Reviews of Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Berwyn Road, Llangollen, LL20 8AD, United Kingdom

#15 of 18 hotels in Llangollen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent too, basically everything was excellent including value for money. Would definately recomend for anyone. 10 minute walk to the town centre.

  • 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The management and coordination could have been a little better, minor problems became the sort of problem that would put people off in future. I.e 4 couples staying, two get breakfast, two don't because they had run out of breakfast items. Not really hard to cater for.

    Staff work really hard to make your stay. Food was very good. Hotel still under renovation so not able to comment further on the final outcome. Spa decommissioned the day before arrival.

  • 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the spa not being open. Please let us know when you have some cheap rooms going LOL.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Love the new contemporary decor. Loved my bathroom experience. And of course waking up to bird song & the bunny rabbits. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We later found out that the hotel had only re-opened a few days before our arrival after a major refurbishment . Whilst the hotel had the courtesy to advise us prior to our arrival that the Spa was not available it did not indicate that the hotel was effectively under training and maintenance ! I am sure it will be very nice when completed but our stay could not be considered value for money. Even the main entrance doors were not working nor was the heating in the room ! In the trade we were effectively expected to pay full fare for what was no more than a " soft opening" !

    Llangollen and its surrounds is a really beautiful place.

  • 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed out on out black pudding with breakfast and the Spa facilities were not available. However we were given a discount voucher for future use of the Spa.

    Beautiful room and facilities. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty.

  • 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the spa being available on this occasion

    The hotel has had a part refurbishment. It was lovely.all the staff were really pleasant and friendly. Unfortunately as in the middle of refurb spa was unavailable during our stay which would have made it perfect..so hopefully we'll be able to come again The hotel is not in the town centre about half a mile easy walk.

  • 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked in especially for the pool and sauna etc . The first day it was out of bounds but it was promised to be open the following day. Later that day we were on the other side of wales where we received a phone call from the hotel telling us we needed to get back and collect our things as administrators were in and we had to leave. We had to then cut our break short and come home as we would have struggled finding another pet friendly hotel at such short notice. It was totally ruined.:(:(

  • 4 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked the hotel for my wife's birthday and to use the Spa facilities. We were not told that the Spa facilities would be closed on the second day we were there. Also suggested that Wifi was available, it was but in very few limited areas. Finally, with no Spa and no Wi-fi in the evening the least they could have offered was a decent TV service, but we only had access to about 15 channels.

    The situation of the hotel is fantastic and the place was generally clean. The maintenance/cleaning staff seemed pleasant and the staff in the Spa were lovely. With a bit of a makeover the place could be fantastic.

  • 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the bar, range of drinks available

    Spa is fantastic, location very accommodating with our bikes being kept in a safe room with access from our room key

  • 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was kicked out of the hotel as it went into administration. No refunds were given or even offered. This was just brilliant as we were 210 miles from home. A couple were even meant to be getting married there 2 days later but there wedding venue was cancelled 2 days before by the administration company.

    Motorcycle friendly Ideally located Friendly staff

  • 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff in restaurant including the manager. Tired and shabby looking room and bathroom. Gloomy restaurant open for breakfast. Under par in all areas.

    Not much

  • 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and food were very good. Hotel is in need of refurbishment. Room was very tired, not too clean, and how you used the shower was a complete mystery???

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't sure why our room was classified as a superior room. It seemed like an average room.

    Beautiful location with plenty of room to wander and enjoy.

  • 30 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needs some attention, when the electricity failed in our room, we were told "if we have to upgrade you to a different room whilst repairing the electric, you will be charged the up graded rate)???

    The staff were excellent, food was superb, Very nice setting

  • 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi connection could be extended to the rooms for sure! This was quite infuriating.

    Loved the friendly staff and spa facilities. Breakfast was amazing.

  • 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    one or two inconsiderate guests late at night and early morning making far to much noise. Something the hotel could look into but not their fault did not detract from their Excellent service.

    Staff were warm and very friendly the hotel was good value for money the use of the spa made the stay extra special.

  • 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like eating in the Restaurant in the evening quite large and empty but they allowed us to choose from the restaurant menu and eat in the bar area which is very nice

    Location and spa plus parking at the hotel very good

  • 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and eating area has a rather worn and outdated look and does let the hotel down! could be cleaner too!

    The spa is amazing! staff are helpful and friendly. food was good.

  • 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the air conditioning unit kept making a loud humming noise every 2 mins. Reception were called in the night sorted it, but resulted in the whole system having to be shut off.....so was a pretty hot night.

    Very large bed wonderful relaxing spa facilities. ...great choice of breakfast...very lean bacon

  • 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no phone signal or Wi-Fi in the room whatsoeverthere was nothing to like about this hotel even the breakfast was disgusting The coffee was awful

    The bedroom was so hot had to ask for a fan stay hot all night even with fan on and window wide open cooler outside bed was so hard and creaked every time I turned over water in bathroom was so hot scalded my foot could not recommend this Hotel carpets were very dirty nobody on the desk had to get a waitress to find someone had no sleep at all no phone signal or Wi-Fi in the room there was nothing to like about this hotel

  • 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fairly average and overpriced. To have paid £92 per night for a room and not had breakfast included, seemed more than a little steep!!

    Location and Spa

  • 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On being met on arrival before we even got to the reception desk. We were greeted by the words "name please". !!!! Not the best greeting in the world. A hello and how can I help you would have been more appropriate! First impressions count! The room was boiling. Yes it was a heat wave but it felt like it had underfloor heating. On the second night my partner could not breath because of the heat and went for a walk in the middle of the night to cool down. The room 212 was over the kitchen above a noisy extractor fan and with a view of the staff smoking area , where the staff joined each other for a chat. Suggest you either don't put guests at the back of the hotel or move the staff area to the side. No phone service or wifi in the room. Could only get wifi in reception area.

    Very clean spacious room. Most staff friendly. Excellent location. Food was lovely and well prepared.

  • 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared with the reception area, the remainder of the hotel was getting a bit tired. Also a single person travelling with us had to pay the same rate, which I do not consider to be fair.

    Scrambled egg at breakfast.

  • 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really needs redecorating! Peeling wallpaper, iron burnt carpets and repainted damp... not the best look and doesn't represent this great hotel! It also doesn't match the nightly cost.

    The staff were so helpful, accommodating and full of local knowledge - especially John Joe on reception. Great base for Llangollen and the use of the spa facilities were great after White water rafting!

  • 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of wifi & phone signal was a little frustrating mixed decor.....modern ensuite still had tatty ill fitting door and old battered radiator hall/landing upstairs carpet very dirty! in contrast to clean reception area

    good location within walking distance of town reception staff were brilliant, all requests dealt with efficiently quiet & peaceful (but don't know if it would be so if there was a wedding on) price (online offer) until we realised breakfast was not included

  • 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Retreat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was the same every night. The soup of the day was soup of the week. However the food was tasty & well presented. On the day that breakfast was cooked to order I asked for 3 rashers of bacon, 2 half tomato & scrabled egg & I was told I would be charged extra for more than 2 bacon rashers, I did not order any sausage, mushrooms, hash brown or beans?

    Room was comfortable.

  • 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from pretty pond in front of hotel and lots of parking, hotel terrace and hotel had a grubby feel. The stairs and hallway were new and modern but stair carpet was not hoovered. Old fashioned tv in bedroom and the guttering outside window dripped loudly all night with occasional noise from a generator. We came back from concert for a glass of wine and went to bar at 10.20 p.m. This was July. Bar was shut with one couple sitting outside in rain drinking wine and another couple wanting to go in bar as well. We enquired and it felt like it was too much trouble and the bar manager did not even come out to explain or apologise, it was a case of 'no it's closed, that's it'. Very unprofessional. The staff were scruffy. We didn't stay for breakfast. I cannot comment on spa as did not use facilities but it offered a wide range of treatments.

    Location was very close to Llangollen town, lots of free parking. Bed was comfy and room clean with plenty of hot water.

  • 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable and bathroom not good (no shower curtain/screen and mixer taps that didn't mix), plus blocked/leaking gutter cascaded rainfall noisily outside the window every time it rained.

    Spa pool was nice. Restaurant and bar food was good. Breakfast good and at £8.95, fairly reasonable

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some elements of the decor were dated and the hallways being high traffic areas could do with some work, we were in room 218, the shower room was a bit dated but adequate, the television was on a table so low you couldnt watch it in bed.

    Comfy bed, great service from the head waiter / maitre de, helpful staff overall, lovely gardens and outside spaces, the spa was great, was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal and its presentation

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a superior room the additional cost did not reflect the extras or comfort you would expect. The toiletries were basic with only shampoo and shower gel with not enough for two people for two night, no conditioner or body lotion, the mattress wasn't comfortable and the pillows were rather thin with no additional ones in the room. The room appeared the same as a standard double room in comparison to other hotels, there was no refrigerator, the iron was burnt and the ironing board was in terrible condition.

    The staff were excellent, friendly, welcoming and always happy to help and the breakfast service was exceptional

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms tired and old needs a complete refurb. Maybe New wing is better but our room 103 was very tired.

    BREAKFAST VERY REASONABLE AND ADEQUATE. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi had no Internet connection for most of my stay - very inconvenient especially with no mobile coverage. Bathroom door sticks and bolt broken. Shower weak.

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a few times the reception was unmanned and I found this a little unprofessional.

    Spa was great, rooms were clean and fresh, short walk to centre, plenty of parking, great breakfast.

  • 4 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older wing was a little "tired" but still clean and comfortable.

    Located close to Llangollen and surrounded by beautiful scenery. A good base to explore the locality. Very friendly and helpful staff who made us and our dog welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant menu could have been a bit more varied (my vegetarian colleague was short of choice). I was disappointed only tinned fruit was available at breakfast.

    The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very sunny weekend and the bedroom and breakfast room where very warm - need fans in the rooms

    Good location , nice spa and pool, good breakfast and relaxed atmosphere

  • 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked our room it was clean and tidy. We booked a junior suite so expected a separate area to lounge. However our room felt more like a luxry double so we thought the nightly price was slightly expensive to charge a junior suite price.

    Really good location, welcoming reception staff and helpful beauty and health spa staff. Room was clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. The spa was clean and the pool water was lovely and warm. Lots of different sections to the pool with different strength jets. The restaurant and bar served great food and had a wide selection of drinks. Staff where also very friendly and welcoming.

  • 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    meal in the main dining room a little over price we should have used the bar food more. meal on Saturday night excellent . A different Chief ?

    staff friendly & welcoming overall position off hotel and gardens very beautiful.

  • 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a problem that the hotel WiFi was broken

    Good location, close walking to the town. Breakfast and dinner good value. Room spacious and tea and coffee making facilities Would not hesitate to say here again.

  • 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We upgraded to a penthouse was a little disappointed no Bathrobes supplied in the Suite and no complimentary water

    Spa was excellent food was great value and homemade room with balcony was fantastic

  • 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom tile grout was going black and moldy. It wouldn't take much to clean this up. For the price we paid we didn't expect this . We had a room for our first night that had very poor quality beds. Our second night we had to change rooms due to a door lock issue and the beds were better. For the price per night we felt the part of the hotel we were located in looked a little tired . The newer part of the hotel looked much better.

    Location was great, nice surroundings. Good restaurant and service.

  • 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was not very comfortable Main bedroom hallway fire door needed serious attention,kept banging and was very noisy when accessed Breakfast was not served fresh, reheated

    Spa was excellent, very clean and relaxing.Staff were extremely helpful Location 10 minute walk to town centre Would go back if dislikes were rectified. Overall nice quaint hotel

  • 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable. Rooms in need of updating. Hearing manager telling off a member of staff when guests could clearly hear.

    Location. Reception very welcoming.

  • 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the decor in the rooms was a little outdated! no shower and you can hear the guests in the rooms either side x

    the staff were lovely, the spa and hydrotherapy pool where amazing!x

  • 10 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit dated. Breakfast not included had to pay extra so thought £105 too expensive for one night.

    The Spa. Good position to town and river, easy walk.

  • 9 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particularly good VFM. Some areas a tad tired. Whole area a reception dead spot so WiFi access patchy and TV stations limited.

    We were pleased that the premier room had outside space. Jonjo receptionist , deserves a special mention. He was really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great. Grounds were lovely and we'll kept.

  • 7 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant not good quality. When we complained at the table, this was not dealt with as coach load arrived and took priority. We left a message for manager to look into it. On checking out was told we had to pay for meal. Male receptionist was rude and demanding stating Manager was aware of complaint but had not left any instructions. Manager was not in the building to discuss further and I was told he was not available but became available via telephone when I refused to pay. Manager told reception staff to refund £10.00 off meal and I was told to email them if I had a problem. I was not asking for all the meals to be refunded and if he or the receptionist had listened properly this could have been dealt with professionally and promptly.

    Facilities were good. Rooms were clean and spacious

  • 7 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff at check in were unwelcoming, unfriendly & gave us little information. We got the impression they just couldn't care less whether we stayed or not. Food in bar very basic & overpriced

    Good location. Room 222, spacious, clean & reasonable shower/bath. The lady in the bar was most helpful.

  • 7 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very aged and in dire need of a refurb. Didn't reflect the £105 cost. No shower curtain either

    Best massage in the spa I had ever had! Friendly reception staff too.

  • 4 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door was filthy on one side but could only be seen when in the bathroom with the door shut. An oversight as the rest of the hotel was spotless

    Staff were very friendly and the room very comfortable and clean. It was excellent value for money and we would stay there again.

  • 3 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A new matress and pillows would have improved our sleep quality

    the breakfast was lovely, all in all good value for money. Also the staff were all really friendly.

  • 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was confusing to use as it's attached to the bath taps and water came out of both the shower head and taps at the same time.

    Had a lovely stay here, the staff were very welcoming and helpful especially regarding useful info about the area. The hotel itself was clean, warm and the location was beautiful. Also enjoyed the spa area.

  • 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were absolutely horrendous. Didn't deal with any problems we had regarding elderly couple travelling with. No manager works weekends and when they deal with problem it's by Thursday. Still waiting for a reply about the incestigation they were having into our complaint. Will never stay here again and advise you not to either. Would give it 0 instead of the 2.5 booking have give it.

  • 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A small map of the local area would have been useful to guests new to the area. We did not discover the many local sights until we were about to leave! They might consider connecting with a responsible taxi firm who: 1. Have a clean taxi 2. make an effort to be friendly 3. and will not disappoint clients by doing a no-show! Premier Cabs is, in my opinion, NOT to be associated with an establishment as classy as The Wild Pheasant. JTs Taxi is a much better company, particularly if you are new to the area.

    Staff are warm, friendly and full of helpful information to guests new in the area. We found the location to be stunningly beautiful. The nearby River Dee was a delight to walk alongside. The Local library (ten minute-walk) provided us with a temporary card, which allowed us free use of its services. Spa was awesome! Someone forgot to put in a swimming pool! We would like to visit again, and soon!

  • 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer care. I forgot my perfume. When i called they stated they would check and call back in 20 mins. 3 hours later i called back and they said they would speak to housekeeping. 10 days later im still awaiting the call. Wouldnt stay there again

  • 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was HORRENDOUS!It ruined my anniversary and was a complete rip off. We paid £130 for bed and breakfast and had to go elsewhere to eat as the restaurant was a disgrace and filthy. No clean tables, no staff. This was after a disastrous tea tge night before which included a 45 minute wait with no drinks, being offered water with a meal and not having it, cold soup, given the wrong mains and having to ask for our drinks a number of times.

    The spa.

  • 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room needs updating. WiFi signal is very poor and tv signal is poor.

    The Spa is a great feature and the scenery is beautiful.Staff is very friendly. Ideal for a relaxing break.

  • 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view out of the rear window, a bit of a mess by the smoking area

    The spa was very nice, the food good but didn't expect to pay more for certain food, the rooms were sufficient, clean and tidy and the location was good

  • 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired Shower was low pressure and not fit for purpose. TV was too low. Furniture was chipped and very worn and aged. Window frames moldy. Breakfast room was two thirds full, the remaining tables needed clearing and there was not enough staff to clear resulting in several people having to wait at least 30 minutes with no explanation. At this time it didn't appear overly busy just that the staff didn't know how to deal with the situation. We had to pay upon arrival which is strange. However maybe that was a ploy to avoid me not paying on my departure due to the above feedback.

    Location. Food

  • 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horrendously uncomfortable. I could feel the springs. The shower was terrible. More of a trickle than a shower.

    The staff were very friendly!

  • 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very rude and the restaurant at breakfast was disgraceful. No coffee or toast brought to the table after ordering it 3 times. Thankfully we arrived down to breakfast at 9am otherwise shortly after that there would of been no tables due to plates or tables not being cleaned. We went to the spa and after the first attempt of trying to get in it was full however we go in the second time but upon returning the locker key to the reception we was looked at 3 times and no one came to the desk. Extremely rude. In the end this resulted in us just leaving the key on top of the reception desk and walking off. Also the cost of drinks at bar is very unreasonable

    The only positive I have for this hotel is the location and spa.

  • 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpets in hallways to badrooms were either too old or too dirty and wallpaer was ripped,really liked hotel but this made it look shabby

    bar lady,polish lady was lovely

  • 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was in the old part & was very tired! There was a cracked sink, tv with dodgy reception & all of the facilities needed updating in the room.

    The price was good as it was a late, last minute mid week booking. The staff were super. Location was very good.

  • 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful and lacked any customer service skills, we're not asked if we enjoyed our stay or if everything was okay. And it wasn't, no tv signal, no wi fi, no cold water in room for a drink, terrible shower, breakfast was cold and waited ten minutes for tea and toast to be brought. We're not once asked if everything was okay. Staff couldn't be bothered. They couldn't even open the doors to access bar area for drink in morning.The hotel is run down carpet held together with duck tape, needs some attention in general. It was a sham for the price we paid, and I will be making a complaint!

    The bed was comfy and use of the spa was nice

  • 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room I was given was in the old part of the hotel. It was very noisy an extractor fan I think and the shower very poor. I had to insist on being moved.

    New part of hotel very nice and comfortable. Breakfast cooked to order so much better than a buffet.

  • 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very clean and welcoming, staff courteous and very helpful. Location excellent. Food in the restaurant was very good and nicely presented, waitresses very friendly and nothing too much trouble.

  • 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food poor quality, rooms dated and mold in the bathroom, shower did not work properly, two single beds pushed together, carpets dirty and held together with tape. Very disappointing.

  • 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms excellent, others are a little tired and in need of a makeover. Room allocation was not thought through, single occupancy in large rooms/beds while double occupancy in small bed.

    Location close enough to wander into the centre of Llangollen and the sights. Breakfast was very good and prompt service.

  • 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would hope for in the future would be a better mattress, it was 2 singles put together but they were different heights.

    Staff were brilliant, facilities of the hotel although tired were also excellent.

  • 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is run down and in serious need of renovation. Beds are uncomfy, worn out carpets and wall paper. Staff are aware. Managment not bothered.

    Excellent location to explore wales

  • 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got woken up at 11.45am by people partying in the room above let it carry on till 12.20 told the night staff they went round to them but it carried on after that and the next morning when I told the staff as we we're leaving they said we made a mistake on your bill you still need to pay £1.50 witch I thought was wrong when you have people partying and I paid £ 100 pounds for the privilege of that and thought I should of been given something in return not ask for money and the night staff add already told the morning staff so they known about the problem before hand

    The spar and the rooms

  • 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel as i said was clean but its gone downhill in the few years since I've visited.décor needs an urgent revamp . we stayed in a junior suite and that was mediocre. Breakfast was a shambles . I ordered soft boiled eggs. By the time the waitress came back to let me know they won't be long, my husband had finished his breakfast . I was asked if I wanted something else instead to which I ordered poached egg on toast . this took again, along time to come and I'd finished my tea and we were both ready to go.

    Some staff were friendly . room was clean and tidy as was the hotel.

  • 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in 210 to soft noise fan to be heard all night staff smoking below bedroom window

    Spar good food excellent in bar and restaurant very helpful staff

  • 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar prices are ridiculously high, I don't mind paying a bit extra but £3:40 for a pint of ordinary bitter is ludicrous no wonder the bar was empty we walked into the village to watch the rugby as there isn't a TV in the bar. Also should have a power shower in the bathroom

    The location was good only 10 minutes walk to village. The wildlife outside our window was a joy to watch and to listen to. The room was very comfortable. We will certainly return.

  • 16 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in the old part of the hotel. Staff were slightly rude when I had to alter booking and were rarely available at the hotel when needed. Fry-up breakfast looked too greasy. Bed was really uncomfortable - it felt like lying on top of jelly because it was so bouncy and you could feel the springs underneath. There was mold growing on tiles in the bathroom and shower wasn't worth washing in. The room was full of shabby furniture. It was very hot in the room overnight as the heating was too high. My friend also stayed here at the same time and had the same complaints. Neither of us would stay again.

    Llangollen is beautiful, the general population are lovely and some very good restaurants nearby - see Gail's restaurant. Not sure if I've spelt that correctly though!

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: