Reviews of Hotel Antares on the Beach 3 stars

Via Litoranea 45, Lacco Ameno, 80076 Ischia, Italy

#131 of 197 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 23

  • September 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were ants all around the shower, the bed was terrible, and the breakfast wasnt very good.

    The location with a sea view was great and the air conditioning.

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room was really bad. The breakfast could've been a littlebit more colorful. Not much to choose from.

    The staff was really helpful when we asked for another room. The first room what we've gotten was not up to standard, they organized it and it was a lot better. Great location, close to literally everything. Clean hotel, good for a short stay. The croissant was really good in the breakfast. And we really recommend for everyone to try the roof where great new beds could be found and a nice shower. Great place for sunbathing.

  • August 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Bed was very uncomfortable.

    The entire staff was more than helpful. Especially Silvia, she was very helpful in arranging a car rental service during our stay.

  • July 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not very comfy. We had to ask for extra pillows. Also, it was very noisy early in the morning with guests etc. I guess the floors/walls/doors are very thin.

    It was in a great location. 10 minutes from the centre of town.. And with a bus stop outside to get around the island. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • July 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were ants in the room. We didn't have any food, but you would always see one or two crawling on the floor. It didn't bother use at first, but then when we were packing we found 4 ants in our suitcase and that grossed us out. We didn't complain the the staff. Something else to note is the doors do not lock when you close them. You have to lock It after you leave the room (like you would after leaving your house). Also, when you enter the room, you have to put the key in the lock to lock It. This wasn't a big negative, but if you forgot, your door was unlocked throughout the night. There is a busy road between the hotel and the ocean. If you open the windows, and it is busy out you hear a lot of vehicle and beach noise. This wasn't always; mainly on the weekend and rush hours. Rooms 307- the shower is small. My husband is 6ft talk and had difficulty washing his feet. Also the bathroom window didn't close, so you always had noise from outside. We closed the bathroom door to block the noise. Room 308- The door jam is broken. You have to lock the door for the door to stay shut. One more tip, but it does not have to do with the hotel. The taxis have a 10€ minimum fee. So for the 3 minute ride from Lacco Ameno or Casamicciola you will pay 10€.

    The hotel is in a great location. It is a short walk to the beach and equally between Lacco Ameno and Casamicciola. It was a 10 minute walk to the hotel from the Casamicciola port. The air conditioning works great! We stayed in July and my husband kept the room like an ice box. The staff was staff was very helpful. After our flight plans changed, we were able to add an additional night to our stay. We had to move to the room next door, but they let us drop our bags in there while housekeeping was in there. The breakfast had some variety. There were croissants, ham and cheese, yogurt, 2 types of cereal, juice, and Italian coffee. We had a double room with an ocean view, room 307. There was a little terrace with a table and two chairs that over looked the ocean. It was great for drying bathing suits. For our extra night we stayed in room 308. The shower was a little bigger, but comparable to room 307, but did not have a terrace.

  • July 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable and clean, the staff was very helpful. It's located on a nice boulevard and near the center of Lacco Ameno, which is a lovely place to visit.

  • July 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-Fi didn't work properly three days. You cannot get hot water for tea, you need to buy it. The property requires improvement. There are no beach towels. Breakfast was rather poor.

    Location of the hotel is close to the sea. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • May 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very accomadating in showing other rooms and switching rooms after first room had ants and road noise. Other rooms didn't have ant problem so seems like isolated incident? Room Rate was very good. There is a private passage to paid beach,(tunnel under highway) access from hotel was locked but access accross street was open and one of two small beaches semi-open. but I travelled at pre season that has both pros and cons: and seems things weren't quite up and running yet (May). We were more interested in other beaches and hotsprings anyways (Negombo very good). Hotel is half way between Lacco Ameno and Casamicciola and we found both easily walkable so that made location good. Really enjoyed walking into Lacco Ameno for dinner, shopping and local events. Bus stop is very close for self directed visiting rest of island.

    Staff was friendly accomadating and helpful.

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Hotel is across road from beach, and only 5min walk into lacco amino town. Nice place to shop and have a stroll, some excellent restaurants nearby. Booked in for one night, but then decided to stay a 2nd night.staff are very professional and helpful.

  • August 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were in need of a bit of an update but overall the hotel was nice. it was far from all the main beaches tho.

    location of the hotel was good - walking distance to the main strip of shops and restaurants, staff was very nice, there is a beach accessible but we never used it, breakfast and wifi were both very good.

  • June 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    poor selection for breakfast (they didn't even have green tea), not very well maintained shower facilities

    it's a really good value for money and comfortable bed, good cleaning and overall service

  • June 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A restuarnt down the street . cant recall the name but i will find it out snd let everyone know how much their customer service sucks!

    Hotel room was clean , nice staff and the beach is a skip and a hop from the front door!!!

  • October 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was well. Two huge and comfortable beds were wonderful.

  • July 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need updated

    Location near cassmiciola, and beach

  • July 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location. Very close to the bus stop

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good food, good reception, comfortable bed. Close to the beach and the bus station.

  • May 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location, staff very helpful and friendly, buffet breakfast was good, as they make fresh Italian coffees to go with!

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • October 5, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    loads of ants - some on the bed. And don't bring any food into the room, or it will attract the hoards

    location friendly staff rooms have simple, if slightly dated decor

  • September 30, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Unfortunately I had a room from main road side so it was a bit noisy. Also to small shower :/

    I was traveling alone and would like to say this hotel has the best personel of all! Very friendly, helpfull and english speaking girls. They made my stay much better ;)

  • July 10, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some of the decor is a bit outdated but really for this price is more than acceptable. If you go for the beach you should know that the beach in front of the hotel is very very small and right off the street.

    courtesy of reception staff clean, fairly nice rooms, quiet and comfortable, very good value for the price

  • June 1, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The small, quite dirty beach, just at the main road Hotel located below the level of the main road Way to the beach below the main road Really poor breakfast

    Beautiful nature of the island Prize (relatively) Location close to two towns Very, very nice staff (the biggest advantage) Clean, cosy room Close to the port Close to the bus stop

  • May 20, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel has no elevator, but that didn't bother us.

    Loved the location of the hotel just a short walk from the Casamacciola Port. Loved the friendly staff at the reception; she was very knowledgable and eager to help us with everything, and her English was good. She offered to hold my mother's wheelchair at the front desk so we didn't have to carry it up the stairs to the room. The room was very comfortable with two double beds to accommodate the three of us. It had a good size balcony with table and two chairs. The hotel's dining room is nice, and even at the buffet breakfast (which was included), there was wait staff to help you make your drinks and with anything else you needed. They offered pastries and boiled eggs and meat and cheese. Dinner there was great; they served a typical local dish with rabbit. The hotel has a jacuzzi and sauna free to use as well as spa services that my mother really enjoyed, also at a good price. The hotel offered free wifi in all areas. We really liked everything about this hotel. :)

  • May 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted to longer our stay but the hotel wanted to charge us more than double of the original price. Needless to say, we went to anoter hotel.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: