Reviews of Hotel Kulusuk 3 stars

Kulusuk Airport, 3915 Kulusuk, Greenland

#1 of 2 hotels in Kulusuk

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 24 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 11

  • August 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly the price you pay to stay at this hotel, does not match the services or comfort provided. We stayed here for 4 consecutive nights in the Summer of 2016. I thought being peak season, the hotel would be full, but it was sparsely occupied, and people usually did not stay for more than 1 night. A few things to note: 1. No house keeping is provided. During our stay, not once was our room tendered to. By the end of our stay, our bins were overflowing onto the floor, and we were down to our last sheets of toilet paper. 2. We tried to contact the hotel twice before arriving to arrange a pick up as we had a lot of bulky sized luggage, but no one bothered to reply to us. We ended up walking and dragging all our bags. 3. The hotel is a ghost town. If you need reception, you'll end up having to walk all over the hotel to locate him/her. No one was ever around when we needed them, and they were not useful at all with information. In fact, when we went to book a tour, they sent us over to their sister hotel in Tasiilaq to book! When we arrived they were horrified as Hotel Kulusuk should have been able to book the tours themselves. 4. As Kulusuk is good for hiking and lots of people stay at the hotel to do so, we felt it was rather irresponsible of the hotel staff not to inform anyone about the real possibility of coming across a polar bear. Outside of the hotel, everyone you meet will tell you to be cautious, and we were even provided with flares and a gun by a local guide to go walking. 5. No block out blinds - with almost 24 hour sunlight in summer, this means sleepless nights. Everyone we met at the hotel said they hadn't slept properly because the curtains were threadbare. We ended up stringing our bedspreads across the windows. 6. To do a load of washing costs 150kr ($30 Aus)!! 7. The buffet meals are set prices at 200kr/pp ($40 Aus). The food was the redeeming feature of our stay, and had lots of variety. 8.

    The rooms were decent size and had Windows looking out to the beautiful outside. The meals were filling with lots of variety - although cost 200DK each!

  • July 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No pro-service spirit, lack of service mind. Hard to find out what to do, can see and do. A very torn beadspread, had been better with none.

    Sea view, beautiful sunset over the water and mountains. Performance during the evening, a local Drum Dancer. Whale meat, and whale-sushi at the dinner buffé.

  • August 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room has weird smell, air very stuffy but we couldn't open window because many flies at this time of the year (early August). Pillow so small and flat, not comfortable at all. Quilt looked old & broken.

    We were given a room facing the beautiful lake & nice subset view. Helpful staff.

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location, good facility, very friendly staff, extremely fine cusine

  • June 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful place even though there is nothing close to the hotel.

  • June 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comunication on reception

    food, room, position

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    This is not a "not like" but a recommendation. The laid-back atmosphere is great however a little more structure or information could have been given. Meal times, particularly dinner weren't advised so preprinted cards with the info on that is given when guests check in would have been really helpful. Tours are available however a bit more structure around the advice of these so you know what is and isn't available would be helpful, such as a sign up system like the Hotel Angmagssalik do. Also, letting new staff know the value of a smile is quite critical. When the smile arrived, it was lovely.

    The setting is fantastic, the staff were friendly. Breakfast choice was great. Dinner was available which is over and above the cost of the room - good choice of food. The hotel has a lovely laid-back atmosphere and I do genuinely recommend staying there. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.

  • August 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is located close to the little airport, the sea, the village and a lot of walking tracks. It is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. A beautiful way of seeing the gletsjer is going on a boat trip (well organised by the hotel). Really worth seeing!!

  • July 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    the crew- not helpful-especially about arranging transportation in helicopter and boats. the transportation fee for a trip nine km away was two hundred and fifty euros-much too much and without prior mention- it was defined as a "lift" to the spot

    the view free coffee and tee TV to see the world cup

  • June 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is the only hotel in Kulusuk. Everything is very good and the hotel is very clean and the staffs are very nice. Stay one night is good to experince the great view from Greenland

  • August 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    best views ever to kulusuk friendly people comfortoable bedroom

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Guests also reviewed these properties: