Reviews of Álfheimar Hotel

Brekkubær, 720 Borgarfjordur Eystri, Iceland

#3 of 4 hotels in Borgarfjordur Eystri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paved parking lot. Govt. should improve road access into the town.

    Breakfast was excellent. The location was wonderful. The service was excellent. The bird hide just outside town was very impressive - well equipped and well situated.

  • 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely place with really friendly helpful staff. The hotel restaurant is nice - had dinner and breakfast there. Breakfast is a buffet with a large spread of food available. comfy beds. clean bathroom. warm rooms. good wifi. good value for money.

  • 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything

    The Hotel is spotless clean and the room is very large with a good bathroom. Excelente. Wish we had stayed longer. For bird watching lovers THIS is the place. 10m drive from the hotel we can see Puffins 1 meter from us. There's a huge colony very near and we have every conditions to photograph them.

  • 2 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The white - knuckle drive over the mountains on an otherwise scenic trip to the town. The breakfast was great but cost extra.

    Interesting town with nice harbour and fantastic viewing area for puffin watching up close.

  • 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not included, despite what guidebooks claim. Restaurant was closed at dinner.

    Comfortable, quiet room with a nice bathroom and lovely view of the hills surrounding the tiny, charming town. Friendly, knowledgeable owners. I dream of going back!

  • 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well,I hate to say it but the breakfast was a little sparse compared to the other places I've stayed at. Nevertheless I will stay here the next time I visit this incredibly beautiful little village!

    Where to start? Well,this hotel is located in one of the most picturesque places I've ever seen!The room was the second largest during my 10 day stay in Iceland,second only to the presidential suite at Fosshotel Eastfjords,which I was lucky enough to get. Very comfortable and clean room,with an awesome shower!The view from my room was simply breathtaking!The staff was vert friendly and accomodating, pointing out the various sights around town and giving me a great suggestion on where to eat and what to order. The Alfa Cafe is very picturesque and the fish soup was absolutely to die for! Don,t pass it up!

  • 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The GPS couldn't find the place but the area was very small and we knew what the building looked like so we just drove around looking for the hotel.

    The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and available activities. The area was absolutely incredible. Best place that we have stayed at on our entire trip.

  • 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Visited in low season so would have appreciated tea or coffee making facilities, even if shared.

    Amazing location, generous sized rooms, super clean & comfy and great staff.

  • 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it's not staff fault, but road 94 is really a nightmare! Gravel and mountain.. with a 2wd is a little bit dangerous (and we were there in September, with no rain or snow!)

    Nice bed, very comfortable and staff really kind; Borgafjordur is also a nice place to visit

  • 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot tubs like the other place in town

    Great wifi, clean, comfortable bed, good breakfast. What more could you ask for? Only place in town for rooms with private bathrooms.

  • 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing except for the winding, unpaved mountain road that you have to take to get to Borgarfjörður Eystri.

    Very friendly staff. There is food, but it's not a full restaurant. There is just one guy who runs the place, and he cooks dinner for all the guests by himself. But he was very accommodating when we said we didn't eat something and everything that he made was delicious. The breakfast was also a nice variety, better than what you'd find at typical hotels in Iceland.

  • 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the weather (but it's likely to change as it always does in Iceland).

    Location. Friendliness of staff/manager/owner. Best breakfast I've had in Iceland.

  • 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner had a set menu and there wasn't room to seat us had we wanted to eat.

    The town was great and a fun adventure to access on a foggy day. Great for puffin viewing from the shore and hiking access. The room was spare, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast at the restaurant was decent.

  • 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was a set menu for dinner so we had to eat elsewhere. The location was beautiful but a little far on the outside of town so better signs would have helped getting there.

    The property was charming and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to see. The house and room were great, very spacious and comfortable. The wifi didn't work fantastically from my bed but I assume it was because we were at the far end of the hotel in room 17. My sister sat by the door and it was no problem for her. We would definitely go back, especially if the weather had cooperated!

  • 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in excellent condition (like new). The room had its own private bathroom. The beds were very comfortable with fine linens. The staff was very friendly

  • 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is really nice. The room had great montain and sea views. The hotel is new and it has great conditions. For the Icelandic stadards it's really good value for the price. The staff is really nice and helpful.

  • 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the room rates, quite expensive at 1500 ISK a person

    Private bathroom with amazing showers. Comfortable bed and blanket. Wifi was strong enough to stream videos. Great view of Harbour and mountains. Friendly staff. Good standard breakfast with hot porridge

  • 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, comfortable beds

  • 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great rooms!

  • 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, restaurant on site was super delicious (and happily made changes for our gluten free needs)!

  • 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish they had laundry facilities

  • 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom curtain

    Location, views, room

  • 14 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor could be noisy. Bedside lamps dull.

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable bed.

  • 12 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, very nice staff. We enjoyed our stay.

  • 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have a kettle in the room!

    Host friendly, staff all lovely, good views, great spot.

  • 21 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been included

    The puffins 6km away :)

  • 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the three course dinner when I got there, the food was fantastic. A little pricy but surprisingly good.

  • 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!!!!

    The soup was delicious!!!

  • 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    Friendly Host

  • 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and simple and ideally located.

  • 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful, nice scenery, great walks around, great personnel and landlord with helpful advices for weather conditions, walks and other activities.

  • 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the best puffin sightings of our whole trip. We also saw a pod of whales as we drove in.

  • 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and helpful staff. Borgafjörður is a beautiful place

  • 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ontbijt was matig maar zeker genoeg

    Personeel, kamer, omgeving, prijs

  • 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    they give us ideas about hiking in the area according to the weather conditions. super nice host.

  • 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breath taking views, big comfy room and the puffins!

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Álfheimar Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: