Reviews of Hostal Las Gaviotas 2 stars

Entrada, 8, 04118 San José, Spain

#4 of 7 B&Bs and inns in San José

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 27

  • July 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The disappointment came with the room itself! We had room #101, a twin room, with a little balcony with view on swinmming pool and carpark, not very enjoyable view but ok, would have gone unnoticed without the following problems... One of the two bed was so unstable that I was afraid it would break/collapse during the night, moving as soon as I would make a little move in the bed and that is simply not acceptable! Well, that is why I really would not recomment the place (I admit, we didn't go to complain, maybe should have!). Besides that, you hear everything what is happening in your neighbours' toilet/bathroom, and the safe had no lock (now, take it as you want, there was a paper on the door saying "this establishment accept no responsability for any jewellery [...] which are not deposited in the safe" so my understanding at that is, as long as it is in the safe, even without a lock, they take responsabilities - fortunately nothing disappeared so we'll never know!)

    The place is very modern, when you get in, the lounge area, the reception and other common places are very modern, nicely decorated and the lady at the reception very nice and helpfull. The breakfast was ok.

  • July 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All quite perfect.

    Lovely room with super large terrace, and good pool. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Hope to return.

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fridge not very cold.

    A/C worked perfectly. Great value for being 500m from the beach. Staff spoke enough English to make it easy for us. Rooms were nice, clean and modern. Pool was excellent.

  • September 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a fabulous place to stay: Staff are so helpful and friendly, setting is great, rooms are spacious and spotless and if you can get a roof top balcony its worth it. There is nothing to dislike and I would recommend here to anyone.

  • August 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just think that breakfast should have been included for the price and also could hear everything everytime the people either below or next door used their bathroom and or shower.

    Quiet and fairly close to beach, restaurant, bus and shops. Nice private balcony and also the pool and wifi was a bonus.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Excellent choice if you stay in San Jose'.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a kettle in the bedroom and a light on the balcony.

    Friendly staff, particularly at reception. Small but good pool.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location not up to much.

    Lovely comfy beds. Great pillows. Very clean. Good breakfast.

  • June 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirt tracks to get to beaches

    Solitary beaches

  • June 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We both had backache after the first night.Coffee in the room would make a big difference.

  • July 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cleanliness of room,privacy,location

  • June 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The setting and the little pool

  • June 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The matress is too old and there is absolutely no soundproofing in the hotel.

    Small swimming pool, large room with bacony, large bed. The AC work well

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What's not to like? The staff were all friendly and helpful. The pool was a bonus. The room was clean and super comfortable. The breakfast was well worth five euros.

  • July 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    everything. very basic room, i was not satisfied. I decided to stay one night shorter and there in no move form the staff to keep is. They charged us for the whole stay. I know that it was that kind of the offer "non refundable", but during that days you always have a chance to do sth. noise from the road.

    small, but nice pool

  • July 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant clean hostel with good friendly staff. Situated 10 mins from the lovely resort of S.Jose. Good size room and extremely nice bathroom and a massive balcony equipped with table/chairs and sun loungers.

  • July 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostal was 10 minutes walk from the beach and centre - but at least this meant it was quieter, so not really a drawback.

    The hotel was spacious and well furnished (more than I expected from a Hostal). Very clean. Staff welcoming and efficient. Our room (on 2nd floor) was large, and had its own sunbathing patio, with loungers and a drying rack. Wifi useful, and good range of TV channels. Parking available.

  • June 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had everything we needed. We got a room on the 2nd floor with a lovely view towards the ocean. It was a 10min(slow walking) walk to the beach and restaurants! Loved San José! The hotel does not have an elivator, so if you don't mind that, book it! :)

  • April 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    There are two floors and no lift, maybe unconvenient for heavy luggage/trolleys/wheelchairs.

    Good value for money. It is much better than you usually expect from a 2-star hotel.

  • October 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not that close to the beach

    Nice room with free parking. 24/7 reception with kind staff

  • September 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing

    Pleasent clean hostel, bright rooms with terrace, perfect breakfast. Definitely recommend.

  • August 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Staff was very helpful - recommended good beaches, provided free umbrella

  • July 31, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price a bit expensive but we did stay in late July.

    Pool, balcony, plenty of space, room, location.

  • June 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The pool was a luxury.

  • June 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requested a double bed but they couldn't provide one - surely they know how many they have and should reserve them accordingly!

  • June 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Basic, quiet, clean hostal.

  • April 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is good, and it is very cheap and quiet. The staff is friendly.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: