Reviews of Futura Hotel 2 stars

Main Street, Maleme, 73100, Greece

#11 of 20 hotels in Maleme

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 15

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Ground Floor (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good and beautifull place, nice pool man ( for the girls;) I really enjoyed the area, the conversations with Nick , and it was a good end to our trip in crete!

  • June 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The standard of cleaning depends a bit on the particular personnel on duty... WiFi policy of the hotel is clear and booking.com is misleading: it is NOT free of charge, weekly fee is 20€. Connection quality for Greek standards was reasonable, but taking into consideration specific hotel alignment, will depend on the room where you actually stay.

    In my case great value for money. Good, not expensive location if you have a car and plan to explore western part of Crete. Maleme beach is pebbly. Comparing to hotels of similar standard, nice pool with reasonable paddling part. A bit unusual alignment of studios on the property, which appealed to me but stairs make movement of heavy luggage more difficult. Keeping in mind this a Greek holiday location and not high-end downtown penthouse, all was perfectly OK. Even falling out refrigerator door have actually been repaired properly (and not typically Greek - temporarily) once I have already found the right maintenance guy. Kitchen was equipped will all essential utensils, including even coffee machine, although as a tea-guy I've been missing a kettle. Sheets and towels for in-room use are included in the price, but you can't bring them to the pool. INKA supermarket is in a 7 mins walk distance, seaside tavernas 10-15 mins. We haven't tried the hotel food at all.

  • September 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Ground Floor (2 adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Furniture inside apartment is outdated but everything is functional. Maybe someone will find as disadvantage that wifi is not free.

    Nice hotel, interesting style, a lot of greenery and quiet surrounding. If you are think of book a half board, dinner is good (but I must say that it is a little bit better when there is less guests). Staff is very friendly and polite. We arrived at midnight and they served us a dinner. Hotel is about 10 minute walk from beach, but beach in Maleme is nothing special. However, the best beaches in Crete are close (Elafonisi 50km, Falassarna 30km, Balos 25km) you need 45min to 1h20min to them by car.

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Ground Floor (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - expensive and VERY slow WIFI ( price for one week); - it could be cleaner; - old, small TV with only 4 channels;

    - nice and deep pool, - friendly staff - big double-bed, -

  • August 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-fi not included, no place to hang the swimsuits (we had to buy a rope). No easy way to carry luggages to the rooms (only stairs).

    Very large and comfortable room, good position to visit the surroundings. Nice pool for children .

  • July 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Ground Floor (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist and the cleaners where very rude and unpolight they made uss feel very uncomfortable the hole holiday, and gave uss tone off stress, they tryid to hustle uss for money, and lyed. We changed the hotel after that and didnt go back, shame for the bar and its owner he was nice and the food was great! And there where birds in cages that where super loud and noisy just under our balcony, screaming every night.

    The bar and pool was great, and the bar owner, but pool was groudet everyday. Good food.

  • July 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Ground Floor (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) There was a distinct scent in the apartment, probably because it hasn't been used for a while. 2) The facility is not barrier free. 3) paid wifi was too expensive (6eur/night or 20eur a week), so we didn't buy it for the one night.

    1) Amazing value for money! We (a couple) had a huge apartment with breakfast for 20.75EUR. 2) Personel speaks english very well.

  • May 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment Ground Floor (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved everything about this hotel. The staff could not do enough for us.

  • September 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Slow wifi - sometimes

    Superb personal, clean rooms , parking , pool . I can reccommend A+ value for money

  • August 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean,nice location,friendly staff and value for money

  • July 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    its a bit difficult to get in and out of the garage

    great place .great value for money . very clean .

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • July 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    If we were to recomend something, it would be that there could have been som e form of entertainement some of the evenings. Maby a greek night or live music. It was very quiet in the evenings. ps: The fact that it was quiet was also positive

    The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful with recommendations where to travel. The hotel is clean. The pool is deep and is satisfying to children at any age. We had a lovely time at this hotel. Regards from a family of five from Norway/Bergen

  • June 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We paid extra for internet (3€/day) but the connection was rather poor.

    Futura is located in the busy tourist's area starting from Chania to the west along to the National Road. It is rather "all inclusive" standard with swimming pool , bar, mini market attached etc. Shops, bakery , beach is all over. Not good idea when you look for something quiet.

  • May 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    decor in the bedroom a bit austere - ie non-existent and there is a separate hefty charge for internet.

    good for self-catering families, had cooking facilities

  • September 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great pool Beautiful trees

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: