Reviews of Holly Lodge Guest House 4 stars

6 College Road, Windermere, LA23 1BX, United Kingdom

#55 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was great took the girl friend for a weekend everything was spot on the staff was friendly rooms was really nice I would only stay there when I go bk to the lakes now o yes and breakfast in bed no extra charges

  • 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed in room 2 it was a perfect size really spacious the people who own the hotel are so friendly and welcoming it's the perfect place to stay if you want to be close to Windermere and it's only a 20 min walk to Bowness. I did my research before coming don't be swayed by any bad reviews they are from when the previous owner worked there the couple that runs the place now are so lovely.

  • 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a question of not liking but only "small" things though. Be careful when getting up out of bed in case you hit your head on the ceiling (remember it is top floor, room 9). Also strange although never did ask (my fault), no Cornflakes (Frosties/Rice Krispies) on the breakfast menu although other "Museli" cereals available - it would of been nice to have them.

    An excellent B&B with lovely friendly hosts. Very good location in the centre of Windermere. In cosy room No9 (which was on the second floor) with a nice view out and was ideal for us both. Yes would stay there again, including the same room and excellent value for money.

  • 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the ceiling of the penthouse is too low, all of us hit the ceiling in the head...and recommend to put a warning "hot surface" on the heater in the bathroom as it is too hot

    good location,breakfast was good, staffs were so helpfull!

  • 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of fresh fruit, cereal and porridge would have been better.

    Warm, comfortable and welcoming. Bed was comfy and room really pretty and very clean. Hearty cooked breakfast.

  • 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little later breakfast time would have been preferred , we were told the chef left premises at 9.00am .

    Gorgeous breakfast , good choice and very tasty!

  • 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 - lovely and quiet just off main road. We turned up at 11:30 and although check in is 3pm we parked up the car and popped in to ask if it was ok and to say we were here and would be back later. We were given the keys but asked to use them after 3 as housekeeping hadn't quite finished making the room up. We were early and wanted to get out and about so this was fine. Left bags in boot and set off out. Lovely comfy bed too!

  • 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the staff was really friendly and polite. I like them so much. Also, room was clean and comfortable. I wanna back here if come to Windermere again!

  • 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was booked for the in-laws as a Christmas gift and they absolutely loved it. I was worried pictures wouldn't be the same as the property however they were spot on!

  • 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Very congested private parking 2. Small room and very low ceiling(My wife is 5" 4' and she bumped her head twice) 3. The fire escape door wouldn't shut properly letting cold air in. 4. Wifi was not good with frequent disconnections 5. Breakfast slot was too narrow

    1. Good location 2. Decent breakfast

  • 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the host and hotress are really nice, caring you very well during your stay! you can ask them about everything and they are pleased to answer them as the best as they can. You als can use plants, glasses and other outfits to enjoy your own launch and dinner which you buy outside. They will set these staffs for you if you ask in advance and you do not need to clean them after your finish.

  • 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Really comfy bed , breakfast was great lovely owners , very clean everything was great , bueatiful guest house thanks for the wonderful stay . Would love to come back. Gareth and Julie

  • 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the top, about 3 floors, no lift, we (two ladies) needed to take our heavy large baggages upstairs. Also we were not offered to leave our baggages there on check out day due to owner did not stay there in the afternoon.

    The house decoration is good. The breakfast was good.

  • 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in the family room was a bit outdated but the owner explained that the room we stayed in was being modernised soon, so really next time we stay it will be perfect!

    Lovely breakfast, adjoining rooms ideal for the kids and the owner was so lovely!

  • 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it for anything.

    Very nice modern decor, comfortable rooms, great shower. Lovely breakfast. Good parking & great location in Windermere.

  • 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was in a great location, room was a good size with a comfortable bed. The owner was very friendly and pleasant and the breakfast was fantastic!

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I would change .

    Good choice for breakfast. Comfortable bed.The owners are lovely and very helpful.Its nice to be able to park the car in the drive.

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight downside (although it wouldn't stop us staying again) was the bathroom was a bit small. My friends said their bathrooms were bigger so it might have just been ours (we were in the loft room!)

    Super comfy beds, delicious breakfasts, lovely helpful owners, and a fab location! This stay really was excellent value for money and a cosy hideaway in the heart of the lakes.

  • 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would prefer to have Wifi in the bedrooms.

    I had never before spent a night at Holly Lodge and was immediately impressed at the quality and cleanliness of the Guest House. We were a party of three in two rooms, both of which were immaculate. Particularly liked the good sized shower. Breakfast was superb. Lovely new owners, and wish them all the very best for the future. Would have no hesitation in recommending Holly Lodge.

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the weather which can't be helped, can't think of anything bad to say

    We arrived later than expected due to heavy traffic, but once we arrived we were made very welcome, lovely room, fabulous location, lovely breakfast, we would definitely book this guest house again.

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service we received was 2nd to non. The breakfast was great. The new owner had only taken over 2 days before and even brought me and my husband breakfast in our room as it was our 32nd Wedding Anniversary.

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The B&B was next door to a delivery warehouse that worked 24hrs a day, noisy and difficult to sleep.

    The owner very friendly, hotel was situated across the road from the town

  • 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being really picky the extractor fan in the bathroom needed a clean and the skirting boards and door frames needed a little tlc. Otherwise was fab, there's not a lot to complain about!

    Friendly staff, Room was a good size, comfortable bed, smart bathroom with a powerful shower, the salmon for breakfast was a nice choice option!

  • 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very noisy and uncomfortable, was like it was a broken bed

    The lady of the house was very very nice

  • 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all excellent

    Fabulous place - free upgrade - perfect hostess

  • 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice to stay there, everything was perfect!

  • 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked how friendly staff where and the lovely homely feeling 😊

  • 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host not very friendly

    Room very comfortable

  • 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room a little too warm for us.

    excellent breakfast

  • 11 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to say I didn't like.

    A beautiful, clean and warm place to stay, very tranquil.

  • 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good!

    Beautifully decorated clean rooms. Wonderful breakfast and a smiling hostess.

  • 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast.

  • 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Breakfast was excellent and great location

  • 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good location, friendly staff, clean room, great decoration and good breakfast.

  • 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality was spot on!

  • 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold and mattress was a little too hard for my liking.

    Lovely decorated room. Staff were super friendly and welcoming.

  • 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can not think of anything

    A very warm welcome Lovely room Great location Brilliant Breakfast

  • 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all great

    Fantastic in everyway. Beautiful breakfast. Thankyou to the owner and staff for being so nice. Would recommend to all. Thankyou

  • 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, location is convenient

  • 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast!

  • 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities could be improved

    Great friendly and helpful staff

  • 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the staff were very friendly and welcoming.room was amazing.well recommended.

  • 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add

    Excellent location. Spotlessly clean. Friendly welcome and great value for money

  • 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bonnie & Ian were fantastic and couldn't be more helpful and were very accommodating.

  • 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel.breakfast could have been better

  • 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent location, close to all attractions. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation itself was warm, clean and cosy!

  • 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast and the most comfortable bed!

  • 9 October 2016

    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wi fi

    Excellent stuff

  • 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dusty but acceptable given age of property!

    The welcome!

  • 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fried breakfast wasn't very big, but that was just my personal preference

    The lady that runs it is very happy and polite

  • 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well situated, stylish and clean, with good parking and breakfast.

  • 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful breakfast Not far from Windermere Rail Station

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room Comfortable bed Good shower Owners lovely and very helpful Nice walk down to lake Will definitely stay again

  • 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - everything was fine

    Excellent location for exploring the lakes - Lovely people running the house - spotless clean - couldn't be better

  • 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy, nice breakfast, walking distance to lake. Very pleasant stay. Friendly staff.

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isnt great i had to park on the road as no spaces were available at the lodge

    Great location

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was in a good location for us and reasonably priced. Nice breakfast.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 17 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb B&B in a beautiful location, the staff were very friendly, even arranged an early breakfast as I was taking part in the Great North Swim. Well recommended.

  • 12 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows were a bit flat and the blind and bedside lamp could do with a dust.

    Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and kind. Wi Fi was perfect. Furnishings are good and homely.

  • 7 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike other than having to leave at the end of our stay!

    Everything! This place was top notch! Diane was the perfect host and made our long weekend amazing!

  • 1 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didnt like having to come home i could of stayed there much longer.

    Holly lodge guest house is the nicest place ive ever stayed it beats any hotel. It was perfect in every way. It was spotless clean extremely comfy the food was beautiful and location perfect Our room was stunning the decor was beautiful and it was throught out the whole place. Dianne the owner was so obliging and very helpful she was so lovely and curtious nothing was too much trouble. Petra the other lady member of staff was lovely too she was really friendly aswell. I would definately return and stay there again it was simply perfect in everyway.

  • 31 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room face the main road & the back of a Morrison's car park which isn't very private with the window open. I expected my double deluxe room to be as big as the other one, but it wasn't, which was abit disappointing for the price. Other than that perfect stay...we would visit again

    The host was lovely, very warm & welcoming. The room was very clean. Accommodation is close to all the sights, which is great.

  • 29 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner Diane was lovely and made our 25th wedding anniversary more special with a surprise gift. Very near to Windermere centre and a short walk into bowness. Rooms tastefully decorated & very clean. Breakfast locally sourced and plentiful. Off street parking. Free wi-fi. All in all perfect.

  • 29 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room with ensuite facilities, comfy bed, nicely decorated. Good breakfast. Lovely owner, very friendly. Good location, close to town centre but just out of the noise of the Main Street, 15 min walk to Bowness and the lake.

  • 6 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no refrigerator in the room so we had to ask the staff to help us chill our wine. But they were very kind and helpful and are more than willing to help us with that.

    Wifi connection is excellent and the staffs were very friendly and helpful.The bedrooms are beautifully furnished. The location is excellent as it within walking distance to some very nice restaurants and a co-op shop.

  • 6 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one small thing was control of the heating was linked to all of the place and i was a bit chilly in the day time while having a rest.

    The rooms were very well presented, spacious, clean and very comfortable. I liked being able to book breakfast the day before.

  • 4 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like the range of breakfast served, how relaxing the holly lodge was. Ideal location and not to far from the lake. Definitely stay at the holly lodge again.

  • 26 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ...that I had to leave!!!

    The warm welcome from Diane and continuous smile. The attention to the small details in the room and throughout the property that often get overlooked. Great room and beautifully furnished. Perfect location and just a hassle free stay.

  • 25 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very minor issue: a couple of creaky floorboards under the carpet in the room

    Dianne was a great host. The B&B was beautiful and had real character to it. The room was equally impressive. Breakfast was very impressive and speedy. Wet clothing after a walk was put aside to dry for us

  • 24 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice host and good service! She was very kind. If you want to stay Windermere, You have to come Holly Lodge. You can feel cozy, comfort and calmness during your trip. And thank you for finding my watch xx

  • 7 March 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the decoration in the room and all around the lovely house. I want my house to look exactly like the beautiful holly lodge. Breakfast was great with lots of choice.

  • 4 January 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Loved everything about our stay!

    Very friendly and relaxing place, nice added touch was champagne and chocolates for the guests on New Years Eve! Wifi in the rooms was a bonus when weather wasn't at its best.

  • 30 September 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the rooms but this is getting fixed

    Very good place to stay. Close to the centre of town, very friendly. Lovely breakfast and sitting room, good wifi. Very clean

  • 11 September 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not sufficient staff to deliver a 4star level of service. The table we sat at for breakfast was only two foot square more suitable for children than adults.

    The location

  • 10 September 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. I couldn't fault holly lodge and I'll be staying there again.

    A very friendly welcome. Comfortable room, immaculate, quiet. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Close to local amenities

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: