Reviews of La Torre 1 stars

Passeig de la Torre, 26-28, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Spain

#5 of 9 hotels in Calella de Palafrugell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant and bar were closed for the entire tme of our stay. even though the staff were eating cooked meals at a table outside in full view of the guests rooms! We were not notified that the restaurant would be closed before arriving and when I asked for a complaints form I was told by the reception staff that they didint have one and it was our fault for not booking direct with the hotel or telephoning to ask if the facilities were all open!! There was consistant noise from the staff dismantling equipment outside and shouting, every day. The shower head in the bathroom did not work properly and there was a constant smell of drains.. It was certainly not worth the amount we paid per night and ,when we explained this on leaving we were not even offered an apology I was extremely disapointed especially as the trip was a Birthday Treat .!

    The situation is wonderfull with lovely sea views We have stayed at this Hotel in previous years and the service has been good in the past

  • 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    an extra coffee machine would be good at breakfast in order to reduce the waiting time .

    location is everything with this hotel. The rooms are small and very basic but adequate.The staff are very friendly and helpfull.It is always a pleasure to stay here.

  • 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds made very uncomfortable sleeping No fridge in the room

    Location for beach and town Good bar Very attractive gardens Very good breakfasts vin a lovely setting

  • 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel feels a little tired but still has atmosphere

    One of the best location in the Costa Bravo - hilltop overlooking the coast Easy access and parking - great location to view the sunset and enjoy a drink Easy walk around the cliffs and into town Good breakfast with a view

  • 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were not warned by booking.com that the restaurant might be closed. We needed a stress-free four days with no problem at finding other restaurants. We have always chosen hotels with restaurants on the premises..

    This is the third time we've booked La Torre because of its position, not too far for my disabled husband to walk to the first beach to sit down and rest. The restaurant overlooks this beach, a stunning panorama!. The breakfast, as usual, was excellent, although there were few people in the hotel.

  • 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as most have reported, the beds aren't comfortable and there's no safe in the room; a fridge would have been a nice addition; I didn't like the keys (skeleton key) - charming but a nuisance and didn't provide a feeling of safety; while the staff was truly so helpful they weren't as warm as they could have been

    the staff was very helpful at every turn; the rooms are very clean; I enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and found plenty to eat in a beautiful setting; the 3Pins bar directly adjacent to the hotel is lovely with super staff; you can't beat the setting, absolutely stunning

  • 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff are perhaps, a little less friendly than at other hotels in the area

    Absolutely stunning location with sea views in all directions, a stone's throw from the beach

  • 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was perfect even the weather for our short stay.

    The perfect location and so relaxing sitting on the terrace whether having breakfast, tapas or evening meal looking out over the sea.

  • 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the breakfasts were excellent, we thought the starters and desserts of the evening meal were repetitive and rather mean. The main courses, however, were good.

    The excellent location, so close to the sea and the pathways along the headlands. There were many comfortable seating areas, both inside and outside. The restaurant's location was particularly good, overlooking the bay. We were pleased to be able to park inn the hotel's grounds.

  • 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No aircon in room, but I was lucky to get the last portable fan from Reception. Service on the terrace at night, 11pm, was slow. It took 30 minutes to be asked for a drink order and another 10 minutes to receive my a glass of wine.

    Location, outdoor terraces.

  • 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only real issues we found (and we are travellers who like our comforts) is lack of aircon and room safe. There is, however, a safe at reception and if you ask, they will also give you a very handy electric fan (free) for your room, which you will need!

    Location is excellent and overall gives a couple of 4-star hotels I've stayed in a run for their money. Nice sized room, comfy bed, good bathrooms. Try for a room with a sea view. Staff were really very helpful indeed (e.g. did their best to organise an early breakfast when we were leaving). Terrace bar is he best viewing spot in the town. If you can find a better one-star hotel, I'd like to know about it.

  • 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    decor is slightly dated but very clean so not big problem. it's a shame rooms don't have air con

    great location, clean room, great shower, good breakfast.

  • 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they put us in a room to the side of Hotel. I explained I really wanted sea view as this was a special holiday. They moved us to sea view which was perfect. Thanks Francis you are very kind!

  • 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was extremely uncomfortable!!!

    Very simple small family run hotel! Absolutely spotlessly clean and tidy, simply furnished sea facing room with a little balcony. Wonderful position overlooking Canadell beach in Callella, within very easy walking reach of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Will be going again, Lovely!

  • 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed air condition, a refridgerator and a kettle in the room.

    Sweets in the reception, my son recommends them. Nice garden and Nice view.

  • 31 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air con

    the views were fantastic and all staff great

  • 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location with great views from its position on a headland. Yet within easy access to the beach & town

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 28 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were surprised to find the room we were in very basic with no air con or safe facilities, having today extra for this basic necessity especially in a foo adjacent to the street level and very poor locks on doors.

    Location and ease to walk to all aspects of the local resorts.

  • 22 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was rather small as was the terrace. Lack of hand rails and non-slippery surface made the bath and shower difficult and hazardous for me.

    Having visited Calella and LLafranc since our children were small, we would come again, particularly to an hotel in such an attractive position. We had a side view of our favorite beach from the bedroom and the views from the dining room and bar terraces were supreme. We enjoyed the breakfast and the good value menu del dio in the evening. The staff were friendly and obliging: our large double bed was quickly changed to two singles at our request; anti-moustique products were supplied when needed.

  • 7 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant pleasant but not outstanding. No fridge or aircon but could leave windows open at night as it was so quiet. That we had only one night's stay there!

    Large, beautifully decorated room. Quiet and relaxing, no road noise. Very different from usual hotel design, full of character. Bar and restaurant that literally hang off the cliff edge, surrounded by gently bobbing boats. Free parking in amongst trees in beautiful hotel gardens.

  • 17 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room did not have air condition. It was not a problem for us, but it is good to be aware of when booking.

    Amazing breakfast, particularily the location and view. The terrace has an fantastic view and is a great place to sit in the afternoon. The hotel is very close to the beach. Friendly staff. Calella de Palafrugell is a nice town with a real Spanish feel.

  • 24 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from the bar, music and voices. Why music? The sound from the sea couldn't be heard. The bad smell from the bathroom (sewage?)

    The location, the sea view, helpful staff, the breakfast.

  • 16 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are very simple and would need a renovation.

    Great location, very pleasant terrace over the sea. Very useful parking space for clients.

  • 15 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy at night. Bed not the most comfortable.

    View, staff, presentation, district.

  • 12 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The keys on the door are noisy.

    Beautiful terras with a view on the sea and beaches of Palafrugell! Nice walk near the sea to beach of LaFranc.

  • 10 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Hard uncomfortable beds. Noisy nights.

    Lovely town, nice location. Excellent breakfast.

  • 31 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fabulous location

  • 28 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking , not enough

    Wonderful location overlooking beach Comfortable lounge Gardens Good breakfast Helpful staff

  • 24 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    dinning room was not yet open

    location

  • 6 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and a very relaxing feel.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: