Reviews of Tora Guesthouse

Tjarnarlág 41, FO-100 Tórshavn, Faroe Islands

#3 of 11 hotels in Tórshavn

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 33

  • November 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed on the small side in the room we were in, I think the other double room has a normal sized bed though.

    Amazing views and very friendly hosts, excellent shower, 10 minute walk to the centre of Torshavn.

  • October 16, 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could provide milk for tea / coffee as long way to nearest shop.

    Very friendly welcome, flexible facilities, wonderful views of islands from living space.

  • September 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly, welcoming host to this guest house well situated a little out of the main town. Excellent facilities to self cater, roomy sitting area with a lovely view across to the island of Nolsoy.

  • July 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - it perfectly suited my needs.

    Very friendly landlady and landlord, very personal, the landlord also offered fantastic excursions - the best way to experience the spectacular scenery and to learn about history and life through the eyes of a local. Also sea-view from room.

  • July 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No complaints.

    More than happy with my stay. I was made welcome by Tora and nothing was too much trouble for her. Being a solo traveller, she assisted me when I needed help. I would recommend a stay in this lovely and very comfortable home.

  • June 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This is a great place in which to enjoy home from home comforts. Shops close by so can get supplies for breakfast and have use of private facilities. Fantastic views from sitting/ dining area. Tora the owner treated us like family and was helpful and friendly. Her husband runs a private excursions company so great if you prefer not to drive yourself.

  • May 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To much to love

    Had a fantastic time at this guesthouse. The owners could not off been nicer. Even getting into a selfie with me. I have no complaints. Also on wednesday on my trip my phone wouldnt work for the rest of the week. The two owners could not of done anymore to help even giving rice to dry my phone, googling similar problems an even wanting to loan me a telephone while they brought me into there personal kitchen gave me coffee an lunch. On top of that i was greeted everytime i entered the guesthouse an asked about my day while given tips ob where to visit in the Faroe Islands. Going away i felt like crying because these two people treated me like family. Leaving was hard but i will never forget my stay in Tora Guesthouse, the owners or the Faroe Islands. I will stay here again in the near future..absolutely fabulous stay

  • April 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I can imagine it could get a little crowded if all the rooms were taken - not a problem in April.

    Excellent location - a few hundred metres from the Bonus supermarket at the Midlon centre, 10-15 minute walk from the town centre (buses also available), fantastic view of Nolsoy from the dining room window. Good kitchen facilities. Tora was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • April 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since we were only 4 people staying at the guesthouse at the moment, we had enough cutlery and space in the fridge, but maybe that could be a problem if there is a full house-but I didn't experienced that, it is just an assumption.

    The owner was really nice and greeted us kindly. The room was comfy and we received bed linens and towels included in a price. There is also a sink in every room; great if there is a lot of people staying at the guesthouse at the same time, using one bathroom. We shared living room and kitchen with a nice couple also staying there at that time. The living room has an AMAZING view over Nolsoy, island located 20min by ferry away from Torshavn. We didn't really stay at the house much, we only came late for dinner and than went off to bed and wake early in the morning to go around, so there was nothing that could really bother us. Regarding location: you can walk 10-15min to the store, main bus/ferry station or city center, so it is good! The owner or her family also owns a touristic agency, which is located downstairs of this house and I am sure they can help you make plans for your vacation. We did not need it, since we had planned everything beforehand. Just to note: owner prefers cash, so have it prepared (we did, so no problems).

  • March 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Torhalda and Samal are really good people, super nice and very helpful. We will definitely come by and say hi if we travel again to færøerne :) Baptiste & Tom

  • September 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negative was that the bathroom/toilet smelled like pee a bit (not majorly but a tiny bit) but this was only around the toilet - perhaps some guests with bad aim...?

    Samal and Torhalda, the owners, were so lovely and helpful! The place was clean, had plenty of room and a kitchen so you can cook your own food (because the Faroes are so expensive!). The beds were so super comfy that I did not have any problem falling/staying asleep on the first night (usually, if I am in a new place, I wake up a bit on the first night as I am not used to the bed)! The place is conveniently located a short distance to the town centre. The place was clean and well kept and there was plenty of communal space. Best value for money in the Faroes I reckon! I would stay there again!

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location with an impressive and beautiful view of Nolsoy (the big island across from Tórshavn) from the common room upstairs. Tora and her husband (the owners) were extremely friendly and welcoming. A great place and highly recommended. (Just notethat the guesthouse prefers payment in cash.)

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This goes for most guesthouses, cafes, restaurants, etc. in the Faroes: a sign or an arrow pointing to the right door would help tourists find their way.

    The location: it takes 10-15 minutes to walk to the bus terminal/ferry/city centre. You can either walk down the busy road or climb down to the strand and go by the seafront and fort. When the fog lifts, the view on Nolsoy from the lounge picture window is amazing. Beds are very comfortable and small kitchen well equipped. A large dining table allows guests to sit together and socialise. Tórharda was very helpful.

  • June 10, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no room servicew, no breakfast, no cleaning the rooms not change nothing.....to expensive for that money....

    Really I would like to inform to any one that the house is old abd its solution only for persons who the din;t interesting some comforts....

  • May 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Separate rooms are rather small, with just two beds, one chair, small table in the corner and double wardrobe. Some (not all) of the rooms even have water faucet and sink. Wooden walls are not noise-insulated, consequently one hears everything. Fortunately, all our co-guests were nice and calm.

    Common kitchen area is well organized and has all the equipment needed. Common area is large and comfortable. Easy parking in the front of the property, Bonus supermarket very near (in Midlon shopping complex); main (and only) post office just opposite the shop. Wonderful view down to the sea and the Nolsoy Island behind. 10-15 min walk brings one to the town centre, down at the harbour. 5 min walk away nice lagoon/lake (Hoyviktjorn where one can rest and observe the birds). The hosts are nearly always at home, so if one needs anything it is easy to contact them (Mr. Samal speaks English very well). Comfortable bathroom, never runs out of hot water. With a car, in 5 min you are out of the town in the typical island nature.

  • March 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no breakfast, but then I'd brought my own stuff with me so wasn't a problem.

    comfortable good sized rooms, with access to kitchen facilities. not far from the town centre and the hosts are just so sweet and helpful. really enjoyed my 2 nights here.

  • September 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly hosts. Fantastic view. Centrally located.

  • September 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be prepared for mixed weather conditions!

    Friendly and helpful owners, great panoramic view across the sea.

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tora makes you feel at home. Could not be better. She makes sure everything is perfect for you. We had a great time there.

  • May 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, very comfortable bed, amazing sea view from the room and the living room.

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and personal welcome View from the living room to neigbouring island Perfectly clean and well equipped

  • May 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good.

    The view

  • September 28, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner of the guestshouse were very very friendly, kind and helpful with everthing. We loved them ;)

  • September 20, 2015

    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Earwigs in room; untidy guests

    Location

  • September 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tora and Sámal welcomed and hosted me like a family member! Great experience to be there.

  • August 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    sometimes you have to wait for the shower to be vacated

    The value, what you get for your money. Walking distance to the city center

  • July 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No oven - only microwave

    Great host. Great atmosphere with other travellers. Clean and tidy.

  • July 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the other guests are noisy in the shared lounge at nighttime it can keep you awake

    Nice lounge, friendly place

  • June 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly owners, a little bit out of the centre but easily walkable.

  • May 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to city bus route

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • July 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Had to pay cash for stay - as expected to pay with card - meaning I had to withdraw money. Internet was very patchy - better midday and only in a spot in the shared living space. Not brilliant having to share bathroom with up to eight people.

    Samal and Torhada very friendly and spoke very good English and always very helpful.

  • June 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no table/desk in the room.

    The house is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, there was absolutely no traffic noise. The host, Tórharda, is very friendly and always ready to help. There is a large common area with a little kitchen and a living room with a great view.

  • May 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I don't find wi-fi except shared computer at the first floor. But I didn't ask. May be it was. I had only two days in Torshavn - and therefore wanted to see more. And without wi-fi in the room it's easier to do it! )) ---- Я не нашёл вай-фай кроме как на компе снизу. Но может я просто плохо искал. И я не спрашивал хозяев. Я до этого был в Копенгагене и наличие вай-фая в номере сильно мешало осматривать город. А тут у меня было только два дня - поэтому я решил: может лучше без вай-фая.

    It was very good nights Value for money. At the Faroe Islands Hotels are expensive. Too expensive. And therefore we booked this one with shared bathroom. I'm very happy that had this variant for just a little price. It was very good to have tea and coffee at the morning and colours of beds)) and if you want to discuss with true real faroese - it's for you ))) ----- Отели на Фарерах реально очень-очень дорогие. Они вообще дорогие в Скандинавии. Но в остальных странах мне удавалось найти номера с одельной ванной за эти деньги. Здесь - нет. Но я очень рад, что удалось взять этот вариант. Он не далеко от центра. И реально дешевле в разы основных гостиниц. Отличное соотношение качество/деньги. Безусловно, скандинавская простота. Но вы сможете пообщаться с реальными фарерцами, сдающими вам под номера второй этаж своего дома. Сможете выпить бесплатного чая и коффе с утра на дорожку... или вечером.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: