Reviews of Hotel El Cortijo de Zahara THe 4 stars

Carretera de Atlanterra, Km 4 (Urbanización Atlanterra), 11393 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain

#7 of 17 hotels in Zahara de los Atunes

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 720 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 60

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Glasses and detritus were not cleared from a wedding the night before and the bar was not adequately stocked for cocktails as it had been in years gone by.

    Been before and love the boutiquey feel. Very near the beach and a good restaurant down the road is walking distance.

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Something was definitely wrong with the bathroom. After taking a shower all the floor was flooded with water. I guess it was a reoccurring problem, since you could see / smell mold – not acceptable in a superior room in a 4-star hotel! 2. Avoid the restaurant (La Bodega)! Although the food was very good, the overall experience was terrible because of incompetent staff. The quality of service was rather at the level of a cheap street bar. In a 4-star hotel I would expect that the waiters at least remember your order, know basic things like how to bring food / drinks to the table or are nice to guests. Unfortunately not in La Bodega! Luckily we have found a good restaurant nearby (in Varadero hotel, close to the beach). It was maybe a bit more expensive but definitely worth the price.

    Based on opinions read we booked a superior room, which was a good idea! The room had a great terrace, overlooking the pool and garden area. It is located on the hill where you can admire wonderful sunsets. Close to very long and beautiful beach. Good breakfast.

  • September 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was further away from the village than I'd anticipated which meant having to drive to restaurants in the evening. An hours walk both ways wasn't practical in the evenings.

    The breakfast buffet was nice.

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Since my last visit they have built an extension to the hotel which has lead to the hotel becoming less butiquey and much more busy. We also payed extra for a delux package but the bar run out of drinks and wasn't really able to offer what we wanted at the time (although they did replenish later) breakfast was also a little worse than last year as you now have a coffee machine instead of proper brewed coffee. They seem to be going down the family route.

    Beautiful surroundings and relaxing atmosphere.

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CafeSol wasn't really a Cafe, with no food served after 1pm unless ordered from the Bodega menu.

    Fantastic location just a short walk from one of the best beaches on the Costa de la Luz. Great pool, good sized family rooms and overall a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

  • September 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My very basic bedroom, with poor pillows and a broken shutter.

    The Balinese beds around the swimming pool, the extensive manicured gardens and the glorious views.

  • August 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Details that need to be pointed out considering the extremely high price of this hotel: weak wifi connection, swimming pool area magnificent but always crowded, orange juice at breakfast not fresh, not drinkable. Waiting 20 minutes to get a drink at the bar not acceptable. For all this the quality/price ratio can only be extremely low despite the hotel being very nice overall.

    Modern, calm, well decorated room. Next to the beach. Very friendly staff

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced ... Service extremely slow. The place is not being managed well. Not impressed by the breakfast or food. Example we are asked at the pool bar do you have red wine they answered no. We found this unusual for a pool bar in the south of Spain to not have red wine. We asked again and they said no we don't have any, but we later found out we could order some form the restaurant. The waitress couldn't just said we don't have at the pool bar but you can order from the restaurant which was round the corner. I ordered coffee it literally took 1hr and half, I had to order it 3 times. Terrible and top of that you pay a lot to stay there and there is no entertainment. The hotel owners are taking advantage of the Summer demand and regardless of their bad service they are getting away with it because Zahara is a lovely place. Some areas and rooms need a face lift also. This place neens a smart manager director to take over and properly trained staff.

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit smelly in the bathroom, perhaps due to the windy weather, ventilation is not good, even after opening the window.

    Very nice location, easy access to the beach, the hotel pool is superb, with good view of the beach and city; the entire setting is very nice and great place for vacation and to relax. The restaurant is very nice, excellent food, good selection of menu,must try tuna tartar and also barbacues.

  • August 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything

    Amazing place, would highly recommend to family and friends... Relaxing, comfortable, close to beach.. Away from the main town but we had a car..

  • July 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff and service in the pool bar was extremely lame. Many a times we waited for over 15 minutes for them to bring us our drinks to the table or they had simply forgotten us. I would understand if they were mad busy but this wasn't the case and there were more than enough staff.

    We were very lucky they upgraded our standard double room to the junior suite. It was big, clean and very adequate with a good,comfortable double bed. We had direct access via our terrace to the gardens and pool area which was very practical. Pool moreover was never too crowded.

  • July 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being refused any form of food from the pool bar at 3.10pm and being forced to eat in the formal restaurant was not the best welcome. For this reason, I would not return which is a shame. Frozen chips and frozen mixed veg with our steaks were disappointing....

    Loved the Balinese furniture, easy parking, breakfast very good.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of my worsest hotel experience ever. We have booked a standard room and it was like living in a cellar: Window only towards the parking space. nearly no daylight and this for over 150 Euros. I think they should not rent this room Furthermore the cusions in the pool area are very dirty. Waht's more is that on the website the price was indicated as a "special price" with a lot of discount. However it's the standard price they charge you for a room.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service personnel was clumsy and slow since they were all very young. This should be better for this type of hotel.

    The rooms and the garden and pool area are great. The hotel is nice, relaxed atmosphere and clean. The walking distance to the beautiful beach is very acceptable.

  • July 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not good value for money! Rooms were not clean. Hairdryer & wifi did not work. Breakfast was very average

    Pool was ok. Room was ok but only if advertised as a hostal/b&b. Too expensive for what it was!

  • July 10, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning materials and buckets left out in public places overnight was a little odd. Cigarette butts under loungers off-putting. So too were the loungers with old stained covers.

    Restaurant was excellent and reception staff extremely helpful.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old-fashioned furniture with small size in our room.

    Breakfast is very good and with a lot of options. Outside facilities are very welcoming (garden and swimming pool).

  • June 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant didn't always have all the menu items listed which was mildly frustrating.

    The Balinese beds dotted throughout the pool area are great for all day relaxing. The pool cafe/bar is great for a snack and easy to access. The spa offered reasonably priced massages and was an escape from the relentless sunshine! Our infant daughter was welcomed everywhere and we felt very relaxed and comfortable at all times.

  • May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful surroundings and gardens with the pool-area, nice standard on the junior-suite we got (nr: 102), easy access to/from the parking garage and the heated, indoor pool! Nice four-poster beds (canopied), both inside on at the terrace (and all over the place, around the pool and pool-bar/outdor restaurant-area!!! Very romantic place, and we were there because of the tunafish-festival, where all bars, hotels and restaurants make a fresh tuna-tapa in various style, and sell it for €3,50 incl. a drink of choice... Then you "collect stamps" on a card, and decide who've got the best, - and you're in a raffle for nice prizes. Anyway, this hotel happened to have the best presented and tasty tapa of all this year, in our opinion! The waiter did also serve it on our terrace, which made us award him for the best waiter in the competition. ALL staff we met, from the reception to the cleaning-staff, were very serviceminded and welcoming, so we have no doubt about recommending this hotel to other people, what so ever!!! This is a four-star hotel, so the prizes is normally a little out of range for what we settle for, but compared to all the hotels I've been to over the last ten years, this was probably the best value for money, for a "once in a year-experience". We will come back next year for sure!!!

  • October 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was very dark in the evening and in the morning the breakfast was a little difficult to follow but generally good.

    The place was so relaxing and romantic. I enjoyed a wonderful relaxing massage.

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel room we booked was meant to be a superior room. What we ended up with looked nothing like the pictures stated for that room and was not welcoming or comfortable. The television did not work and there was no wifi. Was very disappointed.

    The pool and outdoor areas were lovely

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's close to the beach, stunning sunsets, nice breakfast spread (simple but comprehensive), large rooms, free parking, restaurant looked nice and I would like to return to try it. Be aware though that it's a 20/25 min walk into Zahara centre.

  • September 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no rack or bar to hang up and dry the towels in our room. Guests had to go to the counter in order to coffee. We think, the waiters should come to the tables and ask the guests whether they would like to have a coffee. Breakfast buffet could have a bit more cereals. Tables should be cleaned more quickly after guests have left.

    The architecture and decoration of the premises. Relaxing chill-out music in the breakfast room. Ocean view. Very nice garden. The staff was charming.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even considering that there was a small wedding onsite at the time, I felt housekeeping was a bit slack and a cleaner tidier hotel would have added luxury. The indoor spa/pool was broken too. :(

    The laid back feel of the hotel was spot on, the food EXCELLENT, the Balinese day beds divine!

  • September 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Give the croissants a miss.

    Brilliant beach 5 mins but with great waves and best outside pool. Views to Cape Trafalgar and Tangiers (from beach) on a clear day. Staff very friendly and helpful and restaurant very good food for dinner.

  • September 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location just outside Zahara, nice pool and bar area. Uncomfortable bed but I suppose that can be subjective. Most disappointing was the attitude of the staff, they just seemed completely and utterly fed up with there lot and in some case not particularly helpful. I appreciate my Spanish is limited but I made the effort, but as soon as they knew I didn't speak Spanish this put them off even more....

  • September 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant staff were a bit slow and although the food was good... Retinto steak, delicious! It didnt come with the red wine cream sauce as described on the menu!

    Cracking hotel! Loved the fourposters areound the pool! Really great room!

  • August 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The indoor swimming pool did not provide towels or water which is slightly annoying to find out after walking down to it. Cold showers every night from the accommodation... Hot water was illusive like the reviews suggest.

    Staff were very attentive and made us feel welcome. The hotel wasn't overcrowded so it felt quite private. The view at sunset over the sea is one of the best I have ever seen. Situated a short walk down to a marvellous quiet beach with a couple of bars to have lunch or a cocktail. Luxury sun beds approx 30 euros for the day is a must. Local shop en route to get essentials.

  • July 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For what we paid we expected better sized and located room. In fact, the room (No 10) should not be a room at all as it is very small and its location is in a strange place. Avoid room No 10

    Grounds are nice, breakfast good

  • July 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hairdryers in rooms. This is unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. Dirty towel from previou occupant left on back of bathroom door.

    A bowl of fruit was provided as it was my wife's birthday.

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cold shower, door not closing properly, but was dealt by the staff appropiately-ish.

    location, beach 5 minutes away on foot, nice restaurant with lovely food, nice/helpful bar/restaurant staff, lovely swimming pool area, wonderful sea view from room, silence and stars at night were fab.

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet was rather limited and the a la carte cooked breakfasts were overcooked and reheated,

    The poolside area and the overall minimalist and stylish decor.

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was decorated beautifully and very clean. The hotel was in a perfect location and was very peaceful and relaxing with beautiful pool and gardens. The restaurant was absolutely wonderful and the food was amazing. We will definitely be coming back!

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Las almohadas son horrorosas El bar de la piscina tendría q servir sándwiches y cosas asi

    El hotel esta alejado del bullicio del pueblo. El desayuno es simple pero de buena calidad

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa doesn't work. Only I could use the pool.

    The room and Services.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Estupendo en general

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The hotel is very nice, like a boutique hotel but with more affordable prices

  • September 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast Staff could be more motivated and organized.

    Great pool, palms and sunbeds.

  • September 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hardly any of the restaurant staff spoke English.

    Rooftop pool, cocktails, the view, design of the room.

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nearly 4kms away from Zahara de los Atunes however good taxi service.

    Excellent food and great service. Beautiful pool set in lush gardens.

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good hotel for 4 stars.

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel restaurant could be better

    Excellent service friendly staff

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything it was a fantastic hotel. Lovely food, comfortable room excellent will return again

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough staff

    The view the bar the sea

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were pleasant but weren't informative. Far from the beach. Dark bedroom.

    Lovely outside swimming area. Great bar menu.

  • June 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loungers by the pool were dirty and were not in good condition.

    The staff were excellent, very friendly. Food was very good as well.

  • June 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was amazing, everything delicious. Staff very nice, specially moises who attended us very nicely. And the chef that even came to our table.

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eveything about our stay was brilliant from start to finish would highly recommend

  • May 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly and helpful staff. very good restaurant, nice breakfast. great views, good pool, everything nicely arranged.

  • April 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was perfect !

    Staff were super friendly

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    damp bathroom due to water leaking from shower onto floor

    very friendly staff

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing unspoiled location on the Costa de la Luz.

  • September 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a upgraid on our room wonderful Everything was very very good Will recommend it to friends and family.

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed, broken hair dryer, no wifi, breakfast not great

    Very nice pool area, staff very accommodating , big spacious rooms

  • August 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable beds Non-working wifi (this is a regular issue here, supposedly) No facilities on the beach

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi did not work at all...

    Great place with awesome facilities

  • July 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Peaceful, lovely staff, good food,lovely place to relax

  • May 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No or poor wifi in room, breakfast =so so

    Quiet place, garden and pool was excellent

  • April 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nada

    Allí placer and hotel

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: