Reviews of Mount of Olives Hotel

53 Mount of Olives Road, Jerusalem, 91190, Israel

#81 of 102 hotels in Jerusalem

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 31 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 26

  • September 1, 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Wifi in my room , only in lobby, No one knew how to turn on TV in my room.after 8 pm. Carpeting in stair case very dirty.

    Prompt attention in Engish language at reception. Friendly staff.

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad about the hostel! Just a warning: don't go have a shawarma in the place opposite to the hostel's entrance, on the left. Damn, he scammed us on our first day when we didn't know the currency exchange very well!

    The views from the top of the hill are great and the Old City is accessible very quickly by bus or a nice walk. Imad was very helpful, and the room was super clean.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The corridors often smelt of cigarette smoke, presumably due to people smoking at the door of the hotel.

    The staff were very friendly, the location was brilliant (on top of the mount of olives in the heart of all the history of the three monotheistic religions). They give free breakfast and, during the month of Ramadhan, they gave free suhoor (pre-dawn meal). The rooms themselves were very nice and simple, with a clean en-suite. Overall, it was great value for money

  • May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That I couldn't stay longer.

    The two best things about this hotel are its location and the fact that the rooms I stayed in had been recently renovated.

  • May 13, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a mini fridge in the room would have been nice. I was told that is in the works as they proceed with the upgrades.

    The staff is VERY welcoming and goes out of their way to be helpful. Amad made arrangements for me to go to the Saint Sabas (Mar Saba in Arabic) Monastery in the Judean Desert. The driver Walid was wonderful. He returned 2 days later promptly as agreed to. And on the return trip took me to Shepherds' Fields and the Church of the Nativity in Bethlehem. Much of the hotel has undergone renovation and upgrades. Absolutely the PERFECT location when on a Christian Pilgrimage. The hotel is located on the top of the Mount of Olives. The entrance to the Russian Orthodox Church of the Ascension is just 100 yards away. The Chapel of the Ascension is next door with a Greek Orthodox Monastery across the street. The Pater Noster is just 200 yards away. Walk another 200 yards and you are at the Palm Sunday Walk past the Church of St. Mary Magdalene and to the Garden Gethsemane and the Tomb of Mary. About 1km away is the village of Bethphage. Bus transportation #275, a mere 150 yards away, will take you to the Damascus Gate of the Old City and bring you back for $1.25 each way. Cost of 1.5 liter of bottle of water in the local shops next door is 1/3 the cost in the Old City.

  • February 29, 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booked hotel through BOOKING COM' BUT THEY DONT KNOW OUR ARRIVAL.THEY SO CONFUSE .THEY GAVE VERY SMALL ROOM. NO EVAN TOWEL .TO GET TOWEL WE HAVE TO CALL RECEPTION.WE ARE NOT SATISFIED,WITH BRAKE-FRIST,COFFEE VERY BAD,IT IS NOTHING

    they should ready for us .SHOULD GIVE GOOD COFFEE'

  • May 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mussein call to prayer was quite loud in the night, as were the two dogs in the yard below our room.

    The location of this hotel on the Mt of Olives was part of its attraction for me, and also staying in an Arab/Palestinian business.

  • August 19, 2016

    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • January 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities for making hot drinks inside the room would be great

    Helpful staff, clean room

  • October 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly atmosphere, very nice people.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • December 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't a very clean hotel and the walls and window seem paper thin, so you can hear the other guests very well. It's also along a busy street that has a lot of action, so don't expect a lot of sleep due to the loud talking, cars driving, cars honking. police actions, and dogs barking. It's also directly next door to a mosque so you'll be awake at about 4:45 by the blaring call to prayer (the minaret with it's loud speakers is literally right outside the windows). For the price I would definitely choose a different hotel next time.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was good, though a little expensive since you can get breakfast just outside the hotel for a fraction of the cost. It's a convenient walk or ride to Jerusalem and it's on the Mount of Olives, so it has a lot of historical and Biblical significance and some important sights nearby.

  • June 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Food was OK but staff could do with having a little patience and not rush people so they can get cleared up and finish the shift.they need to put the guests needs first

    The location was perfect for site seeing

  • June 15, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Muezzin singing few meters away A müezin az ablak alatt énekelt az éjszaka közepén.

    Very friendly staff Nagyon barátságos személyzet A busz pár lépésre áll meg, habár mindig bizonytalan volt a menet iránya, de mindig végül oda jutottunk! Jó reggeli

  • June 12, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room had no tv and no fridge. There was no lift. The chef was away for 2 days so no meals. Nowhere reasonable to eat nearby. Rather sleazy area especially the so-called restaurant over the road. Don't go there. It is called the Mount of Olives Restaurant but it is just a shed with a few tables.

    Not much. There was a local bus to the old town nearby and a money changer nearby but he wasn't open a lot.

  • May 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The best is that the staffs are really helpful. And the location is pretty nice for me. I can enjoy the old city view all day long. Easy to reach spots in the Mt. of Olive, Jerusalem Old City is not really far as well.

  • May 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As the Hotel is in the arabic quarter, the muezzin woke us up at 4 AM every morning.

    The "Mount of Olives" hotel didn't have the room we booked. We were transferred to the neighbouring hotel "Seven Arches", which met all our expectations. Most impressing is the view from the breakfast room to the old city of Jerusalem.

  • May 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    the room was old and dirty, the noice ( i had chosen the location on the mountain because thought it would be nice and quiet but people outside were screaming day and night + the sound of the cars on the road making sure that everyone could hear them coming) When i wanted to close the windows because of the incredible noice I found out that they were already 'closed'.(but old and not fitting) Wifi was sometimes working, sometimes not. Old piece of soap in the dirty window. After taking a bath the bathroom itself filled with water and ( not my) hair! There was no airconditioning.

    friendly staff the first time in my life i complained about a room because i was so sure that this was not what i could have expected for the money. Because of my complaint i got a room almost opposite the former one. This room was restored and on the more quiet backside with clean and new bathroom and airconditioning and a good lightsysthem.

  • March 16, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Next door to a Mosque which blasts a call to prayer at 5:30 am every morning. A little run down but the rooms were clean.

    Good price for Jerusalem- also close to the Old City. Breakfast included was also an added bonus.

  • February 26, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dirty water came up from the drain; that wasn't great.

    The breakfast was incredible! There was such a rich variety. The staff are friendly, helpful and approachable. Great location. You can easily take the public bus (which costs 5 NIS) to Damascus gate.

  • February 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    things got a little uncomfortable when my Israeli friend join me . because she was a soldierin the IDF she had to carry her gun with her and they would not let her inside even though I had paid for two. it was so uncomfortable I decided to leave and find a different hotel one that was friendly To IDF soldiers.

    was very beautiful, and the hotel inside very well put together. and for the most part the staff was very helpful and friendly

  • January 24, 2014

    • Group

    The barking dogs in the yard. The place could have been cleaner as well...

    The Staff was very helpful. The breakfast was really good too. The location is good as well if you do not mind staying in the Eastern part of Jerusalem and climbing up the hill (501 steps)...:-)

  • January 7, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    It is too noisy with noise travelling between rooms, thus not allowing privacy

    The breakfast was very good with variety of ingredients but always a high standard.

  • January 6, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is a bit noisy, but safer than I though. The showers were not so good, but still fine for the price.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. There was always someone to answer very politely and with a smile. The beds were very comfort and the breakfast was okay. It was a positive experience given the cheap price

  • June 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Noise

    Location ..staff ..

  • June 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is on good place... take bus 75 and after few minutes you are at Damascus gate, even on shabbat

  • January 16, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was okey in relation to the price

    Good view on Jerusalem

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: