Reviews of Tolcarne Beach Apartments 4 stars

Tolcarne Beach, Newquay, TR7 2QN, United Kingdom

#4 of 27 Holiday rentals in Newquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 184 apartment reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunningly located with breathtaking views. Staff are all wonderful and welcoming. We stayed in Chapel Porth Apartment which is beautifully furnished, capturing the view with a large balcony and bedroom arched window. This setting is perfect for winding down whilst also offering plenty to do and places to go.

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the oven and extractor light din't work but who would complain this when welcomed and placed so extraordinary.

    Location, location, location, friednly people, lovely welcome, awesome!!!!

  • 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that we couldn't book for a desired length of time due to it being busy.

    The place felt very safe. The apartment had a super light atmosphere, comfortable , cosy with a beach feel. The master bedroom was a dream with amazing sea views. Lots of beach activies for the children and super restaurant on site. We were greeted with a delicious cream tea on arrival.

  • 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowt!

    Beautiful apartment literally on the beach, the view from the bedroom was stunning! Everything close to hand and by the end of the week I even liked the steps up the cliff 😀

  • 12 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The master bedroom had a lot of sharp angles at 5ft 6 inches, I nearly wacked my head against the ceiling. My husband was not so lucky, he had a nasty bruise from it.

    The view and location was awesome.

  • 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't work windows in master suite

    Cream tea and fresh flowers lovely surprise, great views. Lovely environment and attention to detail with decor

  • 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have booked a longer stay and leaving.

    Everything I hoped for and more. The staff without any hesitation went the extra mile. They recommended a restaurant, they booked it and sorted a taxi for us too. They took all the stress out of organising our party of six. The apartment was a dream and well equipped and we had an added bonus...glorious weather!

  • 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceeded all expectations just a minor point no washing up liquid provided, yes, this is self catering but most places provide basic washing up materials.......

    Listening to the waves crash on the beach almost below the window was wonderful ...... We loved the decor and care taken in making the apartment comfortable to a high standard. The bed, linen and pillows were exceptional. I always bring my own pillow but it was not needed as the pillow provided was better! Just a few yards walk to the sea. As a swimmer this is important!! Loved the cosy lounge blankets to wrap up and sit on balcony.......

  • 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to drive down to car park was very narrow.They do warn you of this though. Asked for price for summer months and seemed quite expensive.

    Stayed for two nights in March 2016. Scones and cream on arrival and fresh flowers. Very clean. Apartment just like the pictures. Amazing view from living area and master bedroom.

  • 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were tricky and the temperature kept changing. Would have liked sharper knives

    The view was stunning Staff were really lovely and even found a place for our bikes. Everything really comfortable.

  • 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if i had to say something, i suppose the exterior could have dont with a lick of paint!

    location (you dont get any closer to the sea) room sizes, warmth, quality of the interior, balcony, everything really! it was even sunny!

  • 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location literally on the beach was amazing and the apartment maximised the Atlantic view (even from the bed) with fantastic windows and balcony.

  • 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all

    The sea view, the layout of the apartment, the comfy beds, the main en suite bedroom, all of this apartment was 10 out of 10. Welcome pack - nice surprise & welcomed.

  • 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving down to the parking bays I would have preferred a golf buggy collect us from the top . Make a park lot at the top before we get to the drive way

    The location was very nice but I was very worry about the parking

  • 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed with my daughter who is 12. Felt uneasy walking to shops in Newquay when dark (6pm) did not feel safe, was relieved my daughter did not accompany me.

    Location. Peaceful as low season.

  • 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the sky lights a could be viewed from above if you forget to draw the blinds

    Well presented and welcoming. Great view from the sea facing windows.

  • 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame the resrurant wasn't open.

    Couldn't have asked for anything more. Scones on arrival with enough milk for a couple of cuppas. Clean. Friendly & helpful staff. Comfortable and beautiful location.

  • 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a fantastic location for a rainy weekend if you just want to relax and watch the waves..very romantic. I suspect in summer it's very busy as it has a quite nice beach just in front

  • 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road down to the apparments is challenging especially for continental Europeans. I booked a Volvo XC70 and fortunately got a XC60 instead that I could drive down with a newspaper between car and rocks on both sides. Not sure I would have brought down the XC70 safely .....

    Location at the beach and next to could not be better Apartment is so cosy (master bedroom is a dream) All things in the flat fit so well together. Job well done by the designer!!!! Watching the surfers while breakfast is great fun!

  • 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road down is very narrow however it's not a major issue, careful driver required!

    Very clean, handy to the beach, fairly private. Definitely family friendly and have recommended the apartments to my sister and her young family. Perfect to watch the kids while relaxing and enjoying the stay.

  • 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really impressed with the fully equipped apartment, had everything we needed, kid friendly, amazing beach front view , easy access to the beach, I would be visiting again and highly recommend this place to my Family and friends. Thank you Tracie for making our stay even more great with your hospitality.

  • 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A fantastic couple of days in November to relax and get some waves. The apartment we got was the deluxe chapel Porth apartment and was excellent. It was spacious, comfortable and had great views from both the living room and master bedroom and was also right on the beach.

  • 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. Simply couldn't beat the view from the lounge area. Lovely surprise to have cream tea on arrival and champagne chilling in the fridge. Perfect

  • 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Who could have a bad experience here.

    Location. Style, comfort, cleanliness. Little touches, cream tea on arrival. It has everything you need. 136 steep steps to the top of the cliff but we knew that before we went. There is a cafe on site but was closed coz of the time of year. And a restaurant and bar which was open. Loved loved loved it.

  • 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo and soap in the apartments, very narrow Road down to the place, very easy to scratch the car

    Wonderful place in wonderful location right on the beach.

  • 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out a bit early but that's the only thing a seriously amazing place.

    Beyond amazing location you can step out of the apartment and you are on the beach. The bed was so comfy the food at the breaks was so delicious. Can't wait to come back

  • 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit too steep and there is no way of knowing whether any vehicles are incoming (in either direction)

    The view is excellent and apartment is in such an excellent location.

  • 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the access road to the apartments - extremely narrow and steep lane.

    Clean, spacious, 2 bed apartment with 2 bathrooms. right on the seafront. Apartments come with most things you need. Just need to bring toiletries with you.

  • 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really worth to stay in here withe sunshine! You can feeling the sea in front of u. All the equipments in the apartment are complete. If u are fancy a pleasant Journey in newquay, just come and stay here! 100% recommend! You should book very early in the summer time

  • 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small living area, I'm glad I didn't have my surfing stuff (well that's a lie really). Shame cafe wAs shut.

    Great location, nice touches and welkmg friendly staff. Clean n tidy. Great bedroom. Comfy sofa.

  • 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more tea and better coffee.

    Nice scones on arrival, tea and coffee provided. Great location for surfing.

  • 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprise Prosecco & cream Tea nice touch . Good Attention to detail. Wish them all the best with the expansion will be back soon

  • 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach view

  • 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant was closed

    Warm welcome

  • 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

  • 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location second to none. Scones and tea on arrival were a nice touch. Constant email communication in lead up to our visit

  • 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location with amazing views! Well looked after - cream tea's on arrival. Lovely restaurant on site

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Everything!

  • 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SuperB!

  • 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited vegetarian food options

    Superb location

  • 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking and narrow lane down the cliff

    The view balcony and the apartment

  • 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location & lovely apartment. We even had a cream tea & a bottle of prosecco waiting for us when we arrived! Would love to return..

  • 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprisingly spacious appartment, everything you possibly needed was provided. Fantastic location, fabulous stay!

  • 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only booked a short break - 2 nights - we needed longer!

    We thought that the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great apartment. Two bed rooms, two bathrooms. Nice surf and good price for rent of equipment. Tried to book more days, but unfortunately occupied.

  • 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Greeted with a bottle of prosecco, scones, jam and cream. Amazing views. Best location in Newquay without a doubt!

  • 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very busy with the activities clubs as they all congregated outside of our balcony.

    Location was perfect for a beach holiday

  • 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent view

  • 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was too short

    What a jem of a place will defiantly stay again for longer.

  • 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electricity was cut off for some reasons

    Very good view

  • 11 July 2016

    • Family
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect

  • 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view was amazing! couldn't find a better place in Newquay.

  • 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could/ should have stayed longer!!!!

    The views from our balcony , and the proximity to the beach ( which the family loved) were wonderful.

  • 14 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not wheelchair friendly would love to take my son but can't

    The views and location

  • 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location right on the beach! Lovely restaurants and bars on the beach. Cream teas on arrival! Lovely surprise

  • 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better seating in the lounge,some of the cooking utensils were of poor guality.

    The views

  • 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and beautiful rooms

  • 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been twice before and starting to look a little tired. Needs a small amount of decorating .

    Fantastic location and we'll equipped apartment.

  • 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one to be honest. Could have kept body wash in the toilet

    The location, the super luxury apartments & the beach view

  • 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bottle of milk but that is being picky really it was excellent.

    Prosecco on arrival and cream tea. Location couldn't have been better.

  • 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow road down the cliff to the apartment but this only added to the charm

    Fantastic apartment right on the beach and cream tea waiting for us

  • 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Views from the room was amazing

  • 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and apartment were stunning, but access to the apartments might be a problem for some.

  • 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Views. Champagne on arrival for husbands birthday, Price

  • 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly excellent location and very comfortable. Loved it x

  • 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy neighbours

    great location, great apartment and really lovely staff with great correspondense before we visited ! which was helpful

  • 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Waking up to the sound of the sea and seagulls. Being able to access the beach for a walk before breakfast.

  • 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could of been open more often

    Amazing views!

  • 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about the place.

    Everything it was my boyfriend birthday weekend and he loved every second off it.

  • 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded which was a wonderful surprise, a lovely cream tea was left for us and the beach view was to die for. Will return for sure.

  • 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent apartment would recommend to friends

  • 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and comfortable great views very relaxing place to stay.

  • 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was so lovely and friendly they left us complentry scones and jam

  • 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views

  • 27 February 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Loft-Style Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    The view is outstanding and the bed was really comfortable. We were left fresh milk and some scones and cream on arrival.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tolcarne Beach Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: