Reviews of Ontas Traditional Hotel 3 stars

Epimenidou 11 & Ikarou, Chania Town, 73100, Greece

#13 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con unit could have been better to cope with the high summer temperatures (minor point and didn't spoil our holiday).

    Great B&B, within the beautiful Venetian town on Chania, 1 min walk from the waterfront. The 5 Euro self-service breakfast was good. Rooms were modern and ours had its own balcony.

  • 2 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise insulation from the street is not very good

    Very well located, close to the harbour yet in a traditional area. Feel like having a room at a B&B, with access to the kitchen to prepare our breakfast - and enjoy it in the shaded patio!

  • 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is near the harbour which is great so you can get around easily. There are 2 nearby parkings if you have a car. The room was great, had air con and was much needed as it was over 30 degrees. Good value for money, plus check out is until 12 and from experience check out is around 10am. Staff very friendly and informative. Would recommend and hope to return again soon.

  • 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wi-fi was only on 1st floor

    - amazing location (in the center of old port) - very friendly lady on reception - nice neighbourhood (cafe, museums, and local cats which like to visit Ontas hotel every morning and evening) - self-service kitchen - free parking nearby - Saturday market

  • 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost anything. Just the bathroom had some marks of humidity in one wall.

    Cosy, beautiful, clean, very friendly and complete. Welcoming and professional staff. Self-service kitchen. Great location.

  • 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the weekend late at night the noise was bad from the youngsters who come to party ?

    Acccomodation was stylish and clean.

  • 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our window was facing the street, and is a loud street most of the night as is close to a party area.

    Good location and clean

  • 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the TV.

    Very beautiful room. Excellent location. Excellent traditional restoration

  • 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location in old town,very clean room , free parking near ,friendly staff

  • 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some protein for breakfast-ie a little cheese?

    We thought it better than some of the 4 star hotels we had been in. All very new and clean.

  • 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    short reception hours

    Location

  • 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent personnel! Very clean! Ideal for families!

  • 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase was very loud. You could hear the other people going to their rooms.

    The room was splendid. Had everything you needed.

  • 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owner helped me fix my travel bag and was so friendly Tv gave a relaxing end to the day

  • 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cat smell in the building

    Location was great!! Nice staff, clean rooms

  • 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming, very good advice, great location, we recommend it, well done and thank you for everything!

  • 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments

    Friendly and very helpful staff

  • 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room Very good localization Helpful lady in the reception

  • 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's near bars so it was quite noisy. This didn't bother us at all...we just joined in!

    The location and the ambiance of the place.

  • 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Only stayed one night but wish we had booked more! In town but out of the way enough not to be noisy! Short walk to all bars and centre

  • 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afrodite

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 4 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It’s perfectly located in the heart of the Venetian harbor short walking distance from anything in the old town. The feel was like you are living in a house of one of local residents.

  • 20 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Very nice staying in Ontas hotel. Hotel was cozy and clean. Room was spacious and beds were good. Everything went as it was supposed to even thoug we arrived at night time. Lady in the resepsion was kind and helpful. It was also nice to be a able to make some breakfast in the kitchen your self.

  • 29 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work in the attic room. The hotel is aware but has not yet moved the router. The upper room got very hot and required the liberal use of air conditioning. The diy breakfast is plentiful but lacks choice.

    The central location in the Old Town at the price was good value for money with easy access to free parking. Staff were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive, and guests are left pretty much to come and go at will.

  • 24 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Really the only downside is that it can be loud outside at night, but this is to be expected in a port town like Chania, and I don't know where we could have gone that would be quieter.

    We were welcomed with raki! Excellent hosts. Just far enough from the "tourist district" but VERY easy to walk anywhere you want to go. Our hosts directed us to really good restaurants. The rooms are clean and attractive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • 13 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi signal was quite weak in our room, but usable

    Very cozy traditional hotel, good location in the heart of the old town and close to the sea, helpful host that answered all our questions and provided useful advice on what to do and where to eat

  • 18 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The taxi driver did not bother to take us to the door and dropped us some distance away. Without a map we would never have found the hotel.

    We had the best room, at the top of this small hotel. It had a large balcony and was arranged over two floors. The hotel is away from the main tourist areas and was quiet. It was very clean with excellent facilities.

  • 12 May 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice if the beds were made daily. Our taxi driver did not really know where the hotel was and dropped us off very far away. Make sure you have a map of hotel location or phone number for taxi driver to call for directions.

    The hotel was located somewhat away from the main tourist area, so we were able to dine and shop as the Greeks themselves do. Our concierge, Afrodite, had wonderful dining suggestions and was very helpful with directions and ideas for excursions.

  • 8 October 2014

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location Room Terrace

  • 24 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise (our rooms was on the First floor and close to reception and to the street outside

    Location and staff kindness

  • 12 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    very noisy during night

    Good location, nice traditional building

  • 3 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location, decoration, clean & cosy

  • 3 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal location, close to the restaurants and bars in the old town. Friendly staff. Free parking nearby.

  • 27 April 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I mostly liked The cleanliness, and owner's tips. Recommended if you wish to stay for one night or more in Chania.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: