Reviews of Solaluna Beach Homestay 1 stars

Jl. Raya Amed, 80852 Amed, Indonesia

#1 of 80 B&Bs and Inns in Amed

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 447 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, calm place, wonderful view from the window, opportunity to use various equipment in the sea, close to many local restaurants.

  • 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing- some of the kindest people we met on our trip. Property is right on the beach and they bring you breakfast to your veranda in the morning. They also have paddle boards for free and drove us to the snorkelling beach without us even asking! We will definitely be back and would recommend to everyone!

  • 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra blanket on the bed would be great.

    The staff was super friendly and accommodating. They work very hard to make everything perfect. Great location on the beach, very low key but close to cafes, small grocery and cash machine. Local people are very friendly.

  • 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Solaluna is a family run homestay. The staff are very friendly and attentive and they made us feel very welcome and safe. The staff keeps all of the property very neat and clean, and that includes their part of the beach. On the beach Solaluna offers the guests the use of paddle boards/kayaks, beach beds with umbrellas and a couple of seats and tables. The wifi connection was solid and the internet speed was very good. A simple breakfast is included. Solaluna offers free coffee and tea all day long. Once we were offered dinner on the house; catch of the day for me and chicken for my wife. We had the one of the two traditional style beach front bungalows. We loved it. The two newer rooms are located at the back of the property and are constructed in a more modern style. Our bungalow had a view of both the ocean and the Gunung Agung, even though the volcano is now partly obstructed by the newly built extension of the neighbor's establishment. The airconditioned bungalow is spacious. There is a small fridge in which water, sodas and beers are stocked/replaced and offered at very reasonable prices. It has a nice little veranda with a table, two chairs and a bed. We loved Amed and it's surroundings and we could not be more happy that we chose Solaluna for our stay in Amed!

  • 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the night it was scary because it's very dark .. if you wants to eat .. eat maximum before 10 pm becuase all restaurant will closed . Look its very small village with 5-6 restaurant option .no reception .. but theres one person available all the time .

    Excellent. Location .. view .. huge bathroom. Staff .. breakfast come to your room. Owner very nice .

  • 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A family run home stay where all the family are involved. They were all very friendly, the best ginger tea I've had. Always offering help and advice, whilst chatting. The property itself is kept spotless and our chalet was right on the sea. Their family also runs a cafe/restaurant backing onto the home stays which serves good food at low prices. Don't be put off by the appearance from the road when you arrive or by street view, the road is pretty run down, but the property is outstanding. We arranged pickup from the airport, which I would definitely recommend. There is an ATM just down the road. They will arrange trips for you, I recommend the snorkling.

  • 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is a working beach, shared with the local fishermen and it isn't your white-sifted sand kind of beach but if it was there would be thousands coming.

    We had a bungalow right on the beach. One bedroom with four poster bed and attached bathroom. Private terrace overlooking sea where breakfast is served each day.

  • 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The path from the restaurant to the bungalows was a little dark and needs a step at the property joint.

    Bungalows were right on the beach and private. Liked that we were in a small community that included the locals. Gede and his family were lovely hosts and I wish we could have spent more time with them. When they found out I was celiac, they went out of their way to make me rice flour banana pancakes! We also went on a lovely outing with Gede and we got to see how some of the men in the community spend their free time. Wayan, Made and the other staff were all so wonderful and the young men who run the restaurant were fabulous and all the food was delicious! We especially enjoyed our lemon squash, mango mint and mocha frapps.

  • 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reviews are right - this place is amazing. The owner and staff were fantastic - really, really hospitable and couldn't do enough for you. It's in a great location in Amed overlooking the beach. The rooms (we stayed in 2 because we extended our stay) were both fabulous - the one overlooking the beach is more secluded/private, the one further back is just enormous. Both were spotless and finished/decorated to a really high standard. The owner cooked us dinner from his catch one night (he's a fisherman), and only when checking out (and trying to pay) did we realise that it was free. A lovely, lovely place.

  • 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb position, front bunalow was just perfect, view over water, and fishing boats. All staff & owner very attentive, felt very special .breakfast served on your patio or beachside coffe or tea served whenever needed. Owner çookèd fresh fish caught for us with rice & bali sauce. Yum. A very special family run homestay. Felt secure and pampered by all. Paddleboard, snorkels etc available. Massage also. Lovely warungs nearby to eat, cold beer in your room. Wonderful stay, thanks to solaluna.

  • 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I did not like.

    Amazing place to stay in Amed! The owner and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Great hospitality...we had good bye dinner on the beach😊 It is just few steps from the balcony to the sea. There is a restaurant and possibility to rent a motorbike. I strongly recommend Solaluna! Thank you for having us😉 Agnieszka & Jaime

  • 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - staff and owner are awesome, do everything possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible - invitation to a dinner with fresh grilled fish and candle light at the beach - directly located behind the beach, from outdoor bed you can look to the sea - splendid landscape with sunset behind the volcano - canoe and standup paddling equipment can be used for free

  • 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are amazing and make you feel at home. Cafe/restaurant has a great latte and view from the top of the building! All the bungalows are terrific and the sea view room is like a honeymoon suite with a roof top deck. The location is perfect for walking to everything you need and the rooms are super cozy with a day bed on the porch area for taking an afternoon nap. Right on the beach so you have easy access to snorkeling and they have paddle boards, kayaks & umbrellas for you to use for free. Gede, the owner, can arrange airport transportation for you and has scooters for rent for a very affordable daily price. Gede went out of his way to help us plan a special birthday dinner for a friend. Him and his staff made it a memorable night we will never forget. Thanks again Solaluna! We hope to visit again.

  • 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to see the US Liberty boat by snorkeling, too much waves. You have to dive, and it's uneasy!

    Everything ! The room beautifully furnished, the sea view, the Terrace, people were so Nice, free dinner!! Best homestay ever!

  • 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hospitality of Made, the owner, and the friendliness of all the staff there made us feel at home. Made was very nice trying his best to make us happy, arranging for us dinner for one night, snorkelling at Jemeluk Bay and massage in our own room. The staff were happy to offer us coffee and tea on request anytime for free. There were good choices for breakfast, which was abundant, fresh and yummy. The apartment we stayed is spacious, clean, well furnished and comfortable. The bathroom is particularly stylishly designed. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking at the sea. We saw the sunrise on the right hand side of the beach and Mount Agung clearly in the morning. If clouds had not gathered on the left side in the afternoon, we could also have seen the sun set behind Mount Agung.

  • 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that we had to leave!

    True to its name "Sola Luna" (sun and moon), the service outshone many other places that we stayed at. We had an absolute fantastic time there. We stayed in one of the two bungalows that is right on the beach. The garden gate is situated only 15 m from the water and one has a beautiful view of Mount Agung and the azure blue sea right from the stoop. All the staff members are very friendly and helpful. Our breakfast was served every morning in the privacy of our bungalow's stoop. The staff even inquired if more food, beyond the already sumptuous amount, could be presented. It was never a problem to order coffee at any time of the day. The bungalow is spacious and very comfortable and the en-suite is well-planned and attractive.There is enough space to unpack suitcases and the closet offered plenty of hanging space.Being avid readers, it was a treat to find a bookshelf in the room stacked with a variety of reading material. Gede, the owner, is finishing off a new reception area that will be a stunning addition to Sola Luna. He has a good eye for detail. All of this takes place without infringing on the peaceful bungalow location. All amenities are only a few minutes away on foot. We could borrow flippers free of charge and we also had a wonderful fish supper on our stoop, compliments of Sola Luna! This was one of our favourite places during our 3 week trip on Bali. It comes highly recommended and we hope to visit again in future. Gede and staff absolutely understand what hospitality is about.

  • 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    notihing.

    Location,Staffs and Atmosphere were Amazing! Hospitality was Awesome. Breakfast was simple but enough. The room was so clean. (also Bintang and Water in the refrigerator were cheap so, no need to buy at outside) Fish dinner was wonderful,Matur suksema! Much better than hustle-bustle in South. I`m sure I`ll visit again near future. Highly remomended.

  • 17 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people working at Solaluna and the owner Gede could teach us all about kindness and care. They're all working very hard to provide service in a challenging business environment but do it with grace. Talking with the staff was an opportunity for insight into local lives and when wanting to arrange activities this was done easily and quickly. Food was great including shared dinner and room was cool and sound proof!

  • 7 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Incredible atmosphere, very kind service! I was in the middle of nice village, so close to the water and at the same I felt comfortable with the privacy. Excellent conditions for staying with little babies. I was very happy with the lots of space in the room!

  • 3 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you go to Amed stay in Solaluna Homestay. It is in first line of the beach. From the terrace of the bedroom you were able to see the sea. The family who owns the homestay is wonderful. They were supper nice.

  • 1 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two days the dirty sea, but that does not concern the Solaluna. Too much old plastikbags and other waste.

    My bungalow was next to the beach. Comfortable inside and outside bed.

  • 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many homestays and this one is by far the most beautiful! The location is perfect and the staff and owner were so kind! Will be back again and again

  • 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is little paradise! I never stayed anywhere like that before! Bungalows are just few meters away from the beach where in the evening you can watch the most spectacular sun set! Owners offer completely beach beds and paddle boards! Rooms are lovely and specious! Definitely will stay there again!

  • 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is stunning as well as peaceful right on the beach in beautiful still unspoilt Amed. The family that run the place are friendly and helpful.

  • 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbeatable view, peaceful atmosphere, friendly staff. Huge comfortable bed. They took care of us like family, made us feel at home. Delicious breakfast, coffe and ginger tea my favourites. Gede, the owner is great

  • 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the Solaluna was outstanding! The floors were spotless and the bed was fresh and clean! Bathroom was in a different room connected to our hotel room, it was an outdoor bathroom of sorts with a huge skylight. Very clean and impressive styling. That being said the outdoor bathroom had a couple bugs because it's right across the road from the jungle. No real issue

    Grey and the rest of the staff at Solaluna treated is like Kings on our short stay. Had access to paddle boards and kayaks. Dinner was fresh caught mackerel that Grey's uncle brought in from his fishing boat that morning. We were greated with a fantastic breakfast and a solid day or snorkeling with Grey's compatriot. I recommend Solaluna to anyone who makes their way to Amed!

  • 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't want to leave!

    Great location, quiet village, right next to the beach, lovely bungalow, great terrace, beautiful setting, friendly and helpful staff, relaxing atmosphere, great value for money. Highly recommend!

  • 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault at all but the beach is not the cleanest and the area seems very poor (kids selling bracelets, etc.).

    Hospitable staff, coffee and dinner offered at no extra charge, very spacious and clean room.

  • 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solaluna is perfect in every way.

    The owner and his family provide exceptional support to their guests. Solaluna is a fantastic value and a great spot for short or long term stays. The best!

  • 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to say

    Very good location, perfect to watch the sunrise They offered us a fresh juice, even though we checked in late at 11pm The staff is very toughful and stayed with us for more than 30 mn in the morning to make sure we would get picked up to the ferry to go to Gili and even called back the contact we booked through several times to help us out

  • 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We liked the location, friendly and helpful staff who wanted us to have a good time. Breakfasts were good and we were always offered more. The owner was friendly and helpful, he organised transport to snorkel, (you can snorkel from Solaluna beach but not so much to see) day trip with driver (worth doing if you have the time) and he offered a delicious tuna meal one evening. The beach isn't the best you'll come across in the area, but access to it is great as Solaluna is right on the beach, the fantastic view of the volcano and local life going on around you on the beach is worth the extra drive, as is getting away from the crowds. We loved our garden room, it felt like a private peaceful sanctuary with a view of the beach over the wall. The mini bar was restocked well daily, the bed comfortable, good bathroom and shower, and furnishings good. Compound kept tidy and clean.

  • 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This very clean and beautiful homestay is run by a super nice fisherman family who takes care of all your needs. We used their stand up paddle board for free and they drove us to a snorkeling spot and also charged nothing for it! Also the dinner with the catch of the day was really good! We only stayed two nights but it's really worth for a longer stay.

  • 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved everything here. Gede was so nice and down to earth and helped organise transport to Ubud. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was amazing and they even cooked a fish dinner for us! I loved snorkelling and stand up paddle boarding and relaxing with a bintang.I will miss this place!

  • 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just felt at home, the family were so happy to have us and made us feel so comfortable. Excellent food and very welcoming. I would definitely recommend snd stay there again.

  • 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave this amazing place was the only thing we didn't like. Will definetly come back for longer.

    Everything was fantastic. We were here for five nights. We had the comfort room on the second floor. It had a huge balcony with a comfortable day bed. Much to our surprise we had a roof top terrace also with a day bed and two lounge chairs. The view was fantastic. The room was spotless. Had a huge fridge. Wifi was great. Breakfast was delicious. Pineapple pancakes. Delicious. Added touch free tea and coffee all day. The staff were always there to help us. Helped us get a scooter. Arranged for our boat to Gili Air. Could use the paddle boats whenever you wanted for free. Had a fantastic tuna fish dinner one night. Just gave the cook a tip for dinner.

  • 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Solaluna Beach exceeded our expectations. Very friendly staff, large and super clean room, great breakfast with coffee and tea available all day at no extra charge. We stayed for six nights and were really sad to leave. Staff helped us to arrange snorkeling trips and gear, motorbikes, taxis and massages on the beach. We liked everything about the place and I will definitely recommend to anyone visiting Amed. We were in Bali for a total of two weeks and in terms of value for money, nothing compares.

  • 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast might have had more variety- they only had pancakes or toast and egg (omelett or fried egg) and it was strange to choose between juice and fruit every morning. However we were always asked if we need more. We had problems with aircondition not working well and it got fixed after first night, but last couple of nights it wasn't working again and I was too lazy to deal with it.

    Very quiet area and all the family is very nice, willing to help in any way they can. Refrigerator was full of drinks with supermarket prices, so no need to go for drinks at all. As the location is directly on the beach, it was nice to just relax (either watching stars in the night or enjoy the sun). Good snorkelling spot was only 500m away. You can use paddle board for free. It was also very enjoyable experience. One evening we were cooked tunafish and you are expected to pay for it as much as you like (if you don't want, there is no need to pay, but I can't imagine not paying).

  • 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was very good.

    Everything, this familiar hotel is the best in Amed. The staff is excellent, very dedicated to assist you. The room is very big and clean. They help you to buy tour tickets.

  • 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Beautiful sea front bungalow. Friendly village. Great snorkelling. But above all the wonderful friendly kind and generous hospitality provided by Gedhi his team and family. For instance we happened to be there over Hindi New Year we were included and invited to family's celebrations. Priceless

  • 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cars canot reach. Short walk thru a side passageway which is fine with us cos not much luggage

    Great host. Went all out to prepare indinesian breakfast instead of usual pancakes n eggs. Great fresh fruit juice. Staff excellent. The new chalets were so spacioua n just beautiful. Short beach walk to snorkel for beautiful fishes n corals too.

  • 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect or even more than perfect. Room is big with incredible views, staff is so friendly, location couldn't be better and Amed is lovely now during low season. We should have stayed longer! Gede also organized transfer from Sanur and to Ubud which was just perfect as well. Thank you thank you thank you!

  • 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room with the modt beautiful showe ever! Breakfast was amazing and the location was also pretty nice, just 2 steps to the beach. Highly remomended!

  • 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The home stay does not have a restaurant but this is not a problem because there are so many places to choose from nearby.

    The service was excellent. This is a family business and they all contribute to looking after you. Our room was very nicely presented, very clean, with plenty of fresh towels, a well stocked fridge, AC and a huge ceiling fan. We were right on the beach front.

  • 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No pool but beach just in front!

    Personal attention, nice staff, owner shows that he cares about environment by cleaning his beach every day. Rooms at he back are very large and comfortable. They share there freshly caught fish with the guests which is a nice thing!! You want to rent a scooter? You have it in 10 minutes!

  • 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful place with beautiful people - went some way to restore my faith in humanity.... please visit Gede and his family, from the spotless, fantastically appointed room, to the smiley staff, to the paddle boards, kyacks and then know that when you leave any additional contribution you make in appreciation of your stay goes to support the elderly of the village - enjoy...

  • 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just for your information - The homestay is now building an office out to the street, so in the future you can enter this way. We had to walk 200m around the block along the river and the beach - because the homestay is just on the beach

    We had the King Standard room which is just 7 months old. Nice big double bed and extra for child or adult - means you can sleep 3 persons. Outside extra big size bed for relax. Actually I slept outside on this - all nights - listening to the waves and looking at the moon and stars while there were 1000 of lightnings over the sea far away. My best night on Bali. The fish they serve you in the night is not free as some tells - you are expected to donate as much as you like.

  • 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guesthouse in an excellent location: of the main road and on the beach. Close to various lunch and dinner options. Spacious clean room with lots of seating space in- and outside. Lovely staff always willing to help you.

  • 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet is a bit hit and miss.

    The best accommodation I have stayed in Bali. The staff were helpful and watching out for me when I was paddling in the ocean alone. Snorkelling gear, life jacket, stand up paddling gear were provided for free. The best bit was being woke up by the natural sounds of the waves. The room upstairs have a huge balcony overlooking the ocean and the village and a beautiful rooftop.

  • 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice location direct at the beach. Coral reef for snorkeling in easy walking distance. Personal really friendly. Fresh fish can be served to the bungalow. Really quiet and calm. Highly recommended.

  • 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an ant colony in our room, which after being cleared away several times by staff was no problem. The main issue for us was that the website said check in from 2pm, so we assumed the accommodation was staffed all day and therefore that we could arrive anytime after 2pm, as has been our experience with other places in Bali. Our flight to Bali meant we arrived at solaluna at 8pm, and were then told by a staff member that the manager had been waiting for us since the morning and thought we weren't coming. We were very surprised and tried to explain, but when we met the manager he told us again that he had been waiting all day for us, and he seemed upset. We tried to explain but I don't think he was interested in listening. It was not a pleasant welcome, especially when we were unaware that we were required to specify our arrival time. Other accommodation we have stayed at has always had a reception open till late. I would recommend that if you are staying here, that you email them to tell them when you will arrive, to prevent a repeat of our experience. Having said that, the other staff were very friendly as most Balinese are.

    Our room had a beautiful view of the sea and volcano. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. The staff were overall very friendly, except for the manager/owner.

  • 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a lot of rubbish in Amed, but the homestay itself was immaculate.

    The family of fishermen who run this homestay are utterly lovely. We really enjoyed spending time with them and learning some Indonesian. Primakasi! The homestay is located amidst the local villagers so we saw many more Balinese than tourists which was a very welcome change. It's an easy walk to the utterly breathtaking coral reefs which are easily accessible from the beach requiring no more than simple snorkel gear to enter an underwater wonderland. The resident volcano and Jurassic landscape are also pretty impressive. We fell more in love with the place and its people with each passing day.

  • 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach front was fantastic there was no pool and no TV

    Gede and his family are the perfect hosts he even cooked us a fish dinner on the first night it's free we were very lucky .rooms were perfect aircon and bed fantastic wi fi fantastic beach was fine to swim just ask gede and his staff for anything the snorkelling and massage were wonderful and if you want tea coffee juice just ask breakfast was served on the porch and was plentiful and they are happy to cook more for you if your still hungry a must stay if you are in amed we will be back thanks so much

  • 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints really, we went in quiet season and it was very quiet in town so if your looking for nightlife, Amed is not really the place. Great for a relaxing get away. Really good yoga at green cafe and close to good food at Galanga ( 10 min Bike ride)

    Excellent location right on the beach, lovely family who were so friendly and did the upmost to make us happy and comfortable. They cooked us delicious fresh fish one evening. Very clean and great value for money. Close to some beautiful coral reefs and a great coastline to be explored if your rent a scooter.

  • 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all!

    We spent here 4 days and we wished they were 15 (and it will be next time for sure). The place is right on the beach, super clean, large, with beautiful interior, and a splendid view on the vulcano and the beach. The family running the place cannot be more friendly and helpful. They privide you with several services for free and sometime nice fishy dinner. They arrange fishing trips with the local fishermen, where you have good chance to see jumping dolphins, and snorkeling tours at a good price. The location is so quite but still you have all you need at a walking distance. If you want to visit amed this is the place to be. We will be back! A warm thank to the solaluna family that hosted us in these fantastic 4 days!

  • 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hospitality ever. Fresh fish dinner without charge. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast. Terrace. Beach next to the room. Bathroom. Best value for money in Indonesia.

  • 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you cannot drive a motorbike it is a little complicated to arrange for a ride with them.

    We had the beachfront bungalow, brilliant! Just in front of the sea, clean and cosy. I loved lying on the couch outside the front door and reading enjoying the sunset on the sea. The staff was lovely as well, they also offered us fresh fish for dinner twice, free of charge :) and their watermelon juices are fabulous! Amed is also very nice, you can snorkel, enjoy the beach and just soak the atmosphere of this small community of fishermen. Loved it!

  • 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed only one night...

    This is the best place to stay in Bali - perfect location on the beach & the best service ever (we rented snorkeling gear and sup for free!). Amed is lovely, there are some nice warung in the street.

  • 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This villa is right on the seafront at Amed.It is very well run by a lovely family.The best part was a delicious fish dinner cooked for all the guests . A donation towards the little girl's school was the cost. It was only a short walk to local eateries.

  • 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    WO this was our best stay in the whole trip. Book without thinking. The MOST CLEANEST place in Indonesia I saw so far. Really big bed, aircond, very clean toilet Location is top notch on the beach. Beach is also great, water very warm and calm. People were nice and welcome. We regretted to have stayed here only one night.

  • 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lights in the room would be ok.

    Simple, stylish bongalows on tge first line, just in a few meters from ocean. Very helpful staff, alvays smiling and ready help you as well. Simple breackfast, but you could ask additional potrion. Some good warungs in a few steps from the homestay with reasonable prices. And clean and quiet ocean, amazing night sky full of the stars. Super! Best place in Amed.

  • 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A strongly suggest if you want to treat yourself this is the place for you, it's amazing! There's a beautiful large balcony with a day bed for you to watch the sunset! Breakfast is served on your private balcony when your ready and offered seconds.

  • 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Amazing! Very nice and helpful staff. The room was outstanding and also the views, just a few steps from the sea. I strongly recommend Solaluna if you are planning to visit Amed.

  • 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a wonderful time at Solaluna Beach. The bungalow is direclty at the beach with a nice veranda surrounded by a lot of good restaurants and snorkeling spots. Gedeh and staff were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. We definitely recommend this accomodation!

  • 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ! It was so good.

    Really kind and lovely staff offering delicious juices and savourous grilled fish. The rooms & bathrooms are clean and pretty with a beautiful and direct (10meters) view on the beach and sunset. This is the place to go in Amed.

  • 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave.

    wonderful people, very friendly, sincere and helpful. Amazing views, sunrises and sunsets, snorkelling and peacefulness. Good warungs close by giving good choice of tasty, local fare. Can't wait to return, Amed was a highlight and this place a safe, true taste of Bali. So much better than most resorts and kids loved it.

  • 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely host. Very comfortable room with clean bathroom. Perfect location on the beach. Private but also able to interact with the family. Would definitely recommend. Gede does a great meal with the catch of the day.

  • 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No complaints at all

    Gede and his family and other staff did everything possible to make our visit enjoyable. Anything we needed they helped us find, prepared delicious food every day, even gave us a thermos of hot tea each morning. We were always treated in a friendly and welcoming way, very attentive but never intrusive. Our stay was for six nights during which we swam right outside our cottage, took a boat ride to see the coral reefs and enjoyed the unique scenery and local people of Amed. We will go back to Solaluna again next visit to Bali.

  • 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sitting on the couch, the view of the left side is Mount Agung, the front sea stayed calm w/ the gentlest sound of waves I've heard, Amed is such a peaceful and lovely village.

  • 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, it's not a defect really - the cock will remind u to watch the sunrise in the morning. :P

    1. feeling like home. 2. Gede - the owner and all staffs are friendly and love to service you. 3. everything u may need is already inside, the only thing u need to do is sitting on the couch, enjoying a cup of tea and seaview. 4. What a wonderful place it is.

  • 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful owner who helps to organize things for us, and very friendly staffs who serve us well. It was a great night in Amed staying at this spacious bungalow.

  • 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Right on the beach, good swimming, good food especially at the little Warung behind Solaluna at Kasa Kusu..lovely family home stay, got spoilt with a fish dinner from Gede and family, impressive view of Mt Agung Volcano. Clean rooms, lovely hot water and nice breakfast,

  • 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, only the fact that we had rain for a couple of days.

    It is a lovely homestay directly at the beach. Every morning breakfast with a view at the sea. Enough places to eat nearby. Amed is quiet little place.

  • 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the bungalows are really good. very individuell shower room. cold drinks, at the beach and balcony is it quit. Gede and his family are fantastic. i will come back next year. not many places in Bali where you become sooooo much for your money. the best banana pancakes

  • 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi is slow

    Feels like home, super friendly and caring family runs the place, great location, owners organize everything for you: food, massage, snorkeling, BBQ, kayak is for free

  • 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gede is an excellent host; he really cares for his guests. The bungalows on the beach are really nice. Spacious, comfy bed, there is even a minibar. The outdoor bathroom is also excellent. Can recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Solaluna Beach Homestay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: