Reviews of Hotel Benacus Malcesine 3 stars

Via Gardesana 148, 37018 Malcesine, Italy

#12 of 71 hotels in Malcesine

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 176 hotel reviews

9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The second transfer driver back to airport was terrible. His driving was dangerous and frightening.

    All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Brilliant service.

  • September 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I've stayed here three times now. I'll stay again too. Roberto is an excellent host. The hotel grounds are lovely with a pool and jacuzzi to relax by. Our room was new, spotless and I will request it again next time I travel. I could not fault this lovely hotel. There is a lane cross the road which takes u down to the lake and the most beautiful walk to Malcesine. This hotel is just great and you would be crazy not to stay here.

  • September 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were basic but clean. Breakfast was good but if your not there before 9 your unlikely to have a great choice.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, location was great, pool was very peaceful and you could always get a sunbed. I would definitely visit this hotel again 😀

  • September 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only the air conditioning was poor, we do not know if we could have asked the staff about this.

    The breakfast was perfect and the view was fantastic. The staff could not have been nicer nothing was too much trouble, they recommended places to eat and places to visit. The views of the mountains and lake Garda were perfection.

  • August 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con not strong enough. Dad's bus money went missing after cleaners went in (€6). Noisy road so never used balcony and interfered with relaxing in garden. Dog poo in garden found 3 times (resident dog lovely and I'm a dog lover but this was a definite no-no). Too far away from town to walk in the scorching heat and back again after meal.

    Garden and swimming pool. Main receptionists could not do enough for you. Reasonable cost for ice-cream, drinks etc. Breakfast lady very nice and helpful.

  • August 20, 2016

    • Family
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly outside Macesine. Half hour walk but is on the bus route , so not so mich of a problem as long as you are organised. Last tourist bus back fron Malcesine is 10pm

    Friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely pool area and nice snacks served. Small family run hotel so customer service much more personal than in larger corporate hotels.

  • August 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Roberta and Roberto were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool area and snack bar and staff were great. Enjoyable, scenic walk into the town for our evening meal.

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can not find a fault in this hotel, just an excellent experience from start to finish

    The location and views were simply amazing - but the best feature was the staff . So friendly and helpful - they couldn't do any more to make my stay more pleasant .

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We travelled to Malcesine for a wedding this summer and our hotel choice was perfect! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the pool area was pretty! We enjoyed relaxing there during the day! We were a little walk away from the centre of Malcesine and not far from the lake, which was amazing! Thanks for a great stay!

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A fridge in the room would have been nice as keeping water cold wasn't possible and a bit more variety at breakfast would have been nice.

    Lovely and very helpful staff. Perfect location the town is only a mile walk along a beautiful lake side path that has a few bars and restaurant's on. Very clean facilities and room. General shop over the road which was handy.

  • July 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located right next to the main road which is very busy on daytime. It doesn't matter if your balcony looks to the mountain, but then you'll be missing the (limited) lake view.

    Very helpfull and nice staff! The breakfast was available already before its official start time at 8 AM, which was a great news on the morning we wanted to take early cable car to the Monte Baldo.

  • July 2, 2016

    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Liked everything

    Lovely hotel with really helpful staff. Roberto spent ages helping me when I couldn't get the internet on my phone.Top floor rooms have been modernised since we were last here, our room had a very modern bathroom with a great shower, a fridge and a safe.

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wasn't there long enough! Wished our holiday had lasted longer!

    The hotel and staff are just wonderful. Everyone is so helpful and the hotel is in a great and convenient location.

  • June 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast choices were a bit limited. A bit noise from road in front of hotel, but it is the case for almost all the properties there I guess. I just originally hoped the pool area might more protected from the road by the hotel building. But completely fine unless you are sensitive about it.

    Very friendly, smaller hotel. Nice pool with garden and comfy sunbeds. Fridge on room. big balcony for some rooms. Great stay! Would go again for sure.

  • June 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can,t think of anything.

    Beds were very comfy. We were on 2nd floor in newly refurbished room with great shower. Loungers on large balcony looking over to Lake Garda and surrounding mountains.

  • June 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Family-run, very friendly hotel, set in beautiful grounds. Up-to-date facilities in bedrooms. Plenty of onsite parking, but close enough to walk to centre of town or catch the tourist bus from the stop outside the hotel. Staff very helpful.

  • June 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was just perfect, we have not got any negatives to offer

    We were married at the castle and Roberto and all the staff were just so happy and helpful.truly amazing stay at the hotel , overwelmed with kindness

  • May 10, 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had an absolutely lovely time. Hotel Benacus was superb for our needs. The hotel was immaculate in every way and Roberto and Reberta were fantastic host and extremely helpful. 100/100 all day. X

  • May 8, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was the same every day, would have liked a bit more variety. Heated pool would have been good.

    The staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room looked like it had recently been refurbished, lovely.

  • October 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful, traditional Italian family run hotel, just a short and picturesque walk to Malcesine. The hotel would be excellent in its own right. However the staff here are amazing and make this place truly exceptional. Incredibly helpful, kind, always smiling or laughing. Its clear everyone works hard and works together to make this somewhere you will want to come back to again and again.

  • October 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very friendly family run hotel with lovely garden & pool. Although just outside the main town there was a beautiful lakeside walk taking about 20 mins to get there.Also a tourist bus right outside the hotel. The staff were all very friendly & helpful especially Roberta.

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband would have liked more hot food for breakfast.Bit of road traffic noise.

    All the staff were relaxed,very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was very clean, efficiently run with a lovely pool and garden.Although slightly outside Malcesine, 2 lovely walks nearby.

  • September 10, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms could do with a decor update but they were a good size and clean

    Staff were so friendly and accomodating The hotel was perfect for our needs, we visited malcesine for a wedding

  • September 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air con in our room not particularly efficient. However air con in our daughters room was fine.

    The garden and the pool. Truly delightful with wonderful view of the mountains.

  • August 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. They go that extra mile to ensure your stay is perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other young couples looking for a relaxing place to stay. Thank you for making our holiday so wonderful!

  • August 4, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As often around the Garda Lake, the busy road was close to the hotel.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice garden and pool area. Free wi-fi was functioning flawless.

  • August 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad at all! It would be nice to have things like a pool table for the evening if we wanted to stay at the hotel.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic! Lovely people so happy to help and talk. The hotel was very clean. Lots of choice at breakfast. Loved it!

  • June 21, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some traffic noise from the main road over breakfast, but doesn't disturb otherwise WiFi a little fiddly, but got it working in the end

    Really friendly and helpful staff; always there. Good car park, easy access off the main road Good pool for occasional use Bar snacks and drinks available at any time Immaculately clean

  • June 18, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the road marred the relaxation of sitting in the garden around the pool,so avoided that and sat in the hotel or went to the lakeside to sit or walk. Not a major problem at all but a minor nuisance which would not prevent us visiting again in the future.

    Time to step out of the normal busyness of life into a slower, more tranquil pace even for a few days was very much appreciated! We love the area and find the people very welcoming and friendly as well as totally beautiful.

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    25min walk into town- the walk is breath taking as its right along the lake, you can grab a 5min bus ride for €1 outside the hotel

    Good size room, balcony, amazing view of the mountains. Very clean, the outdoor pool and jacuzzi was spotless, great parking at front and near a few shops for essentials.

  • June 2, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buy new towels! Tea for English visitors - we like tea,somebody tell the rest of Europe!

    Do look up the tourist bus before you go, excellent little shuttle from town centre to hotels. We didn't know about it.... Pleasant outdoor space, pool & jacuzzi. Extremely clean, quiet & dark bedroom!

  • May 20, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our rooms were cold a couple of nights and the pillows are like bricks! Can't complain about anything else though. I look forward to going back again.

    This hotel is a gem. Only a mile and a half walk along the stunningly beautiful lakeside to Malcesine. The view from the rooms are fabulous. The balconies are huge and get the sun in the afternoon. Breakfast is self service with a great selection to suit everyone (no fry up though but plenty to keep you going till lunch!) Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. They printed off our return boarding passes for us and nothing was too much bother. The hotel will book a taxi for you to and from the airport. If you book more than 2 days in advance it is a lot cheaper. The pool is set in the garden with the most amazing view over the mountains. Have lunch in the shaded terrace.

  • May 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    A warm and friendly welcome from Roberta (she is a jewel) and lots of local info from her. Our room was large,clean and cool on a hot day and the ensuite large and airy. Pool area well kept and inviting. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty as were also the snacks. It was a delightful 30 minute walk into Malcesine and its many restaurants. All in all,we had an enjoyable stay at this hotel and would reccomend it to anyone.

  • May 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit far from Malcesine centre although the 20 minute walk around Lake Garda into the town was beautiful.

    Staff were friendly and hotel was very clean. Very good choice at breakfast. Gardens and pool are well kept and an added bonus.

  • May 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel situated on a busy road so best to request room at rear overlooking mountains.

    Staff were superb,even arranged our transport to and from airport.Ideal location for us as we enjoyed the 20 minute walk along the lake into town but there is a bus stop directly outside hotel .

  • May 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only little flaw is that the wifi kept going off and didnt connect. When it worked it was ace.

    The food and service was high quality, and not to mention the staff made it feel like your home. Hated that I had to leave but that place will be with me forever!

  • May 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints at all

    Friendly we'll run hotel.All the staff were wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. Roberto always had a smile and nothing was too much bother for him.

  • October 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room slightly dated, but still comfortable

    loved the pool, and staff very friendly and helpful

  • October 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Recently renovated room, breakfast included, close to cheap shop, 20 min walk to town, 5 min to lake

  • October 13, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel fantastic host good breakfast everything was perfect and we will be back !!

  • August 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great, caring management

  • August 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room without balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    All Staff excellent. Breakfast included was excellent. Beautiful 25 min stroll along lakeside to center of Malcesine. Great location

  • July 31, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room without balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    you can not control the air conditioner in your room.

    staff was helpful.

  • July 10, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent!

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Great hotel

  • June 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints whatsoever

    Brilliant staff especially Roberto who couldnt of been more helpful. Fantastic rooms and service.

  • October 13, 2015

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly people Would go back tomorrow Really loved the fact that they helped to make your holiday as restful as you wanted it.

  • September 30, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. They made the holiday special. The hotel was spotless and nothing was too much trouble.

  • September 29, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff, Beautiful area which is easily accessed from the hotel.

  • September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Helpful friendly staff

  • September 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Really friendly and helpful staff, breakfast fresh and good.

  • September 15, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff

  • September 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were excellent, clean rooms, lovely food, great location.

  • September 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff was so helpfull and nothing was to much trouble really lovely people

  • September 6, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Warm welcome from the staff. They were so helpful, cheerful and caring. Lovely setting.

  • September 1, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi rubbish

    Great staff, couldn't be more helpful

  • August 9, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly hotel in a very good location

  • August 3, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - just go there!

  • July 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room without balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful helpful staff who could not do enough for us. Fantastic location and really nice and relaxed atmosphere.

  • July 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the only thing was no English TV

    The staff where welcoming answer any of our questions

  • July 12, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, great location and value for money

  • July 5, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very good, ideal location for a nice relaxing break. The pool was handy in the hot weather.

  • June 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff

  • June 16, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were really friendly and helpful especially Roberta, location was ideal for our trip

  • May 17, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had problems with connecting to the wifi.

    The staff were amazing, so helpful and pleasant. The food was great as it was easy and simple.

  • May 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was spotless and the staff were so very nice and friendly . We would definitely stay here again.

  • April 27, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The balcony with view of the lake

  • April 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A warm welcome, staff helpful. Bright and airy hotel with good facilities.

  • April 23, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/ Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location friendly helpfull staff clean tidy lovely out door pool area

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • October 17, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    The walls are so thin! There as a Scottish group staying for a wedding, and they kept us awake til 3am stumbling drunkenly back to their rooms. You can hear a pin drop in this hotel so it wasn't great, especially as we were staying with our 14 month old baby. The rooms are very basic, and need updating. Clean, but basic accommodation.

    The staff were lovely, very friendly and accommodating. It was nice to have a pool to sit by, though by mid-September it was too cold to use.

  • October 4, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a comfortable and relaxed hotel; the staff are friendly and helpful. The location is very good; a beautiful, short walk to the town and just yards from the lake.

  • September 25, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. The hotel was clean and comfortable with an excellent buffet breakfast.

  • September 23, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although very clean rooms were rather basic with no fridge or tea and coffee making facilities. This did not detract from my enjoyment of the holiday or Hotel Benacus.

    Friendly, efficient staff who could not do enough for you. Spotlessly clean. Nice garden and pool area. Great location on tourist bus route and short walk to lakeside path.

  • September 13, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Balcony overlooks road and the Jolly Discount store. Breakfast ok but juice like water or weak squash and felt monitored by breakfast staff. A basic hotel for the money more like a 2 star. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi were cold

    Location absolutely beautiful in swimming pool area. Nice balcony. Roberto and Roberta could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Wonderful walk to Malcesine along the lakeside promenade.

  • September 11, 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked coffee in the room

    The staff were exceptional nothing was to much trouble. Very clean and excellent location can't recommend this hotel enough. If we return to lake garda we would definitely stay here again.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: