Reviews of Sheldon Park Hotel and Leisure Club 3 stars

Kylemore Road, D12 Ballyfermot, Ireland

#1 of 1 hotels in Ballyfermot

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1835 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • January 20, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we didn't check out the location before booking, but it was a bit further outside of Dublin than expected. On the plus side, it was easy to access from the tram

    We only stayed for one night, but the staff was great and the bed was comfortable. Plus there was a great bar attached with good food and "local entertainment" that was very entertaining

  • January 12, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing for me which is nit picking was no safe in the room although the reception does offer this service. Some rooms on first floor are close to air conditioning unit but not overly noisy.

    Excellent facilities, the pool and gym are one of the best I have found on my world travels. The staff are very friendly and helpful in all departments. The bar menu is very good and reasonably priced with the drinks at prices well below city hotels and bars. With live entertainment on Friday Saturday and Sunday its a good place to relax at the end of a busy day in the city. Public transport is close by with a good service to the heart of the city only fifteen to twenty minutes away. Car parking is free and the hotel is well placed for the M50 so a good position for touring from. I have now used this hotel a few times and will always do so on my future visits to Dublin.

  • January 10, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com didn't take our payment or send it to the hotel so we had to pay on arrival which was a little inconvenient for us.

    Good location close to transport into town and very affordable. The staff were very helpful and let us have a late check out for €10.

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff. Although it's not in central Dublin, the Luis(tram) line is just at the end of the road and takes you into town for under 3euro and takes about 15 mins.

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are very friendly. Its a nice hotel .bar does a good pint .grand rooms . I stay here a lot for work first time for leisure. Luas stop only a 2 minute away very handy for heading in to town

  • January 9, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Short walk to transport links and nothing was to far away, Room service wasn't too expensive and they had a verity of things to order, it is worth paying for breakfast as the food quality is amazing and staff our always happy to help no matter what the time.

  • January 8, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The leisure centre and the hotel weren't in the same building. (Had to wear silly hats in the pool). The staff serving breakfast wearnt the most pleasant. The bedroom was quite small and had an odd 'damp mop' smell

    The value for money was great

  • January 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jelena took good care of my friend and I on the first day we arrived. Patiently explained to us how to get around and places to visit. Spent three fantastic days in the city of Dublin with ease of accessing trams and busses from hotel to the city. I can rightly say I fell in love with Dublin. This being the first birthday (Friday 6th Jan) that I spend away from home. Thank you Sheldon Park Hotel. 🙂

  • January 6, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were woken up on our final night at 11:00 with very loud music from the band playing down stairs. I phoned the manager to complain and he said there was nothing he could do and offered no solution or help. The music went on until 12:30. There were very loud construction works going on in the hotel Lobby on arrival also. Do not go to this hotel!

  • January 3, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Continental breakfast would normally include other cold meats than just turkey and ham, so perhaps more of a selection. Pastries a little on the small side. Instant coffee was very bitter.

    To be honest most of these 'suggestions' are nitty gritty details. The room was simple, warm, had everything you needed and the location was right along the Red Line Luas into town and frequent bus routes. Access to more milk/tea was a nice touch for an Irish girl who loves her tea. Beautician facilities were very nice and could really benefit from expanding to have a relaxing room after the treatments. Very comfy bed and warm room with natural light. The hotel was very nicely decorated, the rooms lacked in the same decoration as the hotel. The lobby etc had a great personality, whereas the rooms felt very plain. Good selection for breakfast, including hot and cold, pastries, cereals and breads.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room furniture needs updating and the shower was not working properly. The leisure centre is outside the hotel and limited timings meant we could not use it much.

    Very friendly staff made our stay very comfortable. Spacious room and good location for travelling to sights out of Dublin. There is luas line for travel into Dublin within minutes walk from the hotel.

  • January 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the temparature in the bedroom was way to cold. There was no heating anymore in the morning or during the day and could not be regulated. Its a reason not to come back. One of the double entrance doorss at reception was always open and thus to cold.

    easy to reach

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service was very poor, and after 40 minutes on the first morning our breakfast had no bacon, could have done with more staff taking orders, the guy who was taking the order was all over the place and did not seem to be doing anything in order,

  • December 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beam in our room 225. Near knocked myself out.cut my head & i dont even drink. Has to be a health and safety issue. Also room very cold during the night

    The food & the leisure centre

  • December 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smaller than my bathroom not big enough for single let alone double. Reception said at least it was warm.ceiling in bathroom was peeling. Smallest double bed ive ever seen pushed against the wall. No space at all. Got out as soon as could lucky it was just 1 night stay.

  • December 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's located in an industrial area, about 20 minutes from downtown Dublin, the swimming pool isn't actually part of the hotel and is quite old, cold and not really inviting. Above all, the price of the hotel is pretty high, for a hotel outside of town

    Nice hotel, fantastic beds, clean room, cozy athmosphere because of the xmas decorations and an entertaining hotelbar

  • December 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some Staff not all, in bar and restaurant were very miserable and one waiter in particular was rude

    this property has a good location and is very good vfm

  • December 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot, really no need for the heating to be so high, took an hour for the room to cool down after opening a window and turning off the radiator.

    Room very new and clean feel to it. Lots of parking, close to the tram, breakfast till 11am, Great value for money.

  • December 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is situated very close to the Kylemore stop of Luas Red Line so although the hotel itself is a good bit out of town, it is easily accessible. We were in Dublin to attend a concert in the 3arena which the Red Line goes directly too so this was handy for us. Since the property is a bit out of town, it is therefore a bit quieter than hotels I've stayed in in the city centre before. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious, warm and clean and the housekeeping staff looked after us very well. Unfortunately we never got a chance to avail of the free leisure facilities but that was our own fault; they looked great though.

  • December 5, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    toilet seat would not stay up and sink had 3 cracks in it and plug would not contain the water, but would still come back

    food good check in easy staff excellent

  • December 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we came out of the pool it was extremely cold in the changing rooms and the showers were very cold inside there too

    The rooms are lovely Amd spacious and the beds are so comfy

  • November 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the spa and swimming facilities being outside of the building which meant we had to dress warm wen walking to it with the kids

    I really enjoyed our time at the hotel for my birthday..

  • November 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I suggest you change your laundry service. they dyed my clothes the wrong color and didn't wash the rest of them and charged me for it. I didn't realize it by the time I left. you need a laundry service that actually does clean the laundry and speaks English.

    everything

  • November 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hit my head on roof .....more than once

    We stayed here because it seemed an easy drive to airport...which it was. Restaurant was very nice and being close to tram (wanted to use public transport and avoid parking problems)

  • November 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and caring staff...even going to the trouble to go to the shop to buy soya milk for my wife who has a dairy allergy. Good banter in the bar with the floor staff.

  • November 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor is dated but that didn't bother me. The bed was very hard which did!

    Room was great for a family, 2 double beds and a single. We could have had 1 more. You don't get that in many hotels!

  • November 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was cold. The food wasn't good. And the customer service was very rude before we got to hotel.

    The room was clean and warm. The reception when we arrived where friendly

  • November 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could not fault the hotel even if I tried

    Fabulous hotel very clean great to have the swimming pool for my daughter. although there's not much around (clothes shop etc) only a few stops down on the bus to ballyfermot with loads of shops and pubs. but very handy to get into the city centre the luas stop only 5 mins walk if even that from the hotel.would highly recommend here very clean, lovely friendly staff and the rooms and bathroom was fabulous.plenty of stations on the telly for my daughter in the room. Will definitely be staying again.

  • November 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast a bit boring, haven't tried full Irish, but bit more fruit may come a treat

    Comfortable bed, spacious room Good location for Luas and M50 access

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had to pay for breakfast each day for my son although he wasn't well so didn't eat anything. I asked about a refund but was told meals had to be paid in advance which I thought was a bit unfair as he didn't eat any thing and was charged £ 10 a day.

    food in restaurant very good and staff very helpful

  • November 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was typical fare for chain hotel, so not superb, but can't compain for the price, selection and convenience.

    The front desk staff were funny and helpful. Made us feel welcome from the very beginning. The rooms and beds were comfortable. Our son loved the swimming pool and I enjoyed back massage from upstairs spa. Live Irish music in the bar at night. And just a couple blocks from Luas, so very easy to get into town. Fantastic!

  • November 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly the bed was very uncomfortable. Possibly the worst matress we had ever slept on. Dreadful.

    Clean,good staff. Location suited us. Had to leave early so unable to try breakfast. Enjoyed use of the pool.

  • November 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personally i dont like that breakfast is an extra 10 euro per person in any hotel.

    Ideal location for visiting our friends and lusas for heading into town

  • October 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was much too expensive. We found better quality breakfast for half the cost in several locations. Also, the pool was not connected to the hotel and had several things broken down, including the hot tub.

    We had a very large room which made traveling with a toddler much easier.

  • October 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room.

    Good location Easy to catch the luas in to city. Comfortable hotel but small room. A little bit tired in decoration but paid a lot less than if we had of stayed in Dublin City.

  • October 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's unfortunate that the you have to go outside / next door to access the pool facilities rather than having them "in-house". Since it is operated (and presumably owned by others) would explain closing at such an early time.

    Our room was large and comfortable. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast buffet was very tasty. Good location.

  • October 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame about the breakfast some of the cereals was not up to standard and hot breakfast looked like it was left standing for a while .overall not a bad hotel .will defo return

    The room was comfy and had everything you need for an overnight stay

  • October 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was farther outside city center than we'd realized. No ice machine. Once returning home and checking bill, we'd been charged for breakfasts and breakfast upgrades every day. We didn't eat a single breakfast there. Haven't contacted them about it yet, so not sure how they'll handle it.

    restaurant food was great, hotel was very nice.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the bar on Saturday night was horrendous - music far too loud and too late. We had a 5.00 a.m. start on Sunday & got almost no sleep. Also crowds of guests tipping out of bar were loud and inconsiderate at somewhere around 2.00 a.m. Avoid room 255 if you want peace & quiet.

    Room was spacious enough & clean. Staff very friendly & helpful. Very convenient on LUAS.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough natural daylight in bedroom and no view. Room was far too big for just a couple didn't want a family room. Dinningroom dull and dreary again no natural daylight.

    Breakfast was lovely however as a hotel you should stop people filling their backpacks with food for the day! different if someone wants to take away a piece of fruit but we witnessed some really greedy people.

  • October 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were put in a room with very low curved ceilings, we had to crouch down to move around bedroom and bathroom. Bumped our heads a lot. I could understand being put in this room if we paid a discounted rate, but we paid full price.

    The staff were very helpful

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is a bit too industrial (but convenient for leaving/coming to Dublin) and view from our room was to a really messy backyard. So I'd recommend asking about view from the room you wanna book if you prefer something nicer.

    Super comfy super high beds, nice staff (partly Slovak so we could even speak our respective native languages :-), the interior of the hotel is really nice, beautiful hallway with a giant chandelier, lovely wallpapers and nice furniture.

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the ground floor near the restaurant and with its window to the parking lot. Strong smell of deep-fried food was coming through the open window at night. The breakfast room was not very welcoming.

    It's a bit outside of the city centre, but the connection with the LUAS is good. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean overall.

  • October 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't use the pool and sauna on arrival, as it closed at 5.30, and could use it on departure as our reservation expired at noon. We did not realise this until too late, and had come prepared and looking forward to the leisure facilities.

  • October 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The waiting staff in the hotel was slow and it wasn't that they were that busy they just took forever to get drinks etc, plus one of the waiters has a massive tear in the crouch area of his trousers which was kinda off putting, but I can't take that away from the hotel it's self,.

    The hotel is exactly as expected the pictures don't lie like Ive found before with some hotels, hotel had everything and food was good and reasonable

  • October 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After traveling around Europe for a few weeks I can say that this room is smaller than most. The bed was very uncomfortable our second stay. The pillows and mattress made it hard to sleep. There is no A/C which is fine for a cool night in Ireland, but our room had no control over the radiator and we had a very hot room through the night even with windows open.

    The restaurant was delicious and the location was great for us.

  • October 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities difficult to dangerous! Very steep step down from raised bath to floor level. Everyone found it difficult and a couple of us nearly lost our footing. I had to help my mother get out and had to turn the shower on for her as it was extremely stiff. Wrong wifi code in the welcome pack in the room.

    Lovely staff, great breakfast

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was AMAZING

    Elaine on reception was an absolute gem, she helped us get in the room earlier than expected. She was so pleasant such an amazing member of your staff. All staff were so friendly and polite. Breakfast was really nice and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Thank you Sheldon park!

  • October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ended up with a wheelchair accessible room - which the front desk person mentioned upon check-in and we said was ok - but was difficult in the bathroom when trying to use the sink to wash up at night before bed. Was very low and a shelf right above made it tricky, almost hit my head several times.

    Good location outside of Dublin....we needed to be close enough to the airport in the morning and also not too far from Johnnie Fox's for dinner/show and this was almost right in between.

  • September 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double room - room size was small for the price of €119 for one nite at room only rate. I've stayed in bigger rooms for a lesser price.

    Location. Cleanliness. Great staff. Great facilities.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was fantastic and prices were reasonable. Staff were friendly and attentive, though the bill could be delivered quicker in the bar. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff was kind the men at the reception were perfect gentlemen.location was central and room was clean and big.all transport systems were accessible!!👍🏽

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had offer on breakfast for 10 euros . But you needed to book this for all your stay . We had to leave early on the Monday and which we explain to reception . But she said at to be all your stay . So we did not take offer which was bad has my family's was staying at same hotel

    Beds nice and firm

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The leisure centre is in a separate building. You need to wear a cap to use the pool. The water system in our room was very noisy when you turned on the taps.

    Very close to the tramline, regular service into the centre of Dublin even on Sundays. Live music in the bar.

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit far from city center

    Best Western has it's standard. It did not make me disappointed. The room is big and even I swam in a very large swimming pool.

  • September 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As Americans we found the rooms small, but we can get over that as everything else was great.

    Staff is great, location is great, breakfast is great. All for a good price.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to upgrade all the rooms with double beds to queen size....I don't know one person who owns a double bed anymore..they are way to small for two people. When we walked into our initial room there was a double bed and the staff was very nice to relocate us to 401 with a lovely queen bed!! When you have been traveling all day you want a nice size bed.

    It is a nice medium priced hotel that is a little out of date, but still very very charming!!! And it is within walking distance of everything to see and far enough away from The Latin Quarter.

  • September 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so comfortable! I got a great nights sleep! The breakfast offerings were great! Location a short walk from the city tram makes it very convenient!

  • September 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound of band playing on Sat night reverberating around the building. I felt this was unfair on those looking for a reasonably early night and having paid quite a lot for the privilege. To be told by staff 'It's Saturday night' seemed totally unacceptable to me.

    Nice clean room. Lovely hotel building. Helpful staff. Handy to LUAS stop.

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much to dislike

    The price was fair for Dublin prices the location was out of the city centre which was okay by us as it was quiet! A tram ticket Costs €6 a day and runs regularly taking approximately 15 minutes

  • September 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a distance out of city. No real alternative eating options at night. Originally booked through booking . Com . Required another night and the price was the highest as the hotel was nearly full.

    The rooms comfortable. Breakfast was good. Restaurant at hotel Public transport handy.

  • September 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait to have breakfast before entering the restaurant and again after when we were at the table we had to wait a lot again.

    We stayed in a family room which was spacious and clean. The tram stop to go to the city centre is just a three minute walk from the hotel.

  • September 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worked out well for us as a stay the night before leaving Dublin. A good value for the money although room was pretty small. We took the Luas downtown that evening which was easy and liked having free parking and quick access to the M50 to get to the airport the next day.

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if breakfast was included in the room price, but it was worth the extra €10 as it was very tasty and good value for money.

    There was a great selection of food on the bar food menu, and it was nice that bottles of water came in the room, you don't always get those. Also, it was very handy that there was a luas stop just up the road.

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was poor and location was ok (about 40 min by bus to the center).

    Room service was excellent, bed was comfortable but rooms are pretty small, i was lucky to have a room far away from the reception and the main hall.

  • September 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EN : We had reserved for 2 days with my friend, first unpleasant surprise we ask us for 100€ of pledge on arrival otherwise we had no our room(chamber) and it was not specified on the booking.com site We propose us the breakfast for the day after our arrived and what we accept with even there an unpleasant surprise because it will be charged that to us on the 100€ pledge about days after our departure of the hotel not the breakfast for which we had asked but all breakfasts of every days on the stay just because there is a message somewhere on their office(desk) of hotel reception which specifies it. I do not particularly well speak English but nothing was said us directly and I do not necessarily have time to read all the advertisements of the counters of hotel … The first night was correct, the hotel seemed to us good but assist a nightmare. We return in our chamber by 11 pm and a horrible noise of almost identical mechanical ventilation that of a big drone welcomes us. We contact the desk clerk who comes to notice the noise with as simple reaction: "it is strange". We make him understand that we want to change chamber and we shall propose us a simple chamber. We refuse because too small for us. After a sleepless night we decide to leave verses 7 o'clock in the morning. There a new person is in the reception. We require to be paid off for the second night and desk clerk pretends to be surprised and not to understand why, to recognize finally to have a message of the first desk clerk describing the noise the day before. We specify to him that we have to leave early and at the very most for 8 hours and she answers us to be able to nothing make and that the manager of the hotel will be there only by 9 am. Curious coincidence … Thus we left with as simple guarantee the promise of this woman to warn her manager.

  • September 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was shocked at the price of the taxi from the airport which was 50 euros one way, but now knowing where the hotel is located I would catch the airport bus into the centre and then the luas to kylemore road for only 9 euros

    Great hotel with excellent facilities. We loved the pool (swimming caps are necessary and cost 2 euros from the leisure centre), sauna, steam room and jacuzzi after days of sight seeing. Breakfast was really good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Only a short walk to the tram stop which takes you straight into the city centre and trams are regular and clean. The bar is fabulous and food was great. We will definitely be booking this hotel again...and can't wait!!

  • September 1, 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to make a sad trip for a funeral at a moment's notice so booked up on the ferry over to Dublin. I was told there was only a double room available so we said we would take it as the hotel was the nearest to where we needed to be. On arrival staff helped us seeing we were both disabled upgraded us to a family room ( double & x single beds) on the ground floor. Excellent *****

  • August 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was able to eat from early morning until late at night. The breakfast options were very flexible. The food was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • August 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I just didn't like location so much as you had to take the car if needed to go anywhere with young children.

    The room was spacious for our family an very comfy. The staff at reception And bar where also very pleasant an helpful.

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived too early to check in, extremely rude Vanderbilt receptionist dismissed us until 3pm, no offer to assist us in any way. Very poor first impression!

    Linda in the bar went above and beyond to assist us on arrival, other bar staff also very helpful in providing ice for my daughter's knee when required. Room was comfortable.

  • August 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little ££

    Easy to get to from the city centre thanks to the tram. Friendly staff and great pool. The hotel was clean and the family room was big - perfect for a stay with young children.

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really we were very pleased with the hotel😀

    Full Irish breakfast was delicious and the tram is only a few hundred metres away that will take you straight into the city👌

  • August 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tv remote didn't work, kettle leaked badly. receptionist got us a new kettle could not get tv remote to work No night person on staff to overcome problems.

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked two rooms. The one for our children had a leak in the ceiling, mould was evident and the carpet was damp. There was a terrible smell that was barely manageable with the window open . When these complaints were brought to the attention of the staff we were told there were no rooms available and the only solution was for her to find us a room in another hotel. This was not acceptable as we needed to be off to the airport early and it was approaching 11pm at this point. To think that we would have to pay full price for an inferior room when it is well documented about the dangers of sleeping while there is mould nearby is unfathomable. Furthermore, to be questioned about what I was worried about demonstrated an ignorance to the seriousness of the situation. The person who heard our complaints was conveniently not at the desk in the morning and no mention of our complaints was passed on so effectively nothing was done to please us in this situation. We have always been pleasantly surprised by the quality of Best Western Hotels that we have stayed in especially in Europe. We will not stay in one in the future. Very disappointed, Chris and Laura Callaghan

    Location was okay for getting to the airport early in the morning.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: