Reviews of Occidental Bilbao 4 stars

Avenida Zumalakarregi, 40, 48006 Bilbao, Spain

#26 of 44 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1410 hotel reviews

8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was very good but 12 euros to use is quite pricey and 20 euros to use the pool and gym is a bit excessive for hotel guests

    The location, standard and reception area of hotel very good.

  • 19 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is rising every year.

    Room and bathroom are comfortable. The hotel has a very nice lounge. Great view over the city. Staff is very helpful and is very well trained to quickly answer all questions and solve problems.

  • 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no suttle bus to the airport, no free parking and no good Wifi. be carefull, there are two Holiday Inn hotel in Bilbao. one of them is Holiday Inn Express cloded to the airport.

    it was one of good hotel to stay with a good restautante and bar for a business trip.

  • 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was average but did the job after a night out in the old town.

    The hotel was very comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and helpful and overall it was a fantastic base from which to explore the city. The lounge area was great with good food and drink options. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Don't be put off by the fact its a little out of the way - there is a metro station around the corner and taxi prices are reasonable at time of writing.

  • 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in room,Stale powdered milk which turned into lumps when put into cup hole in bottom of cup burnt myself when I picked it up. Staff brought another cup which was covered in coffee stains.We stayed in Holiday Inn in Andorra the week before which was excellent.Bilbao not a 4star hotel

  • 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor storage in room - more suited to short stay business traveller. No towels one day had to go to reception to request some, Hot food at breakfast was only ever lukewarm.

    Comfortable beds.

  • 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel location was rather on the edge of town, and although we were advised the 48 bus from the back of the hotel would take us where we wanted to go the bus driver shook his head when we asked, so we walked instead. Ok once we had worked out a route, but we didn't want to walk in twice a day as it's quite a climb on the way back. Would have loved to use the pool but if all you wanted was a swim it was quite expensive.

    Good room with lovely large shower room. The breakfasts were very good; the fruit was especially nice.

  • 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the bad smell in the reception lobby area. Room was generous in size, however was not welcoming or cosy. Bathroom was not perfectly clean. Staff of the reception wasn't particularly helpful. No appropriately equipped computers for guests. Dinner was horrible (luckily buffet breakfast was better). I understand the rate for our room was rather reasonable, however we experienced nothing of a 4-star hotel.

  • 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit messy as gym members etc also used same facilities. I was lucky to find a space on the front straight away. People who followed an hour or so later were less fortunate.

  • 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One meal was disappointing as undercooked and not really the Basque regional dish we anticipated

    Nice seating area in the foyer, friendly staff and very clean and welll appointed room

  • 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very high up over the city, and involves either a very steep walk or metro ride - we tend not to use taxis. Prepare for being very high up and consequently at least 25 minutes from the city centre. The view was of the fire escape, despite requesting a reasonable view. No milk cartons for a drink - just powdered milk - yeuch! The evening bar staff couldn't locate a bottle opener to open a bottle of sparkling water, this is in the bar area. The hotel tried to charge us an extra 25€ when we left for breakfast which was included in the deal, this was deducted when challenged.

    The standard Holiday Inn room, clean comfortable, breakfast was excellent, a lot of choice

  • 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of the main part of town and an enormous drag up the hill back from the old town!! You need to be fit to do that walk or you need a taxi or metro ride to make it back. Staying in town next visit and I go there regularly.

    Lounge and bar areas were good, as were the staff.

  • 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    They used to be an independent hotel in the 80s/90s and it still has a reminisce of the past. I grew up in Bilbao and I remember it being a hotel popular with the nouveau riche living in the area which still is as I noticed the gym was frequented by the upper middle-class locals. The Spa was closed the week we stayed for refurbishment, which coincided with the Semana Grande (annual festival), which I thought it was rather daft. There was not mention of that on the website when we made the booking and it was disappointing when we found out we couldn't make use of it. I was really looking forward to it. The outdoor pool was enjoyable as we have a little one but passer byers kept having a snoop over the bridge next to the hotel (mainly old men)...Come on IHG Group... You can make sure it's more private, can't you? You have the resources. They also don't have changing rooms in the outdoor pool so you either have to wait to dry out in the sun or walk through reception looking all soggy with a wet swimming costume. They had an outdoor toilet and managed to get changed there. Thankfully it was clean but I felt uncomfortable doing that (getting changed in a unisex toilet... yikes!).

    I liked the outdoor swimming pool and the breakfast. They also provided a nice single bed for our 9 year old son (not a sofa bed) for a small charge so we all rested and slept well, which was a relief as every single Holiday Inn we stay at in the UK provides a sofabed

  • 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly there wasn't enough bar staff on occasions which gave rise to unfortunate service delays when the bar was busy. Only other gripe and I'm clutching at straws was the restaurant menu might have been more extensive. These 2 criticisms are only minor!

    Everything was excellent. Ideal location to explore the city and its environs

  • 21 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh air in room Area of hotel a little bit run down and not ideal for lone female traveller but not fat from local transport Menu was ok but a bit limited

    Checkin Receptionist was lovely but the one who dealt with check out quite rude Generally staff were helpful but probably not enough of them as often a few people waiting

  • 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the gym was extra even though it was on site. The restaurant food was just ok. The price of drinks eg water was expensive €2 versus 60 cents. The mattress in our room was very uncomfortable. This was also mentioned by our friends in other rooms

    While some way out of town it was close to a metro stop and abiut 30 minutes walk from Vasco viejo

  • 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor tea and coffee supplied in room dry milk would not mix

    Modern clean good size room great pool has gym and spa but you have to pay extra location area ok

  • 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glazed unit would not close properly introducing vehicular noise/insects

    The room/bed/shower were absolutely huge, the tea/coffee making facilities were excellent.

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of basic assistance ie not having our parking validated and struggling to leave the car park despite paying the day rate. Got given a double room when I booked a family room. When I took this issue up I felt I had to argue slightly and get out the booking to prove myself.... Most annoying thing however was not being allowed to drink a glass of lemonade beside the pool. Got asked to leave with it (had purchased it at the bar) so hand to stand out side the gate in my bikini drinking it. Ridiculous and patronising to say the least. They let them self down with the small things.

    The restaurant and bar staff were helpful, food good for the price, clean and tidy, unfortunately other events let the place down as explained below.

  • 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Open plan design of the entrance level, main facilities, reception and bar, with full height glazing giving great views out over the city. We enjoyed the warm welcome, outdoor pool, location and the fantastic route to walk down the old steps into the centre of the old town.

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room temperature a bit difficult to regulate so room felt cold a few nights. It would have been helpful if we had been told to reserve a table in the very busy restaurant for our evening meal when we booked in at reception. No duvet only a sheet on put up bed in family room.

    Good location we walked into Bilboa through old city,also longer walk to Guttenheim museum. Fiesta on when we were there so good atmosphere, lots of singing dancing and fantastic fireworks seen really easily from comfort of the Holiday Inn roof top. Stayed with 3 teenagersc, good WiFi, swimming pool, pool table and lovely seating area in lobby to relax. Would definitely return to Holiday Inn Bilboa.

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!! The kids loved the pool. We had no problem finding the hotel. I enjoyed the very refreshing G&T ;-) relaxing in the lounge.

  • 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities are not suitable for a holiday no refreshments allowed at pool hardly any sunbeds so had to lay on astro turf Only one English channel which was pixelated and so could not be watched Rude receptionist and generally under staffed

    They did do free kids dinners but they would not allow children to use all the facilities

  • 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor Wifi . Very few restaurants nearby

    Nice outdoor pool-area Good view from the roof-terrace to watch the city fireworks during Semana Grande Many supermarkets nearby.

  • 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Holiday Inn is a perfect city break hotel. These are suggestions rather than complaints: if you're parking over the weekend, use the free street parking not the €15 per day hotel parking; the coffee bar at the hotel is nice, but it really is just an Nespresso machine for €2.5; the breakfast seems quite expensive and much cheaper down in the Old Town.

    For any trip to Bilbao, I would hugely recommend the Holiday Inn. The rooms were great, with a very comfortable proper double bed (not two singles pushed together). The facilitates are fantastic, with the pool, sun loungers, pool table and lounge area all available. This is perfect for couples and families alike and is a great base for exploring Bilbao and the region. It is close to the Old Town which was very convenient - but a bit of a tough walk back up afterwards! Thankfully there are two metro stations close by.

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are short of time, it's better to live more close to the centre of the city."

    If you want to relax, it is a very nice place. There is a good swimmimg pool, green area around. You can find comfortable saloons where one can sit and read or just relax with a cup of tea, coffee. There is a metro station close to the hotel. In 5 minutes you are in the centre.

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt adjust the air con or open window. Glass of wine only half full. Bit cold downstairs when air con is on.

    Relaxed atmosphere. Helpful staff. Comfy bed and great room.

  • 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drink were expensive and the only filled them half way.served lager in a wine glass. wine only half full.rip off.spa not included and they wouldn't let us even look round it unless we payed?

    Only a stop over for the ferry.

  • 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having a common door communicating the two rooms as in many other Holiday Inn. This would have been handy with the children.

    Swimming pool in a very hot day. Also the lunch there was very good.

  • 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ‪‪The hotel is not as conveniently located near the Guggenheim and center of Bilbao as advertised.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable. Loved the shower.

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having TV screens everywhere in the lobby, with dead bodies on TV news early in the morning is a no-go. I don't mean to expose my children to this and don't want to them to see dying children with me explaining them why those kids are dying and they are having a nice breakfast, they're just 1 an 8 years.. Please get rid of these stupid TV's blasting sick news all day.

    Nice hotel, fancy lobby, good room.

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more umbrellas around the pool for shade. A little way out of town.

    A fantastic hotel with lovely pool and amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Great bar and restaurant with board games provided in a relaxing atmosphere. Excellent rooms - large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I travel a lot and this ranks as one of the top hotels I've stayed in. Thanks to all the staff on Reception you were all brilliant.

  • 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the bed to soft for me, its was one of those memory foam beds,woke up with back ache in the morning , also to use the indoor pool they want to charge you 20 euros each, 17.50 euros to park our motorcycle in the under ground car park. But the Hotel itself is fantastic, the rooms are large and very modern,we didn't have breakfast ,too expensive we thought, but the evening meals are very good value, and very nice, the staff are very relaxed and helpfull. the outdoor pool is fantastic although a little loud being next to a busy road.

  • 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of service from reception staff, they refused to change the computers in the lobby to english whilst we were using it. They refused to help with the wireless keyboard and mouse. Were very rude throughout our stay. Customer service very poor from front of house

    The restaurant staff , especially david he tried his best to speak english and was brilliant service everyday of our stay. The indoor pool was amazing and it was great to have the pool table in the lobby as the weather wasnt so great during our the food was great too!

  • 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advertised inside pool and spa was not accessible to hotel guests and we were asked to pay a day ticket to the fitness center to use it.

    The outside pool was nice, even though the weather doesn't play along very often to use it. Spacious bathroom.

  • 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a minor detail, but would have been nice to have another access to the pool than through the lobby, feels a bit discomforting with respect to other guest to have to go dripping from the pool through the lobby and bar area amongs other guests to get to the elevator and rooms.

    Very friendly staff and good standard. Staff and chef were very positive and service minded with respect to customizing the menu for one of us who has celiac disease. Good breakfast. Can recommend.

  • 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much!

    Bilbao is a fantastic city, and while this hotel is not located in the centre (metro nearby), it fits with the style of the place. The very modern and attractive lounges, restaurant and rooms are comfortable and have a feel good factor. The staff also fit in with the general well-being feeling, being friendly and relaxed. Food is also surprisingly good. Pool is nice too. All good here!

  • 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problem walking down all those steps to the old town in the evening but couldn't face walking back up so had to get a taxi. Having said that, taxi only costs less than seven euro.

    The hotel has a luxurious modern feel. When you walk down to the old town, you can take a tram to the Guggenheim museum, easy to use, buy your ticket at a machine. The outdoor pool is an added bonus and unusual in this region.

  • 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a nice outdoor pool facility, large enough to do a proper swim secession during a short stay. Good well spaced lounge and reception area with a great number of seating possibilities and still remain with a cosy feeling

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had a constant of odor of tobacco, as though the ventilation system was kicking out smells from another room. We were then moved to another room which was the floor below the lobby. The floorboards must have been paper thin as we heard EVERYTHING that went on above us. One of the things we could hear until at least 1am was the sounds of pool table balls thumping around, mixed with the scuffle of chairs and tables bring moved around(probably staff getting ready for breakfast). My advice would be to double check which floor you're put into as this could be an issue for you too.

    We liked that the hotel was a short distance from one of the subway stops. This made it easier for getting around the city.

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the male staff on Reception are in dire need of an extended training course on customer service The TV didnt work well at all (broken cable images) so we notified the desk and received nothing more than shrugged shoulders. The laundry arrangements are hopeless. We arrived on Thursday after lunch to be told any laundry would need to be handed in tomorrow (Friday) morning when it wouldnt be returned until Monday. So basically the 24h turnaround advertised only operates on Monday Tuesday and Wednesday. One of the (very understanding) female Reception staff said to me 'the laundry external contract is a joke though I imagine you arent laughing' I wont be staying there again

    The breakfast options were generally very good though I was suprised to find poached eggs were not available.

  • 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Executive room a bit outdated and deserves refurbishing. Bathroom/shower in same room as bed (separate toilet)! Bed mattress/springs way too soft (or old?).

    Good value for money on executive floor. Nice city view, good airco. Quiet floor. Did not have breakfast. Dinner at hotel restaurant was good quality for money, but nothing special. Staff was helpful.

  • 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A huge minus for all add on costs like breakfast, use of the indoor pool, the gym, parking and so on.

    I liked the interior design and the panorama view from the entrance floor. I also liked the variety of the breakfast.

  • 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deceived that for the price the parking and the sports center are not inclided it is an extra. But the staff was reeady to do a commercia gesture so I can say that the staff is good.

    Deceived that for the price the parking and the sports center are not inclided it is an extra. But the staff was reeady to do a commercia gesture so I can say that the staff is good.

  • 10 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meeting facilities could have more sockets for charging laptops and mobile phones, and some of the smaller meeting rooms behind the restaurant got a bit too warm for comfort during meetings. The hotel is also not particularly personable, if that's the sort of thing you're looking for.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent buffet breakfast, room comfortable and quiet even though it was only one floor above and very close to the lobby and restaurant, nice city view from the window, functional air-conditioning... I was a happy guest! Also, even though the hotel is not exactly in the city centre, the underground takes you there in a jiffy (by foot it's a bit of a climb).

  • 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the spa with its pool was great, but I was not happy at having to pay 20 euros a day for the privilege of using it!

    The staff were extremely helpful and most of those on Reception spoke good English. It was handy having British style electric points in the lobby as well as continental ones, so I was able to charge my phone, having given away my adaptor! Also lovely to have a kettle in my room, not usually found in Europe!

  • 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water bottles provided only for first night.. Restaurant menu required to add more vegetarian plates as a Muslim I had less options... There is no fridge inside the room

    Cooperation of the staff and how the hotel quite and near the metro station. I liked the loopy and its atmosphere

  • 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Access to swimming was important for us and the spa was good but the price extortionate at 20 euros per person per swim. We negotiated it down to 12 as we used it every day of our stay. Meals other than breakfast were disappointing.

    The beds were really comfortable. Interesting location with easy metro access to the old town and the centre. Attentive staff most of whom were friendly and cheerful.

  • 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This has to be the worst experience I have had at a hotel. They appear to be running on a skeleton staff. The older gentleman on the front desk was rude and unhelpful. We asked in our booking for a quiet room. They placed us next to the floors linen cupboard and the lift. Not ideal when trying to get children to sleep. Also the floor below the main lounge so we were woken at 4am most nights while furniture was dragged around. Add a smoke alarm right above the bed that flashes red every 6 seconds and you have a sleepless stay...The booking was not right when we arrived (missing a bed for our son) and they couldn't rectify it. They were incredibly unhelpful and without effort when it came to anything. The food was appalling and I would get better at a greasy spoon or motorway service station and this is supposed to be 4 star!!! Absolutely disgusted and shocked and glad to be out of there.

  • 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit more interesting. The variety of food was a bit limited, coffee wasn't from the freshly grounded coffee beans, no local dishes.

    Nice and clean room, comfortable beds, availability to charge the phones using USB portals in the room.

  • 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive breakfast / Not a 4 stars hotel from my point of view (no minibar, access to swimming-pool and gym is payable) / Two single beds

    The main living room is comfortable

  • 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimmingpool wasn't available for children and besides, it wasn't included in the price.One of the beds hadn't got any blacket althought it was winter time.The linen was very poor in general and the recepcionist not nice.

    The closeness to the Casco Viejo

  • 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    * Being charged for parking. * Finding the place. Ok it was Booking.com's business to make sure we could find it. Instead of written instructions in the confirmation email we were sent to a website we could not access on the move. We overshot the junction for N-634 and spent 1.5 hours lost in downtown Bilbao!

    The secure parking. Our car was loaded for the ferry. Fair prices at the bar for food and drink. Room temp controls that worked.

  • 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wardrobe hanging and shelf space was a bit limited for two people.

    Rooms and bathrooms recently refurbished. Super shower. Spacious and welcoming public rooms. Space enough to watch TV, take a drink and a snack, eat a more substantial meal or just sit and chat. Attitude and friendliness of ALL the staff. We enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was a short way out of town and had space around it. A pleasant walk down a path and steps to the Casco Viejo. The return was uphill so we used the metro with a station just round the corner. Hotel provided a full selection of food (hot and cold) from middle of the day until late at night.

  • 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a convoluted set up as I have a big van, but the staff were very helpful and it looked like the car park was being refurbished too, so a minor point

    Very nice and modern, staff were very helpful, food was lovely,

  • 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast compared to other Holiday Inns. Although there were plenty of options, the cooked breakfast wasn't replenished very quickly and quality wasn't up to scratch - could do better! All in I wouldn't pay the extra charge for the hotel breakfast.

    Good clean hotel. Bar options were good and not too expensive.

  • 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some small things didn't wark: bed side lamps, safe-box, but after a call to hotel-service everything was fixed.

    Location was grand! Old city in 15 mins walk and you will walk the beautiful old steps! Quiet area, with only bells ringing every hour beautifully. Room was nice and clean, shower worthes a million dollar - especially after the day of walking!

  • 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Leaving

    I have been many times and at all times found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant.The food is excellent and the rooms very well cleaned amd maintained. Loaction is good as its not in center of town but only a five minute walk away or 2 minutes on the metro all in all excellent as usual.You can even enjoy a game of pool in a relaxin atmosphere with friends and family.

  • 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They must have English channels for international travellers. No english entertainment channels but only news that too was poor signal.

    Breakfast spread was good.

  • 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitudes were sketchy, one was nice. Overpriced parking, as others have mentioned. Was overcharged for dinner too, but it could have been an honest oversight. We are a couple and were given 2 single beds pushed together with 2 sets of separate bedding. Odd much? The bathroom could have been a touch cleaner, but most frustrating was no hot (or even warm) water. Was not aware you had to shower before 10pm or not shower after 10am to have warm water?! Probably wouldn't stay here again.

    The location is very close to the train station into the Old Town or easy to get to the Guggenheim architecture.

  • 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal poor quality, difficult to get service (and bill), breakfast not much better. Expensive parking for a motorcycle.

    Clean comfortable hotel, spacious room, well fitted bathroom. good service at reception.

  • 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive

    Well appointed luxury hotel, nicely designed open plan lounges and restaurant bar area, food available at all times, very good buffet breakfast . Pool area a bit busy but it was very hot. great walk in shower. Five minute walk from the metro

  • 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they charge 17.50 euros to park your car in their car park when you are a paying guest. It is not acceptable

    Comfortable rooms and surroundings.

  • 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning personnel was somewhat intrusive. One of the cleaning ladies cleaned the room while we were inside even though we told herwewiukdbe gone in a few minutes Room service mediocre

    Comfortable bathroom large clean and newly renovated rooms.

  • 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of Bilbao

    It was a luxury style hotel for a more than reasonable price. Location in the city was a little disappointing but an acceptable sacrifice for the outstanding quality of accommodation and staff

  • 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay 17 euros per day parking......half that to guest would be a great gesture!

    Clean modern nicely designed hotel, great open plan lounges, bar and restaurant open at all hours. One of the best buffet breakfasts in any hotel chain. Great walk in showers and luxury bathroom . 5 mins to metro and one stop from the old town. Nice outdoor pool and indoor pool and gym..(.. Young families take note no children in the indoor pool)

  • 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to indoor pool: 20euros per person per day. Expensive for a brief visit. Parking was expensive add-on.

    staff: The staff were especially helpful and always smiling.

  • 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi struggled to get email, let alone do anything else such as stream music. The toilet in our room had not been cleaned. There was no plug for the bath! When we queried this we were told there were no plugs, that we were paying for a hotel with all facilities and the phone was rudely slammed down. What was that?! Choice of food was limited, except breakfast, for which there was a large buffet covering everything you could possible want. Staff were abrupt, if not outright rude. Not what you would expect from a worldwide chain such as Holiday Inn.

    The room was spacious and airy, the lobby area was large and welcoming.

  • 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception hadnt understood our booking and said in a harsh way that there wasnt enough room for us. Luckily we were right(we had booked two rooms but the staff had missed that) and they wrong. The dinner at the restaurant was something to deeply regret. The fish was horrible.

    Clean and modern. Nice open common areas.

  • 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was average and the staff were not particularly helpful or friendly.

    Room great, good location, roof top terrace and pool nice extras, reception staff friendly.

  • 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for use of the gym & wearing of bathing hats for the outside pool

    Helpful friendly service, easy to access the city centre via the metro or a 10 minute walk

  • 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to wear swim caps in the pool!

    Easy to get around with local bus/metro Really spacious hotel with excellent lobby/lounge Friendly very helpful staff Great for families

  • 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking, the food menu did not offer much of the local meals/food, everything is a little bit pricey, and a bit noisy early morning due to people leaving.

    It is at a good location, about 30 min to the middle of Bilbao, good food for kids, nice welcoming staff, and rooms are comfortable.

  • 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived without a booking only to be told that the hotel was full. I then used Booking.Com to book 2 rooms and then returned to reception to check in. Thank you booking.com!! I found some of the reception staff to be uninterested and aloof especially on check-out when 3 of them continued a conversation while 'serving' me.

    Great room, very clean and comfortable and a brilliant shower.

  • 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wifi was a bit slow, but when I brought this up they gave me free access to the pro Wifi.

    Great food, convenient location (quick walk to metro and Casco Viejo), great service.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: