Reviews of Albornoz Palace Hotel 4 stars

Viale G. Matteotti, 16, 06049 Spoleto, Italy

#12 of 27 hotels in Spoleto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 561 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 44

  • September 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General atmosphere. Most likely great in days with seminars and business meetings but less cosy for vacation. We were alone in the restaurant (but got taken care extremely well by the waiter though telling lots of useful information around food and wine)

    Underground parking.Location close to city centre and some great restaurants.

  • September 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be nice if they used the outside terrace more for breakfast and drinks.

    Beautifully designed hotel. Spacious and quiet and just a five minute walk into Spoletto.

  • September 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Guests can smoke in the hotel and there was a sofa outside our room where people seemed to smoke. It didn't happen that often but as non smokers it wasn't very pleasant to open the door to a cloud of smoke.

    Staff very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. They pre booked our taxis, phoned us when our shuttle bus arrived early etc and were very pleasant and informative. The location was perfect too, a short walk into the centre of Spoleto which is good as there seemed to be a shortage of taxis in the area.

  • September 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything from A/C to Breakfast to cleanness and comfort!! I don't recommend anyone to go there ! just go to Dei duchi. Their staff are all rude and don't know customer service and their room are all small and their air condition is absolute rubbish not working and making huge noise ! they are not happy to help anyone in the hotel as we have had more than 10 rooms in the hotel !! They just want your money and thats it ! I dont recommend anyone to go there ! Stay away from this hotel if you like your money and care for your family/ friends.

    absolute nothing!

  • September 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everywhere was very dated, the "art" in my room looked like false nail samples stuck on the wall and many had fallen off. The whole room needed modernizing - I could say the same for the rest of the hotel. It certainly isn't what you expect for a 4 star hotel.

    The pool area was nice. There was a good selection at breakfast. Staff were lovely.

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was rather smaller than expected and surrounded by grass. Breakfast was a rather chaotic affair with too few tables and waiters for so many guests.

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was a very good size as was the bathroom. The location was a short walk from the centre of Spoleto.

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Impersonal corporate, dark and dingy. Breakfast was quite limited with things running out and not replaced. The sort of hotel used to catering for groups.

    Free easy parking. 15 minute walk to the centre. Pool was a bonus after a hot day's sightseeing.

  • July 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast was poor, often food not replenished and if a large tour group in before us, food choice was poor.

    staff very friendly and helpful hotel position great and surroundings in and outside the hotel were good

  • June 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet was limited and things only seemed to be re-stocked when you asked. The room did not have the advertised safe deposit box.

    We had a large comfortable room with lots of windows and a big balcony. We enjoyed the swimming pool and grounds. Large underground car park.

  • October 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bar not being open except on request, hotel lacked ambience and character, no suitable reading lights and lighting levels in room generally very poor, sounded like a waterfall inside our bedroom walls when neighbours flushed toilets - right next to our heads when in bed.

    Wonderful view, near road, easy walking to all the great restaurants and bars in the old town centre, secure free hotel parking, nice staff - youngest breakfast waitor with dark brown hair was always welcoming and friendly. Price was fantastic good value.

  • September 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and helped me with my transfer and other reservations as I didn't speak Italian. My room had a beautiful view. Great value

  • June 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was good, 10 minutes walk from the old town so nice and quiet. Spacious bedroom, very comfortable with lovely mountains view. Breakfast was copious with very helpful staff both at breakfast and on the front desk. Secure parking was an added bonus.

  • June 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only really disconcerting experience was going down to breakfast one morning to find the breakfast room was reserved for teams of Italian footballers. We were obliged to share a table with a team from Verona who were probably as disconcerted as we were. Fortunately one gentleman spoke excellent English so we were able to break the ice and have a conversation. On the following day the dining room was made available to the other guests.The other disconcerting incident was our realization that a school party of Italian teenagers had booked in. Fortunately they were confined to the bottom two floors and they did not disturb us. Towards the end of our stay the garage became rather cramped but there was an overspill secure parking lot.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was spacious with unusual décor. Our room was large with a balcony and had two easy chairs. There was a kettle so we could make a hot drink.

  • May 12, 2015

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did have a bad experience but it was nothing to do with the hotel !!!

    The attention to detail everywhere The "unexpectnes" of 'little' things......delightful surprises wherever you looked.....

  • October 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was poor not much choice and only cold food, the coffee was good.

    The general location

  • September 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a cattle would have been a bonus.

    Quiet location, short distance to the old town. Free parking.

  • August 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautyful location with art everywere. Near to interesting points in town

  • August 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the highway.

    General comfort and the art.

  • June 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs renovating!!! It is very outdated. Breakfast choice very limited

    Free parking garage Breakfast room staff very helpful

  • June 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi did not work in room.

  • June 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Excellent scrambled eggs, beautiful room with ample sitting area and a verandah.

  • October 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The modern look and art displays coupled with friendly efficient service. Great location just off motorway and a short walk to walled town

  • September 24, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The art in hotel is brilliant

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, facilities for dinner

    Staff

  • June 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely small TV and many details not at a 4star level (regarding furniture, facilities, services, ecc)

    Location, free parking, room size, breakfast

  • June 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More service required for breakfast

    The property interior design is beautiful

  • May 26, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room Friendly staff Good food

  • April 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything good

    Friendly helpful staff

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • October 16, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is only a minor criticism, but I felt for a modern hotel priding itself on contemporary art the furniture was a little outdated.

    A clean and comfortable hotel, with free WiFi, parking, and friendly staff.

  • September 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast a bit poor, not a lot of choice - bread ran out one day!

    Location , just on the dge of town but a pleasant walk into it through the park. The contemporary art work around the hotel is amazing, appearing in the most unexpected places. huge comforatble room with balcony and lovely views over the umbrain countryside.

  • September 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of building parts are made from metal and you can hear how this parts going hot or cold, but it is not very disturbing.

    Modern hotel is very close to the city center. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is possible outside in the garden. Hotel has a nice swimming pool.

  • August 29, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel and the room were clean but there starts to be a need for a facelift. Still ok though. Breakfast was very basic and fresh product (fruits, bread) availability was either limited or none.

    Spacious room with a splendid panoramic view over the old town, castle and bridge. The art installations were interesting and some of them even very nice. Nice garden with pool. Easy entry from the main road but not so close that it would have been disturbing. Big underground carage - do not get confused with the Alcatraz type of entry.

  • July 31, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much! it is a little way out of town with a slightly up hill walk but that is a very minor issue, and the hotel gym air-conditioning was never on when I or my partner went there to exercise!

    Most of it ! the quirky art all around the place, the large modern and comfortable room, the location which is quiet with great views, the helpful reception staff, cheery suport staff and the breakfasts!

  • July 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was slightly limited but perfectly adequate.

    The hotel is excellently located close to the main bypass allowing easy access to many of the stunning locations and visitor attractions around the Vale of Spoleto. The hotel has a rather contemporary style which may not be to everyone's taste but once inside its vast open plan in polished stone with interesting modern artworks is attractive. The rooms are modern and spacious and we enjoyed a wonderful view of the castle. Garage parking also was an added bonus.

  • June 8, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Management of the parking lot is a mess. My vehicle was blocked for hours by another car. The restaurant and breakfast room are all but cozy. The bar was small and I never managed to get a drink there as it closes so early. Definitely not up to the advertised 4 star rating.

    OK room. Close to city centre. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • May 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very pleasantly surprised by all aspects of this hotel goven the price (77€) we paid. We didn't realize until we arrived that it was 4-star, and it deserved the rating.

  • February 18, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular, but be aware it´s a little stroll outside the centre.

    Easy access if you come by car with parking downstairs. Parking in Spoleto is in general tricky. Rooms are nice and comfortable, breakfast OK, staff very helpful etc.

  • October 2, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Atmosphere was non existent. The worst hitel breakfast we have ever been offered.

    Location. Some friendly staff

  • August 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is full of modern art and generally has a style Location is good if you are with car

  • July 27, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some of the stuff in the room needs a bit of renovation but overall good

    Close to town 7min walking but at the same time far

  • July 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, garage

  • July 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    excellent breakfast, comfortable room and small but useful outdoor swimming pool

  • June 19, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Room was very small, air conditioning difficult to control

    Beautiful setting and artwork

  • May 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal in the Dining Room

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Albornoz Palace Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: