Reviews of Crotto Di Gittana

Strada del Verde 8 , 23828 Perledo, Italy

#4 of 10 hotels in Perledo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location means that a taxi is needed to get there from the train. About 10 euro.

    The hotel was a little out of the town and on a hill that provided quiet and spectalcular views.

  • 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That guests have to carry their luggage from the car park to the room via 67 steps and about 30 meters of walkway! Except for the limited check-in period, there is no staff on site.

    The excellent view (but most places around Lake Como have a great view of the lake and surrounding scenery)

  • 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to arrive on the road down from gittana, not up from the lakefront, the road is a little steep and narrow and can be inconvenient when there's upcoming traffic.

    Phenomenal sweeping views, very friendly staff, large rooms, quiet place, nice little self-service bar in the naturally cool grotto

  • 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Staff was very nice and helpful. Amazing view, vety clean and spacious rooms, a rich breakfast.. The way a little steep but so is the whole area. There is parking on site.

  • 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. The main road to the hotel was closed, yet no explanation was given. We had to find the other with a lot of difficulties.

    Outstanding panoromic view. Clean, large rooms. Free, safe, private parking.

  • 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fans or a/c and one has to keep shutters closed to keep bugs/mosquitoes out. A fan, even portable.. and a mosquito screen and a person could enjoy the great villa. We had to walk up to the restaurant which is incredibly great because we parked inside the gate and got locked in.no one there to let us out....

    The view is amazing!!! the restaurant a few curves up from the villa is absolutely great.

  • 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff on the premises except for morning to set up for basic breakfast. Incredibly steep narrow road up the mountain to the premises.

    The view was lovely of the lakes from high on the mountain. There was a beautiful little restaurant 10 minutes walk down the road.

  • 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit remote even with a car, so must drive everywhere, Varenna was about a 10 minute drive.

    The views were amazing from the rooms. Angelina was very nice and accommodating. The room and bathroom were large and very clean.

  • 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is on a hill in Gittana. You may need a taxi to go to Varenna the nearest place woth to visit. That is fix 15 eur. But woth that :)

    Nice service, good bar (not expensive at all), polite and correct personnel, would choose again

  • 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Unbelievable views. Location. Intimate- only 3 rooms. Location

  • 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have loved a pool but that is being picky.

    stunning location, great staff, well equipped room

  • 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not air condition fly's bad not combustible

    nathing

  • 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very narrow and steep access road with tight hairpin bends

    stunning view across Lake Como. Peaceful location

  • 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to stay longer.. Not enough time!

    The view, the little bit of history, the surrounds.. Beautiful! Will certainly visit again .

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • 12 October 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Crotto Di Gittana was difficult to find... not marked very well at all... the maps and directions unsatisfactory, there should have been detailed instructions on the confirmation! The young girl who greeted us when we finally arrived, and made us breakfast did her best, however she was inexperienced in what her role was.

    Meeting some of the locals in town, beautiful scenery.

  • 6 October 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The view was spectacular. Angelina was so very hospitable and friendly. We really enjoyed the quiet. We did not have a car or need one. We will definitely return .

  • 2 October 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit cold in the room at the end of September

    We loved being away from the crowds. The whole place was to us alone! Outstanding restaurant and awesome stuff at the receiption. Highly recomended for those who prefers to stay away from the rest

  • 21 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little far from Varenna. Need a taxi to get around if you don't have a car.

    Very quiet. Excellent view of the lake. Great breakfasts. Rooms ar very comfortable.

  • 24 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road up to the hotel was extremely dangerous and difficult to drive up -- visitors should just know to expect a difficult drive in advance. This did not mar our wonderful vacation at all!

    The location was amazing, right above Lake Como, and the hotel itself was charming - the room large and spacious, a beautiful view from every direction, lots of goodies waiting in the room! the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We'd gladly return on our next vacation!

  • 17 August 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our window was stunning and the atmosphere absolutely relaxing. Our room was spacious and we had everything we needed with a thoughtful approach for visitors. We had marble floors, plenty of space and everywhere was beautifully clean.

  • 22 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Area not easily accessable for travellers without car

    View over lake Rooms very clean and looked renovated recently All facilities included in price of room (including minibar!)

  • 20 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hairpin bends on the narrow access road are challenging. No coffee or tea in bedrooms although it is available downstairs.

    The accommodation is clean, modern and comfortable with a satisfying breakfast to start the day. Views are spectacular and within a five minute walk you have access to an excellent restaurant.

  • 23 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long walk to Varenna or Bellano (which we did on the old mule track each day 1 hour) so need to take taxi if you do not have a car. Have to go to town to eat as no cooking facilities here.

    The view is excellent better than if you were staying Lower down. Crotto is unique. Staff were friendly and very helpful. They even Arranged a local mobile phone for our use.

  • 22 October 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This location is a little far from town and requires a taxi ride both ways to go anywhere.

    We loved the view and the ambiance.

  • 27 September 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Negotiating steep narrow road & distance from towns

    Quite relaxing spot, friendly staff

  • 27 July 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Family

    * Tricky road to navigate to get there

    * Amazing views * Clean, spacious rooms for the price * Good breakfast

  • 13 June 2014

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was out. A bit far from Varenna for us. Heat wave was a downer at this time with no a/c.

    The view. Location.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: