Reviews of Venta Juanilla 4 stars

Carretera Madrid-Irún, Km 99, 40590 Santo Tomé del Puerto, Spain

#3 of 3 hotels in Santo Tomé del Puerto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything about this hotel. Fabulous character.

    Monica in the restaurant was excellent. Bank holiday Saturday and she got chef out to cook a meal for us and one other couple. She also fuxed heating in our room and nothing was too much trouble for this young lady. A great asset to the hotel

  • 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Venta is beautiful, full of character. Loved everything, bedroom and bathroom were large, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly. We were travelling from Marbella to Santander so the location for an overnight break in our journey was perfect.

  • 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was not open but probably out of season.

    The bar atmosphere was very Spanish and enjoyable. Room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Value for money.

  • 5 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water????? It's supposed to be a restaurant place but the restaurant wasn't open on a Saturday night! They made me some bacon and eggs though :)

    Great staff

  • 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 stars and restaurant closed for the night! BUT staff managed to get a proper meal so we did not have to go out. There seemed to be no heating on in the hotel.

    Location, just off motorway, so easy to find. The lovely wonderful staff who went the extra mile to get us an evening meal. Snack bar was open but needed more after long journey. Secure parking. Very comfortable bedroom incl pillows.

  • 13 July 2015

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was a quiet time of the week our breakfast was served in the cafe and because nothing was laid out we were unsure what we could order , perhaps a menu for breakfast would be a help for travellers who are not fluent in Spanish . B

    The whole package , the building and its history , the decoration was typical of the era and the whole ambience was peaceful and everything was beautifully clean .the staff were welcoming and very helpful .

  • 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had breakfast but no one to serve at 8.00

    Quiet but convenient great hotel ambience, very clean and tidy.

  • 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel experience is fantastic

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room and bed.Excellant staff in cafetira and food great.would stay again.

  • 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendliness of staff. Ambience. Quality of stay

  • 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

  • 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, rooms are facing the road and you hear trucks passing the whole night long. The cafeteria is rather expensive

    Clean and comfortable rooms

  • 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about this place. The staff were fantastic, especially the barman, they couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent.

  • 24 February 2015

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more expensive than we usually like.

    Great location. Very pleasant staff. Some delicious tapas and nice meal in the restaurant.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 24 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a great position for stopovers and those wishing to climb the nearby mountain. Yet the place was empty. The mock medieval armour was out of keeping with a former monastry. The restaurant was empty so we decided to take bar food. We both ordered an omlette only to find that they were microwaving a froen one. Eggs are dangerous (selmonela) and my omlette was both cold, heavy and tasted of armpits after a hard jog. The alternative of toasted sandwich turned out to be a alice of french bread with cheese on it and a mass of tiny salt fish.Equally inedible. We decided not to risk breakfast. Being English I did not complain! This hotel has lost its way - I used to turn such businesses around and I can see all the familiar problems. There is a good business here - but no idea amongst management how to achieve it. A pity.

    The desk and bar staff were very polite and the room was cean - although outdated. But I got a sense of despair 9n their eyes. They did not charge me for the deplorable food.

  • 26 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast menu

    Excellent location for travelling. Good size room with modern bathroom and very clean. Nice restaurant and good menu selection. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • 29 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed and food options very limited and very expensive

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: