Reviews of The Grosvenor 3 stars

51 Grosvenor Road, Scarborough, YO11 2LZ, United Kingdom

#67 of 82 B&Bs and inns in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 64

  • November 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival was a bit put off by all the scaffolding surrounding the building (due to roof repairs) we were not advised prior to our visit.

    Very welcoming landlady and nothing was too much trouble (I accidently left my wifes bag in reception, which she bought up for me when she found it. Breakfast was excellent. Would recomend it to everyone, and would stay there again.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best thing the owner Gill, what a bubbly, very helpful lady. So attentive. Breakfast was excellent, even veggie sausages!!. Location good. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Beautiful house will certainly visit again.

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower enclosure was a bit small for me . My fault I suppose, I need to lose 5 stone.

    A very warm welcome after 40 years. a marvelous host. Lovely breakfasts. very comfortable bed and very clean room.

  • September 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    Very friendly, family atmostphere, great breakfast could do enough for you even let us keep our luggage there as we were not leaving Scarborough until later in the afternoon and just a short walk to

  • September 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were made very welcome and felt very much 'at home'. Due to previous arrangements we spent only a limited time in the accommodation, but the owner did everything possible to help us.

  • September 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The owner was lovely and welcoming to us from the moment we walked in, we were made to feel right at home. The room was comfortable and clean and had everything we required. Breakfast was delicious.

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We experienced digital freeze on the TV a couple of times, although I appreciate this was out of Gills control.

    Gill was an excellent and friendly host and made us feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and the quality of the breakfast was very good.

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was outstanding very kind and talkative, they also helped us location places we wanted to get too Breakfast was amazing, made it the way you wanted it to be Room had a little soiderweb but wasnt a massive issue at all and it was a lovely room

  • August 21, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Very warm welcome from staff. Lovely clean and comfortable room. Very hearty breakfast and they even accommodated us by providing breakfast a little earlier than normal

  • August 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small and bathroom was too small for two people to use. I felt the price was a bit over priced.

    The owner was very good and always very helfull the location was very good only a short walk for town centre.

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jill the landlady was such a lovely person. Offered us a cuppa as soon as we walked in and asked us every day what we was up too and how our day had been. Even offered my pick up too come in for a cuppa. The beach is a ten minute walk up the road and 10 minutes too the town. Breakfast was great! Even made us something that wasn't on the menu. Definitely would come back and thinking about booking again sometime soon.

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our particular room had the shower cubicle actually in it, affording no privacy.

    Very friendly and helpful owner who made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her.

  • July 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Excellent location if you are a good walker. Parking permit obtained at guest house for parking on road outside guest house £2 per day. Nice to be able to leave the car and enjoy our weekend away without having to drive. You could move your car further down Valley Rd if you wanted to. Nice walk into town from duck pond on Valley Rd, up through gardens next to museum. Need to be good on your feet as it is rather steep.Very welcoming accommodation, very friendly.

  • June 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Very welcoming and helpful. Gill, the host, let us check in early as our room was ready.On road-side parking sorted at Reception when we checked in. Only cost us £4 to park Sat/ Sun.

  • April 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Guest house comfortable could be a little bit cleaner.

    Good location, owner very welcoming and helpful. Good breakfast. Within walking distance of town. Had a lovely curry at Tika Tika.

  • April 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was really nice the owner was really helpful and very friendly the breakfast was really good plenty of choice nothing was too much trouble Thank you Gill x

  • November 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a very warm welcome from Gill the owner She was so helpful and nothing was too much bother for her. We thoroughly enjoyed our cooked breakfast, which was excellent. You will probably read this Gill,so thank you ever so much for the gift you gave us to take back to France.....much appreciated!! x

  • October 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad about the hotel

    Excellent location clean comfortable rooms lovely breakfast and Jill the owner was so friendly couldn't do enough for us

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only that the wifi was not working reliably upstairs and some of the electrical sockets did not eork

    Great location, very helpful friendly staff who went out of the way to do extra things to make our stay with our toddler easier, even providing bread for us to feed the ducks with at the pond round the corner!

  • August 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was so beautiful the location is great Really quiet and only a short walk down to the beach. Gill the owner is lovely and very helpful she couldn't do enough for us will definitely be going back :)

  • July 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gill was an excellent host welcomed you at breakfast in the morning,the breakfast was great with a very good choice of cereals fruit and cooked food.very helpfull with information on things to do and places to go.

  • July 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So welcoming and friendly, couldn't do enough for us and our toddler! Clean rooms and a brilliant breakfast, couldn't of asked for anymore from the service !

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift but not a big deal!

    Landlady was wonderful and her breakfast was yummy! Not too far to walk to the beach, wifi worked well on my computer, bed was comfy! No complaints!

  • May 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gill the owner was very friendly and helpful the room was great for the price snd the breakfast was really nice the following morning I will be staying here again in the future.

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I didn't like

    Really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were dated although exceptionally clean. Wifi was good. Nothing was too much for the owner she was always on hand and extremely helpful. Went to a lovely family restaurant 20 mins away and the owner booked us a taxi and it was only £10.50.

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    IT WAS VERY CLEAN

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not very clean.

    Host was excellent.

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gill was an outstanding host. Very welcoming and even provided breakfast at an earlier time than scheduled to meet our needs.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasnt the best we've eaten

    Liked the Location ,the hostess was very welcoming and helpful, The room was bit dated but adiquate

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfortable, staff was friendly and welcoming.. Really enjoyed my stay at scarbrough

  • September 19, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff friendliness

  • September 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was dated and things were falling apart

    The breakfast

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    Enjoyable 1 night stay. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Owner friendly and helpful.

  • September 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the owner was so nice and very helpful breakfast was great

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls

    Clean room, good location, great host, delicious breakfast!

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    The owner, the breakfast and location.

  • August 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Scaffolding round the building

    Lovely B&B, nice breakfast,

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and an excellent breakfast.

  • August 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly out of town. But I knew that when booking. Reflected in rate too.

    Great staff, very helpful.

  • August 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nice and clean finished with a lovely breakfast.

  • August 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely owner Gill did a gorgeous fry up after our gig, usual Scarborough bnb decor, very clean will stay here from now on lovely xx

  • August 2, 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful and Gill make.s a good breakfast .

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady who met us at the door and saw to all our needs was lovely. Couldn't of wished for a friendlier lady

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    owner was very hopefully

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was clean and they bed comfy . The owner couldn't do enough to for us and the breakfast was gorgeous

  • July 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to park on the road on a hill we were given a permit

    Great hostess with a lovely breakfast

  • July 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and very accommodating owner

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little firm for our liking, but everything else was great!

    Location, good price, friendly welcome from Gill, overall really good.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited reception cover, outside noise disturbing sleep. Old tired building in need of modernisation

    Vegetarian breakfast option.

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bed was comfortable. friendly staff. even had a vegetarian breakfast for the wife.

  • May 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff.

  • May 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Curtains didn't block hardly any light

    The breakfast was great and the land lady incredible friendly, engaging and professional

  • May 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm friendly owner good location great breakfast .

  • April 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cramped and smelt fusty

    Owner was very friendly and personable

  • April 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor, it was but dated to say the least. 😯

    The breakfast was out of this world! Best full English I've had in years!!! 😃

  • March 9, 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need double duvets on the single beds! Bathroom and shower exceptionally small.

    Great location, welcoming friendly owner, great breakfast.

  • February 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location round the corner from the valley pub which is a must visit. Lovely helpful owner.

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Rooms clean and well appointed. Excellent breakfast. Owner welcoming, friendly and helpful. Excellent value.

  • October 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ever ting

  • July 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location to local attractions and the town centre

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit cluttered

    Very helpful landlady Beautiful building Excellent breakfast Easy parking Short walk to town/sea front

  • June 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The important things are bed and breakfast - the beds were really comfy and breakfast was beautiful

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly made us feel very welcome

  • April 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not find the wifi

    My and my other half felt like was really welcome enjoyed are stay will be visting again

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: