Reviews of AHR Costa Serena Village

Loc Costa Serena Strada Per Porto Raphael, 07020 Palau, Italy

#16 of 19 hotels in Palau

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 885 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 60

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bath amentities at all, even a hand soap. Also the bed was a sofa transferred to a bed . Not comfortable. But value for money. I could expect it.

    The area. Close to Palau but in tranquille place with parking space.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I strongly recommend you to never in your life come to visit this hotel prospectus. Worst hotel ever. Sadness is the first feeling after realizing the dimension of this fraud. Some eye contact on arriving suggests a sort of forgiveness with a subsequent environment of past troubles with angry costumers. The place might work if you are under 18ish, it has tennis court and a swimming pool. Rubbish style, the room was kind of 80' with a small old tv, with bad furnitures, including a depressive cheap sofa just next to a plastic fan which replaces the air conditioner. It might work perfectly as a reality show about how much costumers can tolerate after paying for this joke. In other terms, room quality is so poor that it doesn't deserve a penn. The cost of this place might be at least the third part of what booking shows online to still keep it expensive, but not even for 20€ night you should go there. Loud music at night, absolutely expensive low quality food and service, they charged us 16,5€ for two beers, one low level pizza, plus 2,5€ for the service. The table was dirt. The place is so far from the pictures you see on booking's web that obviously nobody will show the face to be responsible for such a mess. We asked on reception to talk with the manager and we received an "impossible" as an answer, "he (the man in charge) doesn't live on Sardinia and he's working on another business". Brilliant. That explains why you pay in advance with not refunded options. This is the trick on that tramp. The place is full of garbage. If you are searching for a hotel on this area, don't waste you money and time, actually don't come to the entire zone, go and search on west or east coasts. By the way, it has a very poor wifi connection. Run!

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Make sure you bring or stop at a store for things you need off-season such as soap, shampoo etc.

    Price was amazing mid-Sept. 35€ per night for a clean 2 bedroom, 2 bath with kitchen apartment. Off-season so no amenities but for a place to sleep near beaches, terrific. Kids loved the playground.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. But bear in mind that you'll need to have a car to get there, anyway, I would suggest renting a car if you're traveling to Sardinia

    The place had so many facilities to offer! We had such an incredible time there. Everything was super clean, neat and new. We couldn't believe the amount we paid for the what we got, the place was simply great!

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What you see in booking from photos is not what it is in real(more simple) Towels for just one time,and will not change during your stay. Internet in rooms was really weak. No any shampo or soap. kitchen facilities not so clean. if you search for so comfortable bed , sofa bed was not the best.

    Room with balcony face to yard was good. if you have car location it is good ,10 min to palau. In september not any noise. kitchen facilities was good for cooking. In general for money you pay it is good and acceptable.

  • September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment hasn't got anything to do with the pictures. The shower was full of somebody else's hair and the bathroom's floor was always full of water. We only get one big towel per person for the entire week and one paper towel. There are no bags for the rubbish bin and the kitchen is awfully small and smelly. The room is not cleaned during the stay and the cleaners are too noisy in the morning, they start cleaning around 8:30 (which I completely understand) but they speak to loud - not good if you like to sleep a little more. I've been in other places paying the same per night with much better conditions, and a real bed, not a sofa bed (that's what you get).

    Receptionist provided what we asked for (lighter for the kitchen, informations about Sardinia and the best places to visit).

  • September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff could speek english and service the food in correct order - after 1,5 hour we took pica for home because everybody else got theirs before.

    It is remote old turist village. For one day it is nice peacefull place to stay.

  • September 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swiming pool was very nice but we have to wear swimming caps and the water was very salty.

    The location was perfect, 10 minutes to Palau and a wonderful beach walking near by. Also good located to go arround north of Sardegna,the Maddalena and the other islands. We were a family of 4 people two of them 2 kids and it was very confortable, our kids play in the garden while we were relaxing.

  • August 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Several not working things: phone on the apartment not connected, light from the balcony not working, cooking gas not available. Even if this was told to the reception during our stay none had been solved. For booking clients only one towel available for person, which is not that nice (a face towel is useful). When I made this complain, towels were given with no extra costs (and this was nice). Check-in time only between 5 and 8 pm (3 pm would have been nice, but reception is closed from 1pm to 5pm).

  • August 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price vs value of the hotel complex by far not worth. Close to lake, no sea in close environment, outside hotel long time to search for restaurants

    Friendly staff, flexible with late check in

  • August 11, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival we were given the worst apartment we have ever seen in our life. Everything was old and broken. We wasted all day complaining to the reception people, who were unwilling to do anything about it. They said that they have contacted the manager and all he could offer was an upgrade to a better apartment for an extra 50 euro per day. The apartment was already hugely overpriced for what we got, so we refused to pay. Only the next day we were moved to a bit better apartment without the extra charge and this was only because we were contacting booking.com customer service and complaining about it. We stayed there for a week and no one ever cleaned the room. Location is not good either: no beach nearby, Palau is limited in choice of good restaurants: we spent a lot of money there paying for a really low quality of food and bad service. Would not recommend this part of the island to anyone who does not have a yacht, you will be ripped off there. Luckily we booked the second week of our holiday in Alghero. So far really happy - lovely people, fantastic food.

    Swimming pool

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3 adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities in room v.poor. Kitchenette inadequate, lack of utensils. Furniture old fashioned. Bathroom shabby. No change of towels, bed linen - had to wash it yourself (2 week stay!). No air con. Wifi only at bar area. Playground for young children v shabby, not safe. Kids club not suitable for young children.

    Walk to beach

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception closed between 13:00 and 17:00. Very hot in the rooms and no AC. Some of the apartments require going up stairs which is not easy with lugguage and children.

    location very nice

  • July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing like the advertisement on bookings.com Pictures are false , rooms are very small and basic Beach is not really a beach , it's a port . Facilities are poor !

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt get the room which I asked upon booking nor upon checkin. The road and village is further away from Palau, around 8km, and the roads are rough for those who are not sure in their driving skills be aware you will face very sharp turns and going up the hill. The beach at the hotel is wild, the sand is brown, the water is ordinary full of fish. There is no toilet even, thats how wild it is. The swimming pool has a rule to use a cap which is charged(2EUR), pay at reception, not big amount but still principally to make a rule to make more money is not what I would give a credit for... In the room only shower towel were provided no face or kitchen or legs towels. No soap. No air conditioner. No one is cleaning the room. So you dont have toilet paper added, I had to ask for it. Working hours are limited, I guess it is a Sardinia's thing when the working hours are till 1pm and then from 5pm to 9pm open. The only negative thing I would like to stress out that I didnt like is the Internet, I came at the moment when they were changing the system, so 2 days had no internet. Even tho it worked in other places/rooms, but i had to go there and stand outside to catch some signal. At the reception they promised the breakage to last one day;second day still didn't work... I called and they apologized and said once it would be fixed they would contact me, well... once it was fixed I found it out because I WENT to reception to ask again... Even tho the system worked, but it was no signal in the room... I had to catch the neighbors' which worked only next to the open door. So I am not sure if it was the server problem or the router not installed in the area where I had the room...

    The hotel is like compound consisting of more than 30 apartments. There is a tennis court and the swimming pool. The apartment itself has all necessities, except the toilette and towels (face, kitchen). It is well equipped, has all needed dishes. The furniture, doors, windows is rather older but everything works well. There is a small terasa which is so chilly in the evening. On the hotel territory there are 2 restaurants and one small market. The hotel has a laguna nextby. The beach is 300 meters FROM THE END of laguna. The checkout was easy, it can be done out of time by just dropping off the key in the box next to reception. The staff is nice, speaks very good english and very welcoming. I think it is a good place for those who like to rest stable and have everything in one place...

  • July 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi never worked Party until midnight - so loud that earplugs wouldn't help Taxi to hotel 15 Euros per drive, sometimes even 20

    nice bar staff

  • July 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Facilities are outdated. apartment is not resebling the pictures, bathroom is out of 70s, so is the kitchen. very few utensils in the kitchen, no dishwasher, no washing machine, not even wine glasses.... everything is cost saved. the worst hotel we stayed so far in past 10 years

    The swimming pool is the best part of the hotel. super nice. and the service at the pool of the guard is very friendly and welcoming. overall staff tried to help as much as they could

  • July 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    One can find fault in anything. However, the pleasant memories about leisure do not allow nitpicking.

    There is simply nothing to say. This is our new favorite place for leisure by the sea. We were very lucky with the room - the view from the terrace on the coast was just wonderful.

  • July 9, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Photos of the appartment are a little bit misleading as we expected a brighter room.

    The view, nice environment (nature, close to the sea and silence), spacious appartment. Palau and surrounding towns are charming with plenty to do.

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The flexibility of the management: I had to pay for 2 studios for my family of 4 even though we would have been just fine in one. The absence of a beach. The fact that I could hear every movement of our neighbours. The beds. The fact that I thought the place is right next to the windsurf spot Porto Pollo but in fact is half an hour drive away.

    The drive to the place and the surroundings. The fact that I could park my car right in front of the door. The pool.

  • July 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard to reach them before arrival, no answers to email, to phone calls either. If you have no idea on how to get there from Olbia airport, good luck.

    Very nice and professional staff, keen to help when needed. Realised the price of a 5 min taxi ride to Porto Rafael is a rip off, one of the guys took me there with his car, grazie ancora!

  • July 1, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice area, well maintained garden. Swimming pool is salty, more than the sea, clear water. Room equipment is 3*. It worth the discounted price i paid for. Beautiful in neighborhood Porto Rafael and the Fortress and the rocky beaches.

  • June 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Typical vacation resort with many apartments, busy place with many tourists, not for quiet lovers.

    Good location, not so far from the beach and good place/base for discovering Sardegna north-east coast. Accomodation adequate for the price.

  • June 30, 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hardly anyone around & service very slow, waited long time to check in. mattress too thin & uncomfortable

    +- 60% reduction of original price matches the standard of the hotel, but certainly overpriced if not reduced!

  • June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi fi signal sometimes is very weak.

    Lovely place. Quite and fully furnisced apartment. Recommended for families. Staff very kind and helpful. Location good to reach many beautiful places in the surroundings. Well, you know... Sardina is beautiful itself. Enjoy!

  • June 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location, quite place good for families, very nice stuff and good cafe with restaurant. Close to Palau, long beaches, walking trails straight from the hotel.

  • June 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You really are further away from Palau than we realised and Palau doesn't have much. The pool doesn't have loungers.

    The staff were all lovely, I can't fault them at all. Everywhere was impeccably clean, the food and drink was very reasonable. The staff were well informed.

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Stayed at AHR Costa Serena in June. Low season, so we were offered a room with stunning sea view. The staff was very professional! The service we got made us feel really special. All our problems were solved immediately. The rooms are spacious and clean. Big and beautiful territory, where you can walk around the mountain situated nearby. During night time walkways are lightened so it is safe to walk even late. It is very quiet there, so you can enjoy the voices of nature. Good pool with sea water, different small beaches nearby both sandy and rock where it is possible to snorkel. Playground and possibility to play football was popular for our kids. Definitely recommend it to families and people, who want to relax and stay away from city noises.

  • June 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    kitchen not well equipped (dish washing sponge and towel missing). uncomfortable sofa-bed, due to very thin mattress

    the resort, the property: nice garden, very quiet, nice place. staff helpful, borrowed lighter for cooker

  • October 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to have a car to get there

    Clean, spacious, generally great conditions

  • October 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    After arrival, we got a free upgrade of a room.

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pictures of the room are far from reality, false advertising. Very basic place

    Staff was friendly

  • October 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    + location if you surf/kite/... at porto pollo + free upgrade from standard to superior

  • October 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's far from anothere places, beaches.

    The park is clean and beautiful around the village. Its a holiday village. The room is big.

  • September 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, great appartment, friendly stuff

  • September 29, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great staff, quality-price ratio, location of apartment. Would recomande it.

  • September 27, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very uncomfortable beds. Shower flooded and was very small.

    Private lagoon / beach area. Close to Palau.

  • September 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    apartment is not a washing machine. very poor lighting in the bathroom.

    a beautiful place. responsive staff. nice balcony.

  • September 20, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unreliable wifi

    Very friendly and perfectly serviceable for the price.

  • September 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise insulation is bad

    low price for quality, friendly staff, room category upgrade, beautiful region

  • September 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    location affascinante

  • September 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff reception

  • September 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Very friendly staff, comfortable apartman in a beautiful enviroment.

  • September 7, 2016

    • Family
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are too thin so we hear neighbors.

    Great location. The appartement is very clean also.

  • September 3, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen needs a bit more houseware, like gas lighter, etc.

    Nice forrest village within a few minutes walking from the beach. Good value for money.

  • August 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

  • August 22, 2016

    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Swimming pool decentrate.

    Croissant hot every day at the break fast.. Made in side from the Bar!

  • August 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worst pizza ever

    Great location!!!! Very nice pool, nice playground, great for kids, friendly and helpfull staff. Nice accomodation.

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apartment nice but most of the other areas were very tired except for the pool.

    Great staff, Sylvia and Esther

  • July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very loud music. You cant sleep. Poor facilities Nothing is provided Bad location

    Nothing

  • July 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite old the inside of the rooms.

    Oldish style but good value for money.

  • July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is really hard to find the reception. No wifi access in the room.

    It is quite cheap

  • June 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    beach of the facility far and not so special

    clean flat, very nice staff

  • June 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived pretty late and the reception waited for us, really kind of him. Facilities ok, location close to a beach. Overall good.

  • June 19, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were cockroaches on the bed also wasn't very clean, hair of the previous guests everywhere.

    You get what you pay.

  • June 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They did not provide shampoo.

    The staff was very professional. Spacious apartments, nice view. Close to natural pools.

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • September 4, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service at the hotel restaurant was really slow and waiters didn't seem to care about customers at all.

    Nice staff, beach nearby although it's not the nicest beach around. Spacious apartments, very good for family stays.

  • August 1, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Late night activities (bands, concerts, etc.) got started around 9:30pm, a little late for us non-Europeans. Pool closed early (7pm) and was closed for several hours in the middle of the afternoon. Beds were very uncomfortable, thin mattresses, worn and hard. No air condition. Cable tv and telephone didn't work in room even after maintenance tried to fix. Small rooms.

    Private beach 300meters walking distance away, not crowded. Very spacious campus. Great grocery store, ice cream shop, restaurant, mini market on site. Big salt water pool. Very quiet location, away from busy streets. Able to jog on road and get to beautiful, scenic coastal trail.

  • June 26, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    Pool not open the whole holiday and although we were self catering a change of towels and bed linen would have been nice at least once in the 8 days

    Beautiful place staff were lovely very helpful although a little far out taxi was easy to get and accommodated our large group and prams very relaxing atmosphere in beautiful surroundings

  • September 29, 2013

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower curtain was not clean (moldy) Bed is not so comfortable

    Beach is near the hotel the room is large with a great terrace

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60