Reviews of Hotel Issa 3 stars

Setaliste A. Zanelle 5, 21480 Vis, Croatia

#44 of 45 hotels in Vis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms and Dining rooms in an old "ancien regime" style.

    Localisation very good, good conditions for spending holidays, food and service abundant, good base for exerting many kinds of sports.

  • 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wi fi connection was not available in the room, only in the lounge. ironing board not available. the elevator is way too small for estimated 4 people

    view from the balcony was amazing

  • 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and the entire hotel needs an update. The wifi is in the lobby areas only. Staff can appear remote & uninterested but mostly they're just reserved and shy.

    Beautiful location with stunning views from room balconies. The accommodation is basic but comfortable & functional. Good bathrooms, the aircon works and the price is great. Breakfast is basic but there's lots of it. The beach is accross the road and you can get a great macchiato from the bar. Once this place is renovated the prices will go sky high.

  • 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service in restaurant and sometimes too loud music in the bar and terrace especially at breakfast time when everyone wanted to appreciate quieter morning

    View from room, terrace, walk to nearby beach....

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Daily maintenance of the rooms can be significantly improved (exchange of towels and soaps, tideness of the balcony). -Breakfast offer should include fresh fruits, natural juices and pastry. -Significant refurbishment or at least refreshment of the interior in lobby area and in the rooms (e.g. colourful plaids and cushions, flower beds on the balconies and around the main entrance)

    -Kindness of the staff -Exquisite sea-front view on the whole bay of Vis -Location near of the town of Vis -Beautiful and maintained beach with crystal clear sea -Free parking

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staf just couldn't care less. Receptionists find it to much to greet the guests entering or leaving the hotel. At check-in not a single thing was offered (excursions, rentals, events, any information whatsoever ). At check-out we where offered someone else's passport and even had to convince the confused and disorganised receptionist that we don't need someone else's documents. The breakfast turned out to be even worse than the previous years (this is the 4th time that I have stayed at this hotel). A total disappointment. Low quality food, bad preparation, and even lower quality service. If you order something from the hotel bar you better apologise to the waitress for disturbing her. If you speak anything besides Croatian she will hate you even more. Rooms - well... everything worked. The AC was fine, but for whatever reason ducktaped (!?!), the bathroom is nice and spacious but with yesterday's guests hair.....

    Perfect location on one of the top islands on the Croatian coast. Wonderful view over the Vis bay. Peaceful, nice beach right in front of the hotel.

  • 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows with no weatherstrips, hairs on the mattress, not even a ceiling fan, had to call a plumber while our stay, overbooked, people fighting over slices of ham during breakfast. Went to talk to the manager, and she didn't even dare to drink the apple juice that was served in the restaurant. She promised a discount that finally was under 5%. We were not expecting the Mandarin Oriental but this is was overwhelmingly awful.

    The lobby has A/C

  • 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, extortionate price for a GDR style hotel with corresponding amenities and facilities. All we had in our room was a telephone with a round dial and an old television with no remote. Plastic chair and table on an otherwise bare balcony. They only have internet in the lobby. Breakfast was very Spartan. Overall impression was that of living in a bad Soviet movie. Kept expecting someone to pop out with a hidden camera.

    Good location

  • 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters dont offer you drinks while having dinner regulary; a waiter came to our table just a couple of times, in other instances we had to go to the bar ourselves.

    Hotel is a great value for money. The beach is some 50m away from the main enererance. Great dinner.

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and the hotel itself are very tired and dated Wifi is only in the lobby (not the rooms) No fan or AC in the rooms They charged me incorrectly, then made me come back and pay them more, saying "if it's OK" - like I have a choice? I was frustrated that it was their error, and had to pay for it. They were apologetic and nice enough about it, but it wasn't my fault that they charged me incorrectly to begin with!

    Nice staff Decent breakfast spread Great location for getting to Vis Town and to the beach Gorgeous view from my hotel room balcony

  • 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well taking into consideration this is a very remote Island and most of the workers there live there as well. Internet could only be accessed down on the first floor patio and was a little slow, don't expect a connection in your room. Staff is not always the friendliest or helpful. maybe the language barrier.Breakfast was traditional European Breakfast and not much on the hot side except for fried eggs and mini hot dogs (their sausage). They are a bit stingy with shampoo and soap. If you have a larger group and money to spend check out the Apartments for Rent on the island.

    Vis is a beautiful and quiet Island. Hotel Issa is probably the biggest Hotel there. The Bay View rooms are spectacular. As a single traveler who was part of a bigger group of wedding travelers,the Hotel was perfect for me. It is however a little farther walk from the center of town.

  • 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veeery veery dirty place. Smells cigarettes everywhere-espacially from staff-rooms at floors. Room mades change all towels every day even though we never asked but left dirty floor and bathroom. Everyday the same breakfast but staff in restaurant friendly. High steps from the street to lobby& no lift or rack to handle with heavy luggage or pram.

    Wonderful Issa Bay view from balcony. Gotowe sea- view in price of park-view. Great diving center at ground floor.

  • 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior dates back to 1980's Yugoslavia - depressing. No wi-fi and air con (or even a fan) in rooms.

    The location was great and the staff were very friendly. Fair prices.

  • 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had read all the reviews, so we thought we had an idea of what we were getting ourselves into. The disappointment started on arrival when we arrived sweating because it was so hot (August) and we were told that "the air conditioning has a technical problem" and so we were put in a room without AC. They obviously had realized it was a problem before we got there and they had not attempted to contact us by phone call, text or email. At that point we were so tired after traveling we didn't have the energy to look up or go find another place to stay (which I think is probably why they didn't contact us). To be fair, they offered us a discount (but I'm not sure it was much more of a discount from the price of one of the non-AC rooms), but it wasn't worth 2 nights of lost sleep due to the heat. 2 days later when we checked out, we heard them telling the same story to the next people checking in. On top of that, breakfast was nearly inedible. Can't recommend it.

    Sea view and balcony.

  • 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very old, and very very hot. No air-conditioning, extremely basic breakfast and was very overpriced for what they offer in return. Staff we're friendly!

    The only thing we enjoyed about Hotel Issa was it's close location to the town. Located right on the water and 5min walk to town it was ideal. Also a short walk from the ferry too.

  • 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a renovation.

    The location was good. It is right in front of a busy beach and less than a ten minute walk from the center of Vis Town. In addition, the price was good. We choose this hotel knowing we would only be in Vis a few days and would not be spending much time in our hotel.

  • 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. WI-FI only available in lounge. Noise until 01.00 am from partygoers on the beach.

    The beautiful view over Vis Town harbour from the balcony. Within short walking distance of the port and eateries.

  • 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness!!!!

    Location is beautiful!! Very very nice, but cleanliness is very bad!!

  • 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diversity of breakfast.

    View on harbor. Fish meal for dinner.

  • 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition,fridge and wifi.

    Beach and place

  • 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff availability and friendliness. Free wifi. Corresponds to expectations.

  • 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, not so clean.

    Near beach

  • 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable rooms, no aircon, rude staff

  • 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little underwhelming. Limited options. Not much fresh fruit

    The location and the cleanliness

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 18 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was fair but not outstanding.

    Location was perfect. 5 minute walk into town and ferry. Other reviews suggested the rooms were a bit tired but we found them clean and comfortable with the bed being super comfortable.

  • 16 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms need small refreshment, breakfast can be enriched with some pastry (otherwise tasty), noisy water pipes in the bathroom, more balcony flowers would improve (overall good) impression

    balcony view, hotel location, hotel beach, cleanliness

  • 27 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds are a little uncomfortable as the mattresses are a little thin.

    Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the harbour and offers amazing views from the spacious balconies. Rooms are large and kept clean however the beds are hard and mattresses thin. Good shower and the bathrooms are very clean. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby which is a little tired and in need of decorating ....... and some seat repairs as some are torn and tatty. The restaurant is spacious and the evening buffet meal is typical 'hotel-style' but offers a good selection of food and is good value. Breakfast is a little limited. Considering the price though I think that it is good value and if nothing else the views are worth paying for! Room Tip: Sea view on a higher floor but check that it has air-conditioning as not all of them do.

  • 9 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Issa is the only big hotel in Vis located 10 minutes walk from the Ferry terminal. Our room had good size balcony with water view. beach is located across the street facing the hotel. Quiet location. A great breakfast is offered every morning.

  • 5 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lobby looked a little 'tired' and some of the furniture was a little ripped and tatty - a shame as it is a nice area to sit in. The beds were quite hard with thin mattresses. No 'slope' outside the hotel to wheel suitcases - a lot of steps which may make it difficult for some guests.

    The location and views were superb and rooms were spacious, with large balconies. Evening meal was 'typical hotel-style' but there was a lot of choice and it was good value. Free Wi-Fi available in the lobby and restaurant.

  • 2 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit unfriendly staff, breakfast was poor and although they have an outdoor terrace, one was not allowed to eat outside. Furniture and interior is from 70's and needs some serious improvements.

    Location is good, parking is available, beach is in front of the hotel.

  • 27 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedrooms do not come with air conditioning, or a fan. Reception staff are not fluent in English. Room and wider hotel was decorated in a somewhat outdated fashion and is in need or a revamp. Cleaner starts cleaning at 8 in the morning in a very loud fashion. We requested a fan for the room to keep it cool at night but staff only acknowledged an extractor fan in he bathroom (which did not cool the room down).

    Location was good for local town. Breakfast was fine and cost was low. Room was clean.

  • 10 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location of this hotel is great, just a ten minute walk from the harbour and great views!! We stayed for a night and it's close to local shops and a great travel agency that helped us on what to see.

  • 25 September 2014

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wi-fi in the room.

    Excellent location by the sea. Not far away from the centre.

  • 12 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Style of rooms and hall furniture really ordinary/old looking

    Location, near several bathing areas. Breakfast.

  • 31 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor, breakfast limited and twin beds only - hard mattresses

    Location & views, bar staff

  • 29 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pay extra for essential aircon Breakfast was just OK

    Location Helpful staff Free WiFi Large balcony with great view

  • 29 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    No A/C in room No mini fridge in room no telephone in room (had to change rooms to get one)

    Dinner Buffet Friendly staff

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: