Reviews of Hotel du Commerce Chez Stéphane 2 stars

11 Avenue de La Gare, 16270 Roumazières, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Roumazières

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 19

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff including owner not very welcoming.They were not customer focused.The village is being ruined by unrelenting heavy traffic

    There is a good restaurant in the hotel.

  • February 17, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bar etc close relatively early but the proprietor will attend if called.

    Good restaurant. Nice garden + pool in the summer. Quiet location. Meteor beer is very nice.

  • December 16, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Stayed there for years on my way thru. Both as couple and solo business and pleasure. Rooms good and comfortable restaurant excellent for food and value. Owner is the cook/chef with a sous chef in attendance. Parking etc. Sta 4 minutes

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 5:15 and couldn't get in, we eventually found a side door. We were told the door opens at 6pm! We were allowed in and to our room.

    Stephane's cooking is superb, we had the menu du jour, €13, and the bets meal we had in France for the whole 10 days we were there. Incredible. Nice swimming pool, we ate outside as it was very hot, but looks like a lovely cosy restaurant inside.

  • June 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only fault is the location. The town is not a pretty french town more of an industrial town. But having said that when in the hotel and the gardens you wouldn't know where you are

    The room was pleasant very french. It was nice to sit by the pool in the hot afternoon french sun. Beautiful food with a good selection of wines to choose from

  • October 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally French - emphasis on providing comfort at a very good price, and great food. Great room - large, traditional French style.

  • October 22, 2016

    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated old 1950`s and tired, miserable owner and staff.

    Restaurant was great, hotel was clean.

  • October 17, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was easy to find and central for onward journey

  • October 12, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very friendly reception

  • February 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms need updating.

  • October 14, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been there before and will be back. Location good and quiet. The food excellent.

  • September 17, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel not open until evening (6:30?)

    Good menu and food. Nice eating outside in warm weather. Comfortable bed.

  • July 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel rooms. Pool. Restaurant and food are excellent and good value

  • June 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being able to check in until 1800

    The gardens and pool are attractive. The food (dinner) was good.

  • May 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very simple old fashioned room limited breakfast nothing to do 40 kms around the hotel

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • July 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no chance for a lazy morning, the owner's dog started barking at 6.30 am. Furthermore, there was little chance to enjoy the garden as the dog's barking ruined that too. The shower head was broken and thus had to be held. The shower was over the bath, which had high sides which made climbing in and out difficult. The hostess' English was weak. When queried about Rognons on the menu, she made circling hand gestures, repeating "veau, veau" leading me to believe it was some kind of veal cutlet, it wasn't, it was veal kidneys! My worst nightmare. To be fair she did offer me something else but by that point I felt too ill to consider other food. The hotel advertises a pool, it was covered and thus unavailable. I wouldn't recommend this place.

    The room was adequate, but disappointingly rooms are not available until 5.30pm. The restaurant was very nice, with lovely decor and atmosphere.

  • August 31, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent staff very helpful.

  • June 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Everybody was pleasant and helpful. Prices were very reasonable.

  • June 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed on a Sunday evening.

    Free parking, views over the rear garden.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: