Reviews of Hotel Restaurant L'Ecureuil 3 stars

30 Route De Pontenx, 40200 Saint-Paul-en-Born, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Saint-Paul-en-Born

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 21

  • September 6, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked we were unaware the ownership of the hotel had changed and arrived to be told our pets were not welcomed. After some discussion we were allowed to keep them with us in our room. The rather abrupt manner of manager during breakfast chastising a guest for not using the coffee machine properly was disturbing and means it is likely we will not return unless pet policy is revised.

    We loved this hotel and have used it for the past 7 years on routes to and from the UK as it gave us exactly the accommodation we like and allowed in the past our pets

  • September 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was the first time in our experience that the hotel host accused us in coming late (we arrived at 22:20). After we turned on light, in 10 minutes there was a strong smell of melting plastic - it turned out that the bulb (really hot one!) was placed only 1 cm from the plastic kettle. It was a pity, because the kettle was practically new. However, it wasn't damaged so much, and we used it to boil tea-water during our stay :) One of the light switches in the corridor is almost falling out of the wall. In our bathroom the window (that presumably should open) was fastened with screews to the frame.

    Saint-Paul is conveniently located close to Mimizan and to the roads that lead to Contis Plage, Biscarrosse, Arcachon and Bordeaux. With a car, you'll have great opportunity to explore those wonderful places. Also we liked the restaurant in the hotel (pay attention to capuccino if you order it, though ;) The room is relatively small, but comfortable. We enjoyed our one-week stay there.

  • August 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have more fruit for breakfast.

    Very efficient & silent air con. It is on a busy road but don't let this put you off as between very good double glazing & proper blackout curtains our room was totally silent & we had a fantastic nights sleep.Very clean & our room had a wet-room shower & we even had a little terrace with comfy chairs & a table.We had already booked a restaurant but theirs looked good & reasonably priced.Think this is a better option than staying in Mimizan which is noisy,heaving & impossible to park.(we are in August)Ample parking here!!

  • July 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A very well run family hotel Easy to find Breakfast & Dinner excellent Good value for money Wonderful location especially for beach lovers

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely location for car traveller and on-site parking - not secured but no need in quiet village. Lovely area. Very friendly, helpful staff, with good English. Lovely evening meal and great breakfast. You get what you pay for but this was one of our more expensive venues.

  • September 3, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location - friendly reception - suits our needs perfectly - as a result have used many times over past 5 years - best family room we have ever come across with room for all five of us with ease plus our cat and a large dog.

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is incredibly nice! We even got a coffee offered. Strongly recommended.

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large family room for 5. Clean and pleasant.

  • July 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. The good size room had its own large patio area outside. Very quiet. Would recommend and stay again if in the area.

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely country hotel, clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • June 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location.Great beach

  • December 6, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice quit hotel. Excellent food.

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for a short biking holiday

  • August 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and comfortable

  • August 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place for a stopover, friendly staff, great value for money. Delicious coffee at the breakfast bar, probably the best I had in a hotel ever.

  • June 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO BAD EXPERIENCES.

    EXCELLENT CHEF AND KITCHEN MENUE.

  • June 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and service.

  • May 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately had an ant invasion during the night.

    Comfortable room with helpfull service

  • April 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say

    Friendly, helpful, clean room, good location

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • December 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilties in the room which would be nice.

    Breakfast choice was excellent, room was excellent.

  • November 20, 2014

    • Solo traveler

    A good hotel with nice rooms and good beds at a discount price. Good breakfast too.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: