Reviews of Killashee Hotel 4 stars

Old Kilcullen Road, Naas, Ireland

#6 of 10 hotels in Naas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1141 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that didn't meet or exceed expectations

    Really comfortable beds, well-appointed room, friendly and helpful staff, excellent leisure facilities (swimming pool etc) and a top-notch breakfast. Great value for money overall and a pleasure to visit.

  • 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little to hot couldn't turn heat down No availability in the spa 😥

    Comfy beds Roaring fire in the reception comfortable seating for a girls chat Lovely hot breakfast Plenty of top ups of Coffees

  • 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa staff were so nice and welcoming, the rooms were spacious and well equipped and room service was very prompt, food was lovely and we had no problem getting extra towels when we needed them.

  • 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are lovely, but the bathrooms are in need of updating and decorating. Badly done maintenance...eg seals around the bath badly done. It's just cosmetic but looks shoddy.

    Beautiful setting, lots of history, and peaceful walks. Staff really friendly and helpful.

  • 2 January 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has old carpet throughout which has a musty smell and the bathrooms are dated and old.

    This is an excellent and picturesque wedding venue location and the wedding staff were incredible professional.

  • 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the hydrotherpathy pool and main pool was ok wudnt say good ive stayed in better places . I had booked the bistro for 630pm and wasnt told on arrival that the bistro closed at 530pm on that day. Didnt like the menu in the resturant thats why we booked the bistro. Was too amused the 20euros for tiny plate of melon quite expensive

    Room was nice hotel was lovely

  • 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given the carpets were filthy dirty looked like dried in food and liquids spilled and not cleaned up got changed to a different room and there was no hot water in the shower was told the thermostat had been broken for a few days but yet felt it was ok to put us in another room that wasn't fit to be occupied, room look nothing like pictures, hotel is in a bad need of some new paint and wallpaper, the lifts had heavy duty tape keeping the button frame on the wall. Not worth the money to stay here

    food in turners restaurant amazing!!

  • 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where confusing and difficult to find long walk from reception, you had to pay extra to use the spa . Only one bar in the hotel no place else for guest to go hotel very crowded breakfast very poor not able to cope with large number of people staff overwhelmed

    The bed was the best thing about this hotel also the grounds were nice

  • 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room 223 was very dated. The snug pub is only opened for weddings or functions. One or two reception staff not to friendly.

    Breakfast was nice and leisure facilities were good. The bar staff were very friendly...

  • 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinning was a major disappointment. Food only available in a very noisy bar and the service was regrettably very poor.

    Initial impressions, grounds and building are excellent.

  • 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very spacious. Two queen beds in twin room which were very comfortable. Dined in Turners Restaurant which was excellent. Beautiful hotel. Great character. Lovely gardens which must be amazing in Summertime. Could not find any fault with this hotel. Great buffet breakfast served til 11 on Sunday.

  • 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff need better training to let customers know information regarding restaurants and thermal spa.

    Amazing table d'hote meal in Turner's Restaurant. Beautiful hotel and surroundings.

  • 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast fruit consisted of only melons. turkey & ham dinner in the bistro was very dry as if it had been kept heated for a some time. fire in reception was difficult to keep alight as there were only logs available.

    bed very comfortable, staff helpful, good location

  • 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should install underfloor heating in the bathroom which was nice and big but freezing, had to put shoes on to go into it. The pub is no longer a cozy pub, more of a big waiting room where large groups can stand around - if you want to go for a quiet pint you might want to go into Naas.

    The bed was comfy but also the only warm part of the room

  • 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we had a choice of restaurants to dine in. The snug is only open if rented out. One restaurant doesn't open on Sunday (the night we stayed). We had our dinner in the only one available. I had finished my starter but my hubby was still eating when they took our plates away. Not impressed.

    The room was lovely and clean.

  • 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a coeliac, ordered a gluten free fry for breakfast in bed, disappointed when it arrived with sausages and hash browns which contained gluten and meant I couldn't have any of it.

    Room was lovely, clearly refurbished recently.

  • 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were excellent.

    I liked the hotels ambience but the bistro service was poor I would recommend more stafff training. Breakfast room excellent but again staff not up to standard and food for example the bacon like leather tough. Overall not value for money.

  • 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar menu could have a few more options.

    Love this hotel, Got married here 5 years ago and this was our first chance to come back and stay. Beds where so comfy and breakfast in bed was so good. Staff are all so friendly.

  • 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated that we had to leave the hotel to get to the pool. You need to drive to the pool which is an inconvenience if you have small kids (worst part of the break). The staff were not friendly for the dinner- no smiles and all interactions felt forced. THE burger was particularly disappointing - tasteless.We ended up eating out the rest of the time. I requested an omelette during breakfast and it wasn't great.

    The beds and pillows were comfy...excellent sleep.Rooms large and a lot of areas to chill on the 2nd and grounderstanding floor. Beautiful grounds and very quiet area - peaceful.Breakfast excellent options and the staff were a bit friendly. The reception staff were awesome.

  • 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    We didn't stay. Room was like an iceberg. Hotel couldn't give us another room so after 3 house we left. Highly disappointed. Manager did nothing. Left it all to the lovely girl on reception

  • 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Fantastic stay for one night on the way back up to Dublin to catch the ferry. Perfect location Great quirky layout beautiful grounds and very comfortable spacious rooms.

  • 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ability to have some sandwiches served in reception at night when restaurant is closed

    Staff friendliness left impression that they were well trained in dealing with public

  • 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor criticism. No bottled water in the room. Also, the Receptionist told us the leisure centre was open until 9.45pm, so we went for a walk before heading down for a swim at 6.30pm, only to be refused admission as they closed at 7pm! Very disappointing, but we did get a swim in the next morning before breakfast, which was a lovely way to start our day. Packets of sauces in the restaurant let it down, as it made it seem more like a fast food restaurant! Such a shame when everything else was so good.

    We were given a free room upgrade to a suite, which was gorgeous and meant we were cut off from the usual noises that go with hotel stays. The suite was in the old wing of the hotel, very opulent and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the room where it was provided was beautiful!

  • 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very average and staff in bistro bar were asleep. Very poor communication between bar manager and staff.

    Clean and lovely grounds . Comfortable rooms

  • 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro Bar was abysmal for a 4* hotel. For Dublin prices in the place we felt we were in Fawlty Towers. Staff running around like headless chickens. Lacked proper management. From listening to them work there is no communication between them. We had to chase to get served at lunchtime. Barman didn't know prices. We were served from a different waiter every time. The food is quite average which should not be incorporated into the 4* status. As it was a school in previous life it is awkward for some to go to toilets and spa is a different building at the end. We were extremely frustrated with items off the menu at lunch and dinner and not told about it. WE ARE SO DISAPPOINTED. The overnight stay cost approximately €645 excluding 2 mediocre massages so €820. Plus the package for young families that day didn't make it relaxing. Left more stressed than entering.

    The breakfast was the highlight of our stay. It was superior compared to the Bistro Bar. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The hotel is clean and the grounds are superbly presented.

  • 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a maze to get around. Wasn't fussed that we had to leave the building to go to the spa/leisure Centre. Breakfast was just ok- nothing special. Slightly overrated in terms of price. Stayed in more superior hotels for less.

    Plenty of seating in the foyer. Gardens beautiful to walk around. Very well maintained outside.

  • 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 Things: Booked as surprise birthday gift for my partner- joined by another couple also. Meal was served leaving my partner without his meal because a "machine" only put 3 meals through, with the result we had finished our meal by the time his was served😬.... dissapointing. ( However the waiter did apologise and offered my partner a free drink) Had requested at 1pm when leaving in the b cake that they present it with a lighted candle after our main course, a female waiter assured me this would be no problem.Our meal was at 7pm. On 2 occasions I had to go to a waiter to see what the delay was in cake arriving - half hour, (there was no proper excuse forthcoming) A waiter then approached me to say he couldn't find a b candle...... which I was rather surprised at considering such a high venue who would be catering for birthday parties. Eventually the cake arrived with a "tea light" ....... at this stage my partner had copped the commotion which took the good out my efforts and left me dissapointed for those 2 reasons. The male waiter serving our table was extremely helpful & apologetic at all times.

  • 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very very disappointing stay! Room was old, cold and dirty. There were dead flies on the carpet and it was grubby and dirty. I spoke to the receptionist in the morning and told her all this and she said management would ring me. I'm still waiting for the call. Will never darken the door of this place again!

    Nothing

  • 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the staff could have been a bit friendlier at reception on check in. Nothing wrong but just a little flat. No offer of porter for our bags. Swimming pool- Be warned that the pool closes for children at 6.45pm and they need to be out of the place at 7- not very welcoming after a 3 hour car journey and two excited girls. The girl let us in for 20 minutes.

    Rooms were perfect and great to have a pool. Our rooms were allocated next to each other which was lovely. Thank you for the treat in our room. Dined in the bar that evening and food was excellent and staff were very helpful as my husband joined us later on and they were able to look after him for his meal too.

  • 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not very helpful. Hotel had the heating on all the time so it was roasting and there was no option to open a window. Staff were unresponsive when we asked to solve temperature issue in our room. We could not sleep it was so warm and we live in Brazil so are used to heat. Also, they refused to serve us afternoon tea claiming 24 hours notice required (they could tell you this when you check in). The spa & swimming pool are far from advertised and is basically a public pool inside a massive gym (packed with kids so not relaxing at all). Its a pity as with better management this hotel could be amazing!

    Very impressive old building. Bar & restaurant are very nice which is a great option if you don't want to go out for dinner. Room was very big. Breakfast with plenty of options.

  • 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor and hallways were not very clean and the lifts were dirty, I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have noticed the downward spiral of the hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and the bar and restaurant were very good, check in was easy and friendly,

  • 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing!

    Loved this hotel from the moment I walked in th door! One bonus was the two queen beds (a couple and single person staying)

  • 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent grounds, beautiful bedroom and breakfast room. All staff were polite and friendly. Good value for money. A memorable stay. Excellent location for Irish Stud and Japanese Garden.

  • 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only spent one night here.

    What a stunning hotel with magnificent gardens. Staff were very professional,, restaurant had an amazing menu with friendly wait staff. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Getting to the bedrooms is utterly confusing due to lay out of the building, it means going up in one lift to come down in another to arrive on your floor. More sinage needed. There were a number of small things that we felt were not four star standard such as: My red wine was served in a small glass (it is the little things that make the difference) and when our friends joined us for dinner the red wine glasses were even smaller !. There was no sparkling water available at all for our non drinker. The prawn starter was mostly iceberg lettuce. Out of the six of us having dinner, four chose the beef special and they all agreed it was definitely not 'four star quality' The dining experience in general was only average.

    We loved the majestic room where breakfast was served. The linen and table settings were beautiful. The gardens and grounds were also beautiful. We were also impressed with the waiting staff each evening especially Tara and Ciera. They could not have been more helpful and friendly.

  • 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool is in a separate building, so we had to change at the facility rather than being able to come back to the room directly. However, the swimming pool was really nice.

    The gardens are beautiful, and the house itself. The room was huge and the bed was so comfortable!

  • 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed when we found the Turner restaurant was not open for dinner. The bar was noisy and not suitable for fine dining. The rest was excellent.

    Everything bar the restaurant.

  • 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre/pool is in seperate building* (but it isn't too far of a walk and the spa was lovely)

    Fantastic setting and grounds. Interior decor is beautiful...very ornate. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially with food as I am a coeliac so had lots of questions at dinner :) Food was really good, esp the desserts!

  • 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main patron areas are large and give no sense of restfulness. I stayed in the house at the top of 3 flights of stairs. I wasn't aware of no availablityof a lift.

    The Friday night entertainment was excellent. The breakfast hours are to my liking at 8am to 11am and the breakfast was really good.

  • 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark, furniture dated and worn, view terrible, ridiculous distance from reception. Work being carried out in hotel that wasn't specified on website. Breakfast lukewarm. Would 't rush back nor recommend.

    Good sized room

  • 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not great. No lift to room(we were in an older part of hotel) but we were offered help to carry bags upstairs.

    Friendly professional staff. Comfortable bed. We were upgraded to a suite, lovely large bedroom with a four poster bed. Very comfortable sitting room. Old fashioned but lovely. Good breakfast. Very nice hotel.

  • 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is part of the Bistro and is too big and noisy for a relaxed drink.

    The hotel Decor and general air of luxury, its a beautiful old house with amazing gardens.

  • 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold plates for a hot breakfast. Bar closed for renovation alternative bar was a seat at a dining table in dining room or upstairs when it didn't open until 6 o'clock

    Beds were very comfy and room large and spacious. Staff were all very friendly.

  • 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask to give our order in the restaurant as we seem to be forgotten. Then we had to wait over an hour from sitting down to getting the food. When the food came one dish was missing food on plate and other dish was cold and had to be reheated .we spoke to the manager and he refunded us .

    The room was lovely good size and water was available in the room

  • 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main bar was being refurbished at time of our stay,we were able to use the lounge upstairs but it was cold, no where near a bar setting, poor clearance of glasses and coffee cups and the likes, from an event that had taken place earlier, some of the staff were bickering with each other, this should be conducted away from guests, we went here to relax,but yet we were subjected to employee problems,the bed room had been re-carpeted but the bathroom was in poor condition, at €130 per night I expected a lot more. it was only worth €90 at best.

    The old house is beautiful,the food was fab and so was the service in the restaurant, the grounds are lovely for a walk.

  • 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was churning out weddings. You could tell that the staff were so fed up with it at breakfast that they didn't smile or even talk when we asked for something. I can imagine if you aren't going for a wedding its not very relaxing for a country retreat.

    The rooms are big and the main breakfast room is nice. Grounds are nice for a walk

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit 'upstairs downstairs' with the layout, you need to take a lift up, then a fair ol hike down to our bedroom wing, then take another lift back down to the floor we were already on, but with different numbers on the elevators - didn't make any sense, lots of rooms and some nice architectural imagery for those long brisk walks, but that particular extension wing must have been designed by stevie wonder.

    Clean and quiet, restaurant wasn't open but the bar-food was very good and they pull a nice guinness, quite a busy hotel.

  • 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like a little maze trying to find our rooms and when we found them they were quite dated and dull. Slightly disappointing for the price of the room

    The grounds and Main area of the hotel are beautiful and staff are very friendly

  • 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we didn't like: Food good but service was slow both in Turners and the Bistro. The Bistro is not cheap. Definately wouldn't recommend the Eton mess. Spa reception staff were friendly and accommodating but lacked conviction when we asked about treatments and products.

    Stayed at Killashee Hotel for two nights recently with my daughter. What we loved: Beautiful old converted school set in fabulous grounds. Reception staff were very attentive and available 24/7. Needed a sewing kit which was perfect for my needs. It even had prethreaded needles and was given to me for free from reception. Turners restaurant was full of old world charm and served an extensive and very tasty breakfast. Went to the Bistro for dinner. Some parts were quite dark but in general it is a beautifully decorated large room. Overall the menu selection and the food was good. Bedroom had all the expected amenities like toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities and iron/ironing board. Bed firm but comfortable. The extensive grounds are definately worth strolling around. Beautiful serene Butterfly garden. Old house grounds are well kept and laid out. Nature rambles are available too in the surrounding woodland. Came across a delightful fairy grotto! We used the leisure centre and Spa that are in a separate building across the car park at the rear of the hotel. Extensive gym equipment and proper 25m training pool with steam room/sauna/jacuzzi available. Spa and hydrotherapy suite are another world! We booked a pamper package and found it great value for money. Therapists were both friendly and skilled. Relaxation area had free fruits and water for general use by clients.

  • 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's mainly a conference and wedding venue

    Easy to get to from Dublin. Old house with history. Rambling extensions in all directions. Wedding and conference venue. Great spa and leisure centre

  • 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything we didn't like

    Fabulous hotel. Swimming pool was lovely. Jacuzzi steam room and sauna were so relaxing. My daughters loved. Family friendly hotel. Suitable for all ages. Staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff did not speak or tell us any details about the hotel in general or when or where breakfast was in the morning. They were not able to provide a map of the grounds as it was being updated and wouldn't be available for a few weeks. Food in the bistro took an hour to come after ordering and was cold when finally did arrive. Several other customers were complaining about the same issue. Breakfast in the morning was also poor service although there was a good range of items available.

    Bedrooms were clean and spacious.

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very expensive & was only ok. Facilities very disappointing because only limited access to pool due to aqua aerobics classes every morning at peak time when kids wanted to go for swim. Wedding in hotel very loud and noise keep us awake.

    Staff very friendly & helpful in hotel.

  • 30 August 2016

    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was not told location of spa,or available discount code at shopping village,or location and time of breakfast on arrival Staff appear to need training in customer care.Corrodors blocked by laundry trolleys,positioning of rooms is ridiculous.At breakfast eggs and bacon cold ,dead wasps on dining room window sills ,generally grubby .Dirty dishes stacked up in centre of room rather than taken to kitchen .Just way off the mark not 4 star.

    location to Naas ,initial impression in seeing old house,but there it ends hoes down hill thereafter.

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding our room at first was slightly confusing! Lifts up and down to get to our wing of the hotel but probably more us not following the instructions!

    Excellent hotel, friendly staff and great facilities.

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy jammed on fan in our bathroom which caused no sleep and a change of rooms

    The fact the rooms were away from the main public areas of the hotel

  • 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were nice, but just lacked that extra little bit. Given the quality of the hotel and the brilliant feel, a little more personal touch from the staff would have made the stay so much better.

    Hotel was very well presented. Gardens were fantastic, very relaxing place to be.

  • 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very unpleasant smell in the bedroom and when I mentioned it at checkout I was thanked for pointing it out but no apology was offered. not impressed. Rooms were difficult to find and return journey downstairs was challenging. Met many guests who felt the same.

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren't very sound proof and there were many spider webs around the lights on the corridor.

    Enjoyed the breakfast but had to wait to order selected food.

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now the bar area is virtually all set up for eating there is no where to enjoy a drink in comfort the bar upstairs where you could comfortably sit is never open

    Beautiful grounds good food and attentive staff

  • 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We refused two rooms because of the bathrooms, mould in the grout and rust on the shower door in the first and green mould on the shower head in the second, we would have been afraid to use it. We were moved to a third room where after initial inspection the bathroom looked fine, but after a closer look blood on bath and floor. Had to clean the bath ourselves, the blood was still on the floor when we left even after daily cleaning by housekeeping. The bath and toilet were beside floor level windows with no mesh curtains so everyone in the car park and gardens could see in. Had to keep the curtains closed for our stay. Two windows in bedroom did not close properly and again no mesh on the windows so had to keep closing heavy curtains when getting ready in morning and going out early evening.

    The Gardens were lovely and the breakfast good. Meal in the restaurant on the first evening, fish dry, when I mentioned it they gave 10% off. Meal on second evening good.

  • 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could be better and it's a little over priced for what you get.

    Really nice hotel with big rooms.Beautiful gardens for the kids to roam around.Also the staff are really nice and helpful.

  • 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leisure centre is basic for the hotel visitor. Pool, jacussi, steam room, sauna.

    Very comfy bed. Very clean, warm, comfortable. Lovely gardens - found a lovely spot for a picnic.

  • 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms (I saw three) were the complete opposite to what was expected considering the quality of the rooms on the website. The furnishings are tired and scruffy looking. There were stains all over the curtains in the final room we were accommodated in. There were also stains all over the couch and cushions. It is not value for money and I would never return there. I would rather spend a little bit more on a decent hotel next time.

    The breakfast had good variety and the staff in the breakfast room were accommodating.

  • 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is so huge that youv'e to walk alot just to get to room! then same thing again to get to the pool,corridor after corridor and you actually have to go outside to get to the pool which is in different building! Spa use is not included in the overall price, ate in restaurant, food pretty good but very,very slow service. staff lovely.

    This hotel is a step back in timeless elegance. It is a huge building, almost castle proportions, beautiful on the outside and inside. With its enormous crystal chandliers and so many beautiful rooms to explore, there is definitely a touch of the Downtownabbey about this place! The gardens are incredible, something around every corner, went through them a few times, so pretty. I really love modern hotels, but, Killashee's charm and beauty is something else, and i was completely won over!

  • 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was disappointing, the self service area was a little frantic and messy

    The room was very comfortable, super clean & spacious. The reception staff were very friendly & couldn't have done enough for us.

  • 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got married here a number of years ago and it really has gone down hill.The staff had a severe lack of warmth. Reception area looked dark and tired. Large warehouse of a restaurant / bar, nowhere to have a quiet drink. The bar upstairs was closed and the sunroom area was closed. The bathroom in the bedroom was badly repaired under the sink. The floor wasn't clean. The carpet in the bedroom was stained. The leisure centre staff were appalling very bad attitude. The leisure centre is not connected to the hotel. It is over run with classes for non residents of the hotel. There were over 30 people doing aqua aerobics when we were there leaving one lane for residents to use with booming music.... Not relaxing. We would not return.

    The gardens at the back of the hotel were lovely. The breakfast was nice with good quality produce. The bedroom was a good size with two double beds.

  • 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lobby was very cold and draughty. The 1st floor windows were all wide open at 9pm and when we were going to bed. It was summer time, but an Irish summer is never warm after 9pm. The lobby is also the only place to relax with a drink, and we were nearly looking for our coats which was disappointing. There were several guests wearing jackets in the lobby also. In a large old building a fire should really be lit all year.

    The food was incredible!!! Highly recommend it and I would go back for the food. Rooms were very spacious and the breakfast room is beautiful.

  • 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delay in room being ready - had to wait 1 hour after published check-in time Navigating around hotel a little confusing with numerous floors connected by multiple lifts

  • 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have been cleaner. Room fittings getting a little tired. Gym / pool separate from main building at far side of car park. Complicated, sprawling layout. Breakfast adequate rather than 4 star.

    Public spaces quite grand - good wedding venue. Staff very pleasant & helpful.

  • 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and pool just a little walk from the hotel. There was swimming classes and water aerobics going on when we went in and had to wait a while to swim, swim lanes were been used aswell for swim lessons. Nobody said anything about having to wait or about them going on when we got to the leisure centre.

  • 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the bistro on our second night there and the bar staff could of been politer. They let the rest of the hotel down as the rest of the staff were really nice.

    We loved the location of the hotel and thought that the hotel was beautiful. The rooms are very clean and the kids loved it too. We will definitely return to the hotel.food in the bistro was gorgeous and the breakfast was amazing.

  • 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There would be benefit in providing seating within the lovely grounds to max. on the enjoyment of the setting.

    The whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for my drink 3 times at dinner Sunday night, husband had to ask for his omelette twice at breakfast and it came after 40min.

    Comfortable bed, nice spa, lovely grounds.

  • 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Overall a very dissapointing stay. Triple Room booked 2 double beds in room no cup glass towels supplied for 3rd person room was not set up for 3 people. Spa treatment mediocore & no rose wine in whole hotel. Will not b returning

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: