Reviews of Ingledene Guest House 2 stars

18-20 Gardens View, Derby Road, Bournemouth, BH1 3QA, United Kingdom

#41 of 47 B&Bs and inns in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 113 B&B reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • October 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the owner of the guest house, charles was very nice and soft spoken. he took care of everything . i would like to visit him again sometime . :) the housekeeping was good. the facilities were good too. it was a nice experience in short.

  • October 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a family room with a balcony,room was basic but clean and perfect for what we needed. Nice big room with plenty of space for 3 of us. Would definitely book a family room again

  • September 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our small group of 4 had drama. We were threatened by a member of staff that he would call the police to evict us (?!) because apparently we were being noisy. This was the first and only time he visited our room - we were not warned about noise levels or asked to be quiet prior to the threat. While we were admittedly not silent, we were certainly not overly loud, just talking in the room with the TV on low. The room above us were seemingly having a party at the same time, so we're still not sure what happened. Still, not how you expect to be treated as a guest!!

    Great location for the train station (walkable), 'suite' was spacious with nice balcony.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    one or two shabby elements to room - but considering the price this wouldn't change our overall assessment.

    Very very good value - simple family room with fresh clean shower room & fridge. Staff very helpful indeed, thank you

  • August 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were expensive (£468 for 2 family rooms for 2 nights) and dirty. Cobwebs, dirty finger marks on walls, stains on carpets, chewing gum stuck on a wall, holes in the plaster to name just a few. I have photos. The doors have a combination lock which is difficult to open and close and little information given for this. I had to ask how to do it as it wasn't explained and we weren't shown our rooms. The ensuite was so small even our young children filled it.

    Location was handy for what we were there for.

  • August 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very uncomfortable with springs coming through on all three of the beds.

    Staff greeted us with a really warm welcome and were very helpful offering information on local area. Area was really quite, as was B&B -very peaceful nights sleep.

  • August 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Full English breakfast was cooked to order and beautiful. Very attentive of my 'awkward/mind changing' son. Already planning our next visit.

  • August 18, 2015

    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was immaculate but there were stains on the carpet and the bathroom floor was a bit grubby, wallpaper coming off walls in places etc

    The staff were mostly very polite and helpful. The location was nice.

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny room, bit dated. It would've been nice if offered to carry my bag upstairs especially that I was with two very young children. No wifi or not offered

    Great location

  • August 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift for luggage would have been fine if I hadn't packed a huge suitcase lol

    Very helpful very friendly no problems at all. Beds very comfortable, linen clean and fresh

  • August 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very tight space bathroom trying sort and shower kids, shower pressure was almost not worth having a shower in. Not many plug sockets for chargers had to unplug kettle and lamp.

    Lovely staff very helpful. Felt comfortable in our room good for a place to sleep while you go out in the day, topped up tea bags etc and a good sized fridge in the room. Lots of space to store clothes. Just straight down walk to the beach not a too busy beach either

  • July 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds too hard. Decor a bit dated and furniture needs updating

    Clean and tidy. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Handy having drink making facilities in the room.

  • July 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets did not flush properly, spider web everywhere, wall paper damaged, TV full of dust and a pack of cigarettes was put under as a kind of TV stand? We have been woken up on Sunday by fire alarm (6 in total non stop), nobody told us about what was going on, it was a fire test that failed + a training. But nobody said a thing.

    We have been able to check in an hour early and leave our suitcases for few hours there after checking out. Bathroom was clean and staff very nice.

  • July 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible experience on this short stay with my two older children, and a young baby. Firstly, the staff were practically un-contactable for the entirety of our stay (1 day + 1 Night), which would have at least made the experience better had they been more welcoming. Secondly, the rooms were of extremely low quality, especially the beds and to top it off there were cats roaming around the guest house, something extremely inappropriate especially as all 3 of the children had cat allergies - this is something that really should be made aware to the guests before they book and is simply unacceptable. More care needs to be taken to up-keep the cleanliness of the guest house and ensure that people are properly informed of what they are arriving into before they book.

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The man was very rude, no hello on arrival, just looked at us over his glasses and said come on in then. He then told us we will have to pay £20 per person (6 of us in total) as a security deposit because we were a hen party group. He said this is decided on arrival as was not explained when I booked. So basically we looked like people who will make trouble. We were very offended by this but paid up anyway. We had 2 rooms, the first one was very dated, had Chewing gum stuck on Wall, gad coffee stains down the wall, had a read sign under the bed. The mattresses were very old and smelly and some of them even had Urine stains. One of the single beds was broken. In the second room, the decor was much better but there was a dirty sock covering smoke alarm ( prob from previous guests wanting to smoke in the room). One of the mattresses had what looked like poor stains on it it was disgusting. The worst thing was we couldn't complain as we felt we wouldn't get our 20 back if we made a fuss. Defo will not stay their again. I recorded all of these things as evidence.

    Location. Fridge. Staff attitude a bit better on check out.

  • July 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear people in the other room banging about at silly time o clock

    The staff was lovely the room was beautiful it was quite and breakfast was lovely

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5 girlfriends and I booked this hotel to stay over a weekend when celebrating my friend's hen weekend. I can't even describe the surprise of how lovely, bright and spacious the rooms were. Truly fantastic value for the money that we paid. Each room has a fridge, TV, a big shower room and the hotel is minutes walk from the beach. The staff were very friendly too. We were all extremely happy.

  • June 16, 2015

    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was an exeptable price apart from the fact breakfast was an extra £7.50 per person (was 6 of us so for 2 nights this would be an extra £90)

    Nice and quite considering there were a lot of young groups staying.

  • June 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is advertised as a B&B but no breakfast is supplied unless you have paid the extortionate £7:50 each!! The room could have been cleaner, the carpets made or socks grubby and the shower needed a rinse before we used it. TV signal didn't work.

    The room was fantastic for a young family and location was literally a 10min walk to the beach between Boscome & Bournemouth piers.

  • May 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    TThe guest house is close to the train station, about 15 min by walk from the seaside. It is very peaceful inside, breakfast was tasty, the staff were brilliant. A good bonus was to have a fridge in the room. We will come back.

  • May 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can't say anything negative as we were not there long enough, but even if we had have been I don't think there was anything bad to complain about.It was good value for money

    It was over all what we needed for that particular evening.

  • May 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking very difficult. The down and outs loitering about when coming back late. Very dated room, could do with a massive upgrade.

    Full and comprehensive breakfast. Very pleasantly served. most enjoyable. Friendly and helpful when booking in.

  • April 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was perfect for us, group of friends needing reasonable accommodation for a weekend out in Bournemouth. Our room was actually better than I expected for the price. We stayed in the room for four which had a fridge, very handy for extra drinks. There was 24 access to the hotel using a door code so getting back in at 5am wasn't a problem. The room was pleasant and all the facilities adequate. Can't fault it!

  • April 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower pressure poor, though hot. Optional breakfast quite expensive - so didn't choose to have one. A bit of a long walk to the town / beach at Bournemouth - closer though to Boscombe beach - which we preferred with having better amenities and places to eat.

    Comfortable beds, clean rooms, warm and very reasonably priced.

  • April 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not very powerful One of the top Bunk slats was held together with duct tape. The plug sockets were loose and the lamp didn't work. No fridge as advertised No wi fi as advertised Very dusty areas around skirting and base of wardrobe

    T.V worked. The sheets and bedding were clean Staff were polite Not too far from the beach and town centre Free parking Pretty gardens opposite.

  • April 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor and dangerous equipment (kettle doesn't turn off and need to swap plugs to get it set up. Floor hasn't been cleaned and furniture is from a skip

    Nice bloke

  • February 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In state of poor repair. Decor very dated. Not ever so clean but clean in key areas. Smelled of indian food all the time.

    bed comfy.

  • February 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    TVs in both rooms were very old and just didn't work. Kettle faulty and no milks.

    Good location and value for money.

  • September 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful and useful parking suited our overnight stay

  • September 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell upon walking in smelt like cats urine

    Free wiifi was a bonus

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to expensive for this poor service

  • August 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room, nice n clean with tea making facilities.

  • August 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bunk beds were so uncomfortable that you had the mattress springs sticking in your back

    The breakfast was very nice and catered for all tastes

  • August 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to the train station and not too far from the beach

  • August 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not very hospitable Over priced breakfast

    Close to beach and town

  • August 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Nott

  • August 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and clean friendly people

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift to the rooms

    Location was good

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kettle didnt boil properly and slats on bed were not screwed down so kept shifting and leaving sagging patches.

    Nice lication. Clean and tidy room

  • August 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad wifi connection

    Friendly stuff

  • August 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv was too big and took too much room to get through the bathroom.

    The comfy bed,the service at breakfast,smiley staff.

  • August 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was very tired looking

    Clean rooms excellent food

  • August 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired decor - room fittings

    Location

  • August 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very happy with everything and we found it was very quiet,. which we liked. The staff were very pleasant.

  • August 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Break should have been included. Wifi was keep breaking

  • July 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In need of modernisation

    Friendly staff, clean rooms

  • July 24, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grubby unkempt decor, 1st and last visit

  • July 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and efficient reception when we arrived and checked out. Excellent continental breakfast. Very clean throughout and good value.

  • July 14, 2015

    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar was meant to be open until 23.00 but was closed early when we returned back to our hotel wanting a drink :-(

  • July 7, 2015

    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was really nice. Good place for family. Very close to the beach

  • June 29, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small bathroom, dirty looking carpet

    location was good

  • June 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise the other guests made all night lucky we were only staying one night as we got no sleep.....

    The room was clean and comfortable

  • June 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken furniture in rooms. In need of refurbishment.

    Location ideal

  • May 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing:)

    Very friendly and always there when needed help and advise.

  • April 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff were nice the room Was clean nice stay

  • March 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking coming in late was a problem. On a Thursday night we drove around a bit to find somewhere to park.

    Large spacious room with good facilities

  • February 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went down for breakfast just gone 8.00 there was no sign of life after waiting for a short while we left and found somewhere else for breakfast.

  • January 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room - 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower to hot

    Very warm beds comfortable

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • November 9, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room was very cold at night and the wifi was very poor. Wifi is essential for people travelling for business purposes.

    I liked the warm welcome, the cleanliness of the room and the location.

  • October 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They advertise a place to eat breakfast with breakfast times posted. Hmmmm when I asked about breakfast he replied, we don't serve food go down the street to a cafè. Now why in the world would you mislead people using the word "B&B". B&B means "Bed & Breakfast "

    location and price is good.

  • October 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too far away from town and beach Too many beds in room for a comfortable stay, no room to walk round beds. Came home with many bruises on metal bed frames. Bathroom and toilet too small, could hardly sit on toilet without manouvering in great discomfort. Only one place in the room with space to move or undress was by the door. Very poor on health and safety regarding space, guest also had a fall attempting to walk between beds.

    It was very clean

  • September 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    bathroom really small, cannot take all guests for breakfast in one sitting unless you want to sit outside, so get down early

    cheap,no frills accommodation, comfy bed, breakfast tasty enough, not noisy, it is what it is budget accommodation.

  • August 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Lovely B&B tucked away in a quiet road not far from the beach The room was perfect for the 4 of us with ensuite. Both was clean and tidy. Kettle and fridge in the room was fab and with plenty of stock to make tea/coffee. Breakfast was wonderful in a lovely bright and pleasant room , the service was excellent and so was the cooked breakfast plus plenty to help yourself foods too .

  • August 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed-too hard couldn't sleep at all dated furniture peeling wallpaper dirty shower curtain filthy radiator ensuite slatted doors lack of space for guests at breakfast

    breakfast could walk to beach and station

  • August 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Felt pressure to leave the room even before check out. The guy just marched in to the room before check out time.. Good that none of us stood there naked..

    It had all the basics, for reasonable price. Although it felt a bit small but had a nice clean bathroom, shower and all essentials.

  • July 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    My only gripe was we were on top floor but not a major issue, just with two small children, exhausted after a long day at the beach, but still not that much grief. Places like this must keep their prices down as you will pay 3 or 4 times the amount at other places, no there was nothing i didn't really, :-)

    Excellent Value for money for basic guest house for the price of £66 per night including full english and/or/both yoy can't beat it. I was a Dad with two children 6 and 9 you can still get away with one room. Told the owner tv was not set and was fixed immediately, loved it. Graham from London.

  • July 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    On arrival, dead bugs on basin. Otherwise, room was clean and,adequate. No lock on patio door to balcony. Was under the impression there would be a car park nearby but on arrival was advised to park on the street which we had difficulty doing so due to no space.

    Location is good and easily accessible to the beach. Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • June 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were perfectly satisfied with our stay.

    Staff efficient and very friendly, nothing too much trouble The breakfast was excellent in a light and sunny room and served promptly Room was quiet and comfortable Area quiet and attractive with the park and bowling green opposite.

  • June 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Thin walls, could hear next door quite clearly i.e. blowing nose, chatting etc.

    Basic but very clean room, lovely breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

  • May 31, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Owner admitted he was too lazy to show us to our room, peculiar coding system for entry to room (which we had to input ourselves) very sadly dated in reception and staircases. My wife and I both in our 70s had been given the a room on the top floor (2nd floor)

    Bedding was clean, breakfast was good, which was cooked by the owners wife. Young lady on a placement from University very helpful,

  • May 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Little bit further from sea than anticipated.

    Clean, friendly, good breakfast and value for money. We had triple room which don't often get in other places.

  • May 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we occupied had a nice view, was very clean, but rather small. For our short stay it was adequate, but might have proved a little oppressive if we had been staying for a normal two weeks holiday.

    We liked the peaceful atmosphere in the hotel and surrounding area. We found the walk to the town and beach areas very pleasant. . We also thought the breakfasts were very good and the staff very friendly. The car parking situation was fine and we found the WiFi facility most useful. We had some very useful information and advice about the local area from the owner of the Hotel..

  • April 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No welcome on arrivel uncomfortable greeting and on departure. Curtins that don't fit window. No hair dryer in room. Had to be left to my own devices how to set door lock for room

    Wifi and fridge in room and tea making facility's

  • April 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Wi-Fi services is not fast enough for my liking.

    Good customer relationship with staff. The services rendered is quite good for its standard. Although, you can not compare with bigger hotels.

  • February 4, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    shower didn't have much power

    very welcoming when we arrived and very helpful, room was alright for what we wanted and beds weren't to bad, tea facilities in the room and a fridge. near to the town centre which was very ideal. pleased with our stay

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: