. Comfy rooms.

  • 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel restaurant was close at 6pm, so if we want to have a dinner after 6 pm, we had to go to the town.

    The location was so excellent that only a few-minute walk to Neuschwanstein castle.

  • 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds aren't the most comfortable, unless you prefer a very soft mattress, and the rooms aren't very soundproof at all. No wifi option.

    Great breakfast! The location was perfect for easy walks up to the castle. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a shared bathroom and never had an issue trying to use the restroom or shower facilities. It was great to have a sink and mirror in our room.

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if the ability of guests to tour Neuschwanstein without acquiring tickets in the town below had been made more clear to us before we arrived. We reserved an 11 o'clock tour in advance, and had to go down the mountain to collect the tickets and then go back up for the tour, even though hotel guests are actually allowed to simply walk to the castle without a reservation. As pointed out in other comments, it's important to remember that the facility really isn't a hotel, but rather a restaurant (that closes at 6 o'clock) with some rooms to rent. We had to make quite an effort to arrive before closing.

    The location is truly extraordinary for visiting Neuschwanstein; the view of the castle from our room at night was unforgettable.

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like, but I didn't realize that this is primarily restaurant with a few rooms on the floor above. It didn't detract from my experience, it was simply unexpected. Also - this is much more like a nice hostel than a hotel. The bathroom is down the hall, not in the room.

    The location absolutely cannot be beat. It is literally right next to Neuschwanstein Castle which means you get to drive up rather than walk. The bed was also quite comfortable and everything is very well maintained.

  • 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a charming but older hotel. Exterior looks like snow whites house. It has that older smell on the inside.

    This property is within a 5 minute walk to the castle front door. There is no other hotel or business within a 30 minute walk. You are literally staying at the castle. Look out the window of room 7 (shared bathroom) and you see the castle within 100 meters from your window!!!! Breakfast included. Older hotel but a fairy tale end to a wonderful day. Approx 7,000 people visit neuschwanstein every day. Once the castle gates close you have the views all to yourself!!!!

  • 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant stopped serving around 5:30 p.m. Our family had to drive back into town for dinner but there was minimal pedestrian or horse carriage traffic after 6 p.m.

    The location to the castle is phenomenal. Just make sure you print out your reservation because it will be checked if you arrive before 6 p.m. You can either visit the castle grounds before all the tourists arrive or after they leave. We lucked out by visiting the castle right before they closed and the next day, rode the horse carriage all by ourselves on the downhill trip.

  • 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room #11 was far from the pictures on the website.

    The Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein is very well positioned and offers a great view to Neuschwanstein castle. The staff is friendly and flexible.

  • 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift inside, if you have lots of luggage, it will be little bit hard to carry

    Great breakfast with candle light. The hotel has the best location to visit the castle.

  • 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was full of tourists until 6pm - then the restaurant shut completely - have to go into town if you want to eat in the evening. The place seems deserted at night - not even staff on reception. No internet, though there is a Wifi hotspot which worked fine for my daughter's phone but not mine.

    Location practically in the shadow of the castle

  • 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got there at 6pm, kitchen closed so had to travel back down to town for something to eat. Also if going inside castle then have to go back down to purchase tickets but we only wanted to see the outside which was free so perfect for us.

    Closeness to castle and amazing views.

  • 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, it is just 2mins walk from Castle. The staff are very friendly and must notice them if you arrive late. The key will be prepared in a safe.

  • 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms and toilets are shared, yet they are clean, easy to use, and always vacant.

    Great location just steps from the castle. Nice to have a walk around in the evening and in the morning. Save time and energy when visiting the castle. Rooms clean and comfortable.

  • 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated. Old carpet that needs to be replaced. While we had a room with a private bathroom, the halls shared bathrooms were right outside our door and we were woken up by the noise.

    Good location almost all the way up the hill to the castle - only hotel guests can drive up the road while everyone else has to park. Also enjoyed the breakfast.

  • 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have our own bathroom and shower, but the facilities were clean and considering the location and overall beauty and convenience of the hotel, this didn't matter at all.

    This inn is THE PLACE to stay when visiting the Castle. My wife and I were amazed at how close it was. The hotel website actually doesn't do this place justice. They should really emphasize the proximity to the castle. Talk about prime real estate. Staying in this inn means you don't have to hike up the mile-long hill with everyone else, and you get a parking pass for the hotel, which is less than 200 yards from the castle. Amazing. If I ever go back I'm staying here again. I can't believe I was able to book a room less than 3 months out. It should be booked solid all the time.

  • 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were shared toilets and shared showers, but luckily we got a room with its own shower and toilet. But there was no separate room for the shower.

    Breakfast was good (coffee, eggs, toast, jam, yogurts, cereal, granola, bacon/sausage), location was great! You get to drive up and park at the hotel instead of taking a 20 minute walk up a big hill. They also give you a voucher at the hotel that you can take directly to the castle to buy your tickets (instead of having to purchase them at the ticket office in town).

  • 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the cool, rainy weather. Puh!

    We were checked into our room by Imre and later he was our server in the restaurant. He was professional with a great sense of humor and charming smile. Imre made our stay wonderful! The location is great, as it is just a short walk up the hill to the Neuschwanstein Castle. To get to the hotel, you take the "restricted road" up toward the Castle which is used only by pedestrians, horse drawn carriages and very large tour buses. We were a bit unsure at first as to whether we were on the correct route, but two phone calls to the hotel assured us that indeed we were.

  • 17 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, location. Bed is very comfortable. Spotless clean everywhere including bathroom. There is a sink in the bedroom. Room is roomy great size. We walk up to the castle at 8 am took pictures. Only 10 mins. We took tons of picture because barely anyone is there. Great memory. Book it now.

  • 12 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities in the room are a little old-fashioned, but the canopy bed is awesome!

    Our room is bigger than average which are described in reviews. The staff waited for us till late, thanks! nice location, just under the neuschwanstein. If you are self driving ,you'll be give a permission to drive the car up to the hotel, that save a lot of time and strength to climb most of the way to the castle. And also you'll get 10% off discount of the castle tickets.

  • 9 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closes at 6pm sharp, make sure you have dinner if arrive late.

    It was rainy day when I paid visit to the castle, so I felt lucky that I chose this hostel for stay, we were few of the tourists who could drive up to the mountain with the permit given by the hostel, n walked merely 5 min. to the entry of the castle.

  • 9 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never heard anyone else, rooms were very sound proof. You are right below the Castle and close to other attractions. Breakfast was very good as well. Using the communal bathroom was very pleasant never had a problem with waiting to use them and very clean.

  • 4 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - WIFI weak - no elevator

    - 270M from neuschwangau castle, 7 min walking - Free Parking on-site - Go direct to the ticket office with their discount voucher to the castle, no need to wait on the line! - Shared toilet and shower, but exceptionally clean - Hot Breakfast was excellent treat! - Inexpensive hotel, strongly recommended

  • 1 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds aren't the greatest, and our room didn't have a bathroom. Had to go down the hall for toilets and showers.

    Very friendly staff and a nice breakfast provided in the morning. The location is excellent for visiting the castle! The views are breath taking! Perfect weekend getaway in Germany.

  • 1 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed foam mattress was too soft. Room need some renovation.

    Perfect location for a visit of the castle Neuschwanstein. Big room, good breakfast. Super friendly and helpful staff.

  • 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed to arrive at a hotel with "Restaurant" in it's name, to find that the restaurant is closed after 6pm. Nearest restaurant 2 miles away in Fussen. Not good when arriving wet through on motorbikes and no taxi service!

    Location to castle

  • 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a kettle with coffeemaking facilities in the room. Rooms very small and should have at least one english channel on TV selection.

    Breakfast was good.

  • 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This isn't a negative to the hotel itself but I am thankful for a prior review alerting us to the fact that everything closes at 6:00 - the hotel and the town. We turned this into a positive. We took the time to explore the outside of the castle without people walking into or standing in our pictures. It made for a BEAUTIFUL peaceful evening.

    The proximity of this hotel to the Neuschwanstein Castle was fantastic! The castle is literally in the back yard. One less climb up the road. The free morning breakfast was a great start to our day and the free parking was very convenient.

  • 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the most wonderful is the location. The room was overlooking the castle. You don't have to climb the mouuntain - we drove just up the walls. If you travel by car it will be very comfortable for you. We knew that check-in is before 5 p.m. so we were in time and the personnel was friendly and eficient. You can get tickets to the castle in the hotel and there's no need to get down to the village. The room was cosy and clean. The only small minus was the bed. Some planks were broken but I manage to fix it up. Fruits are served to welcome the guests. Our room had a private bathroom. the brekfast was good. On the whole, I'm fully satisfied with the hotel.

  • 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, barely enough space to walk past the bed. My partner & I both bashed our shins on the end of the bed. No Wi-Fi, it's 2016 already. No restaurant in the evening. Very early checkout of 11am. Relatively poor selection for the breakfast buffet.

    Its location, being so close the castle it saved us the long walk up the hill in the morning!

  • 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some trouble finding the hotel - not the hotels fault but our GPS said we have reached our destination in Hohenschwangau. We were very tentative about driving up the hill as there were hundreds of walkers and multiple horse carriages on the road but once we knew that's where we needed to go it was no problem.

    The location was ideal for us for an early morning visit to the castle. The hotel gave us a voucher which allowed us to buy the entry ticket directly from the castle - no requirement to go down to the ticket office and join the large queues. Parking was available, the room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast good and we could drive up and down the hill to restaurants/shops in Hohenschwangau without problems (avoiding the many walkers and horse drawn carriages on the way). If you are coming here to visit the castle I would recommend this accommodation.

  • 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find. There where no traffic signs. The road there is forbidden to drive, unless you have permission. However, it is very convenient to have a parking up at the castle.

    Close to the castle.

  • 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was better than expected in both quality and quantity. The carpark was enough for all guests. It was very convenient to stay here with a small child.

  • 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so close to the castle and the view from the room exceptional. I expected the restaurant to be basic but it was so much better than I'd hoped. Rooms were clean and comfy.

  • 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to check-in before 4 pm. Then no staff there.

    Very good location, near Castle. You can enjoy castle at night and early morning. Nice breakfast.

  • 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and furniture should be renovated or refreshed a little bit. But others are OK.

    If you are here for visiting Castle and you have a car, this is best location! You will get advantage to buy ticktes with discount and not in the ticket center, but directly in the castle, using special receipt from the hotel. And you can park your car right there, free of charge. Staff is very helpfull! We were late for check-in, but man was waiting for us to give us the key! Thanks a lot!

  • 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet

    Staff is very helpful despite they are very busy with restaurant, room is better than we expected. Room are very clean. Location is next to castle and no any hotel can beat that. Driving up there feeling it is much advantage even though we miss feeling that how difficult when people are built this no.1 tourist attraction.

  • 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of confusion in our end finding our room since we ended up in the staffing quarters. The place is pretty dated which we found charming but is not for everyone

    We were so close to the casale it was great! Also breakfast was excellent!

  • 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs were all cold. The location was very bad for staying, I would pay a little more and stay downhill near the main street. because it was next to Neuschwanstein. I know it sounds weird but you actually needs to go and pick up the ticket down in the city (15 mins walk from the hotel). Also, the regular schedule for visiting (if you visit both castles), you need to visit Hohenschwangau first which means you need to walk down the hill and walk up to Hohenschwangau, then up again for Neuschwanstein. Moreover, if you want to have dinner, again, you need to walk down the hill to get something since the restaurant at the hotel closes at 18.00. After you finished the dinner, you need to walk uphill in the dark.

    The room was lovely and very private since there is only this hotel on the hill next to the castle. The breakfast was good. They used the good quality of ham and bread for example.

  • 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite basic.

    The location is great, only 7 min walk from the castle, they have a private parking, the room had a nice design and was specious, the best thing - they will give you a card to buy tickets at the castle not down there in the village so you don't have to stay in a long queue.

  • 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No table in the room.

    Location is unbelievable! Just under the castle! The toilet and bathroom is public but nice and easy. Breakfast is nice. Staff is nice. Packing is free. With discount vochour for castle.

  • 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you plan to visit Hohenschwangau, you have to drive down or take a horse cartridge to the information and ticket area. Parking is 6 euro. You might need almost whole day to visit both castle.

    Good breakfast and very close to Neuschwanstein with free parking. You can drive up to this area if you stay in this hotel otherwise you have to park at the parking area and walk up hill 20-30 mins. Horse cartridge also provided with fee.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: