Reviews of The Riverhill Hotel 3 stars

Talbot Rd, Birkenhead, CH43 2HJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Birkenhead

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 169 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 11, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was a little jaded, but it was Christmas and just for one night. No issues.

    Location - close to where I was visiting family. Staff friendliness - offering tea/toast even when I had to check out at 6am.

  • August 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    We have stayed here many times and have always felt comfortable and welcomed. Truly appreciate the staff, their quality and warmth, especially Steve. Thank you.

  • August 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    hard to say what we didnt like . it seemed to tick all the boxes and had everything we required.

    first appearence we thought oh god its just a big house then once you enter around the back you notice the quality in the place. its quiet , its relaxing , the beds were nice and soft, bathrooms very good size, overall room was a big 10 for me. downstairs is lovely nice decor and furniture . had a nice warm feel to the place. worth every penny.

  • July 21, 2016

    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely large room. Comfortable beds. Nice walk in shower. Great facilities with tv, table and chairs, tea and coffee plus biscuits and fruit plus ironing board iron and hairdryer. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff

  • July 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately, the TV didn't work - and neither did the shower!

    Lovely friendly helpful staff, room great, bed comfortable, good array of complimentary items.

  • July 1, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had expected breakfast to be included in the price and therefore felt that there should have been itemized costings as felt it was rather expensive

    The room was very comfortable and the welcome tray was very good

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor but the TV on the wall would be better on a moving bracket so that the TV could be turned to face the bed

    Extremely clean, staff were very friendly, lovely hotel

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early because we were going to a wedding service. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of food

  • May 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was a little dark with iron & ironing board & dangling wires on show just below tv so rather obvious and ugly to look at. We stayed at same time as two weddings which we had no prior warning about so bar and restaurant were closed to guests if not part of wedding. Hotel facilities are not really available to other guests when there is a wedding going on.

    Pleasant garden. Comfortable room with good hospitality tray.

  • May 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All Good

    I have rarely come across such professional and attentive staff. From the day manager who greeted us and delivered a bottle of Prosecco to the room within 90 seconds and the beautiful breakfast table layout - we were completely happy.

  • May 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only things we did not like was the heavy quilt on the bed,it was too hot for what we are used to,and the lack of a lift.

    Cleanliness,comfort and welcoming staff.The Hotel is also well situated for travelling to Liverpool and for touring the Wirral.Very good evening meals.

  • May 10, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing

    The service from all staff was fantastic. Probably the best I've had and the food what delicious. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone I know.

  • April 11, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    A very comfortable and welcoming hotel. I stay in hotels at least 3 nights per week in the course of my work. This is a gem of a place and have no hesitation in recommending. Accommodation, Staff and Food superb, excellent value for money.

  • March 31, 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed (2 singles joined) mattress was not fit for purpose. There was a 'hole' in the middle and some springs were protruding from the edge of the bed which was very dangerous when you sat at the edge of the bed. Really desperate need for new mattress. But very comfortable room and ensuite so it was a pity to have to complain the following morning.

    Lovely staff, very clean and attention to detail.

  • March 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost of the breakfast for what you got, too skimpy

    Loved every minute of the stay, the only down side of the two days appeared to be with the breakfast, didn't think the fry up was enough for the money paid but every thing else made up for it really. Will visit again for sure

  • March 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very friendly and helpful; food at breakfast was great and a hello to the chef who chatted away!! Get the ferry across the Mersey into Liverpool. Be very careful of taxi rates on return. We were caught out! Check fare before agreeing!

  • March 19, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The bedrooms I have stayed in have always been immaculate in cleanliness, decoration and fittings. The showers in the rooms I have stayed in are fabulous, some rooms with shower cubicle and bath provided - lovely for those who like the best of both worlds! The food is fabulous, a wide rage of drinks also available in the bar. Room service available. But, it is always the staff who make or break the experience, and they always 'make' it for me! At reception the staff are always friendly, welcoming, ready for conversation - those in the restaurant and bar I have always found to be attentive and very friendly. My recent stay I left at 04.30, I had informed reception of this the night before and they handed the information over to the night porter. Upon leaving the night porter was aware of my plans and had even put the car park lighting on in anticipation, to ensure my safety - wonderful. Other hotels in the area I could stay at - but why would I?!

  • March 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a dislike - more a "be aware" : No lift but stairs. Proper wide stairs with decent bannister.

    Fantastic room - almost a suite Really helpful staff Superb food

  • March 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Big room , ensue with a bath overhead shower , enormous bed that was really comfy , we didn't get time to eat here would have been nice as the dining room and lounge area was beautiful and comfortable staff were all please nt , would Definitely recommend it. Lovely grounds too

  • February 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room nicely decorated and spacious with plenty of storage and refreshments - staff helped carry luggage upstairs and there was a nice breakfast

  • February 18, 2016

    • Family
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfortable, but a little wider would have been nice.

    The homely feel to the hotel and the friendly staff. Flexible, and able to accommodate Out of routine requirements

  • February 14, 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe the shower could be updated, apart from that, nothing.

    Staff were very friendly, room was comfortable & very clean. Also we dined in the restaurant & the food was beautiful.

  • February 11, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome from friendly staff, a lovely room with some excellent touches, such as a snack bowl! Lovely food in a pleasant environment at very good prices. I will definately use this Hotel again.

  • February 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the single beds in room 10 needs new mattress.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.Food both at dinner and breakfast excellent.Room clean n spacious.Tea/coffee n snacks in room a bonus.

  • February 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Room incorrect due to booking error but upgraded to a superior room at no extra cost. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • January 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying £10 per person for an average breakfast.

    We got a discount on the room, we paid £80 for a 4 poster bed which is good value as the room was quite large. The staff were friendly and the hotel is very nice.

  • October 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very welcoming,friendly, nice and catered to our needs.The facilities were well taken care of and stock was replenished in the rooms on time. The hospitality and service we got exceeded our expectation.

  • October 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    do not take too much notice of the good reviews of this hotel if you have booked via booking.com, this hotel does not like booking.com ergo they will not like you.we were treated like unwanted guests at a party when we stayed .why invite guests via booking. com then make their stay so unpleasant.

    appeared a nice hotel

  • October 1, 2015

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. I highly recommend and will return.

    Very welcoming. We arrived late at night after a flight delay and although the restaurant was closed the manager arranged for a nice platter of sandwiches and drinks. Comfortable bed, nice spacious bathroom, available but low key staff.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We had room 2 for just one night. It is one of the best rooms we have ever had, you could stay in that room for a week. loads of storage space and draws. The bath room is OK but a little dated but it would not put us off staying again.

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooked Breakfast was ok , could have been better some items lacked flavour

    Staff were lovely ! A credit to the hotel Rooms lovely and beds comfortable

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When finalising room bill, I asked for itemised restaurant bill as I always check. Alas, two overcharge mistakes (slight inexperience of young staff member ?). Very minor detraction from enjoyable stay.

    Very helpful, friendly staff. Room & bathroom excellent - nicely furnished and spotless. Snack pack in rooms included fruit. Meal very good, with some reasonably priced options included for set meals and wines. Sweet relief from impersonal hotel chains.

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Work going on in the room opposite us for about 1 /1/2 hours after we arrived creating a lot of noise.

    The service of the staff the night we had our celebrations, and the foo was great.

  • July 26, 2015

    • Family
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The very friendly staff always made sure we were comfortable and that we and our baby had everything we needed. The dinner was excellent. Very good facilities.

  • June 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the top floor up fairly narrow stairs and there is no lift.

    We had a lovely quiet room with a large en-suite bathroom. We had dinner.in the restaurant on 2 occasions and the quality was very good. A good choice is provided for cooked breakfast, although we didn't try it.

  • May 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome from reception, very comfortable hotel, good size room, comfortable beds, excellent evening meal. Would recommend this hotel and hope to stay in future.

  • April 18, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent attention from the staff clean comfortable well appointed room. Nice quiet location and a short walk to the local village. Safe off-road parking, beautiful gardens and comfortable outdoor seating area.

  • February 12, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was out the whole night so couldn't do any work when I needed to and the TV channels there were only about 4 that worked.

    Excellent customer service and room and food.

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bad points

    Very pleasant welcoming staff, lots of parking, comfortable room, very nice breakfast.

  • December 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no hot water at 11pm bed too soft card machine not working so had to leave card details

    welcoming and helpful staff nice decor and furnishings

  • November 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What's not to like.

    Lovely staff. Very attentive. Lovely stay. Would come back.

  • September 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was brill

    So relaxed many in the party were still asleep

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfy, food excellent, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs upgrading facilities slightly old fashioned and tired so was abit overpriced

    Very freindly and helpful staff comfortable bed clean

  • August 27, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very attentive and helpful..

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room rather too hot probably due to weather. Breakfast a bit on the expensive side.will

    Bed excellent - room clean & comfortable

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Breakfast finished at 9.30 am and we didn't realise. They accommodate us with cereal & Toast.

  • August 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a fridge - but this time didn't get one!

    Lovely room - and this time the TV and shower worked. Helpful staff.

  • August 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no remote for my TV and no plug for my sink.

    the staff were very friendly and helpful

  • July 28, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, great location friendly staff

  • July 27, 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Evening meal was superb.

  • July 23, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything fine

    Bed is nice all is well

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable quiet room and bed. Excellent quality full English breakfast with real fresh fruit salad.

  • July 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet-

    The breakfast was beautiful

  • July 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floor board where a Little unstable and loud in my room

    Breakfast and Restaurant in General was very good, Staff where freindly and helpful.

  • June 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a lovely family-style hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee was not good.

    Great linen and towels, very helpful staff.

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full charge for cooked breakfast when had already paid for continental!

    Nicely appointed rooms and cosy homely feel.

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a shower in my bathroom.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room v clean and comfortable. A lovely building and warm atmosphere.

  • June 21, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly atmosphere

  • June 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second visit just all round excellent.

  • June 12, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location - a bit tucked away. Not a major problem unless Sat Nav fails!

    Very friendly, well organised, professional.

  • June 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was in lovely surroundings and was a lovely building

  • May 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable large room, nicely decorated. Large cosy bed. Good wifi signal. Friendly helpful staff

  • May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL WAS FIRST CLASS

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be included.

    Fabulous all round

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bath just shower

    Car park and restaurant

  • April 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good. Decor a bit dated but in good order

    Spacious clean room. Excellent food and smily helpful staff

  • April 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal was a disappointment and breakfast overpriced

    Very comfortable and very pleasant staff

  • April 23, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good rooms. Lovely food. Friendly staff. Very reasonably priced

  • April 21, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast and staff were excellent

  • April 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

  • April 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff friendly rooms clean shower facilities good plenty of tea and coffee

  • April 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Classic Room One Adult
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Family run hotel with excellent personal touch from staff. Fab breakfast.

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift for anyone finding stairs difficult - or luggage.

    good sized bathroom and bedroom; very good breakfast; friendly staff.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: