Reviews of Hotel Santa Maria 3 stars

Lieu Dit Cisternino, 20217 Saint-Florent, France

#20 of 24 hotels in Saint-Florent

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 29

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exteriér of the hotel looks old - need to be repainted, the gangways with carpets are old fashioned, wifi has complicated access (needs to relogin everytime).

    Position close to the city centre, free parking, nice staff, rooms were nice and cosy (looked reconstucted).

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom smells mold and it's very strong, it comes from very old wardrobes which we could not use otherwise our clothes would be smelling afterwards. We stayed for 3 nights in July, so the smell was a big deal. We left the windows opened to ventilate but the smell didn't go away. The cleaning of the old carpet needs improvement and the bathroom has to be cleaned with bleach, there are so many stains in the bath and walls around, you can tell it hasn't been properly scrubbed for sometime, it's quite disgusting. Staff is not super welcoming but not rude either, it just feels they are making you a favour. It's better if you speak French, as we did, but they do speak some English for basic things. We would not stay here again, just way too expensive for what they offer.

    Bed was very good and bed linen was clean, bedroom nicely decorated, light an refined colors. It is well located and easy to park around.

  • July 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The (continental) breakfast was limited, it would have been nice to have more choices. The door shutters were secured by a twisted piece of wire. The shower head couldn't be secured so you had to hold it in your hand. Road noise required the balcony doors to be shut 24/7

    Free bike rental was nice

  • September 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park a bit on the tight side don't know what you would do if more than 15 guest had cars

    Location was good staff friendly but did lack a bit of English but not a problem we got buy

  • September 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We spent a week at Hotel Santa Maria. Our room was on the third floor with a large balcony which was perfect for relaxing in the afternoon and evening sunshine. The room was large, the bed was super king size and very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed. Breakfast was continental and typically French with ample food available. The waitress at breakfast was charming and very helpful.

  • August 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The payment by card didn't work at the check out time and the only way for payments was cash. Small parking, not for all the guests. Small room.

    Location: quiet and calm but walking distance to the center. Nice decoration. Room with sea views. Quiet.

  • August 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    + You need a car to get to the local beach. + It was better if there was a fridge.

    + Close to the city center, but quiet area. + Room is quiet. Almost no noise from other rooms. + Close to the port where you can take ferry to get to the most beautiful beach around this area. + Room is clean and big enough.

  • August 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant they list on the site is actually not located at the hotel. It's a short walk, but something to be aware of.

    Hotel was in a great location. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Welcome poor. Reception on telephone whole checkout. Poor superior room. Needs maintenance + TLC. Not value for money. Smelt of smoke on arrival

    Great location

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning units were very old, loud and couldn't be used if you wanted a conversation or a sleep. The rooms were not very sound proof!

    lovely reception but some staff not as polite. most were friendly and helpful. lovely room with a view of the sea, nicely decorated, with a mix of old and new.

  • June 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was small, and generally in a superior room there's extra space which is what's expected. Suspect we got a standard room, as photos show larger room. Air-conf fan far too noisy - it really laboured. had to use it as noise from street intruded if windows opened.

    Gentleman at reception on arrival was really lovely, as was night-duty gentleman (we had trouble getting our door open - just needed an extra push). Pleasant, easy walk to main centre, and a "laverie-automatic" on the way, so very convenient.

  • May 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting arrangement in corridors and stairwell could be better - when they go out it's pitch black and the location of the switches isn't highlighted so some fumbling around required! Easy to flood the bathroom with the shower/screen arrangement.

    The hotel was a good price already but on arrival we were very pleased to find that our rooms had also been upgraded at no charge. Secure parking for motorcycles (free of charge). Clean and spacious rooms, easy walk into town.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioner made a lot of noise

    Very cosy room

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not always connected: you must re-login everytime.

    Good location. Clean room. Private parking space.

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi drops out often and you need to re-login often

    Great location and room

  • October 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed one night on our way home. Great location as walking distance into town, stylish & comfortable room.

  • July 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff when we check in, is so polite and greatful. Room looks great too.

  • July 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot of English spoken here

    Clean comfortable hotel

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable room, welcoming staff. quiet location

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our ground floor room was well presented but pretty small, and the view was terrible. Somehow (tricky for Corsica) we had a view of neither the mountains nor the sea, but instead the car park and a pile of has cylinders.

    The staff were lovely, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is well presented. Not far from the centre of town - a very short stroll down the hill.

  • August 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wall and door a bit thin if you have noisy neighbours, wifi was setup in a way to ask you to log back in every time you were not using it for few minutes which was just a bit frustrating, bathroom a wee bit small

    The room was nice and very clean with furnitures selected to give you a holiday vibe, nice view, friendly and very polite staff, checkout was not too early (noon), very short walk from the city center

  • August 3, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No way to make a cup of tea or coffee. Some road noise in the mornings and the A/C whilst it worked well was a bit noisy I ended up using my plane earplugs to sleep. But I am one of the lightest sleepers you will ever meet.

    the room was perfectly functional, i had a nice balcony and you can use the pool at the hotel across the road. Which is a lovely place with a gorgeous view over the ocean and which serves drinks poolside.

  • June 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not take breakfast as it was simply traditional and we like something more. However we did have a nice breakfast in town, eggs and bacon and toast. Very good.

    We very much liked the friendliness of the staff. They treated us decently and were very helpful.We would not hesitate to go there again.

  • June 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast. Very skimpy, and definitely not worth 11 Euro

    This is a nice hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is located about a five-minute walk from the harbour, where there are many restaurants and cafes.

  • August 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A roof terrace would be a big improvement of the hotel. The balconees are really small.

    Good location, good beds, nice breakfast. Free unlimited wifi.

  • July 31, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    moisture smell in the room, even with air conditioning on.

    - close distance to center of st florent - decorated with taste - free parking

  • June 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dissapointing breakfast.

    Excellent location for exploring northern Corsica. Bikes available to rent.

  • June 22, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inadequate parking

    V friendly, helpful staff

  • June 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    convenient location, short walk to restaurants. 40 min drive to Bastia airport

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: