Reviews of Tunbridge Wells Retreat 3 stars

54-57 London Road, Tunbridge Wells Retreat Hotel, Royal Tunbridge Wells, TN1 1DS, United Kingdom

#14 of 17 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, easy access to the town, and there was someone on reception all night, we came home from a night out and our door key didn't work as it was magnetic and kept it near my phone woops .. but the gentleman on the desk helped and resolved the issue straight away

  • 18 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name of the hotel has changed to Tunbridge Wells retreat therefore it is very confusing as the website still calls I it smart and simple therefore we had a problem finding the hotel - this needs to be clarified

    Staff were great

  • 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed-Helpful staff-Good facilities Parking not a problem-just ask staff for a permit £5 a day is reasonable. I pay more than that to go shopping in Bromley!!

  • 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 4 was next to a door that slammed loudly whenever closed. Proximity of bed to the room door felt slightly too close to be comfortable - too close to people walking down the corridor etc.

  • 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bedsheets had a stain on it. Price on website was considerably higher then if I'd have booked by ringing the hotel it self first.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

  • 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor facilities. No parking available. Difficult to find as it has been renamed the Tunbridge Wells Retreat. Wi-Fi hopeless. Had problems with the door & key-card, as did our neighbour. Room was in need of an upgrade & not worth the money.

    Staff were very friendly & helpful

  • 4 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room needs updating. Carpet a mess, bath room fixtures were very old and difficult to use.

    Location 10 minute walk to the train station and easy access to Gatwick

  • 3 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tired and very 80s. We were at a wedding so stayed in the room for about 2 hours before the wedding and didn't get back to it until gone midnight. We had checked out by 9 am and didn't stay for breakfast. The TV is in the wrong location, meaning if you did want to snuggle up and watch it, you would need to move the besd 90 degrees. The windows didn't open properly and we had to use a deodorant canister to keep the sash window up.

  • 31 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could not manage to get a hot shower not sure if that was lack of hot water or "non standard" shower controls. There appears to be an ongoing program of improvments so this might be fixed shorty.

    Location is great and the staff were friendly. Looks like many of the common areas have recently been upgraded.

  • 30 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) The lighting in the room was very poor. It is wholly inadequate for a business traveller to work at a table, which is also too small for work. The lack of lighting has been complained about before over the years and inexplicably has still not been rectified. (2) There was a constant machine noise (e.g. a fan) from outside audible in my Room 28. (3) There was no disabled, wheelchair access up to Reception and from the Lift on the floors upstairs - the site is on a slope with steps up and down on the floors. Proper wheelchair access throughout is surely a requirement. (4) There were no electrical power socket by my bed and no extension lead available from Reception - which I had needed for medical equipment. (5) The shower gel sachet was impossible to open and the shower pushdown container was empty. This made for a wet floor as I got my gel from the one by the washbasin. (6) I do not think much of the change of name to the misleading Tunbridge Wells Retreat, which suggests a pool, sauna, hot rooms, etc. onsite, which there are not.

    The welcome back was very friendly. I had stayed before. I much appreciated the help with my heavy luggage to and from my room. The breakfast room and garden are very pleasant. The breakfast is fine (although they could have been a little less stingy on the single mushroom, single (not fully cooked) sausage and one half tomato.)

  • 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a peculiar odor and the WiFi was very weak. We were on the 2nd floor, so a repeater may be in order.

    The hotel was convenient to the shopping area and parks. The staff was fabulous and very helpful. The back garden was lovely and so was the hidden garden.

  • 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, it was a bit run down in places. There was only one set of towels for the double room and no shower gel in the shower. Parking is also a problem

    The garden was lovely and the staff helpful.

  • 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took far too long to get warm water in the shower! Also no remote control for the TV ( Imay have been able to get it from reception, but didn't wanna go down in my pyjamas when i'd finally managed to have a shower).

    Extremely friendly staff, especially the young man who was at reception when i checked in. Great location. Quiet hotel.

  • 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have made name change a bit clearer (think we booked before rebrand but mix of old and new signs weird!). Bed was a bit squishy...

    Friendly staff, decent size room and very clean

  • 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not enough parking

    The bathroom was on the small side but the shower was good. The receptionist was very pleased to help & friendly. The facilities are relevant to the rates.

  • 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar.. there isn't really a social area.. Sports Bar downstairs.. okay if you've into sport and noise. I'm now out of town hotel.. better evening Bar and Resturant

    Convienient place to stay, good FREE parking and I had a large van. Warm and comfortable

  • 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the dimmer switches near the bed no longer had knobs on them, making it difficult or perhaps impossible to use them. The main lights worked though. The shower's water also took a while to get warm, but with a bit of patience and playing around we got there.

    The room was comfortable and nicely presented. Our bathroom was very spacious and even had a separate bath from the shower! The bed was nice and comfortable and the pillows were not too thick.

  • 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should this Hotel advertise as having parking with only 2 spaces? No shelf in the bathroom - frustrating. Also didn't find out where to switch on the heating until the morning - brrr.

    Helpful info about where to park and efficient staff. Quieter than expected in that location

  • 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture, Fixtures and Fittings, were looking a little tired. So I wouldn't say the name 'Smart' was appropriate. Maybe other rooms were in a better condition though

    Location was very central. Near to the shops, train station, restaurants etc. Nice size double room. Staff were friendly. The garden looked nice, unfortunately weather was terrible so we didn't venture outside there

  • 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bedrooms are now tired...we have stayed here 3 times before, the first time about 4 years ago and it was lovely....problem is that it looks like nothing has been changed or updated in the bedrooms...the bathroom was tired with the cold tap loose and only running very slowly and the shower took ages to watm up and was difficult to control..the lighting in the bedroom is inadequate for a lady to apply makeup or do her hair properly....we still enjoyed our stay though...however would not return until it had been refurbished or updated, I note that the hotel has just changed name so hopefully the new owners will address the problems.

    Convenient location very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little confused about parking - maximum stay 10 hours but I think that might have been from the following morning (not evening when we arrived) so would have been okay. No heating in bathroom but plenty warm in bathroom.

    Great price for central Tunbridge Wells hotel, especially if you have tickets for a gig at The Forum. Warm comfy room, large bathroom, tea & coffee in room. Nice little bar, open quite late. Quiet & happy to stay again. Some free parking short walk away. Hotel mid way between the town & Pantiles.

  • 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not superior no light above table to do make up..bulb gone in main light as well.picture not on wall black mark..curtain could not be drawn fully table fixed in way .one side of curtain broken Room large but did not warrant extra money

    Good central hotel to Greylady bar and pantiles

  • 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelt of cigarette smoke. The lighting by the desk was dim. There is a real shortage of parking in the immediate area.

    Large and comfortable room. The aubergine bake was delicious and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid £155.for 2 nights £55 would have been too much!! I feel we should be compensated for the inconvenience and disappointment.I did email complaining but no reply or apology.

    We didn't like to eat there if the standard of our room was anything to go by.It smelt like rotten eggs,the shower didn't work,duvet stained,no plug for washbasin,no toiletries,no milk for tea ,few hangers peeling paintwork and chairs,no light over mirror.etc etc.

  • 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to run all the taps in the room for 10 minutes to have a lukewarm shower. Was told this was because "the building is old".Tried to charge more than the price reserved online. When I explained to the clerk, he got upset because 'it was way below what they normally charge" and proceeded to blame booking.com. I won't be going back!

    Good location.

  • 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left the breakfast room smelling of cooking so had to change shirt and pullover after breakfast.

    Value for the money. Clean sheets and towels. Good size room with tea and coffee.

  • 16 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being booked into a room which had not been serviced, the empty coke bottle and ruffled sheets were a big clue ! Breakfast was. a disaster it took three attempts to get the egg right, from under cooked to over cooked fried eggs

  • 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on the inside of window frames of bathroom. Mould and rotten woodwork in bathroom. Stained and dirty carpet all over.

    Location and very clean sheets, comfortable bed and nice towels

  • 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better night menu would have meant I wouldn't have had my Dinner elsewhere on the 2nd night as I tend to prefer to stay in the hotel as a solo traveller.

    I had a superior room which was well worth the money for the extra space as I was staying on business for a couple of nights. Not much of a menu to select from but what I did have was very nice!!

  • 12 March 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry above

    It was convenient for our stay. Room carpet was filthy chipped paint broken blind dreadful artificial flower arrangement more suitable for furneral parlour and dusty. Whilst sitting waiting for our jacket potato a workman came out of the kitchen looking dusty not great appetising knowing he had been working in the same place as where our food was coming from. A young lad was also mucking about in the room. Lastly the music was loud and unsuitable for the clients I guess it was for those who worked there. We would not stay there again nor recommend it.

  • 12 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets look grubby in places - beige is not great for high footfall areas.

    Lots of hot water first thing in the morning. Location excellent for quick walk into the town centre. Staff lovely as always.

  • 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very tired in dire need of refurbishment, very dim lighting, window frame had two screws sticking out to secure blind cord, hole in wardrobe door, cracks in walls, ceiling etc, pictures missing but dirty marks and screws still in wall to show where they once hung, lightbulbs not working. Bath dirty, when ran water was cloudy due to dust build up, had to drain and clean then re run. Water pressure in shower was non existent, cobwebs above window, bathroom floor grout dirty, cracked along with loose tiles, again bulbs not working. To be honest it felt like the owners had simply "given up". A real shame but wouldn't stay again.

    Great location, staff friendly and helpful, went the extra mile. Ordered a taxi for us and when we were out, as unfamiliar with area, called from restaurant and they arranged a return for us also, many thanks.

  • 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is tired and needs redecorating. Carpets in the corridor were in need of a good clean

    The location was spot on. The room was clean enough in the bathroom and bedroom but the room needs decorating

  • 2 March 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking facilities useless; street parking nearby but daytime parking was strictly limited - and one day my room was not cleaned and the bed left unmade

    comfortable, clean room; friendly front-desk staff; within walking distance of station and town centre

  • 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cups in the bedroom were so small and easily knocked over.

    The bed was indeed extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast was fine with a good choice. The only problem was that the croissants were cold and didn't seem very fresh.

  • 21 February 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very similar to a student house share we used to live in! It was very shabby, poorly decorated. It was very dirty! There was dust everywhere, the walls were stained, the bathroom was mouldy. The bed (although my partner liked it) was uncomfortable. The pillows were flat. The room was really hot but due to the old sash windows you couldn't really open them. I was generally very disappointed, definitely very poor value for money. I'm just glad I was only there one night, unlike my partner who was there for two!

    The location, close to family at the Royal Wells Hotel, close to the town and close to High Rocks where the wedding we were attending was good. Also the staff were very smiley and friendly.

  • 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room a little cold at first but there is a wall heater that does warm up with time.

    Lovely large room with stairs down to a large shower & toilet.

  • 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken lift - shut on Grandfather's hand Discoloured water through pipes Bathrooms need grouting Non-existent pillows

    Pretty garden Fairly helpful staff Ok for £80 per night

  • 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold. The window was cracked open and the radiators were off despite the outside tempeture being in single figures. The bed was uncomfortable and the soap dispensers in the bathroom was mouldy. For the price paid for this room, I expected a better standard.

  • 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel can do with a refresh as for £80 it is quite expensive. Additionally, the parking arrangement is tricky as there are only 2 spaces in which to park. There is parking near by but it is restrictive and on a busy road.We didn't eat breakfast there as the fry up looked quite meager for the price. There was also a strange damp smell in the corridors.

    The staff do try and be as helpful as possible and the location is central enough. It's good for a one night stay, has all the basic things you need such as decent shower, towels, TV, iron and ironing board and hairdryer

  • 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stains on carpet, poor lightening, water not hot enough, top of taps broken/missing, curtains were poorly hung difficult to close, paintwork scuffed, sofa had seen better days, shower head kept coming away from wall. The outside of this hotel seriously needs attention.

    The staff were both helpful and friendly. Linen was of a good quality and bed very comfortable.

  • 5 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are terrible, take 20mins to heat then it starts scolding. Also, for the second time, a fire alarm has gone off in the early hours.

    Staff are friendly & helpful

  • 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were dirty. Parking is very limited. Sealant in the bathroom was a bit mouldy.

    Staff were very helpful and always available. Location is good.

  • 28 January 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and very cold! We did not have any hot water despite being advised to run the tap for ten minutes! The best we got was tepid!

    The location was good and the staff friendly and helpful

  • 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was dripping with condensation and consequently the bottom of the frame was black. The duvet was very thin although the receptionist kindly brought me a double one which was still thin but at least it was bigger. I had to turn the radiator off in the night because it made a lot of noise.

    The staff were friendly and the ground floor looked very nice.

  • 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room was appalling. Shower curtain unbearable. Mould in bottom of shower. Towels stained. Loo roll very thin. Tap in washbasin loose. Carpet in room very badly stained.

    Nothing really. A budget room. If we wanted something more we would have gone elsewhere.

  • 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight dusty/musty smell in the room .....but only very very slight! I tend to detect this due to allergies.

    Very warm and welcoming staff Big room Great location Restaurant and bar

  • 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold, and duvet too small for the bed. The carpet was covered in stains and the handle of the shower was broken.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

  • 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is looking tired. It needs a good clean and decorating. The carpet in the bedroom felt really manky under foot. The tiles in the bathroom need a steam clean to remove mould. The paint around the window panes flaking badly inside and out. We only had one set of towels for two of us in a double bedroom

    Handy location & friendly staff

  • 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired but for great location and price....as well as such lovely staff it didn't matter.

    The staff made our stay; welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was beautifully cooked. I would stay here again.

  • 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea cups where dusty and not clean. The cups in the bathroom also didn't look clean. The hand soap was empty as well as the shower jel bottle. Which isn't a problem as I had my own to use but just appears as a lack of close eye to detail. The chair in the room had also come away from the seams.

    The room was nice and comfortable. Looked modern, tidy and smart. In a good location. The staff where so kind and accommodating with any queries such as places to park.

  • 16 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food, quality and service for evening meal Noise in front of hotel rooms Lift failed Saturday morning Brown water in shower one morning

    Convenient location Price Breakfasts average

  • 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs a refurb. Tiles in bathroom are cracked and grout needs redoing badly, there were stains on the walls and bits of the toilet missing,this I wouldn't even have mentioned if it hadn't been for the fact that I had to clean the toilet with a rather dirty brush. Obviously it had just been missed but that was yacky.

    Very good location, close to the town centre and a good price. The reception staff are smiling and very helpful.

  • 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a disgustingly dirty loo brush and the shower came away from the bracket and the very large and heavy shower head just missed hitting me on the head!

  • 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only 2 parking spaces. There is parking on the road but is restricted during the day (except Sunday) - would be a problem if you wanted to leave a car all day.

    Good location for Tunbridge Wells. Good size comfortable room but decorations are a little tired in places.

  • 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble finding the hotel as GPS directed me to a different path. Need to have sign post directing to hotel through the main road. It is near a very busy street which means I could hear cars passing through the road. You can also hear people talking through the corridor loudly. Advise to bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

    Location is good near other hotels if you are going to a party in nearby venue.

  • 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a bit noisy with people outside the hotel and room 5 was a bit damp/musty smelling - a little dated but still good value for money

    the best thing about the hotel is the staff - so helpful and friendly and went out of their way to let us know about a good deal

  • 9 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high ceiling and bay window (we stayed in room 2). It looks very grand when you walk into the room. The bed was also big and comfortable. Breakfast looked good, but I missed out as I had to leave so early....

  • 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We decided to have dinner on our second night but we found the menu did not suit us.We both in our late 70s, a simpler more traditional menu would have suited us, our meal was a bit expensive, my wife had Duck I had beef and ale pie both were lukewarm.

    Our room was very clean and tidy but we could not get the shower to work.

  • 26 October 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On being shown our room we were surprised be the VERY unpleasant smell of drains coming from the en suite shower room. Smell definitely coming from corrugated basin drain! When we told staff they didn't seem v concerned but we discovered someone else had complained the previous week!! Only other niggle, poor quality marmalade!

    Most aspects of hotel v good value for money.

  • 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The total lack of parking facilities ! description of hotel said limited parking but only 2 spaces belong to the hotel, one of which was occupied by the builder's van ! Really tricky when dropping off bags. We had to walk across a muddy green & then park in a multi storey overnight

    Staff excellent - nothing too much trouble. Clean & comfortable room, bed & bathroom.

  • 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fist impression wasn't good from the outside 2 ground level large windows had curtains drawn looked grubby and condensation up the windows, looks as if the curtains aren't opened for a long time. Bathroom, had to run water for at least 5 mins for sink and shower befor any warm water appeared, then nearly scalded myself in the shower, had to step outside quickly then it went cold couldn't control temp at all and couldn't get any more warm water, ended finishing shower with cold water. Blind in bathroom was gruby and black stains around the window, not been cleaned for a while

    The room was very spaciouse and comfortable. Staff were excellent very friendly and helpfull.

  • 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was just blah. rooms were just really basic. tall ceilings with one up turned light. grotty carpet, grotty smell in reception. Handles missing off furniture, hangers all missmatching and random. Room was stifling hot, so i left the window open. there wasa table secured to the wall underneath the window so you couldnt shut the curtans. 39 rooms and only 2 parking spaces

    the location

  • 5 October 2015

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress not bad at all. Sorry, have back prob. so used to a memory foam mattress. similar situation wherever I stay.

    very friendly and helpful staff. Only a short stay so not able to try out your cuisine.

  • 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a friendly reception. Televisions have been upgraded with more channels and larger screens than previously. New menu in restaurant - very nice.

  • 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpets in corridors stained looks like the place is in the process of being updated though.parking a big issue get their early or book a place with the hotel .. only three available. may take time to draw hot water through but perceiver.

    wifi good and usable - the hotel has changed since I my last visit, for the better. I originally found it a soulless venue, but looks like it has changed for the good. The room was a good size, and good value for the money, clean and comfy bed, although pillows very thin. I eat there and found the food nice. its location is handy for the town centre and no/or little road noise. - oh and good pint.

  • 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sports bar was closed hot water took for ever to come on in the morning when having a shower cups not big enough in room for decent cup of tea or coffee

    staff were friendly and helpful

  • 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was at an additional cost, and for £7 I was very disappointed with the portion size. Other hotels in the area offer much nicer rooms with breakfast included, and I mean nice breakfasts.. So I think they are missing this. Didn't like the fact the receptionist on check out couldn't issue a refund, and had zero authority with no staff available to help, for being overcharged on my room either.

    The receptionist that I dealt with on arrival was very accommodating. She even gave me her parking space as the hotel does not offer parking for guests! Rooms were very clean but bed was very uncomfortable.

  • 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited to 4 spaces and you have to use the street which is limited so should be clearer on the website.

    Nice room and facilities with staff who were very helpful.

  • 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a ground floor room...no 6 as requested. All was fine until used the shower. There was freezing water whichever way you turned the temperature dial then water came out boiling, I had to call my husband for help as the lever to turn off the shower wouldn't budge it took ages for my husband to keep reaching in to try to stop the shower. The temperature gauge didn't make any difference to the hot water. When we mentioned this to the front desk they said "we will make a note temperamental shower...it's no problem" I mentioned the strong chance of being scalded. Potential disaster therefore big problem...extremely dissatisfied.

  • 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We'd stayed before and enjoyed the ambience. It has now moved down market. The staff, in spite of being over-eager to please, are not that efficient. Musak confirms the hotel's wish to be lively. Not particularly relaxing now. Traffic noise evident at the front. No hot water at night.

    The room was spacious, the bed comfortable Garden at the rear still lovely.

  • 18 August 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean - dust on carpet, dirty net curtains, broken blind in bathroom, liquid soap has solid sediment in bottom, shower didn't work properly.

    The hotel is close to the attractions in Tonbridge Wells

  • 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water in the shower takes 5 minutes to come through! Also noticed that there are a few maintenance issues outstanding, like the grout in the shower needing re done.

    The staff were very friendly

  • 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower did not work properly: Basin could not be filled - no working plug: Nowhere in the shower to hang sponges/shampoo: No anti-slip mat in the shower or grab handles: Mould along the tray seal: Very inadequate parking information so much so that we got a parking fine of £35! Being on a major road very, very noisy, but then given the address we should have expected that:

  • 2 August 2015

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking - not enough on site - poor when advertised as having parking . Got a ticket . Breakfast expensive for what it is . Only one towel in double .

    Close to wedding reception venue

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: