Reviews of Zorbas Beach Village Hotel

Akrotiri, Stavros, 73100, Greece

#18 of 20 hotels in Stavros

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 64

  • October 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good! Thank you :)

    Location is perfect! Just off the coastline! Very nice garden and swimming pool area. Good facility for families with children. Stavros is a very nice (one of my favourite) village close to Chania. A place is perfect for real greek holidays!

  • October 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it would be problematic If you don't rent a car, hotel is long way from highway, even journey to chania taking about 30 minutes by car.

    Value for money, calm neighbourhood, sea side localization, in our room everything was all right. Perfect choice if you want to chillax with full peace of mind :)

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maitress was uncomfortable. The facilities needed some restauration works.

    It was in good location, staff is very nice, they have facilities and playground for children.

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower could be nicer:)

    We liked the place, the view from our balcony. The beds were comfortable. Kitchen had everything what we needed for cooking. The stuff was very helpful. WiFi was very fast and free. 4 days were enough for us there.

  • October 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem we had was with the bed. In fact, it appeared broken or certainly sounded like it was...and the sheet covering the mattress kept on coming off.

    We were there first few days in Oct and it was nice and quiet, Very clean, Free car park, Lovely little beaches at walking distance, Nice pool, Very friendly and accommodating staff: they let us have a very late check out as our flight was at night, Close to the airport.

  • September 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were quite hard and towels a little rough though clean and plentiful.

    The location was excellent close to 2 beaches but quite remote so a car is a must unless you like walking

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi a bit intermittent but they're addressing this. You need a car to get around unless you're content to lay by the pool.

    Stunning location. Staff amazing. Lovely cocktails. Peaceful and quiet. Sunbeds available at all times Lovely Taverna with Seaview one minute away

  • August 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio (3 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have yet to find a comfortable bed in Greece. We didnt find it here.

    We loved how calmand quite the resort is. The pool area is wonderful. Perfect for children and adults. We loved that it was a salt water pool with an outside shower right there. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The garden was immaculate. Beautiful well taken care of plants. Great BBQ area. With small children we put the play area to good use. Great for all ages. We had a late flight and George was really great to fix us a late check out. VERY HELPFUL STAFF!!

  • August 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Our room was clean well-equipped and functional but even though it was billed as catering for four people it was in effect a bedsit with two single beds doubling as sofas and a separate double bedroom. I would definitely book a bigger space next time and though we loved the outside space and the patios and the traditional shutters the kitchen and bathroom could be improved - but the location, the staff and the environment all made up for that. We will be back!

    The location was perfect, right next to a sandy beach in a magical cove with crystal clear water, almost deserted even in August. The pool was beautiful as were the gardens and the arrangements of the little individual beach hut style villas. Staff were friendly, helpful and charming and the hotel was relaxed and peaceful even when fully booked.

  • August 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sraff was fighting with each other at the pool bar in full view of their clients, including small children. Unacceptable! Beds extremely unconfortable; hard and too small for longer than the averaged...

    God location to visit China from

  • July 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi wasn't very good and lack of ability to pay by card at the restaurant. I didn't like the fact you had to pay extra for air condition either, it would be nice to have it included in the price.

    The rooms had everything you needed and were set in such a beautiful complex. Extremely peaceful location.

  • July 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Easy to lock yourself out (self locking door) if you forget the key inside, but reception opening hours are quite generous.

    Location, friendly staff, swimming pool, excellent breakfast.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Idiotic way arranging shower in the apartment! Whole bathroom in water while taking shower and very difficult to clean... It was really annoing...

    excellent location in quiet area. Just at the coast with easy access to the sea. Excellent place for a person who likes swimming in the sea. No noisy scooters or dangerous wind surfers!

  • June 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    better info on distance to shops would have been helpful. a car is almost a necessity. better equipped kitchen and a little more comfort in the apartments would complement the beautiful position !

    Gorgeous position on sea front

  • June 13, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is earlier than most in Crete, but when working it would be nice to have it offered before 8am.

    Location is amazing, the rooms are worth more than they charge, and they are great hosts and provide hospitality a local would expect in Crete.

  • April 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    basic but good for price we paid in April , water bit of a issue sometimes but was sorted quickly . No shop so have to have a car as to far to walk in heat . Couple of cleaning issues but again sorted straight away .

    Pretty outside location in the middle of no where Pool area lovely

  • October 8, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    water pressure rather weak. Badly need an onsite convenience shop as to buy food you would need a car, which we did not have. In saying that one of the staff gave us a lift to shops but you couldn't expect that often

    excellent accomodation, lovely staff, exceedingly helpful. Beautiful pool area. Just gorgeous

  • August 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All a bit old, kitchen poorly equipped, nobody is allowed to take own drinks to the pool which is a bit odd considering the apartment style hotel, way overpriced, a beer at the pool (0,5l) costs 5,50 Euro ! A poor breakfast is 7 Euro per Person, all the rest the same, way to expensive for what you get

    Nice location, nice an well maintained garden, fairly big room with nice views, you need a car, otherwise your lost! Internet is included and speed was faster then expected

  • August 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi,no man things for cooking, just a pot.we have always to ask to the reception

    Position of the room in front of the sea, the beach with a very clean sea and free sunsets, cleaning service every day.

  • July 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    shower space really tiny, water temperature could not be regulated and went from scalding to cold every few seconds! (but that's Greek plumbing for you!) great difficulty trying to check-in online for return journey; that service should be facilitated and undertaken by staff(computer & language problems);paying extra to print out boarding pass??: paying extra for air-conditioning when temperature is normally 30++??? These are offered as constructive criticisms and in no way as negative rants that in any way affected a magical stay.

    location beauty and tranquility,accommodation just right, provides all you need for that sort of holiday, warm welcome, service with genuine smile.

  • June 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-Fi connection is very slow and unstable

    We spent here a fantastic week! The apartments are simple, but you have there everything you need (maybe except for a corkscrew ;), they are clean and spacious. The pool is great both for kids and adults, but few meters further you have a beach for your own (at least in June). The staff is very kind and helpful. You can also eat at the spot - the food is good, however if you really want to enjoy Greek cuisine I strongly recommend the family run Taverna Zorbas in Stavros.

  • June 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area was a little scary with a toddler as there is no barrier at all.

    The bar/restaurant by the pool was serene. Great playground for small children. Very friendly staff. A wonderful place to chill out for a few days.

  • May 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is hard to say. The only problem (sometimes) was the Internet. The WiFi did not work well all the time.

    The Zorbas Beach Village Hotel is a perfect place for families with children, friends or even singles. The hotel is situated in beautiful part of Crete, very near the sea. It is a clean, friendly hotel with very professional personnel. The owners will do the best for your happy stay.

  • May 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower design (curtains are short) leaves the floor of the whole restroom wet, and the hot water takes a long time to heat up. We managed though and still think it was an excellent find for our family!

    Excellent location, great value for the money, it's hard to find a place that can accommodate a family of 5 but this was definitely plenty of space! Very family-friendly - the kids enjoyed the playground onsite, the pool and the sandy beach! The kids definitely had great memories from it!

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather isolated site Needed a car No shops within walking distance

    Good breakfast and friendly staff

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great stay - friendly staff.

  • July 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool is very very very salty. The breakfast was fair and not encouraging they served old veges.

    Location and rooms were amazing.

  • June 14, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insects in the room.

    Room decent and large.

  • April 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a car to get anywhere even a shop as very out the way

    Pool area was lovely ! Nice apartments for the price .

  • April 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio (3 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything ! Very nice people and lovely atmosphere, will be back there again soon !

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very helpful with solving a flight issue that i had. Most appreciated.

  • September 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location right on the coastline.peaceful quite clean and friendly staff.

  • August 13, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    pay for A/C, breakfast was poor, floor were slippery and replacing towels every 3 days in a hotel near pool and beach

    Settings, place and location

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from both the room and the pool bar was amazing!

  • June 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi reception was very patchy

    Beaches were beautiful and lots to do , zorbas beach appartments were a great place to stay in stavros

  • May 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, we enjoyed our stay

    friendly staff, beautiful atmosphere and surroundings, great playground

  • May 14, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi

    Beach

  • May 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Studio (3 Adults) with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not inconveniences

    Very comfortable, clean and cozy room, clean pool, lovely garden and reasonable prices, helpful staff

  • May 8, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-room Apartment with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the absolute top ! Splendid location and very friendly staff.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • November 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really that we would complain about--except perhaps the 7 euro charge for the breakfast they served was a bit pricey.

    Property is on a beautiful, secluded beach site and is kept up very nicely. Rooms are not fancy, but well-appointed and very good value for money.

  • November 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If they would lower the prices at the restaurant a bit and get a larger selection then more people would eat there. Instead most of the people staying there same time as us, including us, quickly found out that the taverna next door had a large and fairly priced selection. Very hard beds unfortunately :(

    The location was nice. I liked listening to the sound of the waves. Also gave a breeze which made it bareable so it wasn't too hot. Even in October it was pretty hot, about 27 C. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • September 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Lady at the pool bar was not very compliant and not customer oriented. They told us at the reception that all meal ordered at the bar including breakfest can be paid at the end of our stay at reception. But the truth was quite different. We had to pay for meal every day at the pool bar.

    beautiful beach, nice swiming pool, peaceful location, nice kinder playground.

  • September 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Internet was not working in the room like they said but did have it at the swimming pool and at the reception.

    A great place to stay a week Nice beach nearby . Wonderful view close to Chania for day trip and other sites to Visites .

  • September 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    the hotel is quiet and not very touristy, never too many people by the pool or on the beach. we loved that it is in a middle of nowhere and at the same time so close to the airport and to Chania. The pool is deep and the nearby beaches very nice.

  • August 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Extra charges to operate the air conditioning. Very low speed WiFi. Not allowed to bring food for children to the swimming pool

    Big rooms equipped well with, great location right on the beach with very nice swimming pool. The resort is well maintained and very clean. Stuff was wonderful, patient and very helpful. Children friendly.

  • August 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Service of the restaurant. They could be much more organized.

    Great food and friendly staff. Location was excellent, they gave us a sea view. Great way to wind down after a hard year of work.

  • July 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Breakfast a little expensive. The water needed to be hotter in the shower.

    The staff and owners were extremely helpful, the pool was beautiful, 2 lovely little beaches within 2 minutes walk, great food and comfortable accommadation.

  • July 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Recommendation - rent a car. Having read the reviews of previous guests, we did so right at the airport after arrival ( for the full stay), and it is essential. A number of historical sites and beautiful beaches are not far from the hotel, but reachable only by car. The kitchen equipment is rather simple and modest, however enough for cooking simple dishes.

    Nice, spacious appartment, always spotless clean. Beautiful pool both for children amd adults, with enough space and sunbeds on the terrace. Good food in the hotel restaurant. Beautiful sunsets from the terrace and nice walks along the seashore from the hotel. Very quiet, peaceful atmosphere make this place perfect for relaxing holidays. Friendly and helpful hotel staff. We would definitely recommend to others.

  • July 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Apartments 1-5 (in the reception building) are with the back view on the farm (though if you don't mind listening to dogs barking, roosters singing at 4 am, you should be fine :) Apartment 5 has a squeaky double bed ;)

    Location is fantastic for those who crave peace and quiet. The rooms are kept clean (daily), comfortable, with all the necessary amenities. The kids loved the swimming pool. The beach is 2 min walk away, at Thanasis tavern (on the beach). The food at the hotel pool bar is basic, but very tasty. The staff is very friendly, if you have some problems or requests, they help immediately (changed our pillows, provided bigger mugs for tea etc.).

  • July 9, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the mattress extremely uncomfortable - the staff were lovely and changed it for a newer one on the first day but unfortunately it was still very uncomfortable, giving my wife a bad back. We had some issues with the air conditioning being turned off and cleaning staff leaving everything open letting the mosquitos in but the staff kindly refunded payment for the air conditioning that day and were very apologetic. On the cleanliness subject - the sheets you are given to sleep in and cover the bed are not big enough and there is no mattress protector. We often woke up in the morning to find ourselves directly on the mattress as the sheet had come off. We found this really quite unhygienic.

    The hotel really is just on the beach and the pool area is fantastic (pool is salt water filled from the sea each day!). Restaurant by the pool area is fantastic - Maria is a great cook and we definitely recommend her homemade honey raki! Staff were very friendly. Our room had beautiful sea views. Good little self contained studios - very good value for money.

  • July 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Shower was too small -Expensiv value for what is being offered for breakfast if not included in the rate -A/C expensive and extra (8 euros/day) if not included in the rate -towels are not changed regularly -tv was not working probably -poor wifi reception -beds are very hard, not comfortable

    The setting was ok Staff was friendly

  • June 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    My 13 year old son and I stayed 14 days and we did not want to leave. The entire staff from the owner the the cleaning ladies were extremely friendly. Maria is a very good chef she will cook your hearts desire and bonus she uses fresh ingredients. My son got hurt on one of the activities and the hotel manager George took time out off his day to bandage up his knee not once but 3 times. When we wanted to go on an excursion we would go to the office and the reservations were made for us. The office staff was just marvelous. On Thursday nights the beach village hosts "Greek Nights" for a minimal fee we enjoyed some great food and dancing. The pool overlooks the ocean, beach was just a few meters from pool. Rooms were always clean. We enjoyed dinner with views of the sunset. If you want a resort that is family. Friendly this is the place for you. We are looking forward to going back.

  • June 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    a family run hotel is the best because its their business.maria grows all her own veggies.you can see all this at the back of the hotel.free range chickens and eggs.the swimming pool is sea water,much nicer than a pool full of chemicals.

  • June 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The room was a bit outdated. Not soundproof with neighboring room.

    Location, integrated with nature, very nice children playground. Restaurant was very small, but food and service really good. Pool quite large and clean, filled with sea water.

  • May 14, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they are very friendly.. They have also a nice restaurant with a really nice menu tipical greek food .. The location was like a paradise ,,we just loved been there .. The guys are just lovely and tipical greek people ..we looking forward to be there to next time .

  • April 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Only one thing. Although we were in self catering apartments, we do like to eat out on the evenings to experience the authentic Cretan meals, wines and atmosphere, without having to worry about one member of party having to drive home. The on-site pool bar/restaurant indoor seating areas comprise 2 'marquee with windows' type of extensions, lovely in the day time and warmth, however, on an evening, especially when windy, these areas became uncomfortably cold & draughty for the older generation in our group.The evening temperature of course is low in April anyway, so sadly we ate there only a couple of evenings, we would have liked to do more evenings there, to bring more custom, for both the lovely, deserving owners serving very good food, and for our own enjoyment! We politely and with kind intentions suggest to the owners, they might like at some stage/s in the future, to invest in changing at least one, of the extension areas into a permanent build, warmer indoor eating area, especially for the low season, windy evenings, for the comfort of their older and less hardy guests ! A short term measure could be to provide attractive, warm colourful rugs (perhaps all same colour/design for a restaurant 'identity') draped over each individual dining chairs, on colder evenings, as some outdoor areas of bistros in the UK do? Looks good and adds to atmosphere! With kindest regards.

    So much! The peace and quiet, both day and night, far removed from commercialism and nightlife, and other guests' obvious desire and respect for this. We hired a car ( strongly recommend as buses are limited and a good mile, hot, walk to local mini-market and further to bus terminus) and stayed here for 1 week in April, with our 3 generations 'extended' family, this being our very first stay here.The location with lovely sea and mountain views,well laid out established garden shrubs & pathways, the generous sea water swimming pool and the bright. light, roominess and cleanliness of the studios & apartments. The sunsets. The very warm welcome especially to our '82 year old' Grandmother, who enjoyed being greeted (as resembling) 'the Queen' ( our very own Elizabeth II ) by friendly,polite owners & staff !The local Cretan speciality dishes cooked and prepared with home grown products by owner's family ! Thank you all very much! We will most definitely return !

  • April 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A shop on site is a must for food and gifts and you have to go along way to change money!

    The living accommodation was lovely, very clean, lots of space, great view of the sea and very peaceful. The owners are very freindly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. This is an excellent place to go if you love the quiet and great views, but not if you are looking for night life or entertainment! So if you are looking for a secluded out of the way spot this is definately the hotel for you. We will definately be going back!

  • October 4, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in the village tavern is a bit more pricey (for Greek standards) than other places.

    Staff are friendly and functional apartments

  • September 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I would rather recommend this place for families that wish for a relaxing place to stay

  • August 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The bed

  • July 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Nothing.

    The staff was great and the view was amazing! Food at the restaurant was delicious and fairly priced. I would defininately go back.

  • June 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    There was hardly hot water to shower.

    The location was great. Beautiful beach and view. The rooms were clean and wide.

  • May 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The food

  • April 24, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    got exactly what you paid for! very clean and friendly enviroment, handy little beach.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: