Reviews of Melba House 4 stars

62 Bampfylde Rd, Torquay, TQ2 5AY, United Kingdom

#99 of 115 B&Bs and inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 35 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 21

  • August 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really enjoyed our stay at Melba House, great location and amazing view to the park. Vicki and Steve were both lovely and made our stay even more special :) We're already planning our next visit and would definitely recommend!

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing..just the bloody seaguls ! Lol

    I work for a very large corporate business and I have to stay away in many different hotels on my travels. I stayed at Melba house for a short break in Devon with my Mum and Daughter as a last minute booking. I have to say that I was overwhelmed at the welcome we received from the owners Vikki & Steve..a beautiful, clean home from home B&B that I can assure anyone would take some beating with regards to value for money. I would not hesitate recommending Melba to anyone... Thank you for a great experience and a wonderful break. Mark Allen.

  • July 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The little extras like large pump bottles of shower gel, shampoo, and hand wash. Very clean and presentable guest house. Could not find any faults.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was excellent value for money. The hostess could not have been more pleasant and helpful.The breakfast was substantial, room spotless and location first class for walking into Torquay.

  • September 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of a walk to the harbor but a nice walk through the abbey

    Vicki was very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. Melba house was spotless. Will stay again.

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly welcome and staff. Tasty breakfast with good range of choices. Very clean rooms. Comfy bed. Good hospitality tray. Warm shower with complimentary toiletries.

  • August 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent - very welcoming and helpful. The hotel was comfortable and it felt like we had a more personal service. The place was clean and breakfast was lovely. The location was excellent as everything was at walking distance - beach, restaurants and other places of interest. I would definitely recommend and visit again. Thank you to Melba House for making us at feel at home.

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely En suite room but we would have prefered a firmer bed and pillows! The car park only accomodates 3 or 4 cars and on a steepish slope, but we had no trouble parking across the road

    Very nice, clean B&B, although not big, it was perfect for our short break and Proprietors Vicky and Steve are very friendly.

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a small hotel with only a few rooms and while the facilities are not super modern, we found everything pretty decent. The rooms we got were absolutely clean and tidy, also very quiet. Staff were friendly, breakfast was delightful.

  • April 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very Dusty room, hair on the toast, unconfortable bed, heating at the wrong times of the day and broken light in the shower room.

    Breakfast nice but had hair on my toast. Owners really friendly and location was perfect, enjoyed the weekend and the walks by the beach.

  • September 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Steep parking.

    Good location.

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park very steep. Difficult to park.

    Friendly hosts. Food great and very clean.

  • August 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast Extra friendly proprietors Fantastic location Shall definitely return

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mugs were stained in bedroom , noticeable amounts of hairs on the upholstered headboard.

    Near beach; friendly staff;

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    clean, friendly and handy for the beach and town.

  • July 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Made very welcome by Vicky, comfortable room and a lovely breakfast

  • June 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Friendly very clean and vicky was so lovely and always had a smile.breakfast was excellent alot of choice

  • September 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly welcome with a nice room. Breakfast was good.

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very good and the staff couldn't do enough for you . Would stay here again when we come back to Torquay

  • August 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, location was good within easy reach of town, nice walk across sea front, owners very nice, breakfast very good.

  • July 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vicky was a perfect host. Food, room, cleanliness, service and quality were all excellent

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: