Reviews of Hacienda Cusin

San Pablo del lago, calle Chiriboga s/n, EC100450 San Rafael, Ecuador

#1 of 2 hotels in San Rafael

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 39

  • January 23, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was beautiful. The gardens were amazing, the room was large with a fireplace, and the staff was kind and helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant on site and it was one of the best meals I've had in Ecuador. I would absolutely recommend this place.

  • September 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee 🙄! Espresso machine could have been used better.

    This 1602 hacienda is incredible - we felt so comfortable and pampered! A fire in our bedroom fireplace and cozy hot water bottles in our bed each chilly night made the end of each day perfect!

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The beautiful, extensive gardens, the wonderful antique furnishings and artwork on the walls, the fabulous restaurant and the lovely comfortable room with an open fire, all added up to make it our favourite hotel in Ecuador. Highly recommend!

  • July 25, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold during the afternoon, although the chimney was lit at night for us....problem was that the electric heater had a missing knob, making it impossible to increase heat output. Extra blankets were in the closet, so we got cozy under those. The staff did provide a hot water bottle in the bed for us, which was a great surprise find after dinner. Our room also had stained walls and ceiling, and crumbling plaster. Now, about dinner. Dinner was the real rip-off at this hotel. Set menu for $31, in Ecuador. For that price anywhere, one gets a gourmet, remarkable meal. At the Hacienda, the food was mediocre, and the attention was lacking. Not even a refill on water, and one small glass of wine included. Once we were served, feeling as though we were part of a tour group of 30 or 40 people, the waitstaff never even revisited the table. Granola at breakfast was rancid. We will not be returning to this hotel. Total bill for lodging and dinner, with tax was $210. Could have stayed in the lap of luxury for that price. Money wasted.

    Beautiful hacienda, living history, lovely setting and gardens, cozy reading room.

  • July 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the women at the reception desk could have been a lot more helpful.

    Hacienda Cusin is unique and delightful--a beautiful hacienda and monastery converted into an absolutely wonderful compound. Main buildings house a dining room, salons, bar, library, and other interesting rooms. The garden is beautiful. (They do weddings here--must be amazing!) Throughout the buildings and rooms are fascinating pieces of historical art and local crafts. Our room was deep in the garden, a little house with a patio on top. Our daughters had a charming little cottage full of light and artwork. Fireplaces are lit at night. Hot water bottles in the very comfortable beds! Brilliant! The breakfast of eggs, pancakes, fruit and other options is included and very good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. My husband and daughters really enjoyed talking with the owner, Nick. My daughters loved horseback riding. Well located for exploring the Otavalo area.

  • June 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drainage in the bathroom was a little smelly (Room 1)

    The front of house staff were excellent; the location and grounds are gorgeous; the food was the best I'd had in Ecuador; the fire in the rooms was a lovely touch at night.

  • May 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The garden cottage I saw first was a little dark and cramped, but when I asked if anything else was available, I was given a much larger and lighter room in the main block, which was perfect.

    Wonderful colonial architecture, furnishings, and gardens, plus open fireplaces in most bedrooms. Comfortable beds, good food. The sitting room and library were also beautiful. I would happily live there full time.

  • April 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about this place is perfect. The setting is one of a kind, the 400 year old hacienda is magnificent. Beautiful gardens, antique furniture, artwork. Old world charm, great meals, wonderful staff.

  • February 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dank & dark, hard to get to. The staff had attitude. One said " hey guys" at least 3 times. I'm not a guy!

    The grounds/organic garden/antiques and fireplaces. Ping pong & other diversions. And the food, especially the soups, was good.

  • January 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the most magical places I have ever experienced.

    Total environment: landscape, architecture, art collection, even the choice of books and music working together giving this place a one of a kind personality. I am a better person for having experienced it.

  • January 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is erratic. Not enough lighting for the paths between buildings at night. Dinner in the dining room is clearly meant for group tours.

    Very friendly staff. Charming buildings that represented a look at the old Ecuador. Very nice breakfast.

  • December 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was a little bit expensive although the food was really good.

    The staff was excellent going above and beyond to accommodate us. The property is very beautiful, we also really enjoyed our horseback ride which was a great value. Finally the wood burning fireplace and the hot water bottles in the bed made the room feel extra cozy!

  • June 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, they will even arrange an early breakfast for you if you want to go to the market early (which we would recommend). Many nice common rooms with fireplaces and they will also light the one in your room if you ask.

  • April 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water bottles in the bed at night and warm fireplace all a glow when we returned from dinner each night. Lovely flowers in the garden all in bloom

  • April 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff were off and on. Even thought the bar was open all day, it was difficult to get service when the staff were working in the restaurant. On the day we were there, they were serving lunch to a bunch of American children way past lunch time, and we could get no service at the bar.

    The most comfortable bed I had in Ecuador. Great Alapaca covers and lusciously soft pillows. Slept like a rock the night we were there. The grounds of the Hacienda are beautiful, and the fire they make in each room at night warms the room and provides the perfect ambience for a night in the mountain.

  • January 15, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent staff and service

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rain

    Everything

  • December 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ambiance. Beautiful garden. Excellent staff

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - great place in an interesting area of Eucador.

    Beautiful accomodations and stunning grounds

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot water bottles in your bed

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful ambiance. Gracious hosts. Excellent food and service. One of the highlights of our trip.

  • May 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantastic - we were happy, comfortable and the fires lit for us at night added the best extra little touch!

  • February 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was smaller then expected.

    The gardens were beautiful and tranquil.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly helpful staff

  • December 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved Pablo, our waiter. Loved the grounds. Great garden and wonderful to stroll.

  • October 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all!

    Loved the fireplace in the room and the hot water bottles at night were fantastic. Staff really friendly and aimed to please.

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi in room

    Beautiful grounds, very comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, excellent cuisine!

  • September 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No phones in the room hence had to walk to the reception to get a fire lit and the reception was quie a walk away.

    The old world ambience

  • August 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    gorgeous place...beautifully kept in an ancient hacienda...

  • August 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is very small

    The fireplace and evening fire in room hot water bottles

  • August 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful friendly and excellent location

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • December 6, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hacienda in a magical setting. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We will return. Everyone was very willing to please. Senora Pieda has incredible embroideries for sale - all done by her talented hands.

  • August 24, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The bikes we rented/borrowed were not tuned or kept up well. They were free to use.

    We loved the fire in our bed room that was made every night and the hot water bottle to heat up the beds. Everyone was friend although perhaps a bit stern.

  • July 26, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a place for someone that wants to stay busy. There isn't alot to do other than relax, unless you take a cab somewhere. Wi fi wasn't in the rooms, only at the reception area and library, yet it never worked in the library the 2 days I was there. We did not have a tv in our room.

    It was beautiful. The staff ws nice. You were pretty much left alone by the staff unless you needed something. Food and drink prices were very resonable.

  • June 8, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fireplace in our room didn't vent properly. Every night the hotel would set a fire for us in the fireplace and when we returned to our room, there was a cloud of black smoke making it difficult to breathe. Nothing was done to remedy the situation.

    The common areas of the hacienda were beautiful and the grounds were immaculate.

  • April 12, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find location, need a car to get there and to anywhere, although there are buses to Otavalo

    beds, food, fireplace in room, gardens. ambience, architecture

  • December 22, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More dinner entree options would have been nice

    Staying in a truly historic property that has been well kept and updated

  • July 3, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just amazing... a must stay if visiting Otavalo and cotacachi.

  • June 9, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    the food

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Hacienda Cusin Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: