Reviews of Three Horseshoes Inn

Running Waters/Sherburn House, Durham, DH1 2SR, United Kingdom

#13 of 23 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 182 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • December 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold after dinner and hot water took time to come through.

    A well refurbished Inn and a nice room with all we needed, good shower room, fresh towels, great wifi, freeview channels on the TV and a hearty breakfast. Also a good selection of pub meals for dinner.

  • January 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say

    Lovely location, beautiful surroundings, food was fantastic, and the owner was very accommodating. If you like a big hearty breakfast this is the place to set you up for the whole day, would definitely go again.

  • November 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My evening meal was disappointing. Bed very uncomfortable; only one bedside table. Bathroom smelt of smoke.

    The interior of the pub was welcoming. Staff were exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was superb.

  • November 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reason the comfort/facilities were marked down was because we were out for the day and got properly drenched through (right through to underwear!). I asked the management three times if we could put our coats etc in a dryer and were ignored. The heating in our room went off shortly after we got back and wasn't on in the morning so we were still left with wet clothes. Thankfully, the house keeping staff were lovely and got them straight in the driers for us.

    The house keeping staff were excellent and the breakfast was marvellous. Bed was comfy and room was clean and warm.

  • November 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little bit noisy due to the location being close to a road but only because I am not used to hearing traffic.

    Excellent location, small but lovely room, had everything we needed. Very friendly helpful staff and we had a lovely evening meal. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • November 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had requested a quiet room. We were near a fire door which banged shut every time it was used. I used earplugs the first night to mask the music from the bar and noise of the fire door however did not expect to be woken at 3.30 am by friends of the Owner - who seemed to be having their own private drinking party in the bar - causing me to go down in my nightdress at 4.30 am to ask that the music be turned off! We left a day early not wanting to experience yet another sleepless night.

    The staff were friendly and the food was reasonably priced.

  • October 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strong cooking smells through the air vent in the bathroom.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. An excellent breakfast. Plenty of fresh fruit. Bottled water in the bedroom.

  • October 4, 2015

    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The door needs to be slammed to lock. Other than that wonderful experience.

    Clean rooms, delicious food and wonderful innkeepers. The view from our family room was really peaceful and calm too.

  • September 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent, quiet location for visiting Durham and surroundings. Good Parking. Welcoming and attentive staff. Full English breakfast set us up for the whole day! Ideal bed and breakfast inn!

  • September 8, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic pub, friendly staff, amazing food and drink and the views from the restaurant was superb. We were made very welcome and we will definitely return and stay.

  • September 3, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely country pub. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food superb, both evening meal and breakfast of very high quality. Room clean and comfortable and best night sleep I have had away for ages. I will definitely be staying here again

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I made a last minute request for storage of our much cherished bicycles, having just completed the C2C, and found the landlord to be extremely accommodating and helpful. The breakfast would take some beating, I’ve certainly not had better in my many years of travelling!

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hole in the bedroom floor the floorboards went in a hole,the mattress was very lumpy we rolled into the middle toilet was very noisy could hear nextdoors as well.

  • August 26, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could do with redecoraton in the very near future perhaps with more accessible power points added (& in more convenient locations). Basic DIY things such as door handles could do with reinforcing and door at bottom of stairs either relocated or handle moved to a higher point (very difficult to operate when carrying luggage down)!

    Staff were very friendly and they eminated a very relaxed atmosphere. Great views from all rooms. Comfortable room and bed and shower was good (though it could benefit from a descale).

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Corridor and room smelt of cigarette smoke on arrival. Initially wifi did not work.

    Room was large and comfortable and hospitality tray was re-stocked each day. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff were polite and efficient.

  • August 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff very friendly and welcoming food great but breakfast absolutely great everything you could ask for in a full English breakfast also everything else was there if you didn't want full English

  • July 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little soft and quilt a bit too thick for summer months. There was a problem with WiFi whilst we were there.

    Great location - handy for visiting surrounding areas. Really friendly hosts/staff and fantastic food!

  • July 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing food (breakfast was huge, delicious, and free!), very kind staff, excellent private rooms, and an adorable country setting. It was our favorite place we stayed over the course of our whole three-week trip through the UK.

  • July 17, 2015

    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front rooms overlook fairly busy road though double glazed and set back from road so tolerable. Smell of stale smoke, a bit shabby and broken toilet seat

    Friendly staff and excellent pub grub for evening meal.

  • June 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some might find the bedroom at the front a little noisy as it looks across a main A road to open countryside

    Good value, generous well cooked breakfast with a choice of 3 delicious fresh fruit salads, friendly, welcoming and efficient service, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, unlimited and free parking

  • June 26, 2015

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed a short while as we were attending our son's graduation. We had to leave early but we were offered breakfast before we left. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with everything you would need. The landlord was very friendly and helpful, we would definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • June 25, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    General cleanliness of room and especially bathroom poor. Noise from the road, smell of fried food and general state of the accommodation questionable.

    Staff were friendly

  • June 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 3 Horseshoes is a friendly pub and our twin room was clean and nicely decorated. It is close to th A1 and Durham. The beds were comfy and the staff friendly- what more could you want. They went out of their way to find apple juice for my son when I asked for some- could not be more helpful. The location is in beautiful open fields with great views although it is close to the road.

  • June 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double glazing needs hinges repairing - hence traffic noise all night as if it was in the room. Back room may be better.

    Very near Durham city - so great for our plans. Breakfast enormous!

  • June 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Treated like kings. 3 friends all in mid twenties. Given excellent room. Easy entrance when arriving back at hotel late. Breakfast outstanding. Made fresh to order with plenty options. Staff were friendly. Payment simple. Top marks.

  • June 7, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Microwaved pies never work - which unfortunately includes the steak and ale pie served here. The pastry is always soggy! The rest of the food appeared to be excellent!

    All the staff at this roadside dog-friendly hotel, including the younger members, were exceptionally friendly. Service was carried out with a smile the entire evening in spite of continuous running back and forth from the kitchen to the restaurant.

  • June 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendliest staff I have encountered for ages. They were very welcoming and did all they could to make sure you enjoyed your stay. The breakfast was excellent - wide choice and beautifully cooked.

  • May 31, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road noise - very busy till late and it starts early! Best to get a room at the back.

    Real Ale, varied menu, good portions and fantastic bar staff. Wonderful breakfast served with a smile.

  • May 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We stayed for 2 nights to visit Durham and was made very welcome beautiful location the pub is very cosy with a great atmosphere the food is exceptional and lots of choice on menu breakfast was top notch very friendly owners and staff rooms are ample best 2 night's sleep I've had in a long time big thankyou to all highly recommended

  • May 21, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's nothing not to like.

    Friendly atmosphere lovely people warm and accommodating beautiful location, Excellent food definitely going back. Thank you Paul & Caroline Burrows.

  • May 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed mattress, we hate memory foam mattresses.

    We had lovely evening meal. Breakfast was best we have ever had. Generous portions. Staff very pleasant, efficient and super friendly. Beautiful surroundings, ideal for visiting Durham.

  • May 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly the staff are really friendly and ensure all your requirements are met; Lovely location in the countryside; Superb food both quality and choice; Parking right outside; really nice room, comfy, clean and ample size.

  • May 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wi-fi range didn't extend to our room.

    This is a cosy and very friendly place to stay and in a good location for access to Durham. The breakfast was fabulous with lots of choice and huge quantities. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, too, and this was also excellent and good value.

  • May 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    'Mine Hosts' are the best we have encountered anywhere! Fantastic breakfasts, great beer, extremely friendly people. A great holiday base location, thank you Martin and Sara, and all your staff for making our stay such a pleasure.

  • April 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff were all superb. Couldn't do enough for you and nothing was too much trouble. Food at and breakfast was first class and great value for money

  • April 7, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we did not dislike anything.

    Very nice place excellent staff very good food very good location we had a great weekend very friendly owners . we would definately stay again.

  • March 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is clean and comfortable, & I really appreciate having a small flannel as well as two towels to wrap myself in! At breakfast we had a large bowl of raspberries & strawberries to sample, they looked and tasted great, with a good choice of cooked food to follow.

  • January 10, 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food, staff can not fault...

  • December 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice room with huge walk in shower. Very clean, no road noise and very helpfully staff. Breakfast fist class.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay rooms were excellent food was good and staff were very friendly and helpful

  • January 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very good location in the countryside, good atmosphere and friendly just like our first visit.we would stay again.

  • December 21, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sad news Martyn and Sara are retiring will be sorely missed.

    Wonderful hosts and staff. Would always recommend.

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are in serious need of an upgrade/update. Would expect better for the price.

    Lovely staff, excellent breakfast choice.

  • December 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable, warm, welcoming, food good, friendly staff and management

  • November 8, 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kindness of the staff as we had to leave because of an emergency they refunded immediately our 2nd night's stay

  • November 5, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, warm welcome, great Inn with a lovely atmosphere and great food.

  • November 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff and great breakfast, clean and comfortable. .

  • November 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell in the room was awful .. mixture of tobacco smoke and grill

    Personal

  • November 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly. Food good value. Beautiful views.

  • November 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to access wifi. Strong smell of cooking especially in the bathroom.

    Fantastic breakfast. Good sized family room.

  • October 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming proper country inn with character, friendly staff & superb food

  • October 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb food and drink. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again

  • October 27, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly people, very good food.

  • October 27, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2nd visit as we enjoyed our first stay Nothing to dislike

    The pleasant and helpful staff Great food The accommodation is good value

  • October 21, 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent friendly staff. Breakfast to die for. .

  • October 20, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfasts

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Accommodation tired, the bathroom was filthy,bed linen worn out ,the bed was the worst we have ever attempted to sleep in.

    Friendly staff

  • October 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The uncomfortable beds ever experienced, should have been renewed 10 years ago. Needed a good dusting and clean everywhere.

    Nothing to like

  • October 18, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was excellent. Good choice, and good quality.

  • October 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast and lovely staff. Very good value.

  • October 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely views from the room and the restaurant. Lovely room. Great welcome and well looked after.

  • October 13, 2015

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive. Very basic accommodation

    Location and staff

  • October 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed comfort was bad

    Helpful,cheerful staff

  • October 11, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Superb as usual and wonderful hosts and staff.

  • October 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The Friendly staff who were always willing to please and the excellent food with a menu for every taste.

  • October 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely pub in gorgeous countryside. Good real ales from Durham Brewery, and a wide selection of hot food at reasonable prices.

  • October 6, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated decor and cleanliness

    Good food

  • October 5, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little tired in places but very clean

    Lovely friendly staff in easy reach of Durham

  • October 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff were very good and food exelent

  • October 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast and very good choice of evening meals. Friendly host and staff.

  • September 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendliness of every member of staff. Locals welcoming. Good breakfast set us up for the day.

  • September 22, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was excellent

  • September 22, 2015

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom could have been better

    staff and food excellent

  • September 22, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful and friendly people. Delicious food. Convenient A road location.

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice place. Really welcoming staff. Delicious food at the pub.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: