Reviews of The Holcombe Inn 2 stars

Stratton Road, Holcombe, BA3 5EB, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Holcombe

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 71

  • January 20, 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome, great facilities and good food. They even provided me with a breakfast tray in the room as I had to leave before 8am when 'cooked breakfast' was served

  • December 1, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very cold evening I think that they could have lit the wood burner stove to create warmer feeling as dining room was chilly

    The bed was very comfortable decor was good.Dinner and breakfast menu was excellent and food was well presented Staff in the dining room was very helpful

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful spot with lovely views across surrounding countryside towards Downside Abbey from our room, which was a welcoming, warm and cosy room with comfortable king size bed and good storage. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire stay from our arrival to when we left after breakfast was amazing, our room was stunning, the bathroom (especially the bath) beautiful and the bar/restaurant impeccable. The care and attention from staff excellent! We'll be back...

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Edford
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed on the off chance for one night but what a great place, we ate in the restaurant( recommend booking) which was fantastic, all local produce or grown in their own gardens.

    A lovely inn, fantastic location with lovely staff.

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only ever drink ground coffee at home but I found the coffee too strong.

    The dinner we enjoyed was superb as was the following days breakfast. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed the tea and coffee making facilities. Also loved the shower and bath.

  • July 24, 2016

    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    You simply couldn't fault The Holcombe Inn. The owners, and the staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful, and do everything in their power to enhance your stay. The food is outstanding, the rooms are remarkable, and the gardens are wonderful — I think the owners and staff even organised the weather on our behalf. . . Perfect!

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The £10 early check-in fee was a bit disappointing, but essential for us as we had to be at a wedding by 4 p.m. Also - shame about the ironing board on the landing!

    We particularly loved the Tranquility Garden - a fantastic extension of this warm and welcoming Inn - The whole place was very tastefully decorated with attention to detail. We had an excellent lunch and superb breakfast. There was an excellent choice for breakfast. Our daughter had to leave very early and so would have missed breakfast, but she was provided with a very good breakfast tray.

  • July 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service charge is not included in the restaurant prices, which can be a little confusing for foreigners like ourselves who are not familiar with this. Put 10 per cent on top of the dining bill, unless you are unhappy with the service.

    Excellent breakfast (and dinner). Brilliant value for money. A place caring for details.

  • June 13, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike about this place.

    The room was very comfortable, the location was very peaceful, the facilities they offered were excellent.

  • June 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't turn towel rail off in bathroom it was way too hot for time of year covered with 2 towels too stop my son from burning himself

    my son loved the huge bathtub & the great toast selection at breakfast!!!

  • June 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the room we had was at the top and was very hot and airless.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    need thicker curtains/shutters. This time of year it (End of May) it gets light at 4.30 in the morning so!

    Breakfast good value and included, location (what a view!), courtesy call before arrival and listening to our needs was very welcome. Would love to come back to try the dinner menu an go for some walks!

  • May 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a small gripe. We found that restaurant stopped taking orders at approximately 9pm. Fine most nights, but probably a little too early for Saturdays. We just about got to the restaurant in time after an exhausting day in Bath city. Other than this, a great place and would highly recommend.

    This was a lovely hotel on the outskirts of Bath, with a very traditional feel. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. Rooms were very nice and good value for the price. The restaurant also very good, for both evening meals and breakfasts. The owner was also very nice and recommended great local ale.

  • May 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable bed. Staff need customer care training! Waste bins of glass bottles collected at 7am crashing into the truck waking you up.

    Good food. Good beer. Average gardens, lots of ants.

  • November 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed in the Africa room was a bit uncomfortable

    The style of the hotel is absolutely unique, a lot attention is paid to the details. Staff really nice and helpful.

  • November 3, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The young male waiter was a little rude hence we didn't leave a tip. But wouldn't stop us from visiting again next time we shall just be ready with our own cutting comment. Rest of staff were perfectly polite.

    Lovely clean stylish accommodation will definitely be back

  • October 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had Tiffany Room which seemed a lot smaller than it was in the photo but it was still extremely well appointed and comfortable.

    Beautiful setting - really helpful, friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was good value for money and excellent quality as was our breakfast.

  • September 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower initially would only provide hot water, which was too hot to use. We asked reception to assist and a member of staff popped upstairs and sorted it out straight away, by wiggling the control vigorously for a while. Not very technical, but it worked!! No other complaints.

    Very friendly staff. The hotel had lots of suggestions on how to spend your day in the area. Polite, professional staff. Fantastic food. Lovely building. Beautiful rural location. Room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The beer was superb after our countryside walk, as suggested by the hotel guide folder!!

  • August 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed in Tiffany room was two singles pushed together which was fine but mattresses were turned 90 degrees which made bed very uncomfortable for the first night.

    Excellent location, great food and friendly staff

  • August 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at 2.30pm after a long journey but couldn't check in until 3pm unless we paid a surcharge of £10

    Friendly staff good food comfortable accomodation

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very friendly and welcoming...could't do enough. Food fresh and outstandingly presented.

  • January 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    too short a stay

    all

  • December 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good!

    Excellent stay, staff very friendly and professional.

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Certain staff members,leaking shower and the noisiest restaurant I have ever eaten in in my life .

    Location

  • November 22, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was a little difficult to find

    Food was excellent and courteous staff

  • November 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath in room and brekky was spot on

  • October 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very comfortable and the lodge was lovely and private. Breakfast was also delicious with lots of choice.

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower hard to operate for elderly people.

    Quaint and room decor was great. Staff attentive. Good restaurant, the scallops are brilliant.

  • October 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Food smoothie at breakfast

  • October 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy above the bar/restaurant - but I slept just fine...

    Great professional staff

  • October 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was just a bit to remote.

    Everything was superb.

  • October 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Always enjoy staying here a lovely place to relax

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and food (we had dinner and breakfasts) absolutely superb..!! Heartily recommended!!

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was amazing, comfy room, and fabulous breakfast 😊

  • October 1, 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy bed & nice decor in room

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very cramped

    The staff were very welcoming and the grounds are lovely

  • September 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Edford
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room and great on-suite. Nice flat screen TV and good signal.

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a bit high off the ground for an arthritic like me

    food was fantastic and reasonably priced Garden was delightful

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    a good nights sleep and a delicious breakfast

  • September 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - Champagne
    • Stayed 1 night

    CHECK IN AT 3PM AND I NEEDED TO CHANGE FOR A WEDDING SO HAD TO CHANGE IN DISABLED TOILETs

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Enjoyed everything about our stay.

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Luxurious africa room. Amazing restaurant food. New garden absolutely beautiful

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy, friendly and thoughtfully decorated! A gem in the middle of nowhere.....

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A perfect place to stopover en route from Cornwall Great restaurant and really nice staff. Would definitely recommend and return

  • August 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windy roads from centre parcs to arrive there .

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Hunters
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm freindly staff and excellent food

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service and staff

    Very comfy sleep

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, perfect

    A very pleasant friendly, clean and special inn, that caters for all you would want for a nice relaxing break

  • July 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    The breakfasts were superb. We had an evening meal which was excellent.

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food very good

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent nothing to dislike

    Bath in the room

  • June 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff

  • May 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room with good extras such as toiletries and tea and coffee facilities. Comfortable bed.

  • May 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food excellent and interesting

  • April 23, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    Everything. An amazing experience. Great rooms, friendly staff, fabulous food, convenient parking.

  • March 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely rooms, food fabulous

  • March 17, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - Old England
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was lovely.

  • March 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We thought the staff were exceptional..

  • February 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Bed absolutely lovely and super comfy!

  • February 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The cosy feel, the friendly staff, the decor.

  • January 6, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room - Pemberley
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If there was an 11 out of 10, this would be it.

  • December 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Made to feel very welcomed food was excellant

  • November 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent friendly staff and great food, a lovely weekend break.

  • October 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Rococo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The atmosphere & warmth from the immaculately dressed staff

  • October 17, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - The Oaks
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window wouldn't stay open, we had to wedge it with the bin!!

  • October 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Lodge - Barlake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really lovely food and the rooms are great it's our second time there

  • August 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was the African suite bath in the bedroom and large ensuite. Food was first class will visit again

  • August 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Tiffany
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent bar and restaraunt.

  • May 31, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out by 10.30am

    Excellent staff, excellent food, and excellent room.

  • May 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Africa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly staff and sheer luxury. Loved the room and our bathroom. Delicious food.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: