Reviews of The Hamlet Hotel 2 stars

Shakespeare Terrace, Folkestone, CT20 2DX, United Kingdom

#22 of 28 hotels in Folkestone

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 54

  • January 5, 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was awful, i nearly slept on the floor...however we didn't pay a huge amount and it was only for 1 night. The wi-fi wasn't good.

    Staff were lovely and room was very good value for money, very handy being dog friendly too, so close to the beach also.

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly welcome, room lovely with everything we needed for stay. great location for restaurants and to get to the Eurotunnel in the morning as only 3 miles away

  • September 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    having to pull the beds out searching for grandsons toy I couldn't believe the amount of dust / dirt .!!! Beds obviously hadn't been moved/ cleaned for quite a while .... Only issue

    Very friendly

  • August 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for few facilities and only continental breakfast on offer. Electrics looked unsafe. Window wouldn't stay open. Poor décor.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Clean.

  • July 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a teapot in the room, but no fridge for keeping milk, so could only get milk when the hostess was available. The T.V. was too high up on the wall for comfortable viewing. The pictures on the booking site & the description of the premises was not @ all what we thought we were booking.

    I did like the location.

  • June 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only down side it took quite a while to get any hot water. We had to run the tap for a couple of minutes each time. Good electric shower though. It's been a while since I stayed in a B&B so not sure of how things work but our bed was not made on our second day and the mugs we had our early morning tea in had not been washed. Not a real problem as we were only staying for two nights.

    Good location near to sea front. Very friendly owner greeted us and as we had to be away early on our last morning promised us a picnic breakfast. Sure enough there it was outside our door! We had a large room with a four poster bed and a large bathroom. The side window gave us a partial sea view. Very good value for money!

  • May 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with a full makeover. However, the beds were clean (albeit extremely uncomfortable) and the bathroom was clean.

    The owner was friendly and thats about it.

  • May 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing........Parking was OK but not good. However, this is made clear before hand.

    Excellent (4 Poster) Bedroom Made special arrangement with restaurant to fit in llate arrival (Excellent restaurant by the way) Provided packed Breakfast for early start Very helpful

  • May 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirt all around, cigarettes stubs on the lobby floor, bed with an 50 year old mattress with the remains of the last guests, WC with mould and dirt. A very unpleasant experience not suited for anyone.

    Nothing

  • April 24, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave really early the next morning which meant we had to miss the breakfast. The manager was wonderful and made us a packed lunch to take with us. Brilliant service.

  • March 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn't great. I would normally love a continental breakfast but it could have been done slightly better. Although I have to say for £55 i would happily return and go and get breakfast for a fiver in town which is only a 10min walk away.

    The little Irish lady was lovely she gave us a lovely room with a four poster bed as it was my birthday. The room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable.

  • November 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location and very nice mattress!

  • October 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cooking smell from basement restaurant

    The hotel was close to shops and restaurants

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing there except toilet paper. No remote control for TV

    Good location, friendly staff.

  • June 28, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Natural friendliness of owners; madd to feel very much at home.

  • June 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to town and shops

  • June 6, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, we can't complain.

    Beautiful hotel in a great location, with a very friendly and helpful staff

  • May 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The remote of the television was not working A small showerhead for a great shower cabin No traditional breakfast

    friendly hostess

  • May 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly welcome. Comfortable, clean room. Great meze meal downstairs. We Would return.

  • April 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome, the room and the food!

  • April 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room dirty and small and not suitable for a family. Ensuite very poor. Breakfast was minimal and all pre packaged.

    Owner seemed pleasant enough

  • April 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not app all good

    staff very good great value

  • March 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice clean Hotel with friendly staff and an excellent Greek Taverna :)

  • March 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking facilities

    Very friendly staff, who made sure we were ok, even though we arrived late

  • March 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms look a bit dated

    Friendliness of the hosts, easy access to the channel tunnel, easy parking, fantastic value for money

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • November 21, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike

    We only stayed for one night before a family event. The staff and accommodation where very good. TV reception could have been better but once we stayed in one place it was fine not that we stayed there for the TV.

  • September 16, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have done with parking- 15 minute walk to hotel but having said that, we later found a car park with a really reasonable price - £4 for all day parking, just around the corner.

    Made to feel welcome. Friendly. Good continental breakfast selection.

  • September 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At this price nothing to dislike. What do you want for this m.oney.

    Close to town. Friendly Staff. Easy parking. Spotlessly Clean. Will definitely come again

  • August 28, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the breakfast and ornate tea sets. Very well situated, very warm welcome. Excelent if you take your dog as we did. Comfortable beds, and tea coffee, kettle and TV all supplied.

  • August 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    No adverse comments

    It's a good quality hotel situated in the centre of Folkestone. Ideal for channel tunnel . There is a public car park nearby. The owner was friendly and helpful.

  • August 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    it was just around the corner from the main promenade but in a quiet road. The staff were friendly. Unfortunately couldn't sample the breakfast as we had to leave very early to catch a ferry. The rooms are comfortable though the bathroom is rather small...

  • July 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Took 10mins to get moderately warm water from bathroom tap.

    Clean and comfortble hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. Provided a packed lunch since we were leaving before breakfast.

  • July 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was rather small and rather basic (no chairs/table) The window would not open No information in room.

    The room was clean and bathroom facilities worked. Staff were friendly

  • April 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We was given a great upgrade 4 poster bed. The bathroom was very large and clean staff are very helpful and polite. Great little hotel 2 mins from sea front.

  • April 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of nearby parking and breakfast times. I would have liked to see breakfast start at 7:45 rather than 8:30

    Friendly staff and good facilities for the price.

  • March 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower had very little water pressure. Blinds didn't block any sunlight so take eye mask!

    Lovely staff. Nice room in old house~ full of character. Excellent value and right by the sea.

  • February 18, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was very small the tv didnt work properly nowhere to hang clothes or coats in room

    The staff were friendly and helpful the room was clean and spacious breakfast good

  • February 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was so cozy, warm, and clean, and the staff is really friendly. Also there's an amazing greek restaurant, probably one of the best I've ever been to.

  • January 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I could not get the wifi password as no one was in reception for about 10 minutes. The breakfast was poor and not fresh but good enough.

    The room was incredibly spacious and clean. The location was good.

  • December 7, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Family

    Lovely welcoming staff, very good value, and a fantastic restaurant below. Would gladly return!

  • November 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful hostess host and staff! Extremely helpful, a most pleasurable stay.

  • November 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Small bathroom. Minimal breakfast.

    Location nearby the sea.

  • October 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of cleanliness old mattress, (springs gone) Staff difficult to get hold of.

    Location

  • August 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Basic facilities, could have been cleaner, but still acceptable

    Friendly staff Greek restaurant downstairs Pets allowed

  • August 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and bigger than we expected. Would definitely stay again.

  • August 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    - warm welcome by the owners - location - dog is welcome - free breakfast

  • August 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly receiving and good WiFi

  • June 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly and welcoming, the staff helpful and inviting, the room was lovely and suited our needs exactly.

  • June 3, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and the room was spacious and tidy. We will definitely come back to stay.

  • April 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Very good value for money, more friendly than chain of hotel.

  • March 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought it was value for money.

  • February 25, 2014

    • Family

    Lumpy bed and noisy restaurant until late at night

    Great location

  • January 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Cobwebs on the bathroom and bedroom ceilings

    Very friendly and helpfull upon arrival

  • January 10, 2014

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Just like home!warm,friendly and great location. Highly recommend to anyone, owners fabulous!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54