Reviews of Vacancéole - L'Allée des Dunes

Chemin De La Montagne, 40440 Ondres, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Ondres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment ( 4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bring your own toilet-paper! The first roll is free, then you apperently must bring your own. Must be a french thing, never heard of this before... Price during the high season is quite expensive.

    The pool-area is very nice! Apartments is basic, but ok. You can buy dinner and dessert at the compound, we had very good paella and crepes. Right over the street there is a little grocery (at Blue ocean camping) with all the necessary items. The Ondres beach is easy accesible by free shuttle bus. Beware that seabaths can be probihited due to rough waves and ocean currents. Lifeguards are watching the beach all day.

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (8 Persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds uncomfortable, poor sofa & no kettle

    Swimming pool & tennis courts & location to beach. Free bus shuttle to beach worked brilliantly!!

  • 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was only open until 7pm, which was very early to close. Reception also closed at 7pm meaning that the bar area was closed too. No social activities in the evening.

    Very close to a lovely beach in a quiet, tranquil area. Nice clean apartment

  • 18 April 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Apartment ( 4 persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shutter was not in working order during our stay, in spite of our complains. The stuff gave us an option to move to another apartment, but we did not bother as it is troublesome.

  • 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment ( 4 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stayed here 3 times over the past four years. The place could do with some TLC to revamp the rooms and facilities as they are starting to feel tired

    Good location, facilities and price

  • 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (8 Persons)
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was strangely located with residential homes all around. Also one member of staff was abrupt and had no sense of customer care. Also Ondres is a small town that has little or no real facilities you have to travel to find them

    we had bed linen and towels provided during our stay

  • 24 July 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • House (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a house for 6 people. There were three of us travelling with 2 pets. The 'house' was very small (even with the under-occupancy). Other than a dining table and 4 chairs in the lounge there was only a sofa bed to sit on. This took 3 people and was hideously uncomfortable. There is no way that 6 people could be reasonably or comfortably accommodated in a house of this size. The beds were uncomfortable too. The kitchen was only just adequate. The quality of the cooking utensils was poor and there was no tin opener. The staff were generally OK but there were times when we felt the staff were there for their own enjoyment instead of ours.

    The location was very convenient and the public areas were good. The pool was really nice - clean and a good size. The terrace around the pool was spacious but a few more sun beds were needed. The storage space (for clothes, suitcases etc) in the house was good but there were only 3 of us and I am not sure this would have been the same if there had been six of us. The keep fit classes around the pool were great. The property was reasonably pet-friendly although the terrace is not enclosed and so inquisitive pets would need to be tied up.

  • 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Not enough information about additional available services of the hotel. We just used our house as rented apartment and bought everything we need in supermarket including toilet paper and dish washing liquid. May be we could get something from reception, but we didn't ask. For example I was missing electric kettle and boiled water for teapot on the electric stove.

    We liked location of this hotel, nice bushes near house and nice view on the pine forest from terrace of our house. We stayed in separate house and it was quite comfortable for our family with two kids 8 and 15 years old. For bigger groups I it was also possible (officially there are 6 sleeping places and there are also 6 chairs inside dining room and 6 chairs on the terrace), but I think there are not enough space for 6 people in this house. Management was very helpful, but there is not enough information for people who doesn't know french. It is quite place and we had nice rest there. Kitchen was well equipped including coffee machine, toaster, and dish washing machine, as it was described in the offer. All needed dishes and glasses also were included.

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shop on sight. It would be nice to be able to buy a cold drink or ice cream at the pool, but otherwise fine

    Great location

  • 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • House (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    this was a basic place to stay but quite good value for the price. it reminded me of holidays i had as a child. the kids loved it.

  • 8 May 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable basic facilities no kettle to make a drink

  • 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene removed frog and lots of insects from room No food or drink available

    Price

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 3 November 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    When we arrived late in the night the reception was closed and we could not get the keys. The sign in front of the hotel with all the information was not illuminate enough to read something. The Hotel administrator complained that we left the room dirty because there were 2 used cups and a plate on the table, after we left.

  • 2 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Only one toilet in an apartment for up to 8 people, no on-site shop but ability to preorder bread, overall cleanliness fair but sofa bed dirty. Didn't use it but covered it in a sheet, shower attachment broken and wobbly table. Looked like a bit of tlc needed.

    Great location, well equipped kitchen, peaceful, spacious apartment and house plots looked excellent. Nice pool area. Free wifi. No evening entertainment, visiting food vans eg pizza, paella.

  • 3 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    I called in advance to let the reception know that we were going to be arriving late. It was arranged that the key would be in the safe outside the office. When we got there after a long days drive, there was only an envelope for another late arrival, not ours. Eventually the girls running a kids club managed to find me the key for our apartment. Following morning got woken up by several families leaving very early, moving furniture around and pulling bags.

    Spacious for a residence. We had the apartment for 8 although I don't think that there would be enough space for that many people. We were 5 and it was good having three different bedrooms. There is no washing up liquid/ dishwasher tabs, so had to put dishes into dishwasher without detergent.

  • 3 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    A bit overpriced for what it is. We got better value for money in Brittany.

    The setting. Reasonable comfort

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: